Employment Law
This Employment Law Library Guide seeks to assist patrons at NSU Shepard Broad College of Law as a starting point for initial research in employment law.
Employment Law Library Guide
Workers Compensation Resources
Introduction
Workers compensation may involve a variety of issues, including but not limited to, these topics:
- Arising During The Course of Employment;
- Causation;
- Claims Administration;
- Compensation;
- Coverage;
- Injury;
- Retaliation;
- Subrogation.
Selected Electronic Secondary Sources on LexisNexis and Westlaw
- All Workers' Compensation & SSDI Treatises, Guides & Jurisprudence on LexisNexis;
- Larson's Workers' Compensation Law on LexisNexis;
- Florida Workers Compensation--Florida Practice Series on Westlaw;
- Workers' Compensation Guide on Westlaw.
Selected Electronic Secondary Sources on LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Dubreuil's Florida Workers' Compensation Handbook
by
ritten for workers' compensation practitioners and judges, claims adjusters, medical providers, and vocational rehabilitation counselors, Dubreuil's Florida Workers' Compensation Handbook is a portable resource containing clear, up-to-date analysis in plain language as well as insight and practical information. Case summaries, statutes, rules, charts and tables and a reference directory make it perfect for hearings, settlement conferences and depositions. Key features include:
Practice points
Case summaries to help refresh your memory about seminal cases
Full text of relevant statutes, rules and regulations
The most detailed index available
In addition, Dubreuil's Florida Workers' Compensation Handbook includes extensive cross references to Larson's Workers' Compensation, Desk Edition, drawing from the strength of the most relied on name in workers' compensation law.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781663389985Publication Date: October 2, 2024 -
Workers' Compensation Emerging Issues Analysis
by
A Unique Compendium of Issues, Trends & Cases
50 State Survey At a Glance
Detailed, In-Depth Analysis and Insight
Keep track of how the workers' compensation landscape is changing:
Workers' Compensation Emerging Issues Analysis, part of the Larson Series, is an essential tool for the insurance industry, corporate risk managers, policy makers, and lawyers to understand what changes are being contemplated on the national level as well as in every state. Everything you need to know about workers' compensation for the past year is contained in this compendium of legal issues and cases.
Legal analysis by Thomas A. Robinson, co-author for Larson's Workers' Compensation Law, and others highlight the discussions within the industry and important cases.
Who should use this resource:
Producers and Executives at brokers, TPAs or service providers preparing for client stewardship meetings
Claim Supervisors handling or overseeing multiple states
Corporate Risk Managers needing critical information to help develop a forward-looking risk management plan
Lawyers advancing the rule of law in the workers' compensation setting
Legislatures and policymakers seeking to improve their state's workers' compensation system.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781663387196Publication Date: December 3, 2024
Selected Electronic Secondary Source on West Academic Study Aids
-
Employment Law, 6th ed.
by
Designed for use with any casebook, the Sixth Edition has been expanded and updated, including such new topics as whether just-in-time workers (e.g., Uber drivers) are employees or independent contractors, along with expert coverage of anti-discrimination laws, wage and hour law, ERISA, privacy in employment, OSHA, workers' compensation, restrictive covenants, wrongful discharge, unemployment compensation, and pensions.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781642424072Publication Date: August 7, 2019 -
Workers' Compensation and Employee Protection Laws in a Nutshell, 7th ed.
by
This compact, comprehensive reference guide covers workers’ compensation and employee protection laws, stressing the rights and duties of both the employer and the employee in the workplace. The text pays special attention to the laws that protect the employee and answers the most common workers’ compensation questions asked by students and lawyers. It is ideal both for use as a student study aid or review for the practitioner. Since the last edition, important U.S. Supreme Court cases have taken into account, statutes and reference materials have been updated, including the new rights and remedies granted to veterans in 2022, and COVID-19’s impact on workers’ compensation has been recognized.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685610050Publication Date: October 20, 2022
Selected Print Secondary Sources
-
New Perspectives in Workers' Compensation
by
A tribute to Arthur Larson / John Lewis -- Tensions of the next decade / Arthur Larson -- Paying for asbestos-related diseases under workers' compensation / Donald N. Dewees -- Workers' compensation, wages, and the risk of injury / Ronald G. Ehrenberg -- Lessons for the administration of workers' compensation from the social security disability insurance program / Jerry L. Mashaw -- The future of workers' compensation / Robert J. Lampman and Robert M. Hutchens.
Call Number: HD7103.65.U6 N42 1988ISBN: 0875461433Publication Date: February 28, 1989 -
Understanding the AMA Guides in Workers' Compensation, 5th ed.
by
The American Medical Association's Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment (or AMA Guides) is mandated for use in many workers' compensation systems. The AMA Guides are now in their sixth edition, and various states are using either the third, fourth, fifth, or sixth edition of the Guides. In easy-to-follow language, Understanding the AMA Guides in Workers' Compensation brings you up to speed with a review of essential concepts... complete coverage of the 4th, 5th, and 6th Edition of the AMA Guides ...and a focus on the key changes. Understanding the AMA Guides in Workers' Compensation delivers the concise, jargon-free information you need to prepare any case with confidence - and the courtroom-tested tactics to help you win it. Whether you're new to workers' compensation cases or a long-time practitioner, this expertise-filled resource will be an invaluable time and work-saving tool in every case involving the AMA Guides. This resource is an arsenal of ready-to-use tools, techniques, and tips to help you build a better case from start to finish, including: Expert insight on how physicians should reach impairment ratings - and how to spot mistakes that may compromise up to 80% of all ratings, according to one study Case-tested guidelines for using the AMA Guides to prepare client and physician testimony Sample proofs that illustrate how permanent impairment can be established for various injuries A cross-examination guide that shows how to pick apart an opposing physician's credibility, including word-for-word cross-examinations from real cases Dozens of questions to confound opposing witnesses - including case-clinchers like "The Ten Most Difficult Cross-Examination Questions" Convenient digests of federal and state statutes and case law decisions that put a wealth of legal background at your fingertips Understanding the AMA Guides in Workers' Compensation has been updated to include coverage of: Which conditions are not adequately covered in each edition of the AMA Guides The level of compliance with the AMA Guides legally required of a rating physician When rating physicians may deviate from the Guides and how to justify or challenge such deviations Which edition of the AMA Guides is legally required to be used Whether the AMA Guides are admissible into evidence How to challenge the adoption of the AMA Guides What the courts find or do not find persuasive when ratings made under the AMA Guides are challenged How the AMA Guides relate to scheduled awards How to preserve the strongest record for appeal When exactly a claimant is or is not at maximum medical improvementand#8212;for example, a claimant with a condition such as reflex sympathetic dystrophy, which may wax and wane over time Can a claimant be evaluated for impairment even though he is not at maximum medical improvement Who is qualified to rate impairment And more!
Call Number: KF3615 .B335ISBN: 9780735509399Publication Date: June 25, 2011 -
Your Rights in the Workplace, 10th ed.
by
The most complete handbook on workplace laws ever published -- a must-have for every employee. Your Rights in the Workplace covers everything from rules for hiring and getting paid through losing a job and unemployment benefits -- all in plain English. Get the facts on: - illegal firings and layoffs - challenging a job loss - wages and hours - privacy on your email and voice mail - family and medical leave - on-the-job safety and health - health insurance and retirement plans - workplace testing - sexual harassment - discrimination - unemployment, disability and workers' compensation insurance This edition is completely updated to provide the latest legislation and case law that affects employees in all 50 states, including changes to the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), new rules on COBRA continuation of health insurance, and the new Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act (GINA). This book also addresses HIV/AIDS, privacy rights and the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Call Number: KF3455.Z9 R47 2014ISBN: 9781413319088Publication Date: July 30, 2014
