American Legal History

The Library of Congress has over 400 digital collections available. These range in topics from a collection of 10th century liturgical chants to Congressional debates.

George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison. Over 185,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.

HeinOnline provides access to various databases that could be helpful in your research including the History of Capital Punishment, History of Slavery and the World, Civil Rights and Social Justice, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, and Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory.
Access via HeinOnline.
Local and Remote for NSU only.

Library of Congress Digital collection that houses primary source materials of presidential inaugurations. Including diaries, letters written by presidents and witnesses, handwritten drafts, prints, photographs and sheet music.

Collections include The Frederick Douglass Papers, Jackie Robinson Highlights, Born In Slavery, From Slavery to Freedom, and Slaves and the Courts.

Library of Congress gateway for the resources for the Study of Women's History.

The Library of Congress provides access to thousands of historical records including the Journals of the Continental Congress, Letters to Delegates of Congress, Continental Congress Debate Logs, as well as all Senate and House Journals from 1774-1874

This collection includes convention and legislative records, private papers, and newspapers dealing with the debate over the ratification of the United States Constitution and the Bill of Rights between 1787 and 1791.

Includes articles, executive and congressional materials, images and a timeline of the ratification of the twenty fifth amendment.

The Legal Information Institute archive.
The most complete source for audio of the Supreme Court since 1955. It provides a searchable transcript of the audio.