Criminal Procedure
This library guide seeks to assist law students in Criminal Procedure at NSU Shepard Broad College of Law.
Criminal Procedure Library Guide
This Criminal Procedure Library Guide seeks to help J.D. students in mastering course material by offering links to selected criminal procedure resources. These resources include, but are not limited to, case briefs, outlines, study aids, multimedia resources, practice multiple-choice questions and answers, and practice essay questions and answers.
Criminal Procedure Content
Black's Law Dictionary
For a definition of criminal procedure, please click here.
To search for a definition in Black's Law Dictionary on Westlaw, please click here.
West Academic Study Aids
These class preparation resources below provide case briefs keyed to specific casebooks.
-
High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Procedure (Keyed to Dressler, Thomas, and Medwed, 8th ed.)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Dressler, Thomas, and Medwed's casebook on Criminal Procedure. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685618087Publication Date: June 7, 2023 -
High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Procedure (Keyed to Kamisar, LaFave, Israel, King, Kerr, and Primus, 16th ed.)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Kamisar, LaFave, Israel, King, Kerr, and Primus's casebook on Criminal Procedure. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887865010Publication Date: October 5, 2023 -
High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Procedure (Keyed to Saltzburg, Capra, and Gray, 12th ed.)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Saltzburg, Capra, and Gray's casebook on Criminal Procedure. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685613518Publication Date: August 31, 2022
Aspen Learning Library
-
Casenote Legal Briefs for Criminal Procedure, Keyed to King, Kerr, and Primus, 16th ed.
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion.
Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses:
Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.
There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases
Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798889068037Publication Date: January 9, 2024 -
Casenote Legal Briefs for Criminal Procedure Keyed to Saltzberg and Capra, 12th ed.
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. The series is trusted for its expert summary of the principal cases in your casebook. Its proven reliability makes Casenote Legal Briefs the most popular case brief series available. With more than 100 titles keyed to the current editions of major casebooks, you know you can find the help you need. The brief for each case saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, and important points of the holding and decision. Quicknotes are short definitions of the legal terms used at the end of each brief. Use the Glossary in the end of your text to define common Latin legal terms. Such an overview, combined with case analysis, helps broaden your understanding and supports you in classroom discussion.
Each title is keyed to the current edition of a specific casebook; it s your trusted guide to the text throughout the semester.
The brief for each principal case in the casebook saves you time and helps you retain important issues.
Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, important points of the holding and decision, and concurrences and dissents included in the casebook excerpt. This overview is combined with a short analysis: all to help you broaden your understanding and support you in classroom discussion.
Quicknotes at end of each brief give you short definitions of the legal terms used.
A handy Glossary of common Latin words and phrases is included in every Casenote.
Detailed instruction on how to brief a case is provided for you.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798886143560Publication Date: December 14, 2022 -
Casenote Legal Briefs for Criminal Procedure, Keyed to Dressler, Thomas, and Medwed, 8th ed.
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. The series is trusted for its expert summary of the principal cases in your casebook. Its proven reliability makes Casenote Legal Briefs the most popular case brief series available. With more than 100 titles keyed to the current editions of major casebooks, you know you can find the help you need. The brief for each case saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, and important points of the holding and decision. Quicknotes are short definitions of the legal terms used at the end of each brief. Use the Glossary in the end of your text to define common Latin legal terms. Such an overview, combined with case analysis, helps broaden your understanding and supports you in classroom discussion.
Each title is keyed to the current edition of a specific casebook; it s your trusted guide to the text throughout the semester.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798889065531Publication Date: November 9, 2023 -
Casenote Legal Briefs for Criminal Procedure, Keyed to Allen, Stuntz, Hoffman, Livingston, Leipold, and Meares, 5th ed.
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. The series is trusted for its expert summary of the principal cases in your casebook. Its proven reliability makes Casenote Legal Briefs the most popular case brief series available. With more than 100 titles keyed to the current editions of major casebooks, you know you can find the help you need. The brief for each case saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, and important points of the holding and decision. Quicknotes are short definitions of the legal terms used at the end of each brief. Use the Glossary in the end of your text to define common Latin legal terms. Such an overview, combined with case analysis, helps broaden your understanding and supports you in classroom discussion.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543827323Publication Date: August 13, 2020
Quimbee
Please click here to find case briefs keyed to specific casebooks.
LexisNexis
Please click here for a case brief bank.
West Academic Study Aids
These study aids below are intended to provide content about Criminal Law.
-
Acing Criminal Procedure, 7th ed.
by
This product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic criminal procedure course.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887862804Publication Date: October 2, 2024 -
A Short and Happy Guide to Criminal Procedure, 6th ed.
by
This Short and Happy Guide makes the law about police practices and criminal trial proceedings accessible and easy to remember. Learn the key points of search and seizure law, police interrogation, the right to counsel, the exclusionary rule, pretrial release, grand jury investigations, joinder, criminal discovery, plea bargaining, jury trials, pretrial publicity, double jeopardy, appeals, and post-conviction standards. Dominate your classes in Criminal Procedure and your skills courses in Trial Advocacy!
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887862880Publication Date: October 10, 2024 -
Quick Review of Criminal Procedure, 9th ed.
by
This product is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of criminal procedure clear and convenient and to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main text is an outline of the substantive content. The concise format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887862897Publication Date: November 7, 2024 -
Criminal Procedure, Constitutional Limitations in a Nutshell, 10th ed.
by
This Nutshell is intended for use by law students of constitutional criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. It covers search and seizure (including wiretapping), interrogation, identification, right to counsel, self-incrimination, bail, trial rules, and appellate process. The book does not cover state or federal statutes or other non-constitutional standards. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887864327Publication Date: July 26, 2024 -
Advanced Criminal Procedure in a Nutshell
by
Designed for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. Ideal reference for students and practitioners.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781634609197Publication Date: August 19, 2016
LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Mastering Criminal Procedure - Volume 1: The Investigative Stage, 2nd ed.
by
Mastering Criminal Procedure, Volume 1: The Investigative Stage provides a concise treatment of the relevant federal constitutional doctrines that guide and constrain interactions between the police and individuals in the investigation of criminal conduct. The book provides an overview of the criminal process and the constitutional sources of the criminal procedure rules, including different approaches to constitutional interpretation. The Second Edition updates the analysis with the latest Supreme Court decisions.The focus is on the Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendments as they relate to the warrant requirement for searches, exceptions that allow warrantless searches, the seizure of evidence and individuals, and the interrogation of suspects. The book covers the primary topics that arise in the typical law school criminal procedure course, including when the warrant requirement applies, the process for obtaining a valid warrant, the operation of the exclusionary rule, the range of exceptions to the warrant requirement, and arrests and other seizures of individuals and resultant searches of the person.The authors have experience as prosecutors and defense counsel, and have written extensively in the fields of criminal law, criminal procedure, and evidence.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781611638011Publication Date: May 25, 2016 -
Mastering Criminal Procedure - Volume 2: The Adjudicatory Stage, 2nd ed.
by
Mastering Criminal Procedure, Volume 2: The Adjudicatory Stage focuses on the process of a criminal case from the filing of charges against a defendant through the pre-trial and trial stages of the prosecution, and then post-conviction proceedings. The Second Edition provides updated treatment of the latest Supreme Court decisions along with a range of statutes and rules that govern the process by which a criminal charge is adjudicated.A number of constitutional protections apply in a prosecution, including the right to a jury trial, confrontation of witnesses, the prohibition on excessive bail, and protection from double jeopardy. Many procedural rules are equally important to the judicial process, such as discovery rights, jurisdiction and venue, and post-conviction proceedings, including habeas corpus. This broad range of topics is explained clearly and succinctly to allow students to master the key concepts and rules related to the adjudication of a criminal prosecution.The authors have experience as prosecutors and defense counsel, and have written extensively in the fields of criminal law, criminal procedure, and evidence.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781611638028Publication Date: May 25, 2016 -
Understanding Criminal Procedure - Volume 1: Investigation, 8th ed.
by
Understanding Criminal Procedure is primarily designed for law students and is organized and written so that both students and professors can use it with confidence to better prepare for courses and improve classroom dialogue.
This first volume, Investigation, is intended for use in introductory criminal procedure courses focusing primarily or exclusively on police investigative process and constitutional concerns. A chapter on the defendant's right to counsel at trial and appeal and other non-police-practice issues is included in both volumes to allow greater flexibility based on the design of particular courses.
The eighth edition of Investigation incorporates all of the major Supreme Court cases since the last edition was published, such as Carpenter v. United States, Mitchell v. Wisconsin, Collins v. VIrginia, and Kansas v. Glover. It also includes an in-depth discussion of the mosaic theory of searches, and contains expanded coverage of issues surrounding border searches, the third-party doctrine, and the exigent circumstances exception to the warrant requirement.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531021542Publication Date: September 17, 2021 -
Understanding Criminal Procedure - Volume 2: Adjudication, 5th ed.
by
The fifth edition of Understanding Criminal Procedure: Adjudication brings the treatise up to date on all of the newest developments in the rules that govern the criminal process after the police investigation ends and the adjudicative process commences. Recent years have brought important changes and new debates to the forefront, both in areas governed by constitutional doctrine, such as the Confrontation Clause and the trial by jury provision of the Sixth Amendment, and in matters largely governed at the local level, such as the use of algorithms and big data in bail hearings and new rules on discovery. The new edition explains this entire landscape in carefully organized chapters describing where we are, how we got here, and where further developments may be expected.
The treatise covers the most important United States Supreme Court cases in the adjudicatory portion of criminal procedure and, where pertinent, the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, federal statutes, and lower federal and state court cases are considered. The broad overarching policy issues of criminal procedure are laid out and some of the hottest debates in the field are considered in depth and objectively. The authors have also included citations to important scholarship, both classic and recent, into which readers may delve more deeply regarding specific topics.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781611639933Publication Date: May 29, 2024 -
Criminal Procedure in Practice, 5th ed.
by
This comprehensive guide will assist anyone involved in the criminal justice system and will serve as an especially valuable guide for new prosecutors or defense attorneys entering the field. The text gives a broad overview of criminal procedure from investigation all the way through post-conviction reviews. The authors discuss complex topics such as standing, fruit of the poisonous tree, car stops, the privilege against self-incrimination, eyewitness identification, habeas corpus, and double jeopardy in both the civilian and military settings. All the principal Supreme Court decisions are explained: Mapp, Gates, Gideon, Wade, Miranda, Brady, and many others.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781641052481Publication Date: January 4, 2019
Aspen Learning Library
-
Examples & Explanations for Criminal Procedure: The Constitution and the Police, 10th ed.
by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
Here’s why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester:
Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style.
Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review.
It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic.
Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
New to the Tenth Edition:
Fourth Amendment limits on cell phone and computer searches
Police accountability and the limits of the exclusionary rule
Recent cutback on Miranda as a constitutional doctrine.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846041Publication Date: January 29, 2023 -
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Procedure II: From Bail to Jail, 5th ed.
by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846201Publication Date: June 14, 2022 -
Glannon Guide to Criminal Procedure, 6th ed.
by
A powerful combination of well-written explanations, multiple-choice questions, analyses, and exam-taking tips, THE GLANNON GUIDE TO CRIMINAL PROCEDURE: Learning Criminal Procedure Through Multiple-Choice Questions and Analysis, prepares you to take any type of exam that might be offered in a Criminal Procedure course. Written by one of the nation’s leading Bar lecturers, it also provides an invaluable review of the core concepts tested in Criminal Procedure on both the multistate and essay sections of the Bar exam.
Honing your understanding of concepts, and your ability to apply the rules, John Kip Cornwell presents a comprehensive, thoughtful review of course content that shows you how to effectively analyze and answer exam questions.
Features:
Multiple-choice questions, pitched at a level similar to that of many law school exams, that are integral to a thorough review of Criminal Procedure topics
A user-friendly and interactive approach, including text introducing the key cases and concepts that enable a full understanding of subsequent questions and mastery of the material they test
Clear analysis of both correct and incorrect answers, that clarifies nuances in the law
A challenging final question, (the “Closer”), at the end of each chapter, that combines all topics introduced in the chapter in a sophisticated, thought-provoking fact pattern
Summary questions in the final chapter, (“Closing Closers”), that cut across multiple concepts to provide a final review of critical cases and concepts necessary to success on your criminal procedure exam
Valuable exam-taking pointers, applicable to every type of question, interspersed within the text
Excellent preparation for the Bar exam, by one of the nation’s leading Bar-exam lecturers in criminal law and procedure
New to this Edition:
Comprehensive coverage of criminal procedure case law decided by the U.S. Supreme Court in its last three terms
Additional “Closing Closers” to fine tune understanding across criminal procedure cases and concepts
Enhanced treatment of the Fourth Amendment’s warrant requirement
Additional analysis of stop-and-frisk, based on recent case law
Expanded treatment of the exigent circumstances exception to the Fourth Amendment’s warrant requirement.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798892075442Publication Date: March 17, 2025 -
Emanuel Law Outlines for Criminal Procedure, 32nd ed.
by
Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students.
An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam:
ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams.
They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable.
The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester.
Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams.
The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline—perfect for exam review!
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543827200Publication Date: June 16, 2020
Hornbooks
Hornbooks below provides an overview of Criminal Procedure.
-
Criminal Procedure, 7th ed.
by
This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. The coverage is comprehensive, including federal and state statutes and court rules and descriptions of practice as well as constitutional limitations, with an emphasis upon those issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors’ 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887863962Publication Date: November 7, 2024 -
Principles of Criminal Procedure, 8th ed.
by
This book gives you everything you need to know about basic criminal procedure principles, presented in a no-nonsense fashion. It includes references to recent, relevant decisions handed down by the United States Supreme Court. In addition, Principles of Criminal Procedure contains helpful study devices such as "focal points" at the beginning of each chapter, and "points to remember" at the end of each section. This is the only study aid you will need to help you understand basic criminal procedure principles in U.S. law.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887868141Publication Date: February 27, 2024 -
Principles of Criminal Procedure: Investigation, 2nd ed.
by
This book, for use in connection with a course focused upon crime detection and investigation, examines various investigative procedures, including search and seizure, network surveillance, entrapment, interrogation, lineup and photo identification, and grand jury investigation; describes the scope and administration of exclusionary rules relating to those procedures; and also discusses the right to counsel. All sections in the book are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' seven-volume Criminal Procedure treatise containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314199355Publication Date: August 28, 2009 -
Principles of Criminal Procedure: Post-Investigation, 2nd ed.
by
This book, for use in connection with a course focused upon the formal part of the criminal process, covers counsel, bail, the charging decision, preliminary hearing and grand jury review, the prosecution's location and scope, speedy trial, pleading and discovery, guilty pleas, jury trial, pretrial publicity, the trial, double jeopardy, sentencing, appeal, and collateral attack. All sections in the book are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' seven-volume Criminal Procedure treatise containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314199348Publication Date: August 28, 2009
Selected Treatises and Checklists on Westlaw
Selected Treatises, Manuals, and Handbooks on LexisNexis
| Florida-related Searches and Seizures (Treatise) |
| Prosecutor's Manual for Arrest, Search, and Seizure (Manual) |
| Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals (Criminal Handbook) |
LexisNexis Practice Guide: Florida Criminal Practice and Procedure
Please click here for a LexisNexis Practice Guide: Florida Criminal Practice and Procedure.
CALI Lessons on Criminal Procedure
The CALI Criminal Procedure Outline allows you to search for terms of art that correspond to topics you are studying to find suggestions for related CALI Lessons. The CALI Criminal Procedure Index lists CALI Lessons about Criminal Procedure.
Outlining Supplements from West Academic Study Aids
-
Black Letter Outline on Basic Criminal Procedure, 9th ed.
by
Basic Criminal Procedure is a clear and comprehensive outline of the most important principles and issues taught in the basic Criminal Procedure law school course with emphasis on the 4th, 5th and 6th Amendment rules that govern federal and state law enforcement and courts. This Black Letter is comprehensive in its coverage. It examines a wide range of legal doctrines, including:
The Incorporation Doctrine
Exceptions to the Warrant requirement
Remedies for 4th Amendment violations
The Privilege Against Self-Incrimination
Confessions
Miranda
Massiah
Constitutional Limits on Identification Evidence
The Right to Counsel
Effective Assistance of Counsel
and the Right to Counsel.
Major Supreme Court cases are thoroughly analyzed, including an examination of separate opinions by Supreme Court Justices. Basic Criminal Procedure also provides sample examination questions and answers, which have been updated to conform to recent decisions by the Court.
Basic Criminal Procedure also provides a glossary of important terms that law students need to understand as they examine judicial decisions. It also contains a Capsule Summary which serves as a short outline of the major doctrines covered at length in the text.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887864471Publication Date: July 26, 2024 -
Quick Review of Criminal Procedure, 9th ed.
by
This product is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of criminal procedure clear and convenient and to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main text is an outline of the substantive content. The concise format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887862897Publication Date: November 7, 2024
-
Gilbert Law Summary on Criminal Procedure, 20th ed.
by
A criminal procedure outline that highlights all of the key criminal procedure decisions from the U.S. Supreme Court in an easy-to-read and easy-to-understand format that includes check lists, visual aids, and practice exam questions (and answers) — both essay and short answer.
Topics covered include: Fourth Amendment search and seizure — including arrests and other detentions; the exclusionary rule; confessions — including the rules established by Miranda v. Arizona and the Fifth Amendment privilege against compelled self-incrimination; and a discussion of trial rights — such as the right to a speedy trial, the right to trial by jury, and the right to counsel. The outline also discusses bail, the government’s “Brady” obligations to disclose exculpatory evidence, the burden of proof, guilty pleas, sentencing, the death penalty, ex post facto issues, appellate rights, habeas corpus, prisoners’ rights, double jeopardy, and juvenile offenders.
The outline is an effective supplement to all criminal procedure textbooks, and standing alone provides a sound overview of all major constitutional criminal procedure issues.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636590943Publication Date: June 29, 2021
Outlining Supplements from Aspen Learning Library
-
Emanuel Law Outlines for Criminal Procedure, 32nd ed.
by
Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students.
An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam:
ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams.
They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable.
The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester.
Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams.
The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline—perfect for exam review!
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543827200Publication Date: June 16, 2020
Outlining Supplement from Quimbee
Please click here to find criminal procedure outline materials from Quimbee.
Outlining Supplement on LexisNexis
Please click here for a Criminal Procedure BarBri Outline on the LexisNexis platform.
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from West Academic Study Aids
-
Exam Pro on Criminal Procedure (Objective), 6th ed.
by
This study aid will enhance understanding of criminal procedure and sharpen exam skills. There are three comprehensive sample examinations, containing 42 questions each. It contains answers that explain why one choice is correct and why the alternatives are wrong.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887863603Publication Date: November 28, 2023
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Questions and Answers: Criminal Procedure - Police Investigation, 4th ed.
by
This book ill assist readers' learning and exam preparation in criminal procedure courses and for the bar exam. This volume covers arrest, search and seizure, interrogation, identification, suppression issues, and entrapment.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531021153Publication Date: February 9, 2022 -
Questions and Answers: Criminal Procedure - Prosecution and Adjudication, 4th ed.
by
The book assists learning and exam preparation for the Criminal Procedure—Prosecution and Adjudication (a.k.a. "bail-to-jail") course and the bar exam. Coverage includes the broad gamut of issues concerning the criminal adjudication process, including prosecutorial discretion, bail, initial appearance, preliminary hearing, grand jury, indictment and information, the right to counsel and the effective assistance of counsel, plea bargaining, joinder and severance, motion practice, discovery, time limitations, jurisdiction and venue, jury trials, double jeopardy, sentencing (including the death penalty), and post-conviction remedies. Extensive multiple choice questions and answers and short essay questions and answers are provided.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531021177Publication Date: February 9, 2022
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from Aspen Learning Library
-
Strategies & Tactics for the Finz Multistate Method, 6th ed.
by
Strategies & Tactics for the FINZ Multistate Method, Sixth Edition, is an indispensable tool for both law school exams and the Multistate Bar Exam. It features more than 1200 multiple-choice questions and detailed answers unavailable elsewhere.
New to the Sixth Edition:
16 new questions in Civil Procedure
19 new questions in Constitutional Law
18 new questions each in Contracts, Criminal Law, Evidence, and Property
17 new questions in Torts
16 new questions in the Practice Exam
Students will benefit from:
More than 1200 multiple-choice questions and answers: Each question contains a sophisticated and intricate fact pattern that tests your ability to pull out the essential facts and tie them to the rules and theories you’ve learned in class. The answers not only explain the reasoning behind the correct choice, but also why the other choices are incorrect.
Coverage of first-year subjects: Questions and detailed answers for each first-year course—Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law (including Criminal Procedure), Property (including Future Interests), and Torts—as well as the upper-year subject of Evidence.
Supplemental questions for your bar review: Every question is written in the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) style for school exams or MBE preparation and complies with the latest MBE formats. If you’re taking a bar review course, you still need Strategies & Tactics for the Finz Multistate Method because our questions are written in the MBE style and format, but are not actual released exam questions, so we guarantee you’ve never seen these questions before in your MBE review materials.
Special section on how to handle MBE-style questions: The book includes an In-depth guide, “Strategies & Tactics—Playing the MBE Game to Win,” on handling the MBE and MBE-style multiple-choice questions—how to break the question down to the essential facts, how to recognize the legal issues, how to avoid the examiners’ traps and pitfalls, and how to pick the right answer and avoid being misled by the wrong answers.
Complete MBE-style practice exam: The book comes with a complete 200-question practice exam, with detailed answers that explain the reasoning behind the correct choice and why each of the other choices is incorrect.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543858549Publication Date: February 23, 2023 -
Glannon Guide to Criminal Procedure, 6th ed.
by
A powerful combination of well-written explanations, multiple-choice questions, analyses, and exam-taking tips, THE GLANNON GUIDE TO CRIMINAL PROCEDURE: Learning Criminal Procedure Through Multiple-Choice Questions and Analysis, prepares you to take any type of exam that might be offered in a Criminal Procedure course. Written by one of the nation’s leading Bar lecturers, it also provides an invaluable review of the core concepts tested in Criminal Procedure on both the multistate and essay sections of the Bar exam.
Honing your understanding of concepts, and your ability to apply the rules, John Kip Cornwell presents a comprehensive, thoughtful review of course content that shows you how to effectively analyze and answer exam questions.
Features:
Multiple-choice questions, pitched at a level similar to that of many law school exams, that are integral to a thorough review of Criminal Procedure topics
A user-friendly and interactive approach, including text introducing the key cases and concepts that enable a full understanding of subsequent questions and mastery of the material they test
Clear analysis of both correct and incorrect answers, that clarifies nuances in the law
A challenging final question, (the “Closer”), at the end of each chapter, that combines all topics introduced in the chapter in a sophisticated, thought-provoking fact pattern
Summary questions in the final chapter, (“Closing Closers”), that cut across multiple concepts to provide a final review of critical cases and concepts necessary to success on your criminal procedure exam
Valuable exam-taking pointers, applicable to every type of question, interspersed within the text
Excellent preparation for the Bar exam, by one of the nation’s leading Bar-exam lecturers in criminal law and procedure
New to this Edition:
Comprehensive coverage of criminal procedure case law decided by the U.S. Supreme Court in its last three terms
Additional “Closing Closers” to fine tune understanding across criminal procedure cases and concepts
Enhanced treatment of the Fourth Amendment’s warrant requirement
Additional analysis of stop-and-frisk, based on recent case law
Expanded treatment of the exigent circumstances exception to the Fourth Amendment’s warrant requirement.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798892075442Publication Date: March 17, 2025
-
MBE Decoded
by
MBE Decoded is a fresh approach to MBE study which makes the vast amount of MBE tested rules manageable and understandable. The authors fully analyzed all NCBE released MBE questions to determine rule coverage and identify common testing patterns so you don’t have to. This book can be used during law school for early bar preparation or during intensive bar preparation by first-time takers and repeat bar takers who struggled on the MBE the first time. This book is a great resource for students to get essential MBE practice before they fully “know” the law, allowing students to get additional essential practice recognizing the fact patterns and testing styles that are key to passing. Pedagogically, this book encourages students to engage with the material, develop deep rule understanding, gain MBE pattern recognition, and aids in critical memorization efforts.
Professors and student will benefit from:
MBE black letter law subject matter outlines that are clear and concise with key terms bolded.
Identification of the most frequently tested MBE rules.
Summary charts to help you understand confusing topics and how they interrelate.
MBE tips to improve accuracy and understanding of how the rules apply to fact patterns.
Decoy tips to help you avoid picking the wrong answer when more than one good option is available.
Examples, pulled from NCBE MBE released questions, which illustrate how the rules are MBE tested.
Bullet point memorization cheat sheets.
Guided MBE question deconstructions illustrating best MBE solving practices.
A guide on how to effectively solve MBE questions with troubleshooting tips to help improve your accuracy.
Guidance on effectively taking an MBE exam online.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543830910Publication Date: April 12, 2021
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from Quimbee
Please click here for criminal procedure multiple-choice practice exam questions and answers.
Essay Questions and Answers from West Academic Study Aids
-
Gilbert Law Summary on Criminal Procedure, 20th ed.
by
A criminal procedure outline that highlights all of the key criminal procedure decisions from the U.S. Supreme Court in an easy-to-read and easy-to-understand format that includes check lists, visual aids, and practice exam questions (and answers) — both essay and short answer.
Topics covered include: Fourth Amendment search and seizure — including arrests and other detentions; the exclusionary rule; confessions — including the rules established by Miranda v. Arizona and the Fifth Amendment privilege against compelled self-incrimination; and a discussion of trial rights — such as the right to a speedy trial, the right to trial by jury, and the right to counsel. The outline also discusses bail, the government’s “Brady” obligations to disclose exculpatory evidence, the burden of proof, guilty pleas, sentencing, the death penalty, ex post facto issues, appellate rights, habeas corpus, prisoners’ rights, double jeopardy, and juvenile offenders.
The outline is an effective supplement to all criminal procedure textbooks, and standing alone provides a sound overview of all major constitutional criminal procedure issues.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636590943Publication Date: June 29, 2021
-
Acing Criminal Procedure, 7th ed.
by
This product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic criminal procedure course.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887862804Publication Date: October 2, 2024
Essay Questions and Answers from Aspen Learning Library
-
Emanuel Law Outlines for Criminal Procedure, 32nd ed.
by
Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students.
An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam:
ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams.
They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable.
The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester.
Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams.
The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline—perfect for exam review!
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543827200Publication Date: June 16, 2020
Essay Questions and Issue Spotting Content from Quimbee
Please click here for criminal procedure practice essays and related content.
Video Resources
Aspen Learning Library
-
Criminal Procedure: In Other Words (Video Series)
by
The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Criminal Procedure lectures, Meghan J. Ryan explains the topics of Confrontation Rights; Dual Sovereignty Doctrine; Effective Assistance of Counsel; Incorporation and Constitutional Interpretation; Incorporation and Constitutional Interpretation; Jury Composition; Plea-Bargaining and Guilty Pleas; Right to a Jury Trial; Sentencing - Guidelines and Apprendi, Blakely, and Booker; Statutory and Constitutional Discovery; Trial Rights - Pre-Indictment Delays and Post-Indictment Delays.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543824100Publication Date: 2022
West Academic Study Aids
-
Office Hours on Criminal Procedure (Investigative) by Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: July 30, 2020
Quimbee
Please click here for a course on criminal procedure exploring a variety of topics, including but not limited to, the Fourth Amendment and Sixth Amendment.
Audio Resources
West Academic Study Aids
-
Law School Legends Audio on Criminal Procedure, 3rd ed. by With Law School Legends, you’ll get a brilliant law school professor explaining an entire subject to you in one simple, dynamic lecture. The Law School Legends make even the most difficult concepts crystal clear. You’ll understand the big picture, and how all the concepts fit together. In this lecture, professor Mary Cheh of George Washington University Law School covers the basic Criminal Procedure course, which is primarily investigative criminal procedure in schools where they divide the course into two topics. One of investigative criminal procedure, and the other of criminal procedure adjudication.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: August 30, 2024
-
Sum and Substance Audio on Criminal Procedure, 8th ed. by This audio lecture covers the most important issues raised in a constitutional criminal procedure course relating to police practices. The lecture focuses on the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth Amendments and covers many issues, such as the meanings of the Fourth Amendment terms “search,” “seizure,” and “probable cause,” analysis of the exceptions to the search warrant requirement, and the doctrines of standing and the exclusionary rule. The lecture also covers police interrogation law as covered by the due process, self-incrimination, and right to counsel provisions of the Constitution, as well as the landmark Miranda v. Arizona decision. Also covered in the lecture are eyewitness identification procedures, the incorporation doctrine, and the right to counsel at trial.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: February 15, 2022
-
Office Hours on Criminal Procedure (Adjudicative), 1st ed. by Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: July 30, 2020
Aspen Learning Library
-
Aspen Aloud: Criminal Procedure, 8th ed.
Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798889067528Publication Date: August 7, 2023 -
Criminal Procedure: In Other Words Audio Series (Confrontation Rights)
by
The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Criminal Procedure lectures, Meghan J. Ryan explains the topics of Confrontation Rights; Dual Sovereignty Doctrine; Effective Assistance of Counsel; Incorporation and Constitutional Interpretation; Incorporation and Constitutional Interpretation; Jury Composition; Plea-Bargaining and Guilty Pleas; Right to a Jury Trial; Sentencing - Guidelines and Apprendi, Blakely, and Booker; Statutory and Constitutional Discovery; Trial Rights - Pre-Indictment Delays and Post-Indictment Delays.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543823899Publication Date: February 6, 2020
