Artificial Intelligence (A.I.)
The resources included in this reference guide focus on explaining what A.I. is, how it being used in law, how it can be used by educators, and what are the risks inherent in its usage.
About this Reference Guide
A.I is a complementary tool for practitioners and educators. It cannot replace human competence; however, it can increase personal productivity and, in the academic setting, improve overall student learning. The resources included in this reference guide focus on explaining what A.I. is, how it being used in law, how it can be used by educators, and what are the risks inherent in its usage.
Please keep in mind, innovations in A.I. are moving faster than the people can publish. Many titles - in particular, those discussing general generative A.I. tools (e.g., ChatGPT and OpenAI) - may not address the newer tools being introduced in our legal research databases (e.g., Lexis A.I. Assistant and Westlaw Precision A.I. Assisted Research).
Understanding A.I.
Law and Artificial Intelligence: Regulating AI and Applying AI in Legal Practice by
This book provides an in-depth overview of what is currently happening in the field of Law and Artificial Intelligence (AI). From deep fakes and disinformation to killer robots, surgical robots, and AI lawmaking, the many and varied contributors to this volume discuss how AI could and should be regulated in the areas of public law, including constitutional law, human rights law, criminal law, and tax law, as well as areas of private law, including liability law, competition law, and consumer law. Aimed at an audience without a background in technology, this book covers how AI changes these areas of law as well as legal practice itself. This scholarship should prove of value to academics in several disciplines (e.g., law, ethics, sociology, politics, and public administration) and those who may find themselves confronted with AI in the course of their work, particularly people working within the legal domain (e.g., lawyers, judges, law enforcement officers, public prosecutors, lawmakers, and policy advisors). Bart Custers is Professor of Law and Data Science at eLaw - Center for Law and Digital Technologies at Leiden University in the Netherlands. Eduard Fosch-Villaronga is Assistant Professor at eLaw - Center for Law and Digital Technologies at Leiden University in the Netherlands.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789462655232Publication Date: 2022-07-06
AI for Lawyers by
Discover how artificial intelligence can improve how your organization practices law with this compelling resource from the creators of one of the world's leading legal AI platforms. AI for Lawyers: How Artificial Intelligence is Adding Value, Amplifying Expertise, and Transforming Careers explains how artificial intelligence can be used to revolutionize your organization's operations. Noah Waisberg and Dr. Alexander Hudek, a lawyer and a computer science Ph.D. who lead prominent legal AI business Kira Systems, have written an approachable and insightful book that will help you transform how your firm functions. AI for Lawyers explains how artificial intelligence can help your law firm: Win more business and find more clients Better meet and exceed client expectations Find hidden efficiencies Better manage and eliminate risk Increase associate and partner engagement Whether focusing on small or big law, AI for Lawyers is perfect for any lawyer who either feels uneasy about how AI might change law or is looking to capitalize on the evolving practice. With contributions from experts in the fields of e-Discovery, legal research, expert systems, and litigation analytics, it also belongs on the bookshelf of anyone who's interested in the intersection of law and technology.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781119723882Publication Date: 2021-02-02
Cooper and Kompella's a Short and Happy Guide to Artificial Intelligence and the Law by
Everything you wanted to know about Artificial Intelligence (AI) but were afraid to ask.This guide helps attorneys, judges, judicial administrators, paralegals, and law students understand what happens when the world's slowest profession meets the world's fastest evolving technology. From commercial law to criminal law, from intellectual property law to employment law, and from consumer law to corporate law, no area of practice will be left untouched by AI.No technical mumbo-jumbo here. This book is an easy-to-understand survival manual for the coming world of AI. You will learn about the core concepts of AI, its implications in different fields of law, and its ethics and regulation. We have combed through hundreds of articles, reports, and corporate manuals and distilled their essence for you. We are like ChatGPT, just funnier and with fewer hallucinations.We hope this book inspires lawyers, young and old, to become AI Jedis in the pursuit of justice for all.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9798892090858Publication Date: 2024-11-11
Artificial intelligence: Law and Regulation by
"This timely book provides an extensive overview and analysis of the law and regulation as it applies to the technology and uses of Artificial Intelligence (AI). It examines the human and ethical conc erns associated with the technology, the history of AI and AI in commercial contexts. Written by outstanding lawyers, technologists and other professionals, this book will help readers acquire an understanding of the taxonomy of AI, the legal rules that apply to AI and the way AI has been utilised in various commercial contexts. Key Features: Explanation of the technology and practical legal issues relating to the use of AI Exploration of AI in the traditional legal categories; including contract and tort law Chapters written by procurement, legaltech, algorithm auditing and other professionals Use cases from the main industries utilising the technology, such as financial services, real estate and insurance Artificial Intelligence will help to further readers' engagement with AI and enable them to ask themselves the right questions while doing so. It will prove a crucial reference point for all lawyers, policy makers and academics with an interest in the interaction between law and AI, and to any lawyer with clients that use or consider using AI in their business"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781800371729Publication Date: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2022.The Cambridge Handbook on the Law, Ethics and Policy of Artificial Intelligence by This informative Handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the legal, ethical, and policy implications of AI and algorithmic systems. As these technologies continue to impact various aspects of our lives, it is crucial to understand and assess the challenges and opportunities they present. Drawing on contributions from experts in various disciplines, the book covers theoretical insights and practical examples of how AI systems are used in society today. It also explores the legal and policy instruments governing AI, with a focus on Europe. The interdisciplinary approach of this book makes it an invaluable resource for anyone seeking to gain a deeper understanding of AI's impact on society and how it should be regulated. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781009367783Publication Date: 2025-01-30
Robotics, AI, and Humanity by
This open access book examines recent advances in how artificial intelligence (AI) and robotics have elicited widespread debate over their benefits and drawbacks for humanity. The emergent technologies have for instance implications within medicine and health care, employment, transport, manufacturing, agriculture, and armed conflict. While there has been considerable attention devoted to robotics/AI applications in each of these domains, a fuller picture of their connections and the possible consequences for our shared humanity seems needed. This volume covers multidisciplinary research, examines current research frontiers in AI/robotics and likely impacts on societal well-being, human - robot relationships, as well as the opportunities and risks for sustainable development and peace. The attendant ethical and religious dimensions of these technologies are addressed and implications for regulatory policies on the use and future development of AI/robotics technologies are elaborated.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9783030541729Publication Date: 2021-02-13
Augmented Education in the Global Age by
Augmented Education in the Global Age: Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Learning and Work is an edited collection that explores the social impact of Artificial Intelligence over the coming decades, specifically how this emerging technology will transform and disrupt our contemporary institutions. Chapters in this book discuss the history of technological revolutions and consider the anxieties and social challenges of lost occupations, as well as the evolution of new industries overlapping robotics, biotechnology, space exploration, and clean energy. Chapter authors unpack the nature of augmented education, from revamping curriculum and personalizing education, to redesigning workplace learning for an algorithmic era. Ultimately the book discusses policy and planning for an augmented future, arguing that work and learning are undergoing a metamorphosis around creativity and innovation amid a new global era and the race against automating technologies. Bringing together expert perspectives from around the world, this exciting, informative collection of research and analysis helps educators, policymakers and analysts navigate the future of work and learning amid rapid and accelerating technological change. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781032122939Publication Date: 2023-03-23
Demystifying AI for the Enterprise by
Artificial intelligence (AI) in its various forms -- machine learning, chatbots, robots, agents, etc. -- is increasingly being seen as a core component of enterprise business workflow and information management systems. The current promise and hype around AI are being driven by software vendors, academic research projects, and startups. However, we posit that the greatest promise and potential for AI lies in the enterprise with its applications touching all organizational facets. With increasing business process and workflow maturity, coupled with recent trends in cloud computing, datafication, IoT, cybersecurity, and advanced analytics, there is an understanding that the challenges of tomorrow cannot be solely addressed by today's people, processes, and products. There is still considerable mystery, hype, and fear about AI in today's world. A considerable amount of current discourse focuses on a dystopian future that could adversely affect humanity. Such opinions, with understandable fear of the unknown, don't consider the history of human innovation, the current state of business and technology, or the primarily augmentative nature of tomorrow's AI. This book demystifies AI for the enterprise. It takes readers from the basics (definitions, state-of-the-art, etc.) to a multi-industry journey, and concludes with expert advice on everything an organization must do to succeed. Along the way, we debunk myths, provide practical pointers, and include best practices with applicable vignettes. AI brings to enterprise the capabilities that promise new ways by which professionals can address both mundane and interesting challenges more efficiently, effectively, and collaboratively (with humans). The opportunity for tomorrow's enterprise is to augment existing teams and resources with the power of AI in order to gain competitive advantage, discover new business models, establish or optimize new revenues, and achieve better customer and user satisfaction.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781351032940Publication Date: 2021-12-30
Government Response to Disruptive Innovation by
With the increasing pace of disruptive innovation, the world in general and governments in particular are experiencing challenges in adapting their systems to these new technologies. While the focus is on disruptive industries, these innovations also disrupt how governments regulate industries and technologies. The regulatory and policy choices governments and other regulatory bodies make have a profound impact on the industry by decreasing or magnifying uncertainty. Many of these disruptive technologies offer opportunities and challenges to the way governments interact in their communities. Government Response to Disruptive Innovation: Perspectives and Examinations presents research and case studies on government responses to disruptive innovations from a wide array of countries. It addresses the effects on the development of these innovations as a result of responses governments make. Covering topics such as citizen partnerships, communication technology development, and government action, this premier reference source is a dynamic resource for legal professionals, activists, government officials, sociologists, business leaders and executives, students and educators of higher education, librarians, researchers, and academicians.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781668464304Publication Date: 2023-05-15
The Future of Work by
The COVID-19 pandemic accelerated the adoption of new forms of working and new working arrangements largely enabled by technology. The Future of Work is a projection of how work, working, workers and the workplace will evolve in the years ahead from the perspective of different actors in society, influenced by technological, socio-economic, political, and demographic changes. This open access book is a timely exploration of some of the challenges and prospects for the future of work from two main perspectives: how work is changing and how to prepare for work in the future. An evidence-based assessment of these topics offers some critical perspectives that challenge old assumptions and opens up emerging trends and possibilities for work in the future. As part of the Palgrave Studies in Digital Business & Enabling Technologies series, this book is an essential resource for academics of Business, Human Resource Management, Organisational Psychology and Industrial Relations, aswell as practitioners and policy makers.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9783031314933Publication Date: 2023-07-30
Weapons of Math Destruction by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A former Wall Street quant sounds the alarm on Big Data and the mathematical models that threaten to rip apart our social fabric--with a new afterword "A manual for the twenty-first-century citizen . . . relevant and urgent."--Financial Times NATIONAL BOOK AWARD LONGLIST * NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review * The Boston Globe * Wired * Fortune * Kirkus Reviews * The Guardian * Nature * On Point We live in the age of the algorithm. Increasingly, the decisions that affect our lives--where we go to school, whether we can get a job or a loan, how much we pay for health insurance--are being made not by humans, but by machines. In theory, this should lead to greater fairness: Everyone is judged according to the same rules. But as mathematician and data scientist Cathy O'Neil reveals, the mathematical models being used today are unregulated and uncontestable, even when they're wrong. Most troubling, they reinforce discrimination--propping up the lucky, punishing the downtrodden, and undermining our democracy in the process. Welcome to the dark side of Big Data.
Call Number: QA76.9.B45 O64 2017ISBN: 9780553418835Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Law Librarianship in the Age of AI by
Winner of the 2020 Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award by the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) Futurists predict that in the next ten years the profession of "lawyer" will splinter into job titles like "legal process analyst" or "legal knowledge engineer." And some in the field are already taking a proactive approach ⁠-- in fact, more than two dozen law schools have developed innovation centers to explore artificial intelligence (AI) and the law. In a competitive marketplace, both firms and individuals need to familiarize themselves with the dazzling array of new products and enhanced features capable of improving efficiency. Written by leading practitioners and visionaries like Robert Ambrogi, this groundbreaking survey of current practices and future trends offers an incisive examination of the evolving roles for law librarians. Readers will learn how AI technology is changing law school curricula, lawyer practice, marketing, and other key aspects of the field through coverage of such topics as the benefits of AI to law librarianship, including areas like legal research, contract review, compliance, and administration, and their associated risks; four professional ethics rules that apply to the use or (non-use) of AI; how lawyers and staff work side by side with AI, utilizing intelligence like RAVN ACE or FastCase to attack the drudgery of due diligence and document review; surprising machine-learning insights from tokenizing, stemming, and lemmatizing the text of Shakespeare's plays; the potential for chatbots and new natural language processing products to improve access to justice; and ways to develop sought-after skills through new technology departments, practice management groups, and legal innovation labs. Reading this collection will give you a firm grasp of the innovations, tools, benefits, and risks of AI in law librarianship.
Call Number: Z675.L2 L38374 2020ISBN: 9780838946275Publication Date: 2019-11-04
Algorithms of Oppression by
A revealing look at how negative biases against women of color are embedded in search engine results and algorithms Run a Google search for "black girls"--what will you find? "Big Booty" and other sexually explicit terms are likely to come up as top search terms. But, if you type in "white girls," the results are radically different. The suggested porn sites and un-moderated discussions about "why black women are so sassy" or "why black women are so angry" presents a disturbing portrait of black womanhood in modern society. In Algorithms of Oppression, Safiya Umoja Noble challenges the idea that search engines like Google offer an equal playing field for all forms of ideas, identities, and activities. Data discrimination is a real social problem; Noble argues that the combination of private interests in promoting certain sites, along with the monopoly status of a relatively small number of Internet search engines, leads to a biased set of search algorithms that privilege whiteness and discriminate against people of color, specifically women of color. Through an analysis of textual and media searches as well as extensive research on paid online advertising, Noble exposes a culture of racism and sexism in the way discoverability is created online. As search engines and their related companies grow in importance--operating as a source for email, a major vehicle for primary and secondary school learning, and beyond--understanding and reversing these disquieting trends and discriminatory practices is of utmost importance. An original, surprising and, at times, disturbing account of bias on the internet, Algorithms of Oppression contributes to our understanding of how racism is created, maintained, and disseminated in the 21st century.
Call Number: ZA4230.N63 2018ISBN: 9781479837243Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Artificial Intelligence and the Law by
This open access book presents an interdisciplinary, multi-authored, edited collection of chapters on Artificial Intelligence ('AI') and the Law. AI technology has come to play a central role in the modern data economy. Through a combination of increased computing power, the growing availability of data and the advancement of algorithms, AI has now become an umbrella term for some of the most transformational technological breakthroughs of this age. The importance of AI stems from both the opportunities that it offers and the challenges that it entails. While AI applications hold the promise of economic growth and efficiency gains, they also create significant risks and uncertainty. The potential and perils of AI have thus come to dominate modern discussions of technology and ethics - and although AI was initially allowed to largely develop without guidelines or rules, few would deny that the law is set to play a fundamental role in shaping the future of AI. As thedebate over AI is far from over, the need for rigorous analysis has never been greater. This book thus brings together contributors from different fields and backgrounds to explore how the law might provide answers to some of the most pressing questions raised by AI. An outcome of the Católica Research Centre for the Future of Law and its interdisciplinary working group on Law and Artificial Intelligence, it includes contributions by leading scholars in the fields of technology, ethics and the law.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9783031412639Publication Date: 2023-12-27
Digital Technologies As Drivers of Decentralization and Deglobalization by
Digital disintermediation, or the elimination of "middle-men" in a traditional market setting, has had profound effects on global economies. The rise of peer-to-peer networks and decentralized marketplaces has also led to some market destabilization, and the discussion on data sovereignty and privacy challenges raises concerns surrounding business in the digital age. Digital Technologies as Drivers of Decentralization and Deglobalization is a research-based book which boldly tackles a myriad of ethical dilemmas, including bias, privacy, and inclusivity, and advocates for a future where digital access is fair and equitable. Academic scholars and industry professionals will embark on an enlightening journey through the digital revolution's transformative power. This book delves into the very core of digital technologies, shedding light on their role as catalysts for decentralization and de-globalization. Readers will gain invaluable insights into how these technologies disrupt established systems, paving the way for innovative alternatives. The exploration of blockchain and decentralized finance shines a light on how individuals and communities can harness technology to empower themselves, reshaping the dynamics of power in an increasingly interconnected world. As readers engage with the thought-provoking content of this book, they will be inspired to envision a world where international cooperation and diplomacy are reshaped by technology. The final chapters explore the potential for digital diplomacy and multilateral approaches to address global challenges in a decentralized, de-globalized era. By the end of this comprehensive journey, scholars will be equipped with the knowledge and insights needed to not only understand the digital revolution's impact but also actively contribute to shaping its future trajectory. Digital Technologies as Drivers of Decentralization and Deglobalization is the compass scholars need to thrive in this digital age, offering a compelling roadmap for understanding, adapting to, and influencing the course of this ongoing revolution.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9798369317624Publication Date: 2024-03-08
Responsible Artificial Intelligence How to Develop and Use AI in a Responsible Way by
In this book, the author examines the ethical implications of Artificial Intelligence systems as they integrate and replace traditional social structures in new sociocognitive-technological environmen ts. She discusses issues related to the integrity of researchers, technologists, and manufacturers as they design, construct, use, and manage artificially intelligent systems; formalisms for reasoning about moral decisions as part of the behavior of artificial autonomous systems such as agents and robots; and design methodologies for social agents based on societal, moral, and legal values. Throughout the book the author discusses related work, conscious of both classical, philosophical treatments of ethical issues and the implications in modern, algorithmic systems, and she combines regular references and footnotes with suggestions for further reading. This short overview is suitable for undergraduate students, in both technical and non-technical courses, and for interested and concerned researchers, practitioners, and citizens.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9783030303716Publication Date: First edition 2019.
The Equality Machine by
AN ECONOMIST BEST BOOK OF 2022 At a time when AI and digital platforms are under fire, Orly Lobel, a renowned tech policy scholar, defends technology as a powerful tool we can harness to achieve equality and a better future. Much has been written about the challenges tech presents to equality and democracy. But we can either criticize big data and automation or steer it to do better. Lobel makes a compelling argument that while we cannot stop technological development, we can direct its course according to our most fundamental values. With provocative insights in every chapter, Lobel masterfully shows that digital technology frequently has a comparative advantage over humans in detecting discrimination, correcting historical exclusions, subverting long-standing stereotypes, and addressing the world's thorniest problems: climate, poverty, injustice, literacy, accessibility, speech, health, and safety. Lobel's vivid examples--from labor markets to dating markets--provide powerful evidence for how we can harness technology for good. The book's incisive analysis and elegant storytelling will change the debate about technology and restore human agency over our values.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 L59 2022ISBN: 9781541774759Publication Date: 2022-10-18
Artificial Intelligence As a Disruptive Technology by
Artificial intelligence (AI) is the latest technological evolution which is transforming the global economy and is a major part of the "Fourth Industrial Revolution." This book covers the meaning, types, subfields and applications of AI, including U.S. governmental policies and regulations, ethical and privacy issues, particularly as they pertain and affect facial recognition programs and the Internet-of Things (IoT). There is a lengthy analysis of bias, AI's effect on the current and future job market, and how AI precipitated fake news. In addition, the text covers basics of intellectual property rights and how AI will transform their protection. The author then moves on to explore international initiatives from the European Union, China's New Generation Development Plan, other regional areas, and international conventions. The book concludes with a discussion of super intelligence and the question and applicability of consciousness in machines. The interdisciplinary scope of the text will appeal to any scholars, students and general readers interested in the effects of AI on our society, particularly in the fields of STS, economics, law and politics.
Call Number: K564.C6 G57 2020ISBN: 9783030359744Publication Date: 2020-01-30
A Research Agenda for Social Welfare Law, Policy and Practice by
Elgar Research Agendasoutline the future of research in a given area. Leading scholars are give n the space to explore their subject in provocative ways, and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary. Forward-looking and innovative, Elgar Research Agendas are an essential resource for PhD students, scholars and anybody who wants to be at the forefront of research. This timely book utilises the specialised insights and experiences of those who have carried out research on different aspects of social welfare law and policy to construct an innovative post-Brexit and post-Covid 19 research agenda that identifies what needs to be studied and how this should be carried out. Embracing not only social welfare law but also social welfare policy, practice and impact, expert contributors consider major areas of non-economic law, such as asylum and immigration law, health law, social care law, social work and child welfare law, social security law, and issues involving social rights. Individual chapters cover branches of social welfare law, four areas of social welfare policy, four distinctive methodological approaches, and three contemporary developments. They reflect a wide-ranging set of substantive concerns and methodological approaches and, taken together, comprise a challenging but non-prescriptive research agenda. This Research Agenda will be a key resource for socio-legal researchers contemplating research on social welfare law and policy, as well as research councils, government departments and charitable bodies that fund research on social welfare law and policy.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781800886322Publication Date: 2022-12-06
Perspectives on Digital Humanism by
This open access book aims to set an agenda for research and action in the field of Digital Humanism through short essays written by selected thinkers from a variety of disciplines, including computer science, philosophy, education, law, economics, history, anthropology, political science, and sociology. This initiative emerged from the Vienna Manifesto on Digital Humanism and the associated lecture series. Digital Humanism deals with the complex relationships between people and machines in digital times. It acknowledges the potential of information technology. At the same time, it points to societal threats such as privacy violations and ethical concerns around artificial intelligence, automation and loss of jobs, ongoing monopolization on the Web, and sovereignty. Digital Humanism aims to address these topics with a sense of urgency but with a constructive mindset. The book argues for a Digital Humanism that analyses and, most importantly, influences thecomplex interplay of technology and humankind toward a better society and life while fully respecting universal human rights. It is a call to shaping technologies in accordance with human values and needs.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9783030861438Publication Date: 2021-11-24
Imposing Regulation on Advanced Algorithms by
This book discusses the necessity and perhaps urgency for the regulation of algorithms on which new technologies rely; technologies that have the potential to re-shape human societies. From commerce and farming to medical care and education, it is difficult to find any aspect of our lives that will not be affected by these emerging technologies. At the same time, artificial intelligence, deep learning, machine learning, cognitive computing, blockchain, virtual reality and augmented reality, belong to the fields most likely to affect law and, in particular, administrative law. The book examines universally applicable patterns in administrative decisions and judicial rulings. First, similarities and divergence in behavior among the different cases are identified by analyzing parameters ranging from geographical location and administrative decisions to judicial reasoning and legal basis. As it turns out, in several of the cases presented, sources of general law, such as competition or labor law, are invoked as a legal basis, due to the lack of current specialized legislation. This book also investigates the role and significance of national and indeed supranational regulatory bodies for advanced algorithms and considers ENISA, an EU agency that focuses on network and information security, as an interesting candidate for a European regulator of advanced algorithms. Lastly, it discusses the involvement of representative institutions in algorithmic regulation.
Call Number: K487.T4ISBN: 9783030279806Publication Date: 2019
