MSMS 6017: Tropical Fish Biology
Course guide for Tropical Fish Biology (MSMS 6017)
Featured Resources
Reef Fish Identification 4th Edition by
With the advent of genetic testing there has been a revival in marine taxonomy. The 25th Anniversary 4th Edition reflects the many recent changes including 89 new fish species and more than 200 additional photographs. The field guide now includes 683 species documented in more than 1000 underwater photographs, representing a significant update to the 2002 3rd edition. The most comprehensive and beautiful visual ID reference published for the region features an easy-to-use quick reference format. Reef Fish Identification Florida Caribbean Bahamas first appeared in 1989 and has since revolutionized fishwatching. The first edition had 288 pages and 345 color photographs. The success of our first publication launched a series of marine life identification books for the Galapagos Islands, the West Coast of the United States, the Gulf of California to Panama and the Tropical Pacific.
Call Number: QL628 F6 H86 2014 c.1ISBN: 9781878348579Publication Date: 2014-06-15
Books & E-Books
Biology of Fishes by
The VitalBook e-book version of Biology of Fishes is only available only in the US and Canada at the present time. To purchase or rent please visit http://store.vitalsource.com/show/978-1-1341-8631-0. The Third Edition of Biology of Fishes is chiefly about fish as remarkably efficient machines for coping with the many problems that life in wat
Call Number: QL615 .H44 2009ISBN: 9780203885222Publication Date: 2008-03-19
Fishes by
For junior/senior-level courses in Fish Biology/Ecology, Ichthyology, and Fish Physiology. One of the most comprehensive and current general sources of information on fishes, this text covers a broad number of topics such as including the structure and physiology, evolution, otaxanomy, zoogeography, ecology, and conservation of fishes. While providing the basic background of fish biology, the conservation approach and up-to-date coverage conveys the excitement being generated by recent research on fishes.
Call Number: QL615 .M64 2004ISBN: 9780131008472Publication Date: 2003-07-30
The Ecology of Fishes on Coral Reefs by Call Number: QL620 .E26 1991 c.3ISBN: 0126151814Publication Date: 1993-08-06
Coral Reef Fishes by
Coral Reef Fishes is the successor of The Ecology of Fishes on Coral Reefs. This new edition includes provocative reviews covering the major areas of reef fish ecology. Concerns about the future health of coral reefs, and recognition that reefs and their fishes are economically important components of the coastal oceans of many tropical nations, have led to enormous growth in research directed at reef fishes. Coral Reef Fishes is much more than a simple revision of the earlier volume; it is a companion that supports and extends the earlier work. The included syntheses provide readers with the current highlights in this exciting science.
Call Number: QL620.45 .C67 2002ISBN: 0126151857Publication Date: 2002-06-12
Reef Fish Behavior - 2nd Edition by
Exactly 20 years after the publication of the 1st edtiion, New World Publications is releasing a new, updated and enlarged 2nd edition. The new, 448-page edition includes 588 photos, emphasises reef fish life cycles, reproduction, cleaning symbiosis, colors & camouflage, senses and sound communications, marine wildlife management plus 17 fish family overviews. Since the publication of the first edition, notable advances in science have lead to greater understanding of reef fish behavior. DNA markers for tracking fish larvae have helped our understanding of larval transport and its crucial role establishing and maintaining reef fish communities. Lab and field studies in the Pacific have revealed a more complex relationship between species in cleaning behavior. Science and local conservation efforts in the Cayman Islands and Belize have also yielded new information on grouper and snapper spawning aggregations. Reef Fish Behavior presents an overview of what is presently known about the nature of reef fishes for recreational divers, underwater naturalists, photographers, and budding marine biologists. It is also meant to serve as a companion reference to Reef Fish Identification Florida Caribbean Bahamas 4th edition.
Call Number: QL620.45 .D45 2019ISBN: 9781878348685Publication Date: 2017-11-01
A Field Guide to Coastal Fishes of Bermuda, Bahamas, and the Caribbean Sea by
The most comprehensive and beautifully illustrated guide to the coastal fishes of Bermuda, Bahamas, and the Caribbean Sea. Capturing the remarkable diversity of fishes from estuaries, mangrove nurseries, coralline and rocky reefs to well offshore, this fully illustrated guide to the subtropical coast of Bermuda, the tropical waters of the Bahamas, and the entire Caribbean Sea is the most comprehensive guide of its kind. The combined work of award-winning marine science illustrator Val Kells and distinguished ichthyologists Luiz A. Rocha and Carole C. Baldwin, A Field Guide to Coastal Fishes of Bermuda, Bahamas, and the Caribbean Sea is the region's newest and most thorough fish identification guide available. Whether you are an angler, scuba diver, snorkeler, traveler, naturalist, student, teacher, or researcher, you'll find both common and rare fishes to identify--each illustrated in lifelike detail. The book's coverage extends from inshore brackish waters to depths of about 200 meters. Key features include: * Over 1,470 illustrations of adults, juveniles, and other color variants * Descriptions of 161 fish families and around 1,300 species * Concise details about the features, range, and biology of each species This guide is your go-to reference for fish identification on your boat, in your travel case, or on your bookshelf.
Call Number: QL621.58 .K45 2022ISBN: 9781421444680Publication Date: 2022-10-25
Reef Fish Identification - Tropical Pacific by
Finally, a comprehensive fish identification guide covering the fish-rich reefs of the Pacific. 2,500 underwater photographs of 2,000 species from four of the best marine life authors/photographers in the business. Their collaboration makes it possible for underwater naturalists to identify fishes from Thailand to Tahiti with a single, compact, easy-to-use, no-nonsense reference. 108 fish families are presented in one of 20 Identification groups based on a family's related visual or behavioural characteristics, such as Large Oval / Colourful or Sand/Burrow Dwellers. Likewise, every effort has been made to group similar appearing species together.
Call Number: QL623.6 .R44 2003ISBN: 1878348361Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Fishes of the Bahamas and Adjacent Tropical Waters by Call Number: QL631.B2 B64 1993ISBN: 0292707924Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Biology of Butterflyfishes by
Butterflyfishes (family Chaetodontidae) are a highly conspicuous component of fish fauna on coral reefs throughout the world. In light of their strong dependence on coral, they are often regarded as the epitome of coral reef fishes. This volume examines the ecology and conservation of coral reef butterflyfishes. It provides important insights on th
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781466582903Publication Date: 2013-09-11
Essential Fish Biology by
An introductory overview of the functional biology of fish and how that may be affected by the contrasting habitat conditions within the aquatic environment. It describes the recent advances in comparative animal physiology which have greatly influenced our understanding of fish function aswell as generating questions that have yet to be resolved.Fish taxa represent the largest number of vertebrates, with over 25,000 extant species. However, much of our knowledge, apart from taxonomy and habitat descriptions, has been based on relatively few of these species, usually those which live in fresh water and/or are of commercial interest.Unfortunately there has also been a tendency to base interpretation of fish physiology on that of mammalian systems, as well as to rely on a few type species of fish. This accessible textbook will redress the balance by using examples of fish from a wide range of species and habitats, emphasizingdiversity as well as recognizing shared attributes with other vertebrates.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780198785552Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Coral Reef Fishes by
Coral Reef Fishes is the successor of The Ecology of Fishes on Coral Reefs. This new edition includes provocative reviews covering the major areas of reef fish ecology. Concerns about the future health of coral reefs, and recognition that reefs and their fishes are economically important components of the coastal oceans of many tropical nations, have led to enormous growth in research directed at reef fishes. Coral Reef Fishes is much more than a simple revision of the earlier volume; it is a companion that supports and extends the earlier work. The included syntheses provide readers with the current highlights in this exciting science. An up-to-date review of key research areas in reef fish ecology, with a bibliography including hundreds of citations, most from the last decade Authoritative, up-to-date, provocative chapters written to suggest future research priorities An important companion and successor to The Ecology of Fishes on Coral Reefs Includes discussions of regulation of fish populations, dispersal or site fidelity of larval reef fishes, sensory and motor capabilities of reef fish larvae, and complexities of management of reef species and communities
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780080530017Publication Date: 2002-06-12
Fish Physiology: the Physiology of Tropical Fishes by
The Physiology of Tropical Fishes is the 21st volume of the well-known Fish Physiology series and consists of 12 chapters. The purpose of the book is to consolidate and integrate what is known about tropical fishes (marine and freshwater species). The twelve chapters focus on the physiological adaptations acquired during the evolutionary process to cope with warm and shallow hypoxic waters from tropical and neotropical hydrographic basins as well as with the intertidal and coral reef habitats which occur in abundance in tropical seas. The special characteristics of tropical fish fauna will be issued in order to explain the tropical fish radiation, which gave rise to such extreme fish diversity. This present volume, is a voyage through the tropical region reviewing the fish diversity of the main tropical freshwater sheds, including the major tropical rivers and lakes, the major dams, and marine environments. State-of-the-art information on tropical fish physiology Written by specialists working in the Tropics Offers a diverse depiction of the various tropical fishes and the environment where they inhabit 12 innovative chapters covering a concise view of growth rate, biological rhythms, feeding plasticity, cardio-respiratory design and function, diversity of structure, and much more
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780080454276Publication Date: 2005-08-18- Biology of Fishes by
The VitalBook e-book version of Biology of Fishes is only available only in the US and Canada at the present time. To purchase or rent please visit http://store.vitalsource.com/show/978-1-1341-8631-0. The Third Edition of Biology of Fishes is chiefly about fish as remarkably efficient machines for coping with the many problems that life in wat
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780203885222Publication Date: 2008-03-19
The Ecology of Fishes on Coral Reefs by
This book provides a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the ecology of coral reef fishes presented by top researchers from North America and Australia. Immense strides have been made over the past twenty years in our understanding of ecological systems in general and of reef fish ecology in particular. Many of the methodologies that reef fish ecologists use in their studies will be useful to a wider audience of ecologists for the design of their ecological studies. Significant among the impacts of the research on reef fish ecology are the development of nonequilibrium models of community organization, more emphasis on the role of recruitment variability in structuring local assemblages, the development and testing of evolutionary models of social organization and reproductive biology, and new insights into predator-prey and plant-herbivore interactions.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780080925516Publication Date: 2013-10-22
ADD KEYWORDS AS LINKS TO NOVACAT/SHARKFINDER?
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |