Torts
This library guide seeks to assist first-year law students in Torts at NSU Shepard Broad College of Law.
Torts Library Guide
This Torts Guide seeks to help J.D. students in mastering course material by offering links to selected torts resources. These resources include, but are not limited to, case briefs, outlines, study aids, multimedia resources, practice multiple-choice questions and answers, and practice essay questions and answers.
Torts Content
Black's Law Dictionary
For a definition of a tort, please click here.
To search for a definition in Black's Law Dictionary on Westlaw, please click here.
Restatements of the Law for Torts
Restatements of the Law for Torts are available here on LexisNexis.
West Academic Study Aids
These class preparation resources below provide case briefs keyed to specific casebooks.
-
High Court Cases Summaries, Torts (Keyed to Prosser, Wade, Schwartz, Kelly, and Partlett, 14th ed.)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Prosser, Wade, Schwartz, Kelly, and Partlett's casebook on Torts. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647085650Publication Date: September 23, 2020 -
High Court Case Summaries on Torts (Keyed to Franklin, Rabin, Green, Geistfeld, and Engstrom, 11th ed.)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Franklin, Rabin, Green, Geistfeld, and Engstrom's casebook on Torts. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636594767Publication Date: August 12, 2021 -
High Court Cases Summaries on Torts (Keyed to Epstein and Sharkey, 12th ed.)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Epstein and Sharkey's casebook on Torts. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647086046Publication Date: December 14, 2020 -
High Court Case Summaries on Torts and Compensation, Personal Accountability and Social Responsibility for Injury (Keyed to Dobbs, Hayden, and Bublick, 9th ed.)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Dobbs, Hayden, and Bublick's casebook on Torts. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647086411Publication Date: December 28, 2011 -
Torts Cold Call Companion (1st ed.) by The day has arrived and your name rings out in class. This is it. The cold call. What might your professor ask? Did you understand the case? Did you miss anything important? Are you prepared? BARBRI & West Academic’s Cold Call Companion provides you with resources to critically analyze and brief a case, distill the main points of law, prepare for the kinds of questions professors may ask in class, and so much more. Included in each Cold Call Companion are: Animated case brief videos that bring the facts to life; A written case brief; Advice for prepping for class discussion; Contextual materials to offer additional color and background; Test Yourself questions; and Carefully curated sets of additional study materials to expand your knowledge of important concepts. Confidently prepare for and engage in classroom discussion, and easily navigate to the best and more relevant study aids – right when you need them! Cold Call Companion is your essential prep for class.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: August 5, 2024
Aspen Learning Library
-
Casenote Legal Briefs for Torts, (Keyed to Goldberg, Sebok, and Zipursky, 5th ed.)
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion.
Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses:
Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.
There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases
Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543841282Publication Date: July 31, 2021 -
Casenote Legal Briefs: Torts, (Keyed to Epstein and Sharkey's, 13th ed.)
by
Casenote® Legal Briefs TORTS, Keyed to Courses Using Epstein and Sharkey’s Cases and Materials on Torts, Thirteenth Edition, is designed to help you save time by providing the facts, black letter law, and holding and decision for the principal cases covered in your casebook. Used as part of a rigorous study regimen, Casenote Legal Briefs can help you spend more time analyzing and critiquing points of law than on copying bits and pieces of judicial opinions into your notebook or outline.
New to this Edition:
The following cases (new in the Thirteenth Edition of your casebook) are included in Casenote® Legal Briefs TORTS, Keyed to Courses Using Epstein and Sharkey’s Cases and Materials on Torts, Thirteenth Edition:
Ives v. S. Buffalo Ry.
Pinnick v. Cleary
City of New York v. Chevron Corp.
City & County of San Francisco v. Purdue Pharma L.P.
Search v. Uber Technologies, Inc.
Loomis v. Amazon.com LLC
Students will benefit from:
Casenote® Legal Briefs break down the major cases in your casebook into a succinct, readable, and uncluttered format that details:
the nature of the case,
the issue,
a summary of the facts,
the rule of law,
detailed facts
the holding and decision, including dissents and concurrences, and
a brief comment or analysis of the case.
Additional Materials Include:
Quicknotes following each case define legal terms used in the brief.
A Glossary in the back of the book lists and defines Latin words and phrases commonly found in the language of the law.
Quick Reference Rules of Law pages open every chapter and list the rules of law that apply in each case in that chapter.
How to Brief a Case provides step-by-step instructions on how to format, organize, and write your own case brief with the greatest efficiency.
A fold-out Quick Course Outline highlights the main topics of the course.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798889069676Publication Date: December 8, 2024 -
Casenote Legal Briefs for Torts, (Keyed to Prosser, Wade Schwartz Kelly and Partlett, 14th ed.)
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. The series is trusted for its expert summary of the principal cases in your casebook. Its proven reliability makes Casenote Legal Briefs the most popular case brief series available. With more than 100 titles keyed to the current editions of major casebooks, you know you can find the help you need. The brief for each case saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, and important points of the holding and decision. Quicknotes are short definitions of the legal terms used at the end of each brief. Use the Glossary in the end of your text to define common Latin legal terms. Such an overview, combined with case analysis, helps broaden your understanding and supports you in classroom discussion.
Each title is keyed to the current edition of a specific casebook; it s your trusted guide to the text throughout the semester.
The brief for each principal case in the casebook saves you time and helps you retain important issues.
Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, important points of the holding and decision, and concurrences and dissents included in the casebook excerpt. This overview is combined with a short analysis: all to help you broaden your understanding and support you in classroom discussion.
Quicknotes at end of each brief give you short definitions of the legal terms used.
A handy Glossary of common Latin words and phrases is included in every Casenote.
Detailed instruction on how to brief a case is provided for you.
A free Quick Course Outline accompanies all Casenote Legal Briefs in these course areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543831849Publication Date: January 18, 2021 -
Casenote Legal Briefs for Torts (Keyed to Franklin, Rabin, Green, Geistfeld, and Engstrom, 11th ed.)
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion.
Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses:
Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.
There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases
Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543849059Publication Date: November 16, 2021
Quimbee
Please click here to find case briefs keyed to specific casebooks.
LexisNexis
Please click here for a case brief bank.
West Academic Study Aids
These study aids below are intended to provide content about torts.
-
Acing Tort Law, 4th ed.
by
This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offers the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book combined with concise analytical summaries of the leading issues in tort law.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647082956Publication Date: August 8, 2022 -
A Short and Happy Guide to Torts, 2nd ed.
by
In this updated and refreshed version of his concise book Professor Schechter, an award-winning teacher and prominent national bar lecturer, has balanced brevity and humor with a clear, crisp, and accessible review of basic Torts doctrine. His comprehensive survey includes not only thorough coverage of core topics such as negligence and strict products liability, but an overview of economic and dignitary torts, damages issues, and vicarious liability as well. This best-selling, highly rated Torts book has proven hugely popular with students. As the series title promises, the author has kept it short, and the book will make students happy.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636591100Publication Date: August 16, 2021 -
Quick Review of Torts, 6th ed.
by
This book contains a complete analysis of the law of torts for law students, in an accessible format for quick study and review. It is designed for use in class and when preparing for exams. The main outline section contains explanations of concepts and terms, with exam hints, strategies, mnemonics, charts, tables, and study tips. Contains self-testing and diagnostic review questions.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647083557Publication Date: June 4, 2022 -
Torts in a Nutshell, 7th ed.
by
A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781684673261Publication Date: 2020-10-12 -
Advanced Torts in a Nutshell, 1st ed.
by
A concise and authoritative text on major areas of tort law typically included in Advanced Torts courses and casebooks. It includes defamation, invasion of privacy torts, malicious prosecution, wrongful death, actions for injuries to family relationships, and most of the numerous and increasingly important economic torts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781642427790Publication Date: August 5, 2020 -
Step-by-Step Guide to Torts
by
The Step-by-Step Guide to Torts is an interactive workbook designed to effectively prepare students to pass exams. The most heavily tested legal rules are presented in a format that mirrors the way they arise as issues in typical testing fact patterns. Rule statements are set out in easy-to-memorize statements, with a breakdown of the element components and logical steps to take to apply new facts to each legal element.
Fluency with the legal terminology is also essential to exam success, so this Step-by-Step Guide includes fill-in-the-blank spaces to help you learn and memorize definitions of key terms as they are introduced, and a glossary of selected terms at the end for further reference.
In addition to learning the law and memorizing key rules and terms, success in law school also requires the hard work of deep learning, engaging with problems to test your own knowledge, and working toward gaining a strong command of all testable topics. To that end, this Guide contains short-answer Test Yourself questions. Working through these questions and then reading the answers and explanations to determine where your understanding is clear and where you must do additional work will help you master the skill of applying the relevant rules to new and different fact patterns. In addition to the short-answer questions, this Guide also includes numerous full-length essay questions with sample answers —providing further practice to test your knowledge and deepen your learning.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636590974Publication Date: November 2, 2021
LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Mastering Tort Law
by
Mastering Tort Law is a succinct, practical guide to the intricacies of tort law. Functional in approach, it describes and illustrates basic tort doctrine, and provides students with insights into more advanced tort theories. In an attempt to facilitate student learning, the book includes a Roadmap at the beginning of each chapter, and a Checklist at the end. The authors previously published a well-regarded casebook in the area, and have taught torts for many years.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781611632118Publication Date: May 25, 2016 -
Understanding Torts
by
This Understanding treatise is the perfect complement to first-year tort courses and is suitable for use with any tort casebook. Concise and authoritative, Understanding Torts features:
Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of intentional torts, privileges, negligence, cause-in-fact, proximate cause, defenses, joint and several liability, damages, strict liability, products liability, economic torts, malicious prosecution, abuse of process, defamation, and invasion of privacy;
Judicious use of footnotes to provide full, but not overwhelming, primary and secondary support for textual propositions;
Clear organization and writing to enhance understanding of basic concepts and major cases covered in a torts course; and
In-depth analysis of topics that generate the greatest confusion and controversy.
This edition includes explanation and analysis of new Restatement (Third) Intentional Tort provisions including battery, assault, false imprisonment, and transferred intent as well as new Liability for Economic Harm and Misuse of Legal Process provisions. It pays attention to technology as a source of change in tort law, providing numerous examples from recent decisions on conversion, trespass to chattel, products liability, privacy, and defamation.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531023447Publication Date: August 17, 2023
Aspen Learning Library
-
Examples and Explanations for the Law of Torts
by
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course.
The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide:
helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language
challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class
provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis
quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor
remains a favorite among law school students
is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides
works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic
provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543817102Publication Date: February 4, 2020 -
Glannon Guide to Torts, 4th ed.
by
The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.
The user-friendly Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture.
The material is broken into small, manageable pieces to help you master concepts.
Multiple-choice questions are interspersed throughout each chapter (not lumped at the end) to mirror the flow of a classroom lecture.
Correct and incorrect answers are carefully explained; you learn why they do or do not work.
You can rely on authority; the series was created by Joseph W. Glannon Harvard-educated, best-selling author of, among other legal texts, Examples & Explanations; Civil Procedure, now in its sixth edition.
The Closer poses a sophisticated problem question at the end of each chapter to test your comprehension.
A final Closing Closer provides you practice opportunity as well as a cumulative review of all the concepts from earlier chapters. You can check your understanding each step of the way.
More like classroom experiences, these Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543819885Publication Date: June 10, 2020 -
Emanuel CrunchTime for Torts
by
Emanuel CrunchTime® for Torts, Sixth Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today’s courses on Torts and includes an abundance of short-answer questions and answers as well as exam tips.
This edition has been updated to reflect changes in the law, in casebooks, and topics tested on exams.
Students will benefit from:
Flowcharts illustrate principles and concepts
A capsule summary explains the major topics and issues covered in the course
Exam Tips teach you how to avoid common traps and pitfalls
Short-answer questions (with answers) provide an opportunity to test your knowledge
Multiple-choices questions in the style of questions on the Multistate Bar Exam (with detailed answers) build your exam-taking skills and confidence
Essay questionswith model answers help you review and prepare for exams
Included in The Sixth Edition of CrunchTime® for Torts
New coverage of the “value of a chance” issue: Can a medical-malpractice patient recover anything when there’s a less-than-50/50 chance that non-negligent treatment would have led to a better outcome? [Smith v. Providence Health & Services]
Expanded discussion of courts’ refusal to allow plaintiffs to recover for “pure economic loss,” including the California Supreme Court case holding that businesses whose profits were damaged by a toxic gas leak cannot recover anything if they did not also suffer some personal injury or property damage. [Southern California Gas Leak Cases]
Expanded coverage of the modern approach to the “both ways” rule for imputed contributory/comparative negligence, including the court’s refusal to apply the rule against owner-passengers of a vehicle who are injured due to the combined negligence of a third party and the driver of the owner’s vehicle. [Seaborne-Worsely v. Mintiens]
Expanded coverage of the duty to warn in prescription-drug product-liability suits, including whether a plaintiff can recover for inadequate labeling from the maker of the brand-name version of a drug, if the plaintiff actually took a generic version made by some other manufacturer. [T.H. v. Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp.]
New coverage of strict product-liability suits arising from Internet sales, including whether a company that merely supplies fulfillment services—and never takes title to the goods—can nonetheless be liable as a “seller” of the goods. [Oberdorf v. Amazon.com Inc.]
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846423Publication Date: November 15, 2024
Hornbooks
Hornbooks below provide an overview of tort law.
-
Hornbook on Torts, 2nd ed.
by
This single-volume hornbook provides a comprehensive overview of tort and injury law. The book covers all of the major topics in tort law. Topics include liability for physical injuries, as well as emotional, dignitary, and economic harms. This newly-updated edition includes citations to hundreds of cases and statutes decided over the last decade, as well as references to the Restatement (Third) of Torts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781628101478Publication Date: December 29, 2015 -
Principles of Tort Law, 4th ed.
by
This edition provides a wealth of new material drawn from summaries of and quotations from scholarly books and articles and case law. The subjects of this new material are rich in their range of topics. They include:
The “precautionary principle”
Summaries on tort rationales that range from references to Kantian philosophy and a riff on Harry Potter
The relation of tort law to public law
Varied materials on consent
The duty question, including a summary of a recent Supreme Court case and scholarship in the area
Material on privacy ranging from Prosser’s classification system to LGBT plaintiffs
The roles of race and gender in calculations of damages
A criticism of “tort reform” efforts
Case law on the “baseball rule” with respect to spectator injuries.
Matters of topical ‘headline” interest include smartphones as distractions and certain aspects of publication of photos on the Internet.
Celebrities mentioned in items under different categories are Joan Rivers, Jesse Ventura, and Jim Boeheim.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781634604420Publication Date: March 1, 2016 -
The Forms and Functions of Tort Law, 6th ed.
by
The perfect accompaniment to any torts casebook, this text covers all the major cases and issues in a standard torts course. The text addresses cases and analyzes their implications, presenting the law of torts within a curricular context and covering the materials that law students are likely to encounter in a variety of courses. Used successfully by law students for over three decades, this straightforward, readable text addresses both rules and policy, and presents topics in a way that helps students effectively grapple with issues. Since each chapter stands on its own, the book is ideal as a classroom text, as well as for self-directed reading by students.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647083076Publication Date: March 28, 2022
Treatises
Treatises below provides an exposition of Tort Law.
Dobbs' Law of Torts
Please click here for Dobbs' Law of Torts on Westlaw.
American Law of Torts
Please click here for American Law of Torts on Westlaw.
LexisNexis Practice Guide: Florida Torts
Please click here for a LexisNexis Practice Guide on Florida Torts.
CALI Lessons on Torts
The CALI Torts Outline allows you to search for terms of art that correspond to topics you are studying to find suggestions for related CALI Lessons. The CALI Torts Index lists CALI Lessons about Torts.
Outlining Supplements from West Academic Study Aids
-
Black Letter Outline on Torts, 5th ed.
by
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area. This Outline summarizes the basic blackletter rules of Torts in a way that allows students to appreciate how different parts of their course material fit together. Ideal for class preparation or as a review before exams!
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314275523Publication Date: September 20, 2013 -
Gilbert Law Summary on Torts, 26th ed.
by
The subjects discussed in this outline are intentional torts, negligence, strict liability, products liability, nuisance, survival of tort actions, wrongful death, and immunity. Also included are release and contribution, indemnity, workers' compensation, no-fault auto insurance, defamation, invasion of privacy, misrepresentation, injurious falsehood, interference with economic relations, and unjustifiable litigation. This edition has been updated with the latest provisions of the ongoing Restatement Third of Torts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685612528Publication Date: May 26, 2023
Outlining Supplements from Aspen Learning Library
-
Emanuel Law Outlines for Torts, 11th ed.
by
Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool, you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students.
An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam:
ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams.
They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable.
The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester.
Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams.
The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline—perfect for exam review!
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846461Publication Date: January 29, 2024
Outlining Supplement from Quimbee
Please click here to find torts outline materials from Quimbee.
Outlining Supplement on LexisNexis
Please click here for a Torts BarBri Outline on the LexisNexis platform.
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from West Academic Study Aids
-
Exam Pro on Torts (Objective), 3rd ed.
by
This product is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their torts exam. Students gain a more thorough understanding of torts and a better understanding of how to take exams by taking the sample objective exams and reviewing the corresponding answers and analysis.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647083816Publication Date: March 29, 2021
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Questions and Answers: Torts, 5th ed.
by
Questions & Answers: Torts offers a thorough review of torts that fits with all versions of a typical torts course. It provides an effective review of doctrinal material at relatively low cost in both time and money. The thorough index and table of contents enable users to easily locate any topic in the torts syllabus. An extended practice exam chapter, which does not announce which topics are covered, gives users the option of "hiding the ball" when testing themselves.
The principal technology of this book is the multiple choice question. Each one gives four alternative answers—and with no evasions like "all of the above" or "B and C only"—along with explanations that have been road-tested with torts students for utility and clarity. In recognition of bar exam and academic support considerations, the fifth edition has increased the percentage of questions that are multiple choice, while retaining short answers that give users a chance to put doctrine into their own words.
Some questions are relatively easy, and a few are relatively hard. Many questions are written as anecdotes with human characters to simulate the case method of instruction, while others ask about abstract points. Although core doctrine fills most of this book, it also includes jurisprudential material like economic analysis and policy questions. The index labels these jurisprudential questions as "theory/policy" for ease of identification.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531023317Publication Date: May 25, 2023
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from Aspen Learning Library
-
Strategies & Tactics for the Finz Multistate Method, 6th ed.
by
Strategies & Tactics for the FINZ Multistate Method, Sixth Edition, is an indispensable tool for both law school exams and the Multistate Bar Exam. It features more than 1200 multiple-choice questions and detailed answers unavailable elsewhere.
New to the Sixth Edition:
16 new questions in Civil Procedure
19 new questions in Constitutional Law
18 new questions each in Contracts, Criminal Law, Evidence, and Property
17 new questions in Torts
16 new questions in the Practice Exam
Students will benefit from:
More than 1200 multiple-choice questions and answers: Each question contains a sophisticated and intricate fact pattern that tests your ability to pull out the essential facts and tie them to the rules and theories you’ve learned in class. The answers not only explain the reasoning behind the correct choice, but also why the other choices are incorrect.
Coverage of first-year subjects: Questions and detailed answers for each first-year course—Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law (including Criminal Procedure), Property (including Future Interests), and Torts—as well as the upper-year subject of Evidence.
Supplemental questions for your bar review: Every question is written in the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) style for school exams or MBE preparation and complies with the latest MBE formats. If you’re taking a bar review course, you still need Strategies & Tactics for the Finz Multistate Method because our questions are written in the MBE style and format, but are not actual released exam questions, so we guarantee you’ve never seen these questions before in your MBE review materials.
Special section on how to handle MBE-style questions: The book includes an In-depth guide, “Strategies & Tactics—Playing the MBE Game to Win,” on handling the MBE and MBE-style multiple-choice questions—how to break the question down to the essential facts, how to recognize the legal issues, how to avoid the examiners’ traps and pitfalls, and how to pick the right answer and avoid being misled by the wrong answers.
Complete MBE-style practice exam: The book comes with a complete 200-question practice exam, with detailed answers that explain the reasoning behind the correct choice and why each of the other choices is incorrect.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543858549Publication Date: February 23, 2023 -
Glannon Guide to Torts, 4th ed.
by
The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.
The user-friendly Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture.
The material is broken into small, manageable pieces to help you master concepts.
Multiple-choice questions are interspersed throughout each chapter (not lumped at the end) to mirror the flow of a classroom lecture.
Correct and incorrect answers are carefully explained; you learn why they do or do not work.
You can rely on authority; the series was created by Joseph W. Glannon Harvard-educated, best-selling author of, among other legal texts, Examples & Explanations; Civil Procedure, now in its sixth edition.
The Closer poses a sophisticated problem question at the end of each chapter to test your comprehension.
A final Closing Closer provides you practice opportunity as well as a cumulative review of all the concepts from earlier chapters. You can check your understanding each step of the way.
More like classroom experiences, these Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543819885Publication Date: June 10, 2020
-
MBE Decoded
by
MBE Decoded is a fresh approach to MBE study which makes the vast amount of MBE tested rules manageable and understandable. The authors fully analyzed all NCBE released MBE questions to determine rule coverage and identify common testing patterns so you don’t have to. This book can be used during law school for early bar preparation or during intensive bar preparation by first-time takers and repeat bar takers who struggled on the MBE the first time. This book is a great resource for students to get essential MBE practice before they fully “know” the law, allowing students to get additional essential practice recognizing the fact patterns and testing styles that are key to passing. Pedagogically, this book encourages students to engage with the material, develop deep rule understanding, gain MBE pattern recognition, and aids in critical memorization efforts.
Professors and student will benefit from:
MBE black letter law subject matter outlines that are clear and concise with key terms bolded.
Identification of the most frequently tested MBE rules.
Summary charts to help you understand confusing topics and how they interrelate.
MBE tips to improve accuracy and understanding of how the rules apply to fact patterns.
Decoy tips to help you avoid picking the wrong answer when more than one good option is available.
Examples, pulled from NCBE MBE released questions, which illustrate how the rules are MBE tested.
Bullet point memorization cheat sheets.
Guided MBE question deconstructions illustrating best MBE solving practices.
A guide on how to effectively solve MBE questions with troubleshooting tips to help improve your accuracy.
Guidance on effectively taking an MBE exam online.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543830910Publication Date: April 12, 2021 -
Emanuel CrunchTime for Torts, 6th ed.
by
Emanuel CrunchTime® for Torts, Sixth Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today’s courses on Torts and includes an abundance of short-answer questions and answers as well as exam tips.
This edition has been updated to reflect changes in the law, in casebooks, and topics tested on exams.
Students will benefit from:
Flowcharts illustrate principles and concepts
A capsule summary explains the major topics and issues covered in the course
Exam Tips teach you how to avoid common traps and pitfalls
Short-answer questions (with answers) provide an opportunity to test your knowledge
Multiple-choices questions in the style of questions on the Multistate Bar Exam (with detailed answers) build your exam-taking skills and confidence
Essay questionswith model answers help you review and prepare for exams
Included in The Sixth Edition of CrunchTime® for Torts
New coverage of the “value of a chance” issue: Can a medical-malpractice patient recover anything when there’s a less-than-50/50 chance that non-negligent treatment would have led to a better outcome? [Smith v. Providence Health & Services]
Expanded discussion of courts’ refusal to allow plaintiffs to recover for “pure economic loss,” including the California Supreme Court case holding that businesses whose profits were damaged by a toxic gas leak cannot recover anything if they did not also suffer some personal injury or property damage. [Southern California Gas Leak Cases]
Expanded coverage of the modern approach to the “both ways” rule for imputed contributory/comparative negligence, including the court’s refusal to apply the rule against owner-passengers of a vehicle who are injured due to the combined negligence of a third party and the driver of the owner’s vehicle. [Seaborne-Worsely v. Mintiens]
Expanded coverage of the duty to warn in prescription-drug product-liability suits, including whether a plaintiff can recover for inadequate labeling from the maker of the brand-name version of a drug, if the plaintiff actually took a generic version made by some other manufacturer. [T.H. v. Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp.]
New coverage of strict product-liability suits arising from Internet sales, including whether a company that merely supplies fulfillment services—and never takes title to the goods—can nonetheless be liable as a “seller” of the goods. [Oberdorf v. Amazon.com Inc.]
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846423Publication Date: November 11, 2024
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from Quimbee
Please click here for torts multiple-choice practice exam questions and answers.
Essay Questions and Answers from West Academic Study Aids
-
Gilbert Law Summary on Torts, 26th ed.
by
The subjects discussed in this outline are intentional torts, negligence, strict liability, products liability, nuisance, survival of tort actions, wrongful death, and immunity. Also included are release and contribution, indemnity, workers' compensation, no-fault auto insurance, defamation, invasion of privacy, misrepresentation, injurious falsehood, interference with economic relations, and unjustifiable litigation. This edition has been updated with the latest provisions of the ongoing Restatement Third of Torts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685612528Publication Date: May 26, 2023
-
Acing Tort Law, 4th ed.
by
This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offers the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book combined with concise analytical summaries of the leading issues in tort law.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647082956Publication Date: August 8, 2022
-
Step-by-Step Guide to Torts, 1st ed.
by
The Step-by-Step Guide to Torts is an interactive workbook designed to effectively prepare students to pass exams. The most heavily tested legal rules are presented in a format that mirrors the way they arise as issues in typical testing fact patterns. Rule statements are set out in easy-to-memorize statements, with a breakdown of the element components and logical steps to take to apply new facts to each legal element.
Fluency with the legal terminology is also essential to exam success, so this Step-by-Step Guide includes fill-in-the-blank spaces to help you learn and memorize definitions of key terms as they are introduced, and a glossary of selected terms at the end for further reference.
In addition to learning the law and memorizing key rules and terms, success in law school also requires the hard work of deep learning, engaging with problems to test your own knowledge, and working toward gaining a strong command of all testable topics. To that end, this Guide contains short-answer Test Yourself questions. Working through these questions and then reading the answers and explanations to determine where your understanding is clear and where you must do additional work will help you master the skill of applying the relevant rules to new and different fact patterns. In addition to the short-answer questions, this Guide also includes numerous full-length essay questions with sample answers —providing further practice to test your knowledge and deepen your learning.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636590974Publication Date: November 2, 2021
Essay Questions and Answers from Aspen Learning Library
-
Emanuel CrunchTime for Torts, 6th ed.
by
Emanuel CrunchTime® for Torts, Sixth Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today’s courses on Torts and includes an abundance of short-answer questions and answers as well as exam tips.
This edition has been updated to reflect changes in the law, in casebooks, and topics tested on exams.
Students will benefit from:
Flowcharts illustrate principles and concepts
A capsule summary explains the major topics and issues covered in the course
Exam Tips teach you how to avoid common traps and pitfalls
Short-answer questions (with answers) provide an opportunity to test your knowledge
Multiple-choices questions in the style of questions on the Multistate Bar Exam (with detailed answers) build your exam-taking skills and confidence
Essay questionswith model answers help you review and prepare for exams
Included in The Sixth Edition of CrunchTime® for Torts
New coverage of the “value of a chance” issue: Can a medical-malpractice patient recover anything when there’s a less-than-50/50 chance that non-negligent treatment would have led to a better outcome? [Smith v. Providence Health & Services]
Expanded discussion of courts’ refusal to allow plaintiffs to recover for “pure economic loss,” including the California Supreme Court case holding that businesses whose profits were damaged by a toxic gas leak cannot recover anything if they did not also suffer some personal injury or property damage. [Southern California Gas Leak Cases]
Expanded coverage of the modern approach to the “both ways” rule for imputed contributory/comparative negligence, including the court’s refusal to apply the rule against owner-passengers of a vehicle who are injured due to the combined negligence of a third party and the driver of the owner’s vehicle. [Seaborne-Worsely v. Mintiens]
Expanded coverage of the duty to warn in prescription-drug product-liability suits, including whether a plaintiff can recover for inadequate labeling from the maker of the brand-name version of a drug, if the plaintiff actually took a generic version made by some other manufacturer. [T.H. v. Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp.]
New coverage of strict product-liability suits arising from Internet sales, including whether a company that merely supplies fulfillment services—and never takes title to the goods—can nonetheless be liable as a “seller” of the goods. [Oberdorf v. Amazon.com Inc.]
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846423Publication Date: November 11, 2024
Essay Questions and Issue Spotting Content from Quimbee
Please click here for torts practice essays and related content.
Video Resources
Aspen Learning Library
-
Tort Law: In Other Words (Video Series)
by
The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Tort Law lectures, Linda DeMetrick gives an introduction to Torts and covers Cause in Fact, Comparative Negligence, Immunities, Products Liability, and Proximate Cause. Lawrence H. Davison explains Intentional Torts, Landowner Liability, Reasonable Person Test, Res Ipsa Loquitur, and Violation of Statute.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543824070Publication Date: February 6, 2020
Quimbee
Please click here for a torts course exploring topics, including but not limited to, intentional torts and negligence.
Audio Resources
West Academic Study Aids
-
Law School Legends Audio on Torts by This four-hour audio lecture on criminal law is useful for students who are about to take or are currently taking a course in Criminal Law and who want to use it for class review or exam preparation. But it is also useful for anyone, student or not, who would simply like to gain a more informed sense of just what American criminal law is all about. Coverage includes the traditional, foundational doctrines of criminal law like criminal intent and criminal act, discussing these concepts in dealing with crimes like homicide offenses, assault and sexual assault, theft and other property crimes. This lecture also focuses on traditional and modern defenses to criminal charges, like insanity, self defense, and the modern “Stand Your Ground” laws. But just as important as discussion of these crimes and defenses, the lecture also covers some of the most significant structural issues and skills that should be useful to you to figure out how criminal trials work, issues like distinguishing the roles of lawyers, judges, jurors and legislators, and skills like applying criminal statutes to particular cases and analyzing appellate decisions. Some useful tips on studying for and taking Criminal Law exams are included at the end.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: April 12, 2006
-
Sum and Substance Audio on Torts, 5th ed. by While commuting or exercising learn about battery; assault; false imprisonment; intentional infliction of emotional distress; defense of self, others, property; recapture of chattel, trespass to land, trespass to chattel, conversion, public/private necessity, consent; negligence: duty, breach, proximate cause, joint tortfeasers; damages: nominal, punitive, and compensatory; surviving personal injury actions; wrongful death, wrongful birth/life, strict liability, affirmative defense to negligence with economic advantage, nuisance, misuse of judicial process, products liability, defamation and related torts, invasions of privacy. Information useful to preparing and pressing your case.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: January 24, 2019
-
Office Hours on Torts, 1st ed. by Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: November 19, 2020
-
Office Hours on Torts, 1st ed. by Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: August 25, 2021
Aspen Learning Library
-
Aspen Aloud: Torts, 1st ed.
by
Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798889067559Publication Date: August 7, 2023
-
Torts Law: In Other Words Audio Series
by
The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Tort Law lectures, Linda DeMetrick gives an introduction to Torts and covers Cause in Fact, Comparative Negligence, Immunities, Products Liability, and Proximate Cause. Lawrence H. Davison explains Intentional Torts, Landowner Liability, Reasonable Person Test, Res Ipsa Loquitur, and Violation of Statute.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543823868Publication Date: February 6, 2020
CALI
Please click here for a CALI podcast, "How to Prepare for the Study of Torts Law."