MBIO 2410 Marine Biology: Getting Started
Marine Biology
Marine Biology
MBIO 2410
Fall 2023
This introductory course for the marine biology major will acquaint the student with basic principles of marine biology and function as a complementary course to Oceanography/Lab (MBIO 2500). The course will touch upon basic aspects of physical, chemical, and geological oceanography, and then focus upon marine communities found in the open ocean, deep sea, coastal shelf and inter tidal regions. Species diversity, phylogenetic relationships, organisms function, symbiotic relationships, and ecological interactions will be examined.
Required Textbooks:
Marine Biology by
Marine Biology covers the basics of marine biology with a global approach, using examples from numerous regions and ecosystems worldwide. This introductory, one-semester text is designed for non-majors. Authors Castro and Huber have made a special effort to include solid basic science content needed in a general education course, including the fundamental principles of biology, the physical sciences, and the scientific method. This science coverage is integrated with a stimulating, up-to-date overview of marine biology.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 1260085104Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Marine Biology by
Marine Biology covers the basics of marine biology with a global approach, using examples from numerous regions and ecosystems worldwide. This introductory, one-semester text is designed for non-majors. Authors Castro and Huber have made a special effort to include solid basic science content needed in a general education course, including the fundamental principles of biology, the physical sciences, and the scientific method. This science coverage is integrated with a stimulating, up-to-date overview of marine biology.
Call Number: QH91 .C37 2016ISBN: 9780078023064Publication Date: 2015-09-16
- Amplify your understanding of basic biology to incorporate more specific knowledge of marine organisms and habitats
- Develop an introductory understanding of marine chemistry, physics and geology
- Describe the variety of marine community types, and their relationships with each other and terrestrial systems
- Attain a working understanding of the wide variety of marine organisms
- Describe local marine communities and their associated flora and fauna
- Produce laboratory reports that demonstrate the ability to research and describe marine organism relationships and behavior
Other Course Guides
Quick Search
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find Research Tips and Useful Resources
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides
News, Events, & Training | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes