MSMS 5010, BCOR 5570 - Biostatistics
Course guide for Biostatistics (MSMS 5010, BCOR 5570)
Featured Resources
R Packages by
Turn your R code into packages that others can easily install and use. With this fully updated edition, developers and data scientists will learn how to bundle reusable R functions, sample data, and documentation together by applying the package development philosophy used by the team that maintains the "tidyverse" suite of packages. In the process, you'll learn how to automate common development tasks using a set of R packages, including devtools, usethis, testthat, and roxygen2. Authors Hadley Wickham and Jennifer Bryan from Posit (formerly known as RStudio) help you create packages quickly, then teach you how to get better over time. You'll be able to focus on what you want your package to do as you progressively develop greater mastery of the structure of a package. With this book, you will: Learn the key components of an R package, including code, documentation, and tests Streamline your development process with devtools and the RStudio IDE Get tips on effective habits such as organizing functions into files Get caught up on important new features in the devtools ecosystem Learn about the art and science of unit testing, using features in the third edition of testthat Turn your existing documentation into a beautiful and user friendly website with pkgdown Gain an appreciation of the benefits of modern code hosting platforms, such as GitHub
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781098134945Publication Date: 2023-07-25
R for Data Science by
Use R to turn data into insight, knowledge, and understanding. With this practical book, aspiring data scientists will learn how to do data science with R and RStudio, along with the tidyverseâ??a collection of R packages designed to work together to make data science fast, fluent, and fun. Even if you have no programming experience, this updated edition will have you doing data science quickly. You'll learn how to import, transform, and visualize your data and communicate the results. And you'll get a complete, big-picture understanding of the data science cycle and the basic tools you need to manage the details. Updated for the latest tidyverse features and best practices, new chapters show you how to get data from spreadsheets, databases, and websites. Exercises help you practice what you've learned along the way. You'll understand how to: Visualize: Create plots for data exploration and communication of results Transform: Discover variable types and the tools to work with them Import: Get data into R and in a form convenient for analysis Program: Learn R tools for solving data problems with greater clarity and ease Communicate: Integrate prose, code, and results with Quarto
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781492097402Publication Date: 2023-07-18
R All-In-One for Dummies by
A deep dive into the programming language of choice for statistics and data With R All-in-One For Dummies, you get five mini-books in one, offering a complete and thorough resource on the R programming language and a road map for making sense of the sea of data we're all swimming in. Maybe you're pursuing a career in data science, maybe you're looking to infuse a little statistics know-how into your existing career, or maybe you're just R-curious. This book has your back. Along with providing an overview of coding in R and how to work with the language, this book delves into the types of projects and applications R programmers tend to tackle the most. You'll find coverage of statistical analysis, machine learning, and data management with R. Grasp the basics of the R programming language and write your first lines of code Understand how R programmers use code to analyze data and perform statistical analysis Use R to create data visualizations and machine learning programs Work through sample projects to hone your R coding skill This is an excellent all-in-one resource for beginning coders who'd like to move into the data space by knowing more about R.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119983712Publication Date: 2023-01-04
The R Book - Second Edition by
Hugely successful and popular text presenting an extensive and comprehensive guide for all R users The R language is recognized as one of the most powerful and flexible statistical software packages, enabling users to apply many statistical techniques that would be impossible without such software to help implement such large data sets. R has become an essential tool for understanding and carrying out research. This edition: Features full colour text and extensive graphics throughout. Introduces a clear structure with numbered section headings to help readers locate information more efficiently. Looks at the evolution of R over the past five years. Features a new chapter on Bayesian Analysis and Meta-Analysis. Presents a fully revised and updated bibliography and reference section. Is supported by an accompanying website allowing examples from the text to be run by the user. Praise for the first edition: '...if you are an R user or wannabe R user, this text is the one that should be on your shelf. The breadth of topics covered is unsurpassed when it comes to texts on data analysis in R.' (The American Statistician, August 2008) 'The High-level software language of R is setting standards in quantitative analysis. And now anybody can get to grips with it thanks to The R Book...' (Professional Pensions, July 2007)
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0470973927Publication Date: 2012-12-26
Biostatistics Books & E-Books
Python for Scientists by
The third edition of this practical introduction to Python has been thoroughly updated, with all code migrated to Jupyter notebooks. The notebooks are available online with executable versions of all of the book's content (and more). The text starts with a detailed introduction to the basics of the Python language, without assuming any prior knowledge. Building upon each other, the most important Python packages for numerical math (NumPy), symbolic math (SymPy), and plotting (Matplotlib) are introduced, with brand new chapters covering numerical methods (SciPy) and data handling (Pandas). Further new material includes guidelines for writing efficient Python code and publishing code for other users. Simple and concise code examples, revised for compatibility with Python 3, guide the reader and support the learning process throughout the book. Readers from all of the quantitative sciences, whatever their background, will be able to quickly acquire the skills needed for using Python effectively.
Call Number: Q183.9 .S865 2023ISBN: 9781009014809Publication Date: 2023-08-31
Conservation and the Genomics of Populations by
The relentless loss of biodiversity is among the greatest problems facing the world today. The third edition of this established textbook provides an updated and comprehensive overview of the essential background, concepts, and tools required to understand how genetics can be used to conserve species, reduce threat of extinction, and manage species of ecological or commercial importance. This edition is thoroughly revised to reflect the major contribution of genomics to conservation of populations and species. It includes two new chapters: "Genetic Monitoring" and a final "Conservation Genetics in Practice" chapter that addresses the role of science and policy in conservation genetics. New genomic techniques and statistical analyses are crucial tools for the conservation geneticist. This accessible and authoritative textbook provides an essential toolkit grounded in population genetics theory, coupled with basic and applied research examples from plants, animals, and microbes. The book examines genetic and phenotypic variation in natural populations, the principles and mechanisms of evolutionary change, evolutionary response to anthropogenic change, and applications in conservation and management.Conservation and the Genomics of Populations helps demystify genetics and genomics for conservation practitioners and early career scientists, so that population genetic theory and new genomic data can help raise the bar in conserving biodiversity in the most critical 20 year period in the history of life on Earth. It is aimed at a global market of applied population geneticists, conservation practitioners, and natural resource managers working for wildlife and habitat management agencies. It will be of particular relevance and use to upper undergraduate and graduate students taking courses in conservation biology, conservation genetics, and wildlife management.
Call Number: QH75 .A42 2022ISBN: 9780198856566Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Foundations of Biostatistics by
This book offers a comprehensive guide to essential techniques and methods in biostatistics, addressing the underlying concepts to aid in comprehension. The use of biostatistics techniques has increased manifold in the recent past, due to their suitability for applications in a wide range of problems in various fields. This book helps learners grasp the materials in detail, equipping them to use biostatistics techniques independently and confidently. The book starts with a summary of background materials, followed by methods and techniques. As such, with only minimum guidance from teachers, this book can provide materials for self-learning of biostatistics techniques with a deeper level of understanding. The first two chapters focus on fundamental concepts, sources of data, data types, organization of data, and descriptive statistics, followed by the basic probability concepts, distributions and sampling distributions needed in order to combine descriptive statistics with inferential techniques. Estimation and tests of hypotheses are illustrated in two separate chapters. Important measures of association, linear regression, analysis of variance and logistic regression, and proportional hazards models are then presented systematically, ensuring that the book covers the topics most essential to students and users of biostatistics in connection with a wide range of applications in various fields. The book has been carefully structured, and the content is presented in a sequence covering the essential background in a highly systematic manner, supporting the learning process by presenting theory and applications that complement one another.
Call Number: QH323.5 .I75 2018ISBN: 9789811086267Publication Date: 2018-07-06
Statistical Analysis of Microbiome Data with R by
This unique book addresses the statistical modelling and analysis of microbiome data using cutting-edge R software. It includes real-world data from the authors' research and from the public domain, and discusses the implementation of R for data analysis step by step. The data and R computer programs are publicly available, allowing readers to replicate the model development and data analysis presented in each chapter, so that these new methods can be readily applied in their own research. The book also discusses recent developments in statistical modelling and data analysis in microbiome research, as well as the latest advances in next-generation sequencing and big data in methodological development and applications. This timely book will greatly benefit all readers involved in microbiome, ecology and microarray data analyses, as well as other fields of research.
Call Number: QR72 .X53 2018ISBN: 9811315337Publication Date: 2018-10-20
Statistics for Ecologists Using R and Excel by
This is a book about the scientific process and how you apply it to data in ecology. You will learn how to plan for data collection, how to assemble data, how to analyze data and finally how to present the results. The book uses Microsoft Excel and the powerful Open Source R program to carry out data handling as well as producing graphs. Statistical approaches covered include: data exploration; tests for difference - t-test and U-test; correlation - Spearman's rank test and Pearson product-moment; association including Chi-squared tests and goodness of fit; multivariate testing using analysis of variance (ANOVA) and Kruskal-Wallis test; and multiple regression. Key skills taught in this book include: how to plan ecological projects; how to record and assemble your data; how to use R and Excel for data analysis and graphs; how to carry out a wide range of statistical analyses including analysis of variance and regression; how to create professional looking graphs; and how to present your results. New in this edition: a completely revised chapter on graphics including graph types and their uses, Excel Chart Tools, R graphics commands and producing different chart types in Excel and in R; an expanded range of support material online, including; example data, exercises and additional notes & explanations; a new chapter on basic community statistics, biodiversity and similarity; chapter summaries and end-of-chapter exercises. Praise for the first edition: This book is a superb way in for all those looking at how to design investigations and collect data to support their findings. - Sue Townsend, Biodiversity Learning Manager, Field Studies Council [M]akes it easy for the reader to synthesise R and Excel and there is extra help and sample data available on the free companion webpage if needed. I recommended this text to the university library as well as to colleagues at my student workshops on R. Although I initially bought this book when I wanted to discover R I actually also learned new techniques for data manipulation and management in Excel - Mark Edwards, EcoBlogging A must for anyone getting to grips with data analysis using R and excel. - Amazon 5-star review It has been very easy to follow and will be perfect for anyone. - Amazon 5-star review A solid introduction to working with Excel and R. The writing is clear and informative, the book provides plenty of examples and figures so that each string of code in R or step in Excel is understood by the reader. - Goodreads, 4-star review
Call Number: QH541.15.S72 G37 2017ISBN: 9781784271398Publication Date: 2017-01-09
Environmental and Ecological Statistics with R, Second Edition by
Emphasizing the inductive nature of statistical thinking, Environmental and Ecological Statistics with R, Second Edition, connects applied statistics to the environmental and ecological fields. Using examples from published works in the ecological and environmental literature, the book explains the approach to solving a statistical problem, covering model specification, parameter estimation, and model evaluation. It includes many examples to illustrate the statistical methods and presents R code for their implementation. The emphasis is on model interpretation and assessment, and using several core examples throughout the book, the author illustrates the iterative nature of statistical inference. The book starts with a description of commonly used statistical assumptions and exploratory data analysis tools for the verification of these assumptions. It then focuses on the process of building suitable statistical models, including linear and nonlinear models, classification and regression trees, generalized linear models, and multilevel models. It also discusses the use of simulation for model checking, and provides tools for a critical assessment of the developed models. The second edition also includes a complete critique of a threshold model. Environmental and Ecological Statistics with R, Second Editionfocuses on statistical modeling and data analysis for environmental and ecological problems. By guiding readers through the process of scientific problem solving and statistical model development, it eases the transition from scientific hypothesis to statistical model.
Call Number: GE45.S73 Q25 2017ISBN: 9781498728720Publication Date: 2016-10-21
Introduction to Nonparametric Statistics for the Biological Sciences Using R by
This book contains a rich set of tools for nonparametric analyses, and the purpose of this text is to provide guidance to students and professional researchers on how R is used for nonparametric data analysis in the biological sciences: To introduce when nonparametric approaches to data analysis are appropriate To introduce the leading nonparametric tests commonly used in biostatistics and how R is used to generate appropriate statistics for each test To introduce common figures typically associated with nonparametric data analysis and how R is used to generate appropriate figures in support of each data set The book focuses on how R is used to distinguish between data that could be classified as nonparametric as opposed to data that could be classified as parametric, with both approaches to data classification covered extensively. Following an introductory lesson on nonparametric statistics for the biological sciences, the book is organized into eight self-contained lessons on various analyses and tests using R to broadly compare differences between data sets and statistical approach.
Call Number: QA278.8 .M33 2016ISBN: 9783319306339Publication Date: 2016-07-16
Introductory Fisheries Analyses with R by
A How-To Guide for Conducting Common Fisheries-Related Analyses in R Introductory Fisheries Analyses with R provides detailed instructions on performing basic fisheries stock assessment analyses in the R environment. Accessible to practicing fisheries scientists as well as advanced undergraduate and graduate students, the book demonstrates the flexibility and power of R, offers insight into the reproducibility of script-based analyses, and shows how the use of R leads to more efficient and productive work in fisheries science. The first three chapters present a minimal introduction to the R environment that builds a foundation for the fisheries-specific analyses in the remainder of the book. These chapters help you become familiar with R for basic fisheries analyses and graphics. Subsequent chapters focus on methods to analyze age comparisons, age-length keys, size structure, weight-length relationships, condition, abundance (from capture-recapture and depletion data), mortality rates, individual growth, and the stock-recruit relationship. The fundamental statistical methods of linear regression, analysis of variance (ANOVA), and nonlinear regression are demonstrated within the contexts of these common fisheries analyses. For each analysis, the author completely explains the R functions and provides sufficient background information so that you can confidently implement each method. Web Resource The author's website at http://derekogle.com/IFAR/ includes the data files and R code for each chapter, enabling you to reproduce the results in the book as well as create your own scripts. The site also offers supplemental code for more advanced analyses and practice exercises for every chapter.
Call Number: SH331.5.C65 O35 2016ISBN: 9781482235203Publication Date: 2015-11-24
A primer of ecological statistics by Call Number: QH541.15.S72 G68 2013ISBN: 9781605350646Publication Date: 2013
Discovering Statistics Using R by
Lecturers - request an e-inspection copy of this text or contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs. Watch Andy Field's introductory video to Discovering Statistics Using R Keeping the uniquely humorous and self-deprecating style that has made students across the world fall in love with Andy Field's books, Discovering Statistics Using R takes students on a journey of statistical discovery using R, a free, flexible and dynamically changing software tool for data analysis that is becoming increasingly popular across the social and behavioural sciences throughout the world. The journey begins by explaining basic statistical and research concepts before a guided tour of the R software environment. Next you discover the importance of exploring and graphing data, before moving onto statistical tests that are the foundations of the rest of the book (for example correlation and regression). You will then stride confidently into intermediate level analyses such as ANOVA, before ending your journey with advanced techniques such as MANOVA and multilevel models. Although there is enough theory to help you gain the necessary conceptual understanding of what you're doing, the emphasis is on applying what you learn to playful and real-world examples that should make the experience more fun than you might expect. Like its sister textbooks, Discovering Statistics Using R is written in an irreverent style and follows the same ground-breaking structure and pedagogical approach. The core material is augmented by a cast of characters to help the reader on their way, together with hundreds of examples, self-assessment tests to consolidate knowledge, and additional website material for those wanting to learn more. Given this book's accessibility, fun spirit, and use of bizarre real-world research it should be essential for anyone wanting to learn about statistics using the freely-available R software. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: HA32 .F537 2012ISBN: 9781446200469Publication Date: 2012-04-05
Practical Applications of Environmental Statistics and Data Analysis by Call Number: GE45.S73 P73 2011ISBN: 9781906799045Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Robust Methods in Biostatistics by
Robust statistics is an extension of classical statistics that specifically takes into account the concept that the underlying models used to describe data are only approximate. Its basic philosophy is to produce statistical procedures which are stable when the data do not exactly match the postulated models as it is the case for example with outliers. Robust Methods in Biostatistics proposes robust alternatives to common methods used in statistics in general and in biostatistics in particular and illustrates their use on many biomedical datasets. The methods introduced include robust estimation, testing, model selection, model check and diagnostics. They are developed for the following general classes of models: Linear regression Generalized linear models Linear mixed models Marginal longitudinal data models Cox survival analysis model The methods are introduced both at a theoretical and applied level within the framework of each general class of models, with a particular emphasis put on practical data analysis. This book is of particular use for research students,applied statisticians and practitioners in the health field interested in more stable statistical techniques. An accompanying website provides R code for computing all of the methods described, as well as for analyzing all the datasets used in the book.
Call Number: QH323.5 .R615 2009ISBN: 9780470027264Publication Date: 2009-05-26
Data Science, Analytics and Machine Learning with R by
Data Science, Analytics and Machine Learning with R explains the principles of data mining and machine learning techniques and accentuates the importance of applied and multivariate modeling. The book emphasizes the fundamentals of each technique, with step-by-step codes and real-world examples with data from areas such as medicine and health, biology, engineering, technology and related sciences. Examples use the most recent R language syntax, with recognized robust, widespread and current packages. Code scripts are exhaustively commented, making it clear to readers what happens in each command. For data collection, readers are instructed how to build their own robots from the very beginning. In addition, an entire chapter focuses on the concept of spatial analysis, allowing readers to build their own maps through geo-referenced data (such as in epidemiologic research) and some basic statistical techniques. Other chapters cover ensemble and uplift modeling and GLMM (Generalized Linear Mixed Models) estimations, both linear and nonlinear. Presents a comprehensive and practical overview of machine learning, data mining and AI techniques for a broad multidisciplinary audience Serves readers who are interested in statistics, analytics and modeling, and those who wish to deepen their knowledge in programming through the use of R Teaches readers how to apply machine learning techniques to a wide range of data and subject areas Presents data in a graphically appealing way, promoting greater information transparency and interactive learning
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780323859233Publication Date: 2023-01-23
Conservation and the Genomics of Populations by
The relentless loss of biodiversity is among the greatest problems facing the world today. The third edition of this established textbook provides an updated and comprehensive overview of the essential background, concepts, and tools required to understand how genetics can be used to conserve species, reduce threat of extinction, and manage species of ecological or commercial importance. This edition is thoroughly revised to reflect the major contribution of genomics to conservation of populations and species. It includes two new chapters: "Genetic Monitoring" and a final "Conservation Genetics in Practice" chapter that addresses the role of science and policy in conservation genetics. New genomic techniques and statistical analyses are crucial tools for the conservation geneticist. This accessible and authoritative textbook provides an essential toolkit grounded in population genetics theory, coupled with basic and applied research examples from plants, animals, and microbes. The book examines genetic and phenotypic variation in natural populations, the principles and mechanisms of evolutionary change, evolutionary response to anthropogenic change, and applications in conservation and management.Conservation and the Genomics of Populations helps demystify genetics and genomics for conservation practitioners and early career scientists, so that population genetic theory and new genomic data can help raise the bar in conserving biodiversity in the most critical 20 year period in the history of life on Earth. It is aimed at a global market of applied population geneticists, conservation practitioners, and natural resource managers working for wildlife and habitat management agencies. It will be of particular relevance and use to upper undergraduate and graduate students taking courses in conservation biology, conservation genetics, and wildlife management.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780198856573Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Quantile Regression by
QUANTILE REGRESSION A thorough presentation of Quantile Regression designed to help readers obtain richer information from data analyses The conditional least-square or mean-regression (MR) analysis is the quantitative research method used to model and analyze the relationships between a dependent variable and one or more independent variables, where each equation estimation of a regression can give only a single regression function or fitted values variable. As an advanced mean regression analysis, each estimation equation of the mean-regression can be used directly to estimate the conditional quantile regression (QR), which can quickly present the statistical results of a set nine QR(τ)s for τ(tau)s from 0.1 up to 0.9 to predict detail distribution of the response or criterion variable. QR is an important analytical tool in many disciplines such as statistics, econometrics, ecology, healthcare, and engineering. Quantile Regression: Applications on Experimental and Cross Section Data Using EViews provides examples of statistical results of various QR analyses based on experimental and cross section data of a variety of regression models. The author covers the applications of one-way, two-way, and n-way ANOVA quantile regressions, QRs with multi numerical predictors, heterogeneous QRs, and latent variables QRs, amongst others. Throughout the text, readers learn how to develop the best possible quantile regressions and how to conduct more advanced analysis using methods such as the quantile process, the Wald test, the redundant variables test, residual analysis, the stability test, and the omitted variables test. This rigorous volume: Describes how QR can provide a more detailed picture of the relationships between independent variables and the quantiles of the criterion variable, by using the least-square regression Presents the applications of the test for any quantile of any numerical response or criterion variable Explores relationship of QR with heterogeneity: how an independent variable affects a dependent variable Offers expert guidance on forecasting and how to draw the best conclusions from the results obtained Provides a step-by-step estimation method and guide to enable readers to conduct QR analysis using their own data sets Includes a detailed comparison of conditional QR and conditional mean regression Quantile Regression: Applications on Experimental and Cross Section Data Using EViews is a highly useful resource for students and lecturers in statistics, data analysis, econometrics, engineering, ecology, and healthcare, particularly those specializing in regression and quantitative data analysis.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119715177Publication Date: 2021-06-21
Handbook of Environmental and Ecological Statistics by
This handbook focuses on the enormous literature applying statistical methodology and modelling to environmental and ecological processes. The 21stcentury statistics community has become increasingly interdisciplinary, bringing a large collection of modern tools to all areas of application in environmental processes. In addition, the environmental community has substantially increased its scope of data collection including observational data, satellite-derived data, and computer model output. The resultant impact in this latter community has been substantial; no longer are simple regression and analysis of variance methods adequate. The contribution of this handbook is to assemble a state-of-the-art view of this interface. Features: An internationally regarded editorial team. A distinguished collection of contributors. A thoroughly contemporary treatment of a substantial interdisciplinary interface. Written to engage both statisticians as well as quantitative environmental researchers. 34 chapters covering methodology, ecological processes, environmental exposure, and statistical methods in climate science. ion of contributors. A thoroughly contemporary treatment of a substantial interdisciplinary interface. Written to engage both statisticians as well as quantitative environmental researchers. 34 chapters covering methodology, ecological processes, environmental exposure, and statistical methods in climate science.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1498752020Publication Date: 2019-02-11
Oceanographic Analysis with R by
This book presents the R software environment as a key tool for oceanographic computations and provides a rationale for using R over the more widely-used tools of the field such as MATLAB. Kelley provides a general introduction to R before introducing the 'oce' package. This package greatly simplifies oceanographic analysis by handling the details of discipline-specific file formats, calculations, and plots. Designed for real-world application and developed with open-source protocols, oce supports a broad range of practical work. Generic functions take care of general operations such as subsetting and plotting data, while specialized functions address more specific tasks such as tidal decomposition, hydrographic analysis, and ADCP coordinate transformation. In addition, the package makes it easy to document work, because its functions automatically update processing logs stored within its data objects. Kelley teaches key R functions using classic examples from the history of oceanography, specifically the work of Alfred Redfield, Gordon Riley, J. Tuzo Wilson, and Walter Munk. Acknowledging the pervasive popularity of MATLAB, the book provides advice to users who would like to switch to R. Including a suite of real-life applications and over 100 exercises and solutions, the treatment is ideal for oceanographers, technicians, and students who want to add R to their list of tools for oceanographic analysis.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781493988426Publication Date: 2018-10-18
Introductory Fisheries Analyses with R by
A How-To Guide for Conducting Common Fisheries-Related Analyses in R Introductory Fisheries Analyses with R provides detailed instructions on performing basic fisheries stock assessment analyses in the R environment. Accessible to practicing fisheries scientists as well as advanced undergraduate and graduate students, the book demonstrates the flexibility and power of R, offers insight into the reproducibility of script-based analyses, and shows how the use of R leads to more efficient and productive work in fisheries science. The first three chapters present a minimal introduction to the R environment that builds a foundation for the fisheries-specific analyses in the remainder of the book. These chapters help you become familiar with R for basic fisheries analyses and graphics. Subsequent chapters focus on methods to analyze age comparisons, age-length keys, size structure, weight-length relationships, condition, abundance (from capture-recapture and depletion data), mortality rates, individual growth, and the stock-recruit relationship. The fundamental statistical methods of linear regression, analysis of variance (ANOVA), and nonlinear regression are demonstrated within the contexts of these common fisheries analyses. For each analysis, the author completely explains the R functions and provides sufficient background information so that you can confidently implement each method. Web Resource The author's website at http://derekogle.com/IFAR/ includes the data files and R code for each chapter, enabling you to reproduce the results in the book as well as create your own scripts. The site also offers supplemental code for more advanced analyses and practice exercises for every chapter.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781482235227Publication Date: 2018-09-03- Environmental and Ecological Statistics with R, Second Edition by
Emphasizing the inductive nature of statistical thinking, Environmental and Ecological Statistics with R, Second Edition, connects applied statistics to the environmental and ecological fields. Using examples from published works in the ecological and environmental literature, the book explains the approach to solving a statistical problem, covering model specification, parameter estimation, and model evaluation. It includes many examples to illustrate the statistical methods and presents R code for their implementation. The emphasis is on model interpretation and assessment, and using several core examples throughout the book, the author illustrates the iterative nature of statistical inference. The book starts with a description of commonly used statistical assumptions and exploratory data analysis tools for the verification of these assumptions. It then focuses on the process of building suitable statistical models, including linear and nonlinear models, classification and regression trees, generalized linear models, and multilevel models. It also discusses the use of simulation for model checking, and provides tools for a critical assessment of the developed models. The second edition also includes a complete critique of a threshold model. Environmental and Ecological Statistics with R, Second Editionfocuses on statistical modeling and data analysis for environmental and ecological problems. By guiding readers through the process of scientific problem solving and statistical model development, it eases the transition from scientific hypothesis to statistical model.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781498728720Publication Date: 2016-10-21
Introduction to Data Analysis and Graphical Presentation in Biostatistics with R by
Through real-world datasets, this book shows the reader how to work with material in biostatistics using the open source software R. These include tools that are critical to dealing with missing data, which is a pressing scientific issue for those engaged in biostatistics. Readers will be equipped to run analyses and make graphical presentations based on the sample dataset and their own data. The hands-on approach will benefit students and ensure the accessibility of this book for readers with a basic understanding of R. Topics include: an introduction to Biostatistics and R, data exploration, descriptive statistics and measures of central tendency, t-Test for independent samples, t-Test for matched pairs, ANOVA, correlation and linear regression, and advice for future work.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319025322Publication Date: 2013-11-19
Advanced R by
An Essential Reference for Intermediate and Advanced R ProgrammersAdvanced R presents useful tools and techniques for attacking many types of R programming problems, helping you avoid mistakes and dead ends. With more than ten years of experience programming in R, the author illustrates the elegance, beauty, and flexibility at the heart of R.The bo
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781466586970Publication Date: 2014-09-25
Handbook of Meta-Analysis in Ecology and Evolution by ISBN: 9780691137285Publication Date: 2013-04-21
Basic Statistics by
Basic Statistics provides an accessible and comprehensive introduction to statistics using the free, state-of-the-art software program R. This book is designed to both introduce students to key concepts in statistics and to provide simple instructions for using the powerful software program R.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781283833837Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Biostatistics With R by
'Biostatistics with R' is designed to mimic the interaction between theory and application in statistics. The topics include data exploration, estimation, and clustering with two appendices on installing and running R and R-commander.
ISBN: 1461413028Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |