MSMS 6008: Biology of Sharks and Rays
Biology of Sharks and Rays
MSMS 6008
Fall 2024
Although the study of sharks generally lags behind studies on bony fishes and many other animals, our understanding of the biology of sharks and rays has improved tremendously over the past several decades. Despite much of the interest in sharks stemming from the fact that they occasionally bite humans, sharks are fascinating animals in many respects. They are highly specialized inhabitants of the sea and possess a variety of unique characteristics that are integral to their having been around for the past 400 million years. In this course, we will explore the general biology of sharks and rays by examining topics concentrating on their anatomy, physiology and biochemistry with the goal of understanding how exquisitely adapted these animals are to their environment.
Required Textbooks:
Biology of Sharks and Their Relatives by
Biology of Sharks and Their Relatives is an award-winning and groundbreaking exploration of the fundamental elements of the taxonomy, systematics, physiology, and ecology of sharks, skates, rays, and chimera. This edition presents current research as well as traditional models, to provide future researchers with solid historical foundations in shark research as well as presenting current trends from which to develop new frontiers in their own work. Traditional areas of study such as age and growth, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, sensory biology, and ecology are updated with contemporary research that incorporates emerging techniques including molecular genetics, exploratory techniques in artificial insemination, and the rapidly expanding fields of satellite tracking, remote sensing, accelerometry, and imaging. With two new editors and 90 contributors from the US, UK, South Africa, Portugal, France, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, India, Palau, United Arab Emirates, Micronesia, Sweden, Argentina, Indonesia, Cameroon, and the Netherlands, this third edition is the most global and comprehensive yet. It adds six new chapters representing extensive studies of health, stress, disease and pathology, and social structure, and continues to explore elasmobranch ecological roles and interactions with their habitats. The book concludes with a comprehensive review of conservation policies, management, and strategies, as well as consideration of the potential effects of impending climate change. Presenting cohesive and integrated coverage of key topics and discussing technological advances used in modern shark research, this revised edition offers a well-rounded picture for students and researchers.
ISBN: 9780367861179Publication Date: 2022-06-09
Sharks and Their Relatives II by
Since the award-winning first volume, The Biology of Sharks and Their Relatives, published in 2004, the field has witnessed tremendous developments in research, rapid advances in technology, and the emergence of new investigators beginning to explore issues of biodiversity, distribution, physiology, and ecology in ways that eluded more traditional
ISBN: 9781420080483Publication Date: 2010-03-09
Sharks, Skates, and Rays by
Successor to the classic work in shark studies, The Elasmobranch Fishes by John Franklin Daniel (first published 1922, revised 1928 and 1934), Sharks, Skates, and Rays provides a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of elasmobranch morphology. Coverage has been expanded from anatomy to include modern information on physiology and biochemistry. The new volume also provides equal treatment for skates and rays. The authors present general introductory material for the relative novice but also review the latest technical citations, making the book a valuable primary reference resource. More than 200 illustrations supplement the text.
Call Number: QL638.6 .S52 1999ISBN: 0801860482Publication Date: 1999-05-21
Sharks of the Order Carcharhiniformes by
This is a reprint of the book Sharks of the Carcharhiniformes, first published in 1988.
Call Number: QL638.9 .C57 2003ISBN: 1930665768Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Sharks of the Open Ocean by
This important and exciting title represents the first authoritative volume focussed on pelagic (open ocean) sharks as a group. Virtually every pelagic shark expert in the world has contributed to this landmark publication which includes the latest data and knowledge on pelagic shark biology, fisheries, management, and conservation. Pelagic sharks face unprecedented levels of exploitation in all the world's oceans through both direct fisheries and by-catch, and effective management for these species is contingent upon solid science and data, which this book brings together for the first time. All those involved in shark biology will need to have a copy of this book.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781444302523Publication Date: 2009-01-21
Recommended Textbooks:
Gain a well-rounded understanding of the general biology of sharks and rays, with a focus on anatomy, physiology and biochemistry.
Gain knowledge of the diversity of physiological, biochemical and anatomical features that are found among sharks and rays, and that have enabled them to persist for millions of years.
Be better prepared for careers in marine ecology, zoology, ichthyology, and fisheries management.
 |
 |
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
If you have the DOI of an article, you can search for the article using DOI Tools.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find research tips, useful resources, and more by searching our LibGuides or browsing the topics below:
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes |