MSMS 6021 - Histology and Ultrastructure of Marine Organisms
Course guide for Histology and Ultrastructure of Marine Organisms (MSMS 6021)
Other Interesting Reads
Fish Histology by
This volume describes the myriad ways in which fish have approached problems of reproduction -- it is an amply illustrated comparative study of the microscopic structure of the female genital systems of fish. The volume should prove valuable to investigators studying fish in areas such as ecology, physiology, and reproductive biology who may view histology as essential in their work but have little background in this area.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781402054150Publication Date: 2007-08-08
Electron Microscopy Methods and Protocols by
Comprises 15 contributions which describe in detail key electron microscopy techniques used for examining cells, tissues, biological macromolecules, molecular structure, and their interactions. The emphasis is on cryotechniques for quantitative biological X-ray microanalysis. Coverage includes immun
Call Number: QH212.E4 E39824 1999ISBN: 0896036405Publication Date: 1999-03-09
Histology and Ultrastructure of Marine Organisms Books & E-Books
The Histology of Fishes by
The book is a multi-authored book of 18 chapters comprising the state of the art work of all relevant topics on modern fish histology from 28 authors from ten countries. The topics include Introduction to Histological Techniques, Integument, Fish Skeletal Tissues, Muscular System, Structure and Function of Electric Organs, Digestive System, Glands of the Digestive Tract, Swim Bladder, Kidney, Ovaries and Eggs, Egg Envelopes, Testis Structure, Spermatogenesis, and Spermatozoa in Teleost Fishes, Cardiovascular System and Blood, Immune System of Fish, Gills: Respiration and Ionic-Osmoregulation, Sensory Organs, Morphology and Ecomorphology of the Fish Brain, and Endocrine System. Structural and functional aspects are treated and in a comparative way fish diversity at various taxonomic levels is integrated.
Call Number: QL639 .H57 2019ISBN: 9781498784474Publication Date: 2019-10-09
Microbiology by
Microbiology: An Evolving Science provides clear, accessible explanations, smart pedagogy, and stunning art with a contemporary framework that emphasizes the field's cutting-edge research. With the Fourth Edition, the book's value as a superior learning tool is enhanced by two new themes--the gut microbiome and Antarctic microbiology--tightened chapters, and a new online homework course.
Call Number: QR41.2 .S585 2017ISBN: 9780393614039Publication Date: 2017-07-03
Wheater's Functional Histology by
Take a simple approach to understanding the fundamentals with Wheater's Functional Histology. Offering concise text accompanied by hundreds of captions and images of histology slides, this best-selling textbook will equip you with all the must-know histology information you need to complete your courses and ace your exams. All (print) purchasers receive the complete, downloadable eBook (via Student Consult) - which now includes an all new bank of multiple choice questions to test your understanding and aid exam preparation. Recognize the microscopic structure of normal human tissues and how it relates to function with the help of over 900 high-quality histology images and illustrations. Master how to apply histology in a clinical context through coverage of common clinical conditions in each chapter. Access the entire contents online at Student Consult, including all of the images, a virtual histolab, and USMLE-style self-assessment questions and rationales. Gain a rich understanding of histology through simple, concise text and captions that are thoroughly updated with the most recent research and new discoveries. All (print) purchasers receive the complete, downloadable eBook (via Student Consult) - which now includes an all new bank of multiple choice questions to test your understanding and aid exam preparation.
Call Number: QM551 .Y686 2014ISBN: 9780702047473Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Color Atlas and Text of Histology by
This best-selling atlas provides medical, dental, allied health, and biology students with an outstanding collection of histology images for all of the major tissue classes and body systems. This is a concise lab atlas with relevant text and consistent format presentation of photomicrograph plates. With a handy spiral binding that allows ease of use, it features a full-color art program comprising over 500 high-quality photomicrographs, scanning electron micrographs, and drawings. Didactic text in each chapter includes an Introduction, Clinical Correlations, Overview, and Chapter Summary.
Call Number: QM557 .G38 2014ISBN: 9781451113433Publication Date: 2013-02-14
Advances in Algal Cell Biology by
Molecular research on algae over the last decades has provided significant insights into universal biological mechanisms. This knowledge has proved essential to the field of biotechnology where research on new applications in food culture, biofuel and pharmaceuticals is underway. This new book on algal cell biology provides an overview of cutting-edge research with a focus on cytoskeleton structure/function and cytokinesis of algae.
Call Number: QK565 .A33 2013ISBN: 9783110229608Publication Date: 2012-12-13
Histology by
Now in its revised, updated Sixth Edition, Histology: A Text and Atlas is ideal for medical, health professions, and undergraduate biology students. This best-selling combination text and atlas includes a detailed textbook description that emphasizes clinical and functional correlates of histology, fully supplemented by vividly informative illustrations and photographs. Separate, superbly illustrated atlas sections follow almost every chapter and feature large-size, full-color digital micrographs, with labels and legends that highlight details of microanatomy. For this edition, approximately 20 percent of the micrographs have been replaced with newly enhanced, sharper images. One third of the illustrations have been redrawn in a new style. A powerful online interactive atlas is included with the book and features all of the plates in the text with interactive functionality.
Call Number: QM551 .R67 2011ISBN: 9780781772006Publication Date: 2010-10-15
Atlas of Histology with Functional & Clinical Correlations by
A comprehensive histology atlas with EXTRAS! The unique Atlas of Histology with Functional and Clinical Correlations covers fundamental histology topics, integrates this essential information with clinical considerations, and provides multiple opportunities for student review. Explanatory text in each chapter is combined with expanded figure legends in an innovative, integrated layout. The "extras" include: Key Concepts sections providing comprehensive introductions to and summaries of the chapter in an easy-to-read format. Over 100 Clinical Correlations that conclude the examination of most normal tissues and structures with a discussion and visual example of relevant pathology. Numerous Clinical Content boxes highlighted in blue among the running text, sharpening the clinical focus. Synopsis boxes of the key structural and functional characteristics of cells, tissues, and organs, offering more than 50 opportunities for efficient review. Full labels directly on the more than 1,300 illustrations and micrographs allowing students to quickly identify structures. Expanded figure legends reviewing key concepts as applied directly to histology images. Chapter Summary tables summarizing each chapter or section in a high-yield format. An Illustrated Glossary of Histological and Pathological Terms introduces the book and the key terms used throughout. An Appendix explaining the general concept of tissue preparation and staining -- key knowledge for the histology student.
Call Number: QM557 .A827 2011ISBN: 9780781797597Publication Date: 2010-08-03
Atlas of Fish Histology by
Histology is the discipline of biology that involves the microscopic examination of thin-stained tissue sections in order to study their structure and correlate it with function. Histology can detect signs of disease not easily recognized on gross examination and can therefore be of interest in fish health supervision. The aim of this volume is to present a general reference guide providing an extensive set of histological images of fishes (about 40 species). This atlas is designed for use by students and researchers, biologists, ichthyologists, fish farmers, veterinarians working in fisheries and, of course, by comparative histologists who want to learn more about the fish world.
Call Number: QL639 .G43 2009ISBN: 9781578085446Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Wheater's Functional Histology by
This best-selling atlas contains over 900 images and illustrations to help you learn and review the microstructure of human tissues. The book starts with a section on general cell structure and replication. Basic tissue types are covered in the following section, and the third section presents the microstructures of each of the major body systems. The highest -quality color light micrographs and electron micrograph images are accompanied by concise text and captions which explain the appearance, function, and clinical significance of each image. The accompanying website lets you view all the images from the atlas with a "virtual microscope", allowing you to view the image at a variety of pre-set magnifications. Includes access to website containing book images and additional material, extra illustrations, self tests, and more. Utilizes "virtual microscope" function on the website, allowing you to see images first in low-powered and then in high powered magnification. Incorporates new information on histology of bone marrow, male reproductive system, respiratory system, pancreas, blood, cartilage, muscle types, staining methods, and more. Uses Color coding at the side of each page to make it easier to access information quickly and efficiently. Includes access to www.studentconsult.com - where you'll find the complete text and illustrations of the book online, fully searchable · "Integration Links" to bonus content in other STUDENT CONSULT titles · 300 new USMLE-style review questions, with answers and rationales · content clipping for handheld devices · an interactive community center with a wealth of additional resources · and much more!
Call Number: QM551 .W47 2006ISBN: 9780443068508Publication Date: 2006-03-14
Histological techniques for marine bivalve mollusks and crustaceans by Call Number: QL403 .H57 2004Publication Date: 2004-08
Histological and Histochemical Methods by
The relations of chemical structures and reactions to fixation, tissue processing, staining, enzyme location, immunohistochemistry and other procedures are explained in simple, descriptive terms. As well as being a textbook, further references and more detailed information is available for those who wish to study a topic in more depth. For this new edition the author has updated the text with the latest techniques and developments within the field, whilst retaining the details of the classic techniques still in use.
Call Number: QM556 .K53 1999ISBN: 0750631066Publication Date: 1999-04-06- Electron Microscopy Methods and Protocols by
Comprises 15 contributions which describe in detail key electron microscopy techniques used for examining cells, tissues, biological macromolecules, molecular structure, and their interactions. The emphasis is on cryotechniques for quantitative biological X-ray microanalysis. Coverage includes immun
Call Number: QH212.E4 E39824 1999ISBN: 0896036405Publication Date: 1999-03-09
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Seventeenth Edition by
This user-friendly text and atlas combination is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to elucidate key concepts and facilitate learning For five decades, Junqueira's Basic Histology has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, this trusted classic provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology. With coverage of all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more, Junqueira's is a valuable foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to clarify key concepts. This is an essential resource for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology. Junqueira's Basic Histology, Seventeenth Edition features: New: 550 Q&A - 300 more than the previous edition! Self-test questions in every chapter Key points and summary tables highlighting key content Clinical correlations for each topic Illustrations depicting key aspects of cell biology and histology Electron and light micrographs that deliver a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures Valuable Appendix that explains light microscopy stains Lab manual alerts readers to see what they are actually reading about in real-life patients; enhanced lab manual available online New: PowerPoint slides with illustrations and micrographs via AccessMedicine
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781264930395Publication Date: 2023-11-16
Gartner and Hiatt's Atlas and Text of Histology by
The go-to tool for mastering histology, Gartner & Hiatt's Atlas and Text of Histology, 8th Edition, equips medical, dental, allied health, and biology students with a concise review of all of the major tissue classes and body systems in an engaging approach optimized for superior classroom and clinical success. A consistent presentation combines relevant text and detailed photomicrographs to facilitate understanding and provide valuable review for in-class and licensing examinations. Helpful explanatory text in each chapter details Histophysiology, Clinical Considerations, Summaries of Histologic Organization, and more, accompanied by more than 700 vivid, full-color, high-quality images.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781975164256Publication Date: 2022-04-26
Invertebrate Histology by
The first comprehensive reference to invertebrate histology Invertebrate Histology is a groundbreaking text that offers a comprehensive review of histology in invertebrates. Designed for use by anyone studying, diagnosing, or researching invertebrates, the book covers all major taxonomic groups with details of the histologic features, with color photographs and drawings that clearly demonstrate gross anatomy and histology. The authors, who are each experts in the histology of their respective taxa, bring together the most recent information on the topic into a single, complete volume. An accessible resource, each chapter focuses on a single taxonomic group with salient gross and histologic features that are clearly described in the text and augmented with color photographs and greyscale line drawings. The histologic images are from mostly hematoxylin and eosin stained microscopic slides showing various organ systems at high and low magnification. In addition, each chapter provides helpful tips for invertebrate dissection and information on how to process invertebrates for histology. This important book: Presents detailed information on histology of all major groups of invertebrates Offers a user-friendly text that is organized by taxonomic group for easy reference Features high-quality color photographs and drawings, with slides showing histology and gross photographs to demonstrate anatomy Provides details on invertebrate dissection and processing invertebrates for histology Written for veterinary pathologists, biologists, zoologists, students, and other scientists studying these species, Invertebrate Histology offers the most updated information on the topic written by over 20 experts in the field.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119507697Publication Date: 2021-01-09
The Histology of Fishes by
The book is a multi-authored book of 18 chapters comprising the state of the art work of all relevant topics on modern fish histology from 28 authors from ten countries. The topics include Introduction to Histological Techniques, Integument, Fish Skeletal Tissues, Muscular System, Structure and Function of Electric Organs, Digestive System, Glands of the Digestive Tract, Swim Bladder, Kidney, Ovaries and Eggs, Egg Envelopes, Testis Structure, Spermatogenesis, and Spermatozoa in Teleost Fishes, Cardiovascular System and Blood, Immune System of Fish, Gills: Respiration and Ionic-Osmoregulation, Sensory Organs, Morphology and Ecomorphology of the Fish Brain, and Endocrine System. Structural and functional aspects are treated and in a comparative way fish diversity at various taxonomic levels is integrated.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780429113581Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Light and Video Microscopy by
Light and Video Microscopy, Third Edition provides a step-by-step journey through philosophy, psychology and the geometrical and physical optics involved in interpreting images formed by light microscopes. The book addresses the intricacies necessary to set up light microscopes that allow one to visualize transparent specimens and, in the process, quantitatively determine various physico-chemical properties of specimens. This updated edition includes the most recent developments in microscopy. Contains a new appendices on Diffraction Theory and Advanced Image Processing Provides practical applications, lab exercises and case studies on the mathematics, physics and biology used in microscopy Discusses bright field, dark field, phase-contrast, fluorescence, interference, differential interference and modulation contrast microscopes, oblique illumination and photomicrography
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128161678Publication Date: 2019-06-11
An Atlas of Comparative Vertebrate Histology by
Atlas of Comparative Vertebrate Histology looks at the histology of a wide range of vertebrates, representative of all the major classes and families, with examples ranging from amphioxus to primates. The authors focus their microscope on commonly seen vertebrates as well as 'non-standard' species, such as lamprey, hagfish, dogfish, skate, rock bass, cod, river catfish, toad, amphiuma, leopard and bull frog, garter and brown snake, Coturnix quail and cowbird. The study of comparative histology in the vertebrates helps students and researchers alike understand how various groups have addressed similar problems, opening doors to interesting research possibilities.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780124095977Publication Date: 2018-06-04
Fluorescence Microscopy in Life Sciences by
Fluorescence Microscopy is a precise and widely employed technique in many research and clinical areas nowadays. Fluorescence Microscopy In Life Sciences introduces readers to both the fundamentals and the applications of fluorescence microscopy in the biomedical field as well as biological research. Readers will learn about physical and chemical mechanisms giving rise to the phenomenon of luminescence and fluorescence in a comprehensive way. Also, the different processes that modulate fluorescence efficiency and fluorescence features are explored and explained.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781681085180Publication Date: 2017-12-15
Fluorescence Microscopy by
While there are many publications on the topic written by experts for experts, this text is specifically designed to allow advanced students and researchers with no background in physics to comprehend novel fluorescence microscopy techniques. This second edition features new chapters and a subsequent focus on super-resolution and single-molecule microscopy as well as an expanded introduction. Each chapter is written by a renowned expert in the field, and has been thoroughly revised to reflect the developments in recent years.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783527338375Publication Date: 2017-06-19
Fish Histology by
This new volume provides up-to-date information that emphasizes the relationships and concepts by which cell and tissue structures of fish are inextricably linked with their function. The book also describes the most recent development in the sciences of fish histology. Covers the normal histology of six fish species, the book provides detailed information on the histology of all organs of teleosts and includes 130 original photomicrographs, tables, updated terminology, and expanded information, with over 100 in color. This new volume, Fish Histology: From Cells to Organs, provides up-to-date information that emphasizes the relationships and concepts by which cell and tissue structures of fish are inextricably linked with their function. The book also describes the most recent development in the sciences of fish histology.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781351795036Publication Date: 2017-05-18
A Practical Guide to Transmission Electron Microscopy, Volume II by
Transmission Electron Microscope (TEM) is a very powerful tool for characterizing various types of materials. This book provides a concise practical guide to the TEM user, starting from the beginner level, including upper-division undergraduates, graduates, researchers, and engineers, on how to learn TEM efficiently in a short period of time. Volume I covers the instrumentation, sample preparation, fundamental diffraction, imaging, analytical microscopy, and some newly developed microscopy techniques. This book may serve as a textbook for a TEM course or workshop, or a reference book for the TEM user to improve their TEM skills.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781606509180Publication Date: 2015-12-23
A Practical Guide to Transmission Electron Microscopy, Volume I by
Transmission Electron Microscope (TEM) is a very powerful tool used to study sample structures with high resolutions. This book provides a concise practical guide to beginners, including upper-division undergraduates, graduates, researchers and engineers. It is written primarily for materials science and engineering or related disciplines, while applications in biological sciences are also included. It concisely covers nearly the entire area of TEM, including the instrumentation, sample preparation, diffraction, imaging, chemical analysis, and some newly developed techniques.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781606507032Publication Date: 2015-09-12
Wheater's Functional Histology by
Take a simple approach to understanding the fundamentals with Wheater's Functional Histology. Offering concise text accompanied by hundreds of captions and images of histology slides, this best-selling textbook will equip you with all the must-know histology information you need to complete your courses and ace your exams. Recognize the microscopic structure of normal human tissues and how it relates to function with the help of over 900 high-quality histology images and illustrations. Master how to apply histology in a clinical context through coverage of common clinical conditions in each chapter
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780702054884Publication Date: 2013-10-09
