MSMS 6209, BCOR 5560 - Biodiversity
Course guide for Biodiversity (MSMS 6209, BCOR 5560)
Featured Resource
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780122268656Publication Date: 2000-10-25The Encyclopedia of Biodiversity brings together, for the first time, a study of the dimensions of diversity. It examination of the services biodiversity provides, and measures to protect it.
Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.
Marine Biodiversity Books & E-Books
Assessments and Conservation of Biological Diversity from Coral Reefs to the Deep Sea by
Assessments and Conservation of Biological Diversity from Coral Reefs to the Deep Sea: Uncovering Buried Treasures and the Value of the Benthos examines marine benthic habitats around the world that are linked by their physical location at the bottom of the oceans. The book approaches deep sea marine biodiversity with perspectives on genetics, microbiology and evolution, weaving a narrative of vital expert linkages with the goal of protecting something that most people cannot view or experience. Heterogeneity becomes operative across one of the largest continuous habitats of the planet. The book provides a full assessment of biological diversity within various benthic habitats, from coral reefs to plankton and fish species, and offers global case studies. It is the ideal resource for marine conservationists and biologists aiming to expand their knowledge and efforts to the rarely seen, yet equally important, realms of the ocean and respective benthic species. As deep-sea ecosystems and their species face unprecedented threats of disruption and extinction due to factors including disease, disinformation, pollution and climate change, this book provides current, sweeping knowledge of this undersea world along with remedies for its conservation.
Call Number: QH95.8 .L67 2024ISBN: 9780128241127Publication Date: 2023-12-04
The Deep Ocean by
An epic excursion into one of the last great frontiers on Earth The deep ocean comprises more than 90 percent of our planet's biosphere and is home to some of the world's most dazzling creatures, which thrive amid extreme pressures, scarce food supplies, and frigid temperatures. Living things down here behave in remarkable and surprising ways, and cutting-edge technologies are shedding new light on these critically important ecosystems. This beautifully illustrated book leads you down into the canyons, trenches, and cold seeps of the watery abyss, presenting the deep ocean and its inhabitants as you have never seen them before. Features a wealth of breathtaking photos, illustrations, and graphics Gives a brief and accessible history of deep-sea exploration Explains the basics of oceanography Covers a marvelous diversity of undersea organisms Describes habitats ranging from continental slopes to hydrothermal vents and abyssal plains Discusses humanity's impacts on the deep ocean, from fisheries and whaling to global climate change and acidification Written by a team of world-class scientists
Call Number: QH541.5.D35 V43 2023ISBN: 9780691226811Publication Date: 2023-04-18
Beneath the Blue Planet by
Dive Into the Fascinating World of Marine Biology! Beneath the Blue Planet is the perfect educational guide for divers, snorkelers, children, and parents. Learn about the ocean, its ecosystems and its conservation from the founders of Reef Smart Guides !Your blue planet adventure starts now! Beneath the Blue Planet is the ultimate guide to the ocean, its creatures, and its conservation. This comprehensive and pioneering book answers many of the burning questions that divers and snorkelers have after exploring the underwater world. If you want to know how the ocean works, understand the perils that coral reefs face and learn about some of the world's most fascinating marine creatures, then this book will guide you. Beneath the Blue Planet traces the story of our ocean from Earth's formation to the modern day, detailing the science behind everything from currents and chemistry to the fascinating ecology of its creatures, ranging from plankton to whales. Beyond explaining why the ocean and its inhabitants are so remarkable, Beneath the Blue Planet explores the serious challenges this precious environment faces, and offers insights into how we can work to preserve it for future generations and continue ocean exploration. Inside, you'll discover: * The story of the ocean from its formation to the modern day * Coral reefs and the remarkable creatures that inhabit this ecosystem * The fascinating natural history of modern-day sharks and their ancient relatives. * The challenges faced by the ocean and what we can do to preserve it for future generations If you liked Oceanology, 100 Dives of a Lifetime, and are a fan of the Reef Smart Guides, Dive and Snorkel travel series, you'll love Beneath the Blue Planet .
Call Number: QH91.15 .B79 2022ISBN: 9781684812165Publication Date: 2023-02-14
The Lost Continent by
This poignant tribute to the beauty of coral reefs sheds light on the destruction of global reef ecosystems and the climate science behind the conservation efforts to save them. Broken into three parts-Discovering Corals, Wonder and Devastation, and Searching for Hope-and told through a series of gripping stories, author and documentarian David Alexander Baker takes readers on a global adventure to the front lines of an unfolding ecological crisis. More than half of the world's coral reefs have been destroyed in the past fifty years due to the climate crisis. The Lost Continent helps readers gain a deeper understanding of coral reefs and why they are vital to the health of our oceans-and the survival of our planet-and highlights the incredible conservation and restoration strides being made around the world. With over 60 breathtaking photographs of coral reefs spanning from Colombia to Australia to the Florida Keys readers will be moved both by the majesty of nature and the urgency to preserve and restore these great cities of the seas.
Call Number: QH75 .B2649 2022ISBN: 9781623545147Publication Date: 2022-10-18
Why Sharks Matter by
Get submerged in the amazing world of sharks! Your expert host, award-winning marine biologist Dr. David Shiffman, will show you how--and why--we should protect these mysterious, misunderstood guardians of the ocean. Sharks are some of the most fascinating, most ecologically important, most threatened, and most misunderstood animals on Earth. More often feared than revered, their role as predators of the deep have earned them a reputation as a major threat to humans. But the truth is that sharks are not a danger to us--they're in danger from us. In Why Sharks Matter, marine conservation biologist Dr. David Shiffman explains why it's crucial that we overcome our misconceptions and rise above cinematic jump scares to embrace sharks as the imperiled and elegant ocean guardians they really are. Sharing his own fascinating experiences working with sharks, Shiffman tells us * why healthy shark populations are a must for supporting ocean ecosystems--and the coastal economies that depend on them * why we're in danger of losing many shark species forever * what scientists, conservationists, and readers can do to help save these iconic predators * why so much of what you've heard about sharks and how to save them is wrong Exploring the core tenets of shark conservation science and policy, Shiffman synthesizes decades of scientific research and policymaking, weaving it into a narrative full of humor and adventure. Touching on everything from Shark Week to shark fin soup, overfishing to marine sanctuaries, Shiffman reveals why sharks are in trouble, why we should care, and how we can save them. Perfect for shark enthusiasts, Why Sharks Matter is an approachable, informative guide to the world of shark conservation and the passionate, fascinating, brilliant people who work to understand and protect our oceans. This fun read will have you looking at sharks with a fresh perspective and an understanding that the survival of sharks is crucial to the survival of another apex predator--ourselves.
Call Number: QL638.9 .S525 2022ISBN: 9781421443645Publication Date: 2022-05-24
Conservation and the Genomics of Populations by
The relentless loss of biodiversity is among the greatest problems facing the world today. The third edition of this established textbook provides an updated and comprehensive overview of the essential background, concepts, and tools required to understand how genetics can be used to conserve species, reduce threat of extinction, and manage species of ecological or commercial importance. This edition is thoroughly revised to reflect the major contribution of genomics to conservation of populations and species. It includes two new chapters: "Genetic Monitoring" and a final "Conservation Genetics in Practice" chapter that addresses the role of science and policy in conservation genetics. New genomic techniques and statistical analyses are crucial tools for the conservation geneticist. This accessible and authoritative textbook provides an essential toolkit grounded in population genetics theory, coupled with basic and applied research examples from plants, animals, and microbes. The book examines genetic and phenotypic variation in natural populations, the principles and mechanisms of evolutionary change, evolutionary response to anthropogenic change, and applications in conservation and management.Conservation and the Genomics of Populations helps demystify genetics and genomics for conservation practitioners and early career scientists, so that population genetic theory and new genomic data can help raise the bar in conserving biodiversity in the most critical 20 year period in the history of life on Earth. It is aimed at a global market of applied population geneticists, conservation practitioners, and natural resource managers working for wildlife and habitat management agencies. It will be of particular relevance and use to upper undergraduate and graduate students taking courses in conservation biology, conservation genetics, and wildlife management.
Call Number: QH75 .A42 2022ISBN: 9780198856566Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Life in the Open Ocean by
Life in the Open Ocean Life in the Open Ocean: The Biology of Pelagic Species provides in-depth coverage of the different marine animal groups that form the communities inhabiting the ocean's pelagic realm. This comprehensive resource explores the physical environment, foraging strategies, energetics, locomotion, sensory mechanisms, global and vertical distributions, special adaptations, and other characteristics of a wide array of marine taxa. Bringing together the most recent information available in a single volume, authors Joseph J. Torres and Thomas G. Bailey cover the Cnidaria (stinging jellies), the ctenophores (comb jellies), pelagic nemerteans, pelagic annelids, crustaceans, cephalopods and pelagic gastropods, invertebrate chordates, as well as micronektonic and larger fishes such as sharks, tunas, mackerels, and mahi-mahi. Detailed chapters on each pelagic group describe internal and external anatomy, classification and history, feeding and digestion, bioluminescent systems and their function, reproduction and development, respiration, excretion, nervous systems, and more. The first book of its kind to address all of the major animal groups comprising both the swimmers and drifters of the open sea, this important resource: Explains how different animals have adapted to live in the open-ocean environment Covers all sensory mechanisms of animals living in the pelagic habitat, including photoreception, mechanoreception, and chemoreception Treats the diverse micronekton assemblage as a community Includes a thorough introduction to the physical oceanography and properties of water in the pelagic realm Life in the Open Ocean: The Biology of Pelagic Species is an excellent senior-level undergraduate and graduate textbook for courses in biology and biological oceanography, and a valuable reference for all those with interest in open-ocean biology.
Call Number: QH91 .T67 2022ISBN: 9781405145299Publication Date: 2022-01-31
Sharks of the World by
The most comprehensive reference guide to the world's sharks--now fully revised and updated Sharks of the World is the essential illustrated guide for anyone interested in these magnificent creatures. Now fully revised and updated, it covers 536 of the world's shark species and is packed with colour illustrations, colour photos and informative diagrams. This comprehensive, easy-to-use reference guide incorporates the latest taxonomic revisions of many shark families, featuring many species that were only described in recent years. It also includes a completely revised and expanded introduction and updated line drawings throughout. Covers 536 shark species from around the world Features updated species accounts, illustrations and maps Gives an illustrated overview of shark biology, ecology and conservation Includes fin identification guides Provides a colour distribution map for every species
Call Number: QL638.9 .E24 2021ISBN: 9780691205991Publication Date: 2021-07-20
Climate Change, Biodiversity, and Sustainability in the Americas by
This book compiles the latest research on the effects of climate change on biodiversity in the Americas and the sustainability efforts being made to preserve the ecological integrity of these regions. Scientists working in Canada, Puerto Rico, Argentina, the USA, Mexico, Panama, and Costa Rica contribute their findings in such varied areas as avian populations, the impacts of climate extremes on biodiversity, carbon storage in tree plantations, and the relationship between precipitation and vegetation. The changing climate and human activity are affecting ecosystems throughout the Americas. Governments, NGOs, industries, and communities need to learn about these changes in order to adapt their planning, infrastructure, and operations to mitigate the loss of biodiversity.
Call Number: QH101 .C45 2015ISBN: 1935623729Publication Date: 2015-09-08
Biodiversity and Earth History by
This uniquely interdisciplinary textbook explores the exciting and complex relationship between Earth's geological history and the biodiversity of life. Its innovative design provides a seamless learning experience, clarifying major concepts step by step with detailed textual explanations complemented by detailed figures, diagrams and vibrant pictures. Thanks to its layout, the respective concepts can be studied individually, as part of the broader framework of each chapter, or as they relate to the book as a whole. It provides in-depth coverage of: - Earth's formation and subsequent geological history, including patterns of climate change and atmospheric evolution; - The early stages of life, from microbial 'primordial soup' theories to the fossil record's most valuable contributions; - Mechanisms of mutual influence between living organisms and the environment: how life changed Earth's history whilst, at the same time, environmental pressures continue to shape the evolution of species; - Basic ideas in biodiversity studies: species concepts, measurement techniques, and global distribution patterns; - Biological systematics, from their historical origins in Greek philosophy and Biblical stories to Darwinian evolution by natural selection, and to phylogenetics based on cutting-edge molecular techniques. This book's four major sections offer a fresh cross-disciplinary overview of biodiversity and the Earth's history. Among many other concepts, they reveal the massive diversity of eukaryotes, explain the geological processes behind fossilisation, and provide an eye-opening account of the relatively short period of human evolution in the context of Earth's 4.6 billion-year history. Employing a combination of proven didactic tools, the book is simultaneously a reading reference, illustrated guide, and encyclopaedia of organismal biology and geology. It is aimed at school- and university-level students, as well as members of the public fascinated by the intricate interrelationship of living organisms and their environment.
Call Number: QH541.15.B56 B68 2015ISBN: 3662463938Publication Date: 2015-04-30
The Coral Triangle by
Published in association with WWF-Malaysia, this important book describes the uniqueness of the Coral Triangle region's marine biodiversity, its conservation importance and the stories, successes and struggles of the drive to maintain its rich biodiversity. The book gives a big-picture overview of threats and solutions and up-close and personal experiences from the ground and the people affected by conservation. The stories come from the work that WWF-Malaysia and USAID Coral Triangle Support Partnership are carrying out in the region. Chapters cover the rich habitats of the Coral Triangle and the endangered species, as well as an in-depth survey of each of the countries of the area. As the earth's single greatest repository of marine life, the Coral Triangle is also a great draw for SCUBA divers. For each of the countries covered, top dive sites are listed. Stunning illustrated with Eric Madeja's photographs, this book is a visual feast as well as an essential read.
Call Number: QH77.C78 K37 2014ISBN: 1909612227Publication Date: 2015-04-23
Environmental Ecology, Biodiversity and Climate Change by
Environmental issues are now central to the development debate in the 21st century. These now relate to many political, social, and economic problems. A complete knowledge of these issues is not only essential for policy makers and administrators, but also for the common man. The government of India has realized the increased need for a working knowledge of the environmental issues. This book covers the core areas of India's environmental ecology, biodiversity, climate change, and sustainable development. Written in a clear and non-technical style, the book discovers major issues, such as deforestation, pollution, energy, climate change, global warming, food production, loss of biodiversity, waste management, sustainability, etc. Providing a comprehensive understanding on all these topics, the book is further supported by multiple-choice questions for students who are required to take various competitive exams. [Subject: India Studies, Environmental Studies]
Call Number: QC903 .S294 2015ISBN: 9788131606896Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Assessments and Conservation of Biological Diversity from Coral Reefs to the Deep Sea by
Assessments and Conservation of Biological Diversity from Coral Reefs to the Deep Sea: Uncovering Buried Treasures and the Value of the Benthos examines marine benthic habitats around the world that are linked by their physical location at the bottom of the oceans. The book approaches deep sea marine biodiversity with perspectives on genetics, microbiology and evolution, weaving a narrative of vital expert linkages with the goal of protecting something that most people cannot witness or experience. It provides a full assessment of biological diversity within benthic habitats, from coral reefs to plankton and fish species, and offers global case studies. It is the ideal resource for marine conservationists and biologists aiming to expand their knowledge and efforts to the rarely seen, yet equally important, realms of the ocean and respective benthic species. As these deep-sea ecosystems and their species face unprecedented threats of destruction and extinction due to factors including climate change, this book provides the most current knowledge of this undersea world along with solutions for its conservation. Compares and contrasts between shallow and marine habitats to reveal revolutionary connections and continuity Analyzes modern threats and gaps in biological knowledge regarding benthic communities Examines benthic biodiversity through vertical vs. horizontal gradients Poses possible solutions for the conservation of benthic habitats and organisms
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128241134Publication Date: 2023-11-30
Conservation and the Genomics of Populations by
The relentless loss of biodiversity is among the greatest problems facing the world today. The third edition of this established textbook provides an updated and comprehensive overview of the essential background, concepts, and tools required to understand how genetics can be used to conserve species, reduce threat of extinction, and manage species of ecological or commercial importance. This edition is thoroughly revised to reflect the major contribution of genomics to conservation of populations and species. It includes two new chapters: "Genetic Monitoring" and a final "Conservation Genetics in Practice" chapter that addresses the role of science and policy in conservation genetics. New genomic techniques and statistical analyses are crucial tools for the conservation geneticist. This accessible and authoritative textbook provides an essential toolkit grounded in population genetics theory, coupled with basic and applied research examples from plants, animals, and microbes. The book examines genetic and phenotypic variation in natural populations, the principles and mechanisms of evolutionary change, evolutionary response to anthropogenic change, and applications in conservation and management.Conservation and the Genomics of Populations helps demystify genetics and genomics for conservation practitioners and early career scientists, so that population genetic theory and new genomic data can help raise the bar in conserving biodiversity in the most critical 20 year period in the history of life on Earth. It is aimed at a global market of applied population geneticists, conservation practitioners, and natural resource managers working for wildlife and habitat management agencies. It will be of particular relevance and use to upper undergraduate and graduate students taking courses in conservation biology, conservation genetics, and wildlife management.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780198856573Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Biodiversity by
Conservation of biodiversity is a fundamental concern towards securing a sustainable future. This volume argues that despite various domestic and international policies and legal frameworks on biodiversity conservation -- be it forest, wildlife, marine, coastal, etc. -- their implementation suffers from many deficiencies. It explores the factors that hinder effective implementation of these policies and frameworks. It also analyses existing laws, both international and domestic, to identify inherent problems in the existing legal system. The book maintains that careful adherence to established procedures and protocols, public awareness, filling the lacuna in legal framework, and a strong political will are sine qua non for effective conservation of biodiversity and sustainable development. The volume defends the protection of traditional knowledge and participation of indigenous communities along with reinforcements of intellectual property in this regard. It also commends the role played by the Indian judiciary, especially the Supreme Court of India and India's National Green Tribunal for the preservation and enhancement of natural resources by applying established as also evolving principles of environmental law. This book will be useful to scholars and researchers of environmental studies, development studies, policy studies and law related to biodiversity and conservation.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1138288195Publication Date: 2017-11-08
Indicators and Surrogates of Biodiversity and Environmental Change by
Ecological surrogates and indicators are used widely by resource managers because they provide a simpler way to monitor and understand complex biota and ecosystem processes. The potential for surrogates and indicators to guide complex resource management has meant they have been proposed for use in all ecosystems worldwide. The book draws together research about surrogates and indicators, where to use them, where not to use them, and how they can be best used in cases where they are proposed for application.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781498748704Publication Date: 2015-10-20
Biodiversity in a Changing Climate by
One major consequence of climate change is abrupt, dramatic changes in regional biodiversity. Even if the most optimistic scenarios for mitigating climate change transpire, the fate of many wild species rests on the shoulders of people engaged in conservation planning, management, and policy. Providing managers with the latest and most useful climate change research is critical and requires challenging the conventional divide between scientists and managers. Biodiversity in a Changing Climate promotes dialogue among scientists, decision makers, and managers who are grappling with climate-related threats to species and ecosystems in diverse forms. The book includes case studies and best practices used to address impacts related to climate change across a broad spectrum of species and habitats--from coastal krill and sea urchins to prairie grass and mountain bumblebees. Focused on California, the issues and strategies presented in this book will prove relevant to regions across the West, as well as other regions, and provide a framework for how scientists and managers in any region can bridge the communication divide to manage biodiversity in a rapidly changing world. Biodiversity and a Changing Climate will prove an indispensable guide to students, scientists, and professionals engaged in conservation and resource management.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780520961807Publication Date: 2015-06-16
Events of Increased Biodiversity by
The fossil record offers a surprising image: that of evolutionary radiations characterized by intense increases in cash or by the sudden diversification of a single species group, while others stagnate or die out. In a modern world, science carries an often pessimistic message, surrounded by studies of global warming and its effects, extinction crisis, emerging diseases and invasive species. This book fuels frequent "optimism" of the sudden increase in biodiversity by exploring this natural phenomenon. Events of Increased Biodiversity: Evolutionary Radiations in the Fossil Record explores this natural phenomenon of adaptive radiation including its effect on the increase in biodiversity events, their contribution to the changes and limitations in the fossil record, and examines the links between ecology and paleontology's study of radiation. Details examples of evolutionary radiations Explicitly addresses the effect of adaptation driven by ecological opportunity Examines the link between ecology and paleontology's study of adaptive radiation
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780081004746Publication Date: 2015-05-06
Marine Biodiversity, Climatic Variability and Global Change by
Biodiversity loss in terrestrial environments associated with human activities has been appreciated as a major issue for some years now. What is less well documented is the effect of such activities, including climate change, on marine biodiversity. This pioneering book is the first to address this important but neglected topic, which is likely to be the key challenge for marine scientists in the near future. Using a multidisciplinary and a holistic approach, the book reveals how climatic variability controls biodiversity at time scales ranging from synoptic meteorological events to millions of years and at spatial scales ranging from local sites to the whole ocean. It shows how global change, including anthropogenic climate change, ocean acidification and more direct human influences such as exploitation, pollution and eutrophication may alter biodiversity, ecosystem functioning and regulating and provisioning services. The author proposes a theory termed the 'macroecological theory on the arrangement of life', which explains how biodiversity is organized and how it responds to climatic variability and anthropogenic climate change. The book concludes with recommendations for further research and theoretical development to identify oceanic areas in need of observation and gaps in current scientific knowledge. Many references and comparisons with the terrestrial realm are included in all chapters to better understand the universality of the relationships between biodiversity, climate and the environment. The book will serve as a textbook for all students and researchers of marine science and environmental change, but will also be accessible to the more general reader.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781322326689Publication Date: 2015-01-14
Descriptive Taxonomy by
In an age when biodiversity is being lost at an unprecedented rate, it is vital that floristic and faunistic information is up to date, reliable and easily accessible for the formulation of effective conservation strategies. Electronic data management and communication are transforming descriptive taxonomy radically, enhancing both the collection and dissemination of crucial data on biodiversity. This volume is written by scientists at the forefront of current developments of floras and faunas, along with specialists from applied user groups. The chapters review novel methods of research, development and dissemination, which aim to maximise the relevance and impact of data. Regional case studies are used to illustrate the outputs and impacts of taxonomic research. Integrated approaches are presented which have the capacity to accelerate the production of floras and faunas and to better serve the needs of a widening audience.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781336051072Publication Date: 2015-01-08
The Controversy over Marine Protected Areas by
This book is a critical analysis of the concept of marine protected areas (MPAs) particularly as a tool for marine resource management. It explains the reasons for the extraordinary rise of MPAs to the top of the political agenda for marine policy, and evaluates the scientific credentials for the unprecedented popularity of this management option. The book reveals the role played by two policy networks - epistemic community and advocacy coalition - in promoting the notion of MPA, showing how advocacy for marine reserves by some scientists based on limited evidence of fisheries benefits has led to a blurring of the boundary between science and politics. Second, the study investigates whether the scientific consensus on MPAs has resulted in a publication bias, whereby pro-MPA articles are given preferential treatment by peer-reviewed academic journals, though it found only limited evidence of such a bias. Third, the project conducts a systematic review of the literature to determine the ecological effects of MPAs, and reaches the conclusion that there is little proof of a positive impact on finfish populations in temperate waters. Fourth, the study uses discourse analysis to trace the effects of a public campaigning policy network on marine conservation zones (MCZs) in England, which demonstrated that there was considerable confusion over the objectives that MCZs were being designated to achieve. The book's conclusion is that the MPA issue shows the power of ideas in marine governance, but offers a caution that scientists who cross the line between science and politics risk exaggerating the benefits of MPAs by glossing over uncertainties in the data, which may antagonise the fishing industry, delay resolution of the MPA issue, and weaken public faith in marine science if and when the benefits of MCZs are subsequently seen to be limited.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319109572Publication Date: 2014-10-17
Biodiversity Conservation in Latin America and the Caribbean by
Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC) region is exceptionally biodiverse. It contains about half of the world#65533;s remaining tropical forests, nearly one-fifth of its coastal habitats, and some of its most productive agricultural and marine areas. But agriculture, fishing and other human activities linked to rapid population and economic growth increasingly threaten that biodiversity. Moreover, poverty, weak regulatory capacity, and limited political will hamper conservation. Given this dilemma, it is critically important to design conservation strategies on the basis of the best available information about both biodiversity and the track records of the various policies that have been used to protect it. This rigorously researched book has three key aims. It describes the status of biodiversity in LAC, the main threats to this biodiversity, and the drivers of these threats. It identifies the main policies being used to conserve biodiversity and assesses their effectiveness and potential for further implementation. It proposes five specific lines of practical action for conserving LAC biodiversity, based on: green agriculture; strengthening terrestrial protected areas and co-management; improving environmental governance; strengthening coastal and marine resource management; and improving biodiversity data and policy evaluation.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780415730969Publication Date: 2014-07-10
Biodiversity in the Marine Environment by
The oceans cover over 70% of our planet. They are host to a biodiversity of tremendous wealth. Its preservation is now a global priority featuring in several international conventions and a confirmed objective of European policies and national strategies. Understanding the dynamics and the uses of the marine biodiversity is a genuine scientific challenge. Fourteen international experts have got together and identified five priority research themes to address the problem, based on analysing the state of knowledge.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789401785655Publication Date: 2014-03-06
Governing Marine Protected Areas by
In this innovative volume, the author addresses some important challenges related to the effective and equitable governance of marine protected areas (MPAs). These challenges are explored through a study of 20 MPA case studies from around the world. A novel governance analysis framework is employed to address some key questions: How can top-down and bottom-up approaches to MPA governance be combined? What does this mean, in reality, in different contexts? How can we develop and implement governance approaches that are both effective in achieving conservation objectives and equitable in fairly sharing associated costs and benefits? The author explores the many issues that these questions raise, as well as exploring options for addressing them. A key theme is that MPA governance needs to combine people, state and market approaches, rather than being based on one approach and its related ideals. Building on a critique of the governance analysis framework developed for common-pool resources, the author puts forward a more holistic and less prescriptive framework for deconstructing and analyzing the governance of MPAs. This inter-disciplinary analysis is aimed at supporting the development of MPA governance approaches that build social-ecological resilience through both institutional and biological diversity. It will also make a significant contribution to wider debates on natural resource governance, as it poses some critical questions for contemporary approaches to related research and offers an alternative theoretical and empirical approach.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781136455230Publication Date: 2014-02-24
