Topics in Law & Technology
This Library Guide is intended to provide those studying the various ways in which law and technology intersect with a starting point for their research.
About
This Research Guide is intended to provide a starting point for research into the various ways in which law and technology intersect. In particular, this Guide comprises resources focused on Information and Data Privacy as well as Data and Cybersecurity. This Guide also features a selection of resources on a number of broad law-and-technology topics such as Artificial Intelligence (including ChatGPT/GPT-4, and algorithms generally), Social Media and the Law, the "law of the Internet," Biotechnology and the Law, as well as technology issues as pertaining to Environmental Law. Finally, due to the many ways in which Intellectual Property Law impacts and is, in turn, impacted by Technology, this Research Guide also includes a page of general resources in the overarching area of Intellectual Property. The user is invited to visit the Law Library's Intellectual Property Research Guide for additional and more specific resources in this doctrinal area.
The user should note that the materials featured in this Research Guide are intended to be suggestive, rather than prescriptive or comprehensive. That is, the intention is to present the user with an overview of the Law Library's collection in these areas, with the hope that one or more titles may spark curiosity about a particular topic. All materials listed here are available in the Law Library in print form, but in some cases electronic access may also be available. Accordingly, the remote/ online user is encouraged to check the Law Library's catalog to find out whether other editions/ versions are available.
Cyber- and Information Security
The U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) offers the following definitions for the related issues of cybersecurity and information security:
Cybersecurity: "The ability to protect or defend the use of cyberspace from cyber attacks."
Information (Data) Security: "The protection of information and information systems from unauthorized access, use, disclosure, disruption, modification, or destruction in order to provide confidentiality, integrity, and availability."
Primary Sources - Federal Statutes
The following is a list of U.S. Federal legislation pertaining to Information Privacy/ Data Privacy and Cyber- and Information Security.
The legislation is presented in chronological order, to provide the user with an idea of the development of this area of law over time.
1970s
Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) of 1970 (15 U.S.C. §§ 1681 et seq.)
Bank Secrecy Act of 1970 (Pub L. 91-508)
Privacy Act of 1974 (5 U.S.C. §552a)
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) of 1974 (20 U.S.C. §§ 1221; 1232g)
Right to Financial Privacy Act of 1978 (12 U.S.C. §§ 3401-3422)
Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) of 1978 (15 U.S.C. §§ 1801-1811)
1980s
Privacy Protection Act (PPA) of 1980 (42 U.S.C. § 2000aa)
Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984 (47 U.S.C. § 551)
Electronic Communications Privacy Act (ECPA) of 1986 (18 U.S.C. § 2510-2522 & 2701-2709)
Computer Matching and Privacy Protection Act of 1988 (5 U.S.C. § 552a)
Employee Polygraph Protection Act of 1988 (29 U.S.C. §§ 22001-2009)
Video Privacy Protection Act (VPPA) of 1988 (18 U.S.C. §§ 2710 - 2711)
1990s
Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) of 1991 (47 U.S.C. § 227)
Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (18 U.S.C. §§ 2721-2725)
Communications Assistance for Law Enforcement Act of 1994 (Pub. L. No. 103-414)
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-193)
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) of 1996 (Pub. L. 104-191; 45 C.F.R. 160, 162, 164)
Identity Theft and Assumption Deterrence Act (ITADA) of 1998 (18 U.S.C. § 1028)
Children's Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA) of 1998 (15 U.S.C. §§ 6501-6506)
Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (GLBA) of 1999 (15 U.S.C. §§ 6801-6809)
2000s
Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism Act (USA Patriot Act) of 2001 (Pub. L. No 107-56)
Controlling the Assault of Non-Solicited Pornography and Marketing Act (CAN-SPAM Act) of 2003
Video Voyeurism Prevention Act of 2004 (18 U.S.C. § 1801)
FISA Amendments Act of 2008 (Pub. L. No. 110-261)
Getting Started
The titles below are a selection of the study aids and materials available through the Panza Maurer Law Library to provide those studying issues in Cybersecurity and Data Security with a starting point for their research.
NOTE: The links below will take the user to the Law Library's online study aids collection. The inclusion of a Call Number indicates that the Law Library also has the particular title in print, although the print resource may be an earlier edition of the title.
A Short and Happy Guide to Privacy and Cybersecurity Law by
This efficient book provides an essential introduction to the privacy fundamentals and security essentials that make up the modern economy. Privacy and free speech expert Professor Jon M. Garon has written an essential overview geared to students and entrepreneurs. The book provides a concise overview of privacy from its origins in constitutional and common law through the most important changes in U.S. laws and laws that impact the U.S. from abroad. The book explains privacy and security rules for finance, health care, and business, along with practical advice on running a secure business and keeping oneself safe when online.
Call Number: KF390.5.C6 G37 2020ISBN: 9781684679836Publication Date: 2020-07-13
Cybersecurity Law Fundamentals by
“Cybersecurity Law Fundamentals” is both a primer and a reference volume. It serves cybersecurity practitioners looking for a quick refresher or citation, but also guides generalists and newcomers to the field: the general counsel who needs a basic understanding of the regulatory requirements and legal risk that a company faces, the policymaker interested in understanding the gaps in the law and filling them, and the attorney seeking a career transition.
Topics covered
Criminal law.
Data breach notification.
Liability for insecure products and software.
Defining “reasonable” cybersecurity.
Federal cybersecurity statutes, regulations and guidelines.
Regulatory enforcement from the Federal Trade Commission and other agencies.
State cybersecurity statutes and regulations.
Regulatory enforcement by state.
Self-protective measures.
Ransomware.
National security economic controls, trade limits, and equipment bans.
Call Number: KF390.5.C6 D46 2021ISBN: 9781948771535Publication Date: 2021-07-01
Cybersecurity and Privacy Law in a Nutshell by
Cybersecurity and Privacy Law in a Nutshell by Jay P. Kesan and Carol M. Hayes provides a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of cybersecurity law and policy. Cybersecurity is a serious concern in our lives. It affects individuals, governments, the military, big businesses, small businesses, and law firms themselves. Cybersecurity policy issues implicate both private and public international law, in addition to domestic law. In this Nutshell, we present case law, federal, state and international legislation, administrative actions and regulations, and relevant policy considerations that attorneys and their clients should keep in mind, whether they are working on a case about cybersecurity or just wanting to know more about cybersecurity and privacy in the Internet age.
Call Number: Online (West Academic) onlyISBN: 9781634602723Publication Date: 2019-05-20
The titles below are a selection of hornbooks and treatises in the area of Cybersecurity and Data Security Law. These resources will generally provide more in-depth coverage of these areas than the study guides described in this page.
NOTE: The links below will take the user to the Law Library's online collection. The inclusion of a Call Number indicates that the Law Library also has the particular title in print, although the print resource may be an earlier edition of the title.
Mireles and Hobaugh's Cybersecurity Law by
This book provides a relatively comprehensive examination of cybersecurity related laws that would be helpful for lawyers, law students, and Chief Information Security Officers (CISOs) and other cybersecurity and privacy professionals. The book outlines and details the U.S. federal sectoral approach to cybersecurity, such as covering the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act and regulations, and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act Security Rule, as well as an examination of state laws impacting cybersecurity, such as data breach notification, privacy and state education laws. International issues as well as specific topics such as ransomware and the Internet of things are addressed. Notably, the book provides a review of the role of the cybersecurity professional, risk assessment as well as the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) risk assessment framework, and laws related to hacking.
Call Number: KF1263.C65 M5745 2022ISBN: 9781636590196Publication Date: 2021-12-29
The ABA Cybersecurity Handbook: A Resource for Attorneys, Law Firms, and Business Professionals by
"Cybersecurity remains a top concern in the legal profession. A data breach is a question of when, not if. Lawyers must take steps to protect their own security and privacy, as well as that of their clients. The ABA Cybersecurity Handbook is a vital desk-side resource to help lawyers understand the nature of the threat, protect their practices and their clients' confidential information and intellectual property, and comply with ever-changing legal rules." --Reggie Turner, President, American Bar Association This third edition of The ABA Cybersecurity Handbook updates and expands upon the issues raised in the first two editions. The cybersecurity landscape has undergone seismic changes since the publication of the second edition in 2017. The COVID-19 pandemic has brought new levels of technology integration to the practice of law, accompanied by new and expanded cybersecurity risks. Beyond the legal profession, the SolarWinds, Kaseya, and Colonial Pipeline breaches have set new and alarming precedents. Heightened cybersecurity risk worldwide has prompted increased responses from the US federal government and from the international community. Amid these ongoing developments, the Handbook is at your fingertips as a guide to preparing for and responding to cybersecurity threats and incidents. The foundational information it shares will remain relevant even in a changing environment. The recommendations within each chapter, located at the end, provide an easy guide for developing and implementing an effective cybersecurity program, including building the understanding of lawyers' legal and ethical obligations to provide effective provide data security. The Handbook covers a wide array of topics and provides a comprehensive look not only at the threat developments of the past few years, but also at the trends that have been established in cybersecurity. The Handbook addresses concerns and provides recommendations for several different types of legal practices--small firms and large ones, government lawyers and in-house counsel. Overall best practices are developed and shared throughout the Handbook. As the cybersecurity landscape continues to evolve, the Handbook will be an indispensable reference for you and your practice.
Call Number: KF318 .A7518 2022ISBN: 9781639050680Publication Date: 2022-04-06
Principles of Cybersecurity Law by
This book is for cybersecurity and privacy professionals, cybersecurity and privacy lawyers, law students, and anyone interested in learning the cybersecurity laws that apply to an entity based on the entity's business model(s) and data collection model(s). For example, what is the applicable Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) cybersecurity law if an entity provides an alternate trading platform (ATP) with a daily trading volume of 50,000? The authors combine years of technical and legal experience in providing a map for cybersecurity counseling based on an understanding of the CISO's technical cybersecurity issues and how they fit into today's cybersecurity law challenges. The authors explain the difference and overlap between privacy law, cybersecurity law, and cybersecurity. Those interested in speaking the same cybersecurity language as a Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) will benefit. The first chapter provides a review of cybersecurity. For example, key to any discussion on cybersecurity is the Confidentiality, Integrity, and Availability (CIA) of data. Learn how to implement policy-based "reasonable security measures" frameworks for your organization that form a legal defense to cybersecurity-based actions brought by U.S. agencies such as the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and state Attorney Generals. A high-level discussion of the National Institute of Science and Technology (NIST) cybersecurity frameworks is included as well as data breach laws, anti-hacking related laws and some international issues.
Call Number: Online onlyISBN: 9781636590202Publication Date: 2021-08-09
Selected Secondary Sources
The titles below are a selection of both law-specific and interdisciplinary materials in the areas of Cybersecurity and Data Security that are available through the Panza Maurer Law Library.
NOTE: The links below will take the user to the Law Library's online collection. The inclusion of a Call Number indicates that the Law Library also has the particular title in print, although the print resource may be an earlier edition of the title.
Breached! by
Web-based connections permeate our lives - and so do data breaches. Given that we must be online for basic communication, finance, healthcare, and more, it is remarkable how many problems there are with cybersecurity. Despite the passage of many data security laws, data breaches are increasingat a record pace. In Breached!, Daniel Solove and Woodrow Hartzog, two of the world's leading experts on cybersecurity and privacy issues, argue that the law fails because, ironically, it focuses too much on the breach itself.Drawing insights from many fascinating stories about data breaches, Solove and Hartzog show how major breaches could have been prevented through inexpensive, non-cumbersome means. They also reveal why the current law is counterproductive. It pummels organizations that have suffered a breach, butdoesn't recognize other contributors to the breach. These outside actors include software companies that create vulnerable software, device companies that make insecure devices, government policymakers who write regulations that increase security risks, organizations that train people to engage inrisky behaviors, and more.The law's also ignores the role that good privacy practices can play. Although humans are the weakest link for data security, the law remains oblivious to the fact that policies and technologies are often designed with a poor understanding of human behavior. Breached! corrects this course byfocusing on the human side of security. This book sets out a holistic vision for data security law - one that holds all actors accountable, understands security broadly and in relationship to privacy, looks to prevention rather than reaction, and is designed with people in mind. The book closes witha roadmap for how we can reboot law and policy surrounding cybersecurity so that breaches become much rarer events.
Call Number: KF1263.C65 S65 2022ISBN: 9780190940553Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Consumer Privacy and Data Protection by
This short paperback, developed from the casebook Information Privacy Law,contains key cases and materials focusing on privacy issues related to consumer privacy and data security. This book is designed for use in courses and seminars on: Cyberlaw Law and technology Privacy law Information law Consumer law New to the Third Edition: CCPA, biometric privacy laws FTC Facebook Cambridge Analytica case United States v. Gratkowski (Bitcoin and the Fourth Amendment) In re Vizio, Inc. Additional material about TCPA litigation, including Stoops v. Wells Fargo Bank Additional material on the FCC Act Additional material on the Video Privacy Protection Act Barr v. American Association of Political Consultants Topics covered include: Big Data, financial privacy, FCRA, GLBA, FTC privacy and security regulation Identity theft, online behavioral advertising First Amendment limitations on privacy regulation Data breaches, data breach notification statutes Privacy of video watching and media consumptions CFAA, enforcement of privacy policies, marketing use of data, and more
Call Number: KF1262 .S65 2021ISBN: 9781543832594Publication Date: 2020-11-23
Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know by
Dependence on computers has had a transformative effect on human society. Cybernetics is now woven into the core functions of virtually every basic institution, including our oldest ones. War is one such institution, and the digital revolution's impact on it has been profound. The Americanmilitary, which has no peer, is almost completely reliant on high-tech computer systems.Given the Internet's potential for full-spectrum surveillance and information disruption, the marshaling of computer networks represents the next stage of cyberwar. Indeed, it is upon us already. The recent Stuxnet episode, in which Israel fed a malignant computer virus into Iran's nuclearfacilities, is one such example. Penetration into US government computer systems by Chinese hackers-presumably sponsored by the Chinese government-is another. Together, they point to a new era in the evolution of human conflict.In Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know, noted experts Peter W. Singer and Allan Friedman lay out how the revolution in military cybernetics occurred and explain where it is headed. They begin with an explanation of what cyberspace is before moving on to discussions of how it canbe exploited and why it is so hard to defend. Throughout, they discuss the latest developments in military and security technology. Singer and Friedman close with a discussion of how people and governments can protect themselves. In sum, Cybersecurity and Cyberwar is the definitive account on thesubject for the educated layman who wants to know more about the nature of war, conflict, and security in the twenty first century.
Call Number: QA76.9.A25 S562 2014ISBN: 9780199918096Publication Date: 2014-01-03
D&O Guide to Cyber Governance: Fiduciary Duties in the Digital Age by
Directors and officers of organizations grapple with how to manage and govern cyber risks. From asking simple questions about whether their company has a mature cybersecurity program to fielding more complex queries about ransomware and cyber insurance, boards and executives should understand what cyber governance really means and how they should be exercising oversight of digital risks. This practical and timely guide will help directors and officers, and those who counsel them, understand how to appropriately govern cyber risks. Written by leading expert Jody Westby, this resource provides the basic information directors and officers need to know to meet their fiduciary duties, exercise appropriate cyber governance, and protect their organization against shareholder derivative and securities lawsuits. Practical and user-friendly, this guidebook contains checklists, practice tips, charts, and resources to help you: Develop a governance framework in alignment with best practices and standards Understand the elements of a cybersecurity program Ensure privacy and security compliance requirements are met Manage a cybersecurity incident and make hard decisions Develop appropriate risk transfer and management strategies And more! As an added bonus, the book includes a cyber governance checklist, a cyber lingo cheat sheet, and a list of abbreviations that serve as a guide and reference.
Call Number: KF1263.C65 W48 2021ISBN: 9781639050024Publication Date: 2022-05-02
Delete: The Virtue of Forgetting in the Digital Age by
Delete looks at the surprising phenomenon of perfect remembering in the digital age, and reveals why we must reintroduce our capacity to forget. Digital technology empowers us as never before, yet it has unforeseen consequences as well. Potentially humiliating content on Facebook is enshrined in cyberspace for future employers to see. Google remembers everything we've searched for and when. The digital realm remembers what is sometimes better forgotten, and this has profound implications for us all. In Delete, Viktor Mayer-Schönberger traces the important role that forgetting has played throughout human history, from the ability to make sound decisions unencumbered by the past to the possibility of second chances. The written word made it possible for humans to remember across generations and time, yet now digital technology and global networks are overriding our natural ability to forget--the past is ever present, ready to be called up at the click of a mouse. Mayer-Schönberger examines the technology that's facilitating the end of forgetting--digitization, cheap storage and easy retrieval, global access, and increasingly powerful software--and describes the dangers of everlasting digital memory, whether it's outdated information taken out of context or compromising photos the Web won't let us forget. He explains why information privacy rights and other fixes can't help us, and proposes an ingeniously simple solution--expiration dates on information--that may. Delete is an eye-opening book that will help us remember how to forget in the digital age.
Call Number: BF371 .M375 2009ISBN: 9780691138619Publication Date: 2009-10-04
EU Data Protection and the GDPR by
Developed from the casebook Information Privacy Law, this short paperback contains key cases and materials focusing on privacy issues related to the GDPR and data protection in the European Union. Topics covered include the GDPR, Schrems cases, the right to be forgotten, and international data transfers. This book is designed for use in courses and seminars on: Comparative and international law EU law Privacy law Information law Consumer law Topics covered include: GDPR Schrems I and Schrems II cases The right to be forgotten International data transfers, including an account of the rise and fall of the Privacy Shield European Court of Human Rights cases European Court of Justice cases Comparative analysis of EU and US privacy law
Call Number: KJE6071 .S69 2021ISBN: 9781543832631Publication Date: 2020-11-23
Guide to Cybersecurity Due Diligence in M&A Transactions by
"Almost all acquisitions involve Intellectual Property assets and Internet/IT considerations. This desktop reference helps the acquirer determine whether they are buying a valuable asset or a potentially uncapped liability. Insightful and useful, this volume also helps frame the post-acquisition interconnection of cyber assets. It is an excellent companion piece to the ABA Cybersecurity Handbook, and other invaluable ABA publications and CLE programming." --Vincent Polley, Co-Chair, ABA Cybersecurity Legal Task Force In the Digital Era, ubiquitous connectivity has spared no enterprise the risks of being hacked from anywhere in the world. Whether the intruder's purpose is to steal, change, or destroy information, or to use its unauthorized access to harm and disrupt the enterprise's operations, the attackers have continued to increase their advantage over the defenders. Virtually all enterprises have been breached and their sensitive information compromised. The reality of this threat, coupled with the near total dependence of today's businesses on networked digital technology, presents a major risk of catastrophic consequences to most businesses. And acquiring or merging with any business involves taking on that risk. Thus, in any M&A transaction, an evaluation of the target's cybersecurity capabilities and experience is critical. This comprehensive and valuable guide, Guide to Cybersecurity Due Diligence in M&A Transactions is designed to assist companies and their counsel in assessing that risk. Beginning with an introduction to the importance of cybersecurity due diligence, the Guide explains to M&A counsel and their clients the key requirements of the cybersecurity due diligence process that should be part of every M&A transaction. This Guide can be read cover-to-cover, or used when counsel or clients want to get up to speed on specific issues, such as: The importance of cybersecurity due diligence for an M&A deal Lessons from recent cyber incidents including Nieman Marcus, Yahoo, Target Corporation, Sony Pictures, and Volkswagen Identifying a target's high-value digital assets Evaluating incident response capabilities, supply chain risks, or assessment of a target's resilience And much more!
Call Number: KF1263.C65 G84 2017ISBN: 9781634258944Publication Date: 2019-07-02
HCI for Cybersecurity, Privacy and Trust : First International Conference, HCI-CPT 2019, Held as Part of the 21st HCI International Conference, HCII 2019, Orlando, FL, USA, July 26, 2019, Proceedings by
This book constitutes the thoroughly refereed proceedings of the First International Conference on HCI for Cybersecurity, Privacy and Trust, HCI-CPT 2019, which was held as part of the 21st HCI International Conference, HCII 2019, in Orlando, FL, USA, in July 2019. The total of 1275 papers and 209 posters included in the 35 HCII 2019 proceedings volumes were carefully reviewed and selected from 5029 submissions. HCI-CPT 2019 includes a total of 32 papers; they were organized in topical sections named: Authentication; cybersecurity awareness and behavior; security and usability; and privacy and trust.
Call Number: Online onlyISBN: 9783030223519Publication Date: 2019
Human-Computer Interaction and Cybersecurity Handbook by
Recipient of the SJSU San Jose State University Annual Author & Artist Awards 2019 Recipient of the SJSU San Jose State University Annual Author & Artist Awards 2018 Cybersecurity, or information technology security, focuses on protecting computers and data from criminal behavior. The understanding of human performance, capability, and behavior is one of the main areas that experts in cybersecurity focus on, both from a human-computer interaction point of view, and that of human factors. This handbook is a unique source of information from the human factors perspective that covers all topics related to the discipline. It includes new areas such as smart networking and devices, and will be a source of information for IT specialists, as well as other disciplines such as psychology, behavioral science, software engineering, and security management. Features Covers all areas of human-computer interaction and human factors in cybersecurity Includes information for IT specialists, who often desire more knowledge about the human side of cybersecurity Provides a reference for other disciplines such as psychology, behavioral science, software engineering, and security management Offers a source of information for cybersecurity practitioners in government agencies and private enterprises Presents new areas such as smart networking and devices
Call Number: TK5105.59 .H86 2019ebISBN: 9781351730778Publication Date: 2018-10-03
The Internet of Things: Legal Issues, Policy, and Practical Strategies by
The Internet of Things encompasses the ability to connect and direct almost any kind of mechanical system, whether it's automotive, medical, residential, or critical infrastructure. IoT technologies hold tremendous promise for our communities by making them safer and more efficient. As with any other technology, they also entail security risk, and the risks associated with IoT technologies must be aggressively managed. We can do so, with industry's help, by working to leverage standards and liability and insurance mechanisms to ensure that IoT's foundational building blocks are secure and effective. Increasingly, utilities are deploying smart grid technologies, wirelessly connecting thermostats to the utility to measure usage patterns and allow energy supplies to be adjusted, with precision based on need. Companies are working on clocks, kitchen appliances, and other household products that monitor consumer behavior to turn on your coffee machine moments before you wake up; warn you when you are low on supplies; order groceries for the week; and allow you to remotely operate your locks and lights so you need not be home to admit a visitor, or to check that your residence is secure. Regulating these various systems via network connectivity can add convenience and save money, but doing so can also arm malicious actors with an unprecedented ability to create chaos. The issues that the book addresses include the use of IoT technology in connected cars, health tech, and unmanned aerial vehicles (aka drones); IoT and technological developments such as 5G and blockchain; the current state of laws and regulations relating to the IoT both in the United States and globally; risks associated with IoT devices, including security and privacy issues; how state attorneys general protect consumers in the IoT era; the impact of the IoT on intellectual property and insurance; guidelines for employers, including corporate counsel, regarding the IoT in the workplace; and the future of the IoT from the perspective of an MIT research scientist.
Call Number: K1005 .I697 2019ISBN: 9781641053631Publication Date: 2020-04-07
Liability for Crimes Involving Artificial Intelligence Systems by
The book develops a general legal theory concerning the liability for offenses involving artificial intelligence systems. The involvement of the artificial intelligence systems in these offenses may be as perpetrators, accomplices or mere instruments. The general legal theory proposed in this book is based on the current criminal law in most modern legal systems. In most modern countries, unmanned vehicles, sophisticated surgical systems, industrial computing systems, trading algorithms and other artificial intelligence systems are commonly used for both industrial and personal purposes. The question of legal liability arises when something goes wrong, e.g. the unmanned vehicle is involved in a car accident, the surgical system is involved in a surgical error or the trading algorithm is involved in fraud, etc. Who is to be held liable for these offenses: the manufacturer, the programmer, the user, or, perhaps, the artificial intelligence system itself? The concept of liability for crimes involving artificial intelligence systems has not yet been widely researched. Advanced technologies are forcing society to face new challenges, both technical and legal. The idea of liability in the specific context of artificial intelligence systems is one such challenge that should be thoroughly explored.
Call Number: K5070 .H348 2015ISBN: 9783319101231Publication Date: 2014-11-18
Owned: Property, Privacy, and the New Digital Serfdom by
In this compelling examination of the intersection of smart technology and the law, Joshua A. T. Fairfield explains the crisis of digital ownership - how and why we no longer control our smartphones or software-enable devices, which are effectively owned by software and content companies. In two years we will not own our 'smart' televisions which will also be used by advertisers to listen in to our living rooms. In the coming decade, if we do not take back our ownership rights, the same will be said of our self-driving cars and software-enabled homes. We risk becoming digital peasants, owned by software and advertising companies, not to mention overreaching governments. Owned should be read by anyone wanting to know more about the loss of our property rights, the implications for our privacy rights and how we can regain control of both.
Call Number: KF390.5.C6 F35 2017ISBN: 9781316671467Publication Date: 2017-06-29
The Practical Guide to HIPAA Privacy and Security Compliance by
Following in the footsteps of its bestselling predecessor, The Practical Guide to HIPAA Privacy and Security Compliance, Second Edition is a one-stop, up-to-date resource on Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) privacy and security, including details on the HITECH Act, the 2013 Omnibus Rule, and the pending rules. Updated and revised with several new sections, this edition defines what HIPAA is, what it requires, and what you need to do to achieve compliance. The book provides an easy-to-understand overview of HIPAA privacy and security rules and compliance tasks. Supplying authoritative insights into real-world HIPAA privacy and security issues, it summarizes the analysis, training, and technology needed to properly plan and implement privacy and security policies, training, and an overall program to manage information risks. Instead of focusing on technical jargon, the book spells out what your organization must do to achieve and maintain compliance requirements on an ongoing basis.
Call Number: KF3827.R4 B43 2014ISBN: 9781032098937Publication Date: 2021-06-30
Additional Online Resources
- National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) was founded in 1901 and is now part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. NIST is one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. Congress established the agency to remove a major challenge to U.S. industrial competitiveness at the time — a second-rate measurement infrastructure that lagged behind the capabilities of the United Kingdom, Germany and other economic rivals. From the smart electric power grid and electronic health records to atomic clocks, advanced nanomaterials and computer chips, innumerable products and services rely in some way on technology, measurement and standards provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Today, NIST measurements support the smallest of technologies to the largest and most complex of human-made creations — from nanoscale devices so tiny that tens of thousands can fit on the end of a single human hair up to earthquake-resistant skyscrapers and global communication networks.
- Federal Trade Commission (FTC) The FTC works "to protect consumers and promote competition touches the economic life of every American. [It is] the only federal agency that deals with consumer protection and competition issues in broad sectors of the economy.
- FTC Bureau of Consumer Protection The FTC’s Bureau of Consumer Protection stops unfair, deceptive and fraudulent business practices by collecting reports from consumers and conducting investigations, suing companies and people that break the law, developing rules to maintain a fair marketplace, and educating consumers and businesses about their rights and responsibilities.
- Federal Communications Commission (FCC) The Federal Communications Commission regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. An independent U.S. government agency overseen by Congress, the Commission is the federal agency responsible for implementing and enforcing America’s communications law and regulations.
- Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) - Cyber Crimes The FBI is the lead federal agency for investigating cyber attacks and intrusions. We collect and share intelligence and engage with victims while working to unmask those committing malicious cyber activities, wherever they are.
- Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) CISA is the operational lead for federal cybersecurity and the national coordinator for critical infrastructure security and resilience. We are designed for collaboration and partnership. Learn about our layered mission to reduce risk to the nation’s cyber and physical infrastructure.
- Department of Homeland Security (DHS) The Department of Homeland Security and its components play a lead role in strengthening cybersecurity resilience across the nation and sectors, investigating malicious cyber activity, and advancing cybersecurity alongside our democratic values and principles.
- Federal Privacy Council (FPC) - Law Library The Federal Privacy Council (FPC) was established in Executive Order 13719 on February 9, 2016. The Federal Privacy Council is the principal interagency forum to improve the privacy practices of agencies and entities acting on their behalf.