Overview
The NSU Oceanographic Campus Library collects resources based on faculty and curricular needs and recommendations, and provides information to faculty, researchers, and students about new resources and technology that provide new possibilities for teaching and learning.
Oceanographic Campus Library Collection Information
Below is a list of collections and material formats that you can find in the Oceanographic Campus Library and via their online collections:
- Circulating Monographs:
- Books and textbooks available for checkout
- Bound Journals:
- Journal titles not owned online, or not owned in perpetuity, available for in library use
- Recent Journal Publications:
- Recent publication issues available for in library use
- Maps & Atlases:
- Available for in library use
- Reference Materials:
- Guides, handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. available for in library use
- HCAS - Ocean Campus Portfolios, Capstones, Theses, and Dissertations:
- Available for in library use
- Course Reserves:
- Available for short checkout periods and/or in library use
- Multimedia:
- DVDs
- Blu-ray Discs
- Reports on CDs
- Technology:
- Asus Tablets available for checkout
- Software available on library PCs for in library use
- ArcGIS
- ENVI
- MATLAB
- Online Collections:
The Oceanographic Campus Library collections of books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, databases, technology, software, and other related materials support the curricula of the Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography - Ocean Campus programs, courses, research, and information needs of the faculty, researchers, students, and staff, will be acquired in the following subject areas:
- Aquaculture
- Biodiversity
- Biological Sciences
- Biophysical Modelling
- Coastal Zone Management
- Computational Biology
- Conservation Genetics & Ecology
- Coral Reef Biology
- Coral Reef Ecology
- Deep Sea Biology & Ecology
- Ecological Modelling
- Endangered & Threatened Species Management
- Fisheries Science
- Florida Sea Turtle Conservation
- Genetics & Genomics of Marine and Terrestrial Organisms
- Geographical Information Systems
- Geology
- Habitat Mapping, Assessment, & Monitoring
- Habitat Restoration
- Invasive Species
- Invertebrate Ecology
- Larval Ecology
- Marine & Coastal Studies
- Marine Biology
- Marine Environmental Sciences
- Marine Mammal Science
- Marine Spatial Planning
- Ocean Ecology
- Oceanography
- Oil Spills
- Physical Oceanography
- Reef Impact Assessment
- Remote Sensing & GIS
- Scleractian Coral Biology
- Sea-floor characterization
- Shark Species Management, Conservation, & Recovery
- Collection Development PolicyThe Oceanographic Campus Library adheres to the same policy for collection development as the NSU Alvin Sherman Library. This policy includes information on: audience; mission statement; intellectual freedom & censorship; library history; polices & programs; selection criteria for purchases & donations; preservation, de-selection, & replacements.
- Donated Collections:
- Richard E. Dodge Collection - Donated in 2015
- Professor & Dean, Halmos College of Natural Sciences & Oceanography
- Executive Director, National Coral Reef Institute
- OTEC Collection - Donated in 2015
- Donated by Richard A. Meyer
- The world's most complete OTEC library collection
- Kevin Muench Collection - Donated in 2014
- Donation includes books, periodicals, and grey literature covering:
- Fisheries & Aquaculture
- Coral Reefs
- Donation includes books, periodicals, and grey literature covering:
- Edward O. Keith Collection - Donated in 2012
- From the library of the late Edward O. Keith, Ph.D., NSU & Oceanographic Center Professor
- Nathaniel S. Apter Collection - Donated in 2002
- 29 volumes of The Works of Charles Darwin
- Richard E. Dodge Collection - Donated in 2015
- Purchased Collections:
The Oceanographic Campus Library accepts donations that meet the criteria listed below; however, it is at the discretion of the library whether the items are added to the collection, set out for students/faculty to take, donated to the Alvin Sherman Library (for their collection or book sale), or donated to other organizations and marine science libraries.
Acknowledge letters for donors are available upon request. Receipts or value estimate of the collection donated are not offered.
Acknowledgement via book plates included in added items are available for larger donations.
Please contact us directly if you have questions about your donation: oclibrary@nova.edu or 954-262-3699.
- Donations containing mold, mildew, or insects are considered inappropriate as they are potentially dangerous to the existing collection. Items that have damage from water, rips/tears, or writing/highlighting are also inappropriate donations. Any items with this kind of damage are not accepted, and if they are included in a larger donation, will be discarded/removed.
- Donations that fall within the scope of the Oceanographic Campus Library's collection development areas are gladly accepted.
- Monetary donations are also accepted.
