Elder Law
This Elder Law Library Guide seeks to assist patrons at NSU Shepard Broad College of Law as a starting point for initial research in elder law.
Professional Responsibility Library Guide
Competence Resources
Introduction
Competence may involve a variety of issues, including but not limited to, these topics:
- Complexity of Legal Issue;
- Duty;
- Legal Knowledge,
- Preparation by Lawyer;
- Skill and Thoroughness.
Selected Electronic Secondary Sources on LexisNexis and Westlaw
- Legal Ethics/Professional Responsibility Practice Center on LexisNexis;
- Elder Law Advisor on Westlaw;
- Elder Law: Advocacy for the Aging - Ch. 3 Ethical Issues in Elder Law Practice - on Westlaw;
- Elder Law and Financial Strategies: Planning for Later Life - 3. Ethical Concerns - on LexisNexis;
- Florida Elder Law (Practice Series) - Ch. 3 Ethical Duties - on Westlaw;
- Planning for the Elderly in Florida - Chapter 2. Ethical Considerations in an Elder Law Practice - on LexisNexis.
Selected Electronic Secondary Sources on Aspen Learning Library
-
Emanuel Law Outlines for Professional Responsibility
by
The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Created by Steven Emanuel, these course outlines have been relied on by generations of law students. Each title includes both capsule and detailed versions of the critical issues and key topics you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alpha-list of cases, and a cross reference table of cases for all of the leading casebooks.
Emanuel Law Outline Features:
#1 outline choice among law students
Comprehensive review of all major topics
Capsule summary of all topics
Cross-reference table of cases
Time-saving format
Great for exam prep.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543819977Publication Date: December 31, 2019 -
Examples & Explanations for Professional Responsibility, 7th ed.
by
The Seventh Edition of Examples & Explanations for Professional Responsibility is a thorough and comprehensive text that can be used by students as a study aid and by professional responsibility teachers as a class text. It covers the whole field of professional responsibility, focusing not only on the ABA Model Rules, but on the often-complex relationship between the rules and doctrines of agency, tort, contract, evidence, and constitutional law.
Beginning with the formation of the attorney-client relationship, the book proceeds through topics including attorneys’ fees, malpractice and ineffective assistance of counsel, confidentiality and privilege rules, conflicts of interest, witness perjury and litigation misconduct, advertising and solicitation, admission to practice, and the organization of the legal profession. Coverage includes all subjects that are tested on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE), including judicial ethics, a subject tested on the MPRE and not often covered thoroughly, if at all, in law school professional responsibility courses; the ABA's simplification of the rules on advertising and solicitation; Model Rule 8.4(g) on discrimination in the practice of law; the California Supreme Court's Sheppard Mullin opinion on advance waivers of conflicts, and continuing developments in the impact of technology on the practice of law.
New to the Seventh Edition:
Expanded coverage of developments in the law having to do with lawyering, including ABA rules, ethics opinions, and cases
New and revised examples and explanations in many chapters
Top-to-bottom comprehensive revision and updates of all areas of professional responsibility, with attention to areas that are particularly challenging for students (as well as many practicing lawyers!), such as conflicts of interest and privilege and confidentiality
Professors and students will benefit from:
A study aid that, without "teaching to the test," provides students with thorough preparation for the MPRE, which is the first licensing exam that many law students take
MPRE-style multiple-choice questions in the Examples
The depth and sophistication of the coverage.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846188Publication Date: January 19, 2024 -
Glannon Guide to Professional Responsibility
by
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions.
Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application.
The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here’s why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom:
It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application.
Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work.
Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543859058Publication Date: June 5, 2023
Selected Electronic Secondary Sources on LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Model Rules of Professional Conduct, 2025
by
Model Rules of Professional Conduct, 2024 Edition, is the resource for current information on lawyer ethics. Federal, state, and local courts in all jurisdictions look to the Rules for guidance in resolving lawyer malpractice cases, disciplinary actions, disqualification issues, sanctions questions, and much more.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781639055999Publication Date: June 4, 2025 -
Mastering Professional Responsibility, 2nd ed.
by
This second edition of Mastering Professional Responsibility presents a concise explanation of the rules and concepts of lawyer professional responsibility. In creating the book, the author's goal is to provide students in the typical law school professional responsibility course with a source that explains the relevant rules and concepts in a way understandable to novices to the legal profession. In furtherance of that goal, the book provides a straightforward treatment of the subject, with special attention to the Model Rules of Professional Conduct and all recent amendments to those rules through the date of publication. For each topic, the book briefly addresses any relevant rationales, but primarily focuses on explaining the parameters of the applicable standards in a clear, understandable, step-by-step manner. A typical treatment of a topic includes not only a clear explanation of each standard, often broken into manageable concepts, but also a simple example illustrating the application of that standard. These easy-to-understand examples are designed to facilitate learning in students who, in contrast to practicing lawyers, have not yet had the opportunity to develop an understanding of the context of law practice. This book is an excellent accompaniment to the typical professional responsibility course. The book is also a good preparatory tool for the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam, which is a requirement for admission for most states.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781611637977Publication Date: April 1, 2015
Selected Electronic Secondary Sources on West Academic Study Aids
-
Elder Law in a Nutshell, 8th ed.
by
This edition incorporates all significant statutory changes since 2019, including the SECURE Act of December 2019, the Inflation Reduction Act of 2022, and the SECURE Act 2.0 of December 2022 regarding pension plan distributions, Medicare, and income taxation, as well as other areas.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887863368Publication Date: September 20, 2023 -
Legal Ethics, Professional Responsibility, and the Legal Profession
by
As the legal profession undergoes structural changes, longstanding principles of ethics still govern the day-to-day lives of practicing lawyers. This new Hornbook on professional responsibility provides both a snapshot of ongoing systemic changes and a thorough examination of the fundamentals of lawyer and judicial ethics. As a multi-dimensional work by scholarly experts in several fields, the Hornbook (1) begins with the changing environment in which legal services are provided in the modern economy; (2) continues with a theoretical grounding of legal ethics in moral philosophy; (3) offers empirical evidence and discussion about professional formation and moral development; (4) provides a comprehensive analysis of the law of lawyer ethics; (5) includes a rich discussion of the modern law of legal malpractice, and (6) concludes with exploration of the rules of judicial ethics.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781634605113Publication Date: June 9, 2018 -
Legal Ethics in a Nutshell
by
Many law professors aim to probe deep ethical issues in class. But they also need to cover the material that the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination requires. The Rotunda Nutshell fulfils that need as it digests the Model Rules in an engaging, analytical, and often critical way. In a surprisingly pithy manner, this book places the Rules in an historic context that lets the student understand problems with prior versions of the Rules, which led to the present version. The Nutshell also analyzes the American Law Institute's Restatement of the Law Governing Lawyers, Third. This approach frees up precious class time for important normative issues. And, this Nutshell helps your students come up with better answers to your Socratic questions than you anticipated. This book has proved so popular as an explanation of the basic principles of legal ethics that it has been translated into Japanese and used there to teach American legal ethics.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781640205970Publication Date: April 11, 2018 -
Professional Responsibility and Regulation, 2nd ed.
by
This comprehensive examination of professional responsibility law contains in-depth, substantive discussion supported by expert analysis and commentary, case citations, statutes, and court rules. Subjects include conflicts of interest, qualifications for the bar, regulating the market for legal services, competency standards, and disciplinary measures.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781599411422Publication Date: December 12, 2006 -
A Short and Happy Guide to Professional Responsibility, 1st ed.
by
This Short & Happy Guide explains PR so that the Rules are remembered, not memorized. Key PR concepts are taught by grouping the Rules into 21 easily digestible concepts labeled “Anchors,” reinforced with numerous true to life examples in the “Tell and Shows,” and then summed up through actionable take home points in “Anchors Aweigh.” The illustrations employ visual learning in spotlighting core PR ideas. Whether studying for a PR final, or preparing for the MPRE, or simply needing a PR refresher, the Short & Happy Guide provides an enjoyable, engaging, and fulfilling read.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887866055Publication Date: November 18, 2024
Selected Print Secondary Source
-
Professional Responsibility, 6th ed.
by
Examples & Explanations for Professional Responsibility, Sixth Edition, is a thorough and comprehensive text that can be used by students as a study aid and by professional responsibility teachers as a class text. It covers the whole field of professional responsibility, focusing not only on the ABA Model Rules, but on the often-complex relationship between the rules and doctrines of agency, tort, contract, evidence, and constitutional law.
Beginning with the formation of the attorney-client relationship, the book proceeds through topics including attorneys' fees, malpractice and ineffective assistance of counsel, confidentiality and privilege rules, conflicts of interest, witness perjury and litigation misconduct, advertising and solicitation, admission to practice, and the organization of the legal profession.
Coverage includes all subjects that are tested on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE), including:
A chapter on judicial ethics, a subject tested on the MPRE and not often covered thoroughly, if at all, in law school professional responsibility courses.
Updated discussion and examples based on recent developments in the law, including the ABA's simplification of the rules on advertising and solicitation, new Model Rule 8.4(g) on discrimination in the practice of law, the California Supreme Court's Sheppard Mullin opinion on advance waivers of conflicts, and continuing developments in the impact of technology on the practice of law.
More MPRE-style multiple-choice questions in the Examples.
New to the Sixth Edition:
Revised and updated to reflect recent developments in the law having to do with lawyering, including new ABA rules, ethics opinions, and cases.
New and revised examples and explanations in many chapters.
Professors and students will benefit from:
Comprehensive, updated coverage of all areas of professional responsibility, with attention to areas that are particularly challenging for students (as well as many practicing lawyers!), such as conflicts of interest and privilege and confidentiality.
A study aid that without "teaching to the test," provides students with thorough preparation for the MPRE, which is the first licensing exam that many law students take.
Call Number: KF306 .W46 2020ISBN: 9781543805789Publication Date: August 20, 2019 -
Professional Responsibility, Standards, Rules and Statutes, 2019-2020
by
This volume includes the Annotated American Bar Association Model Rules of Professional Conduct, selected state modifications to the ABA Model Rules, the California Rules of Professional Conduct (including the new California Rules, effective November 2018), the New York's Code of Professional Responsibility, the 2001 version of the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct, the ABA Model Code of Professional Responsibility, the ABA Canons of Professional Ethics, selected provisions of the Restatement of the Law (Third) of the Law Governing Lawyers, the ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct, the federal rules of judicial conduct and judicial disability proceedings, and rules of evidence and procedure that affect the legal profession.
Call Number: KF305.A3 P76 2019ISBN: 9781684672226Publication Date: August 5, 2019
Supplemental Resources