ENVS 1500 - Natural History of South Florida
Course guide for Natural History of South Florida (ENVS 1500)
Natural History of South Florida
ENVS 1500
Fall 2024
Through classroom, field trip, and practical experience, this course provides instruction on the general ecology, habitats, vegetation types, wildlife, and conservation issues of Fresh Water Wetlands, Coastal Systems and Upland Systems in South Florida. The course addresses society's role toward various ecosystems and discusses environmental ethics. The course will provide students with examples of common behaviors that negatively affect local species and present simple alternatives that can be incorporated into their daily lives. Students will also be taught naturalist interpretation skills during hikes through local natural areas.
Required Textbooks:
Ecosystems of Florida by
"An important book that everyone who works on Florida environmental policy in any way should own . . . [and] anyone who cares about nature in Florida would love to own."--Tallahassee Democrat "The first comprehensive guide to the state's natural resources to be written in half a century . . . invaluable"--Tampa Tribune "Ecosystems of Florida has a proud heritage. Its authors have the same skill and enthusiasm that characterized the early Florida ecologists. The descriptions will encourage and delight a multitude of men and women who are enamored of Florida's landscapes. The salvation of the Florida scene will come about only if the public savors its beauty, understands its limitations, and speaks up for its preservation. This book has come just in time to save the landscapes of Florida."--Marjorie Harris Carr, from the foreword Between roughly 25 and 31 degrees north latitude, a combination of flat topography, poor soils, and limited surface water produce deserts nearly everywhere on earth. In Florida, however, these conditions support a lavish biota, more diverse than that of any other state east of the Mississippi. In this first comprehensive guide to the state's natural resources in sixty years, thirty top scholars describe the character, relationships, and importance of Florida's ecosystems, the organisms that inhabit them, the forces that maintain them, and the agents that threaten them. From pine flatwoods to coral reef, Ecosystems of Florida provides a detailed, comprehensive, authoritative account of the peninsular state's complex, fragile environments. In straightforward text, charts, maps, and illustrations, Ecosystems of Florida offers broad vision and detailed expertise to naturalists, wildlife managers, land use planners, foresters, and other professional and general readers interested in Florida's environmental resources. For the foreseeable future, it will serve as the authoritative guide to the state's environment and to those who would work with it.
Call Number: QH105.F6 E26 1990ISBN: 0813010225Publication Date: 1990-09-01
Ecosystems of Florida by
"An important book that everyone who works on Florida environmental policy in any way should own . . . [and] anyone who cares about nature in Florida would love to own."--Tallahassee Democrat "The first comprehensive guide to the state's natural resources to be written in half a century . . . invaluable"--Tampa Tribune "Ecosystems of Florida has a proud heritage. Its authors have the same skill and enthusiasm that characterized the early Florida ecologists. The descriptions will encourage and delight a multitude of men and women who are enamored of Florida's landscapes. The salvation of the Florida scene will come about only if the public savors its beauty, understands its limitations, and speaks up for its preservation. This book has come just in time to save the landscapes of Florida."--Marjorie Harris Carr, from the foreword Between roughly 25 and 31 degrees north latitude, a combination of flat topography, poor soils, and limited surface water produce deserts nearly everywhere on earth. In Florida, however, these conditions support a lavish biota, more diverse than that of any other state east of the Mississippi. In this first comprehensive guide to the state's natural resources in sixty years, thirty top scholars describe the character, relationships, and importance of Florida's ecosystems, the organisms that inhabit them, the forces that maintain them, and the agents that threaten them. From pine flatwoods to coral reef, Ecosystems of Florida provides a detailed, comprehensive, authoritative account of the peninsular state's complex, fragile environments. In straightforward text, charts, maps, and illustrations, Ecosystems of Florida offers broad vision and detailed expertise to naturalists, wildlife managers, land use planners, foresters, and other professional and general readers interested in Florida's environmental resources. For the foreseeable future, it will serve as the authoritative guide to the state's environment and to those who would work with it.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9780813010229Publication Date: 1990-09-01
Recommended Textbooks:
National Audubon Society Regional Guide to Florida by
Filled with concise descriptions and stunning photographs, the National Audubon Society Field Guide to Florida belongs in the home of every Florida resident and in the suitcase or backpack of every visitor. This compact volume contains: An easy-to-use field guide for identifying 1,000 of the state's wildflowers, trees, mushrooms, mosses, fishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds, butterflies, mammals, and much more; A complete overview of Florida's natural history, covering geology, wildlife habitats, ecology, fossils, rocks and minerals, clouds and weather patterns and night sky; An extensive sampling of the area's best parks, preserves, beaches, forests, islands, and wildlife sanctuaries, with detailed descriptions and visitor information for 50 sites and notes on dozens of others. The guide is packed with visual information -- the 1,500 full-color images include more than 1,300 photographs, 14 maps, and 16 night-sky charts, as well as 150 drawings explaining everything from geological processes to the basic features of different plants and animals. For everyone who lives or spends time in Florida, there can be no finer guide to the area's natural surroundings than the National Audubon Society Field Guide to Florida.
Call Number: QH105.F6 N38 1998 (Reference Book - LIB USE ONLY)ISBN: 9780679446774Publication Date: 1998-05-26- National Audubon Society Regional Guide to Florida by
The most comprehensive field guide available to the flora and fauna of Florida--a portable, essential companion for visitors and residents alike--from the go-to reference source for over 18 million nature lovers. This compact volume contains: An easy-to-use field guide for identifying 1,000 of the state's wildflowers, trees, mushrooms, mosses, fishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds, butterflies, mammals, and much more; A complete overview of Florida's natural history, covering geology, wildlife habitats, ecology, fossils, rocks and minerals, clouds and weather patterns and night sky; An extensive sampling of the area's best parks, preserves, beaches, forests, islands, and wildlife sanctuaries, with detailed descriptions and visitor information for 50 sites and notes on dozens of others. The guide is packed with visual information -- the 1,500 full-color images include more than 1,300 photographs, 14 maps, and 16 night-sky charts, as well as 150 drawings explaining everything from geological processes to the basic features of different plants and animals.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9780679446774Publication Date: 1998-05-26
- Determine and characterize environmental variables associated with aquatic, wetland and upland ecosystems of South Florida
- Document the presence of living organisms during lab and field trip excursions
- Utilize field guides to identify South Florida flora and fauna
- Identify ecosystems and common habitat types used by South Florida species
- Develop interpretative, educational projects which relate to the local environment
- Discuss local environmental threats and the importance of environmental ethics
 |
 |
Search:
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find Research Tips and Useful Resources
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides
News, Events, & Training | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes