Education Law
This Education Law Library Guide seeks to assist patrons at NSU Shepard Broad College of Law as a starting point for initial research in education law.
Education Law Library Guide
Child Find Resources
Introduction
Child Find may involve a variety issues including, but not limited to, these topics:
- Child;
- Child Find Specialist;
- Compensatory Education;
- Evaluation;
- Individuals with Disabilities Act.
Selected Electronic Secondary Sources on LexisNexis and Westlaw
Selected Electronic Secondary Source on Lexis Digital Library
-
Special Education Law: Cases and Materials, 4th ed.
by
This eBook is a unique offering in the growing field of Special Education Law and is designed to be used both in schools of education and in law schools. Coverage includes:
Core Concepts of Special Education Law;
Eligibility and Evaluation;
Residency;
Free, Appropriate Public Education;
Individualized Education Program;
Education in the Least Restrictive Environment;
Related Services;
Due Process Hearings;
Student Discipline;
Court Proceedings;
Attorneys’ Fees in Special Education Litigation;
Children in Nonpublic Schools;
Early Childhood Programs; and
Post-Secondary Education.
It features a highly useful glossary of special education and legal terms.
Special Education Law contains relevant statutory excerpts and carefully edited reports of the leading special education cases, together with extensive explanatory materials and provocative questions for class discussion. The eBook also features practical exercises for home assignments or in-class projects. Two of the co-authors teach in law schools and have deep experience in special education law as well as allied subjects such as constitutional law, administrative law, civil procedure, federal courts, and general school law. Their background enables them to discuss the special education topics thoroughly and to draw connections to other parts of the law school curriculum. The third co-author, who is also a lawyer, teaches educational administration as well as special education law; that background enables him to add lessons on the real-world impact of the law on the daily work of the schools.
A separate publication, Special Education Law: Statutes and Regulations [see the Related Product link below], contains relevant statutes and regulations.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780327189794Publication Date: July 1, 2013
Selected Electronic Secondary Sources on West Academic Study Aids
-
Special Education Law in a Nutshell, 2nd ed.
by
This Nutshell presents a very timely overview of legal topics relating to special education services for students in K-12 education. Topics covered include: historical background, Section 504 coverage, IDEA coverage, child find, evaluations, IEPs, disciplinary issues, special COVID-19 concerns, due process hearings, and state administrative complaints. The chapters include model forms, sample evaluations and IEPs. It also includes discussion of the Supreme Court’s recent decisions from the last several terms. Finally, it provides examples from a variety of state practices to give the reader an excellent sense of the interaction between state and federal regulations in this complex area of the law.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887865843Publication Date: May 14, 2025 -
The Law of Schools, Students and Teachers in a Nutshell, 7th ed.
by
This text captures the key points of the precedents governing student rights and responsibilities relating to attendance, speech, expression, religion, discipline, grades, tests, drugs, search and seizure, the emerging law of social media, i.e., cyberbullying, and the range of procedural due process interests. The book further addresses the range of constitutional rights and protections for teachers as well as employment terms and conditions, including contracts, tenure and potential liabilities.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636593005Publication Date: May 2, 2022
Selected Print Secondary Source
-
Special Education Advocacy
by
Professors Colker and Waterstone, and the eight contributors to discrete chapters of Special Education Advocacy, have collaborated to try to provide students and lawyers with the basic tools they need to be effective advocates in educational cases involving children with disabilities. Special Education Advocacy is designed to enhance the knowledge and skills of special education advocates. By using examples and simulations based on real cases, the authors and contributors hope to illuminate the major principles that are important to successful advocacy on behalf of children with disabilities. A comprehensive Teacher's Manual is available to professors.
Call Number: KF4209.3.S6767 2011ISBN: 9781422479582Publication Date: March 1, 2011
