MBIO 3700 - Biology of Fishes
Course guide for Biology of Fishes/Lab (MBIO 3700)
Biology of Fishes
MBIO 3700
Fall 2024
This is an introduction to the major groups of fishes such as jawless, cartilaginous and bony fishes. Topics will include the diversity of extant fishes from various aquatic habitats, with emphasis on local species, the anatomy, physiology, behavior, ecology and evolution of fishes, and fisheries conservation and enhancement practices.
Recommended Textbooks:
The Diversity of Fishes by
The second edition of The Diversity of Fishes represents a major revision of the world's most widely adopted ichthyology textbook. Expanded and updated, the second edition is illustrated throughout with striking color photographs depicting the spectacular evolutionary adaptations of the most ecologically and taxonomically diverse vertebrate group. The text incorporates the latest advances in the biology of fishes, covering taxonomy, anatomy, physiology, biogeography, ecology, and behavior. A new chapter on genetics and molecular ecology of fishes has been added, and conservation is emphasized throughout. Hundreds of new and redrawn illustrations augment readable text, and every chapter has been revised to reflect the discoveries and greater understanding achieved during the past decade. Written by a team of internationally-recognized authorities, the first edition of The Diversity of Fishes was received with enthusiasm and praise, and incorporated into ichthyology and fish biology classes around the globe, at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. The second edition is a substantial update of an already classic reference and text. Companion resources site This book is accompanied by a resources site: www.wiley.com/go/helfman The site is being constantly updated by the author team and provides: · Related videos selected by the authors · Updates to the book since publication · Instructor resources · A chance to send in feedback
ISBN: 9781405124942Publication Date: 2009-05-04
Bond's Biology of Fishes by
Master the study of fishes with BOND'S BIOLOGY OF FISHES! Providing an excellent background for the study of more advanced works on fishes, this fish biology text gives you a clear and concise introduction to the study of fishes and provides you with tools that you need to succeed.
ISBN: 9780120798759Publication Date: 2006-01-04
Fishes of the World (eBook) by
Take your knowledge of fishes to the next level Fishes of the World, Fifth Edition is the only modern, phylogenetically based classification of the world's fishes. The updated text offers new phylogenetic diagrams that clarify the relationships among fish groups, as well as cutting-edge global knowledge that brings this classic reference up to date. With this resource, you can classify orders, families, and genera of fishes, understand the connections among fish groups, organize fishes in their evolutionary context, and imagine new areas of research. To further assist your work, this text provides representative drawings, many of them new, for most families of fishes, allowing you to make visual connections to the information as you read. It also contains many references to the classical as well as the most up-to-date literature on fish relationships, based on both morphology and molecular biology. The study of fishes is one that certainly requires dedication--and access to reliable, accurate information. With more than 30,000 known species of sharks, rays, and bony fishes, both lobe-finned and ray-finned, you will need to master your area of study with the assistance of the best reference materials available. This text will help you bring your knowledge of fishes to the next level. Explore the anatomical characteristics, distribution, common and scientific names, and phylogenetic relationships of fishes Access biological and anatomical information on more than 515 families of living fishes Better appreciate the complexities and controversies behind the modern view of fish relationships Refer to an extensive bibliography, which points you in the direction of additional, valuable, and up-to-date information, much of it published within the last few years Fishes of the World, Fifth Edition is an invaluable resource for professional ichthyologists, aquatic ecologists, marine biologists, fish breeders, aquaculturists, and conservationists.
ISBN: 9781119220817Publication Date: 2016-03-16
Fishes of the World (Print) by
Take your knowledge of fishes to the next level Fishes of the World, Fifth Edition is the only modern, phylogenetically based classification of the world's fishes. The updated text offers new phylogenetic diagrams that clarify the relationships among fish groups, as well as cutting-edge global knowledge that brings this classic reference up to date. With this resource, you can classify orders, families, and genera of fishes, understand the connections among fish groups, organize fishes in their evolutionary context, and imagine new areas of research. To further assist your work, this text provides representative drawings, many of them new, for most families of fishes, allowing you to make visual connections to the information as you read. It also contains many references to the classical as well as the most up-to-date literature on fish relationships, based on both morphology and molecular biology. The study of fishes is one that certainly requires dedication--and access to reliable, accurate information. With more than 30,000 known species of sharks, rays, and bony fishes, both lobe-finned and ray-finned, you will need to master your area of study with the assistance of the best reference materials available. This text will help you bring your knowledge of fishes to the next level. Explore the anatomical characteristics, distribution, common and scientific names, and phylogenetic relationships of fishes Access biological and anatomical information on more than 515 families of living fishes Better appreciate the complexities and controversies behind the modern view of fish relationships Refer to an extensive bibliography, which points you in the direction of additional, valuable, and up-to-date information, much of it published within the last few years Fishes of the World, Fifth Edition is an invaluable resource for professional ichthyologists, aquatic ecologists, marine biologists, fish breeders, aquaculturists, and conservationists.
ISBN: 9781118342336Publication Date: 2016-03-28
The Physiology of Fishes by
The fifth edition of The Physiology of Fishes represents a compendium of knowledge across fish physiology, collecting up-to-date research into an easy-to-access single textbook. Written by the leaders in the field, it provides a comprehensive, accessible review of the core topics, integrating physiology with environmental science, ecology, evolution, and molecular cell biology. New chapters address Epigenetics, Biomechanics and Locomotion, and Behaviour and Learning. Each chapter contains an extensive bibliography, providing readers with the best sources from the primary literature. Almost three decades after the publication of the first edition, this book remains the only published single-volume work on fish physiology. The fifth edition provides an important reference for new students of fish biology, marine and freshwater biologists, ichthyologists, fisheries scientists, and comparative physiologists.
Call Number: QL639.1 .P49 2021ISBN: 9780367541095Publication Date: 2020-09-08
The Physiology of Fishes by
The fifth edition of The Physiology of Fishes represents a compendium of knowledge across fish physiology, collecting up-to-date research into an easy-to-access single textbook. Written by the leaders in the field, it provides a comprehensive, accessible review of the core topics, integrating physiology with environmental science, ecology, evolution, and molecular cell biology. New chapters address Epigenetics, Biomechanics and Locomotion, and Behaviour and Learning. Each chapter contains an extensive bibliography, providing readers with the best sources from the primary literature. Almost three decades after the publication of the first edition, this book remains the only published single-volume work on fish physiology. The fifth edition provides an important reference for new students of fish biology, marine and freshwater biologists, ichthyologists, fisheries scientists, and comparative physiologists.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781003036401Publication Date: 2020-09-07
- Describe the taxonomic classification, fundamental behavior and ecology of fishes.
- Identify various anatomical structures, in addition to describing their functions as well as a range of physiological processes commonly observed in fishes.
- Compare and contrast the impacts caused by commercial versus conservation practices and restoration techniques used today.
- Demonstrate proficiency in a variety of fish collection techniques.
- Perform proper preservation and identification techniques for adult and larval fishes in field and laboratory settings.
 |
 |
Search:
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
If you have the DOI of an article, you can search for the article using DOI Tools.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find research tips, useful resources, and more by searching our LibGuides or browsing the topics below:
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes |