MSMS 6210, BCOR 5580 Scientific Method and Experimental Design
Course Guide for the OC Core Course in Scientific Method and Experimental Design (MSMS 6210)
Featured Resource
Scientific Method & Experimental Design Books & E-Books
Scientific Method in Brief by Call Number: Q175 .G3368 2012ISBN: 9781107666726Publication Date: 2012-09-06
Scientific Method for Ecological Research by Call Number: QH541.2 .F66 2000ISBN: 052166005XPublication Date: 2000-04-13
Techniques for Wildlife Investigations and Management by Call Number: SK355 .R47 2005ISBN: 9780933564152Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Research Methods, Statistics, and Applications by Call Number: Q180.55.S7 A33 2015ISBN: 9781452220185Publication Date: 2014-02-04
Scientific Method in Practice by
As the gateway to scientific thinking, an understanding of the scientific method is essential for success and productivity in science. This book is the first synthesis of the practice and the philosophy of the scientific method. It will enable scientists to be better scientists by offering them a deeper understanding of the underpinnings of the scientific method, thereby leading to more productive research and experimentation. It will also give scientists a more accurate perspective on the rationality of the scientific approach and its role in society. Beginning with a discussion of today's 'science wars' and science's presuppositions, the book then explores deductive and inductive logic, probability, statistics, and parsimony, and concludes with an examination of science's powers and limits, and a look at science education. Topics relevant to a variety of disciplines are treated, and clarifying figures, case studies, and chapter summaries enhance the pedagogy. This adeptly executed, comprehensive, yet pragmatic work yields a new synergy suitable for scientists and instructors, and graduate students and advanced undergraduates.
Call Number: Q175 .G337 2002ISBN: 0521816890Publication Date: 2002-12-12
Statistics and Scientific Method by
Most introductory statistics text-books are written either in a highly mathematical style for an intended readership of mathematics undergraduate students, or in a recipe-book style for an intended audience of non-mathematically inclined undergraduate or postgraduate students, typically in asingle discipline; hence, "statistics for biologists", "statistics for psychologists", and so on.An antidote to technique-oriented service courses, this book is different. It studiously avoids the recipe-book style and keeps algebraic details of specific statistical methods to the minimum extent necessary to understand the underlying concepts. Instead, the text aims to give the reader a clearunderstanding of how core statistical ideas of experimental design, modelling and data analysis are integral to the scientific method. Aimed primarily at beginning postgraduate students across a range of scientific disciplines (albeit with a bias towards the biological, environmental and health sciences), it therefore assumes some maturity of understanding of scientific method, but does not require any prior knowledge ofstatistics, or any mathematical knowledge beyond basic algebra and a willingness to come to terms with mathematical notation.Any statistical analysis of a realistically sized data-set requires the use of specially written computer software. An Appendix introduces the reader to our open-source software of choice, R, whilst the book's web-page includes downloadable data and R code that enables the reader to reproduce all ofthe analyses in the book and, with easy modifications, to adapt the code to analyse their own data if they wish. However, the book is not intended to be a textbook on statistical computing, and all of the material in the book can be understood without using either R or any other computersoftware.
Call Number: Q180.55.S7 D54 2011ISBN: 9780199543199Publication Date: 2011-09-30
How to Design, Write, and Present a Successful Dissertation Proposal by
This provides graduate students in the social and behavioural sciences with the specific set of skills needed to write a successful dissertation proposal. It gives guidance for the whole process, from introducing the role of the advisor and helping students narrow down their area of specialization, to assisting them with identifying their research question. Helpful advice on reading, the literature review, writing, defining the research question, and methods are provided. The book includes a substantive chapter on the proposal itself, followed by guidance on giving an oral presentation. There are also skill-building activities within each chapter to help the student create each section of the proposal.
Call Number: LB2369 .W39 2014ISBN: 9781452257884Publication Date: 2013-10-17
Ensuring Research Integrity and the Ethical Management of Data by
Data management technology is rapidly progressing, and with it comes the need for stricter rules that ensure the information being collected is handled appropriately. Ensuring Research Integrity and the Ethical Management of Data is an essential resource that examines the best approaches for providing quality research, as well as how to effectively manage that information in a reputable way. Featuring extensive research on relevant topics such as qualitative data collection, data sharing, data misinterpretation, and intellectual property, this scholarly publication is an ideal reference source for academicians, students, and researchers interested in current trends and techniques in ethical research and data management. Topics Covered: The many academic areas covered in this publication include, but are not limited to: Data Misinterpretation Data Privacy Data Reporting Data Sharing Intellectual Property Peer Review Process Qualitative Data Collection Quantitative Data Processing
Call Number: Q180.55.M67 E56 2018ISBN: 9781522527305Publication Date: 2018-01-31
Principles of Scientific Research by
Students and researchers need more information than ever on STEM content and the practice of science. Unlike any other resource, this new title delves into the world of scientific research, to give high school and undergraduate students a better understanding of concepts and theories behind scientific research across all disciplines. These easy-to-understand articles will provide students and teachers with instructional articles about each topic and provide a context for application and incorporation into their own scientific practices.
Call Number: Q126.9 .P723 2017ISBN: 9781682176092Publication Date: 2017-11-08
Know Your Variables by
Know Your Variables unlocks the gate to simple data analysis for any stats course. Packed with lively examples it shows students what variables are and why looking for relationships between them is so interesting and so powerful.Little Quick Fix titles provide quick but authoritative answers to the problems, hurdles, and assessment points students face in the research course, project proposal, or design - whatever their methods learning is. Lively, ultra-modern design; full-colour, each page a tailored design. An hour′s read. Easy to dip in and out of with clear navigation enables the reader to find what she needs - quick. Direct written style gets to the point with clear language. Nothing needs to be read twice. No fluff. Learning is reinforced through a 2-minute overview summary; 3-second summaries with super-quick Q&A DIY tasks create a work plan to accomplish a task, do a self-check quiz, solve a problem, get students to what they need to show their supervisor. Checkpoints in each section make sure students are nailing it as they go and support self-directed learning. How do I know I'm done? Each Little Quick Fix wraps up with a finale checklist that allows the reader to self-assess they've got what they need to progress, submit, or ace the test or task.
Call Number: Q180.55.M38 M33 2019ISBN: 9781526458841Publication Date: 2019-01-16- Ensuring Research Integrity and the Ethical Management of Data by
Data management technology is rapidly progressing, and with it comes the need for stricter rules that ensure the information being collected is handled appropriately. Ensuring Research Integrity and the Ethical Management of Data is an essential resource that examines the best approaches for providing quality research, as well as how to effectively manage that information in a reputable way. Featuring extensive research on relevant topics such as qualitative data collection, data sharing, data misinterpretation, and intellectual property, this scholarly publication is an ideal reference source for academicians, students, and researchers interested in current trends and techniques in ethical research and data management. Topics Covered: The many academic areas covered in this publication include, but are not limited to: Data Misinterpretation Data Privacy Data Reporting Data Sharing Intellectual Property Peer Review Process Qualitative Data Collection Quantitative Data Processing
Call Number: Q180.55.M67 E56 2018ISBN: 9781522527305Publication Date: 2018-01-31
Charles Darwin by
Charles Darwin: A Reference Guide to His Life and Works provides an important new compendium presenting a detailed chronology of all aspects Darwin's life. The extensive encyclopedia section includes many hundreds of entries of various kinds related to Darwin - people, places, institutions, concepts, and his publications. The bibliography provides a comprehensive listing of the vast majority of Darwin's works published during and after his lifetime. It also provides a more selective list of publications concerning his life and work. -Includes a nearly year by year chronology detailing Charles Darwin's life, family, and work. -The A to Z section includes many entries on concepts and people important in Charles Darwin's life and his work, emphasizing during his lifetime but extending somewhat backwards and forwards from there. -The bibliography includes all of Charles Darwin's articles and books published in his lifetime in English and other languages, as well as a selective list of works about him and his work. -The index thoroughly cross-references the chronological and encyclopedic entries.
Call Number: QH31.D2 A788 2019ISBN: 9781538111635Publication Date: 2018-12-15
Popper's Open Society after Fifty Years by
Popper's Open Society After Fifty Years presents a coherent survey of the reception and influence of Karl Popper's masterpiece The Open Society and its Enemies over the fifty years since its publication in 1945, as well as applying some of its principles to the context of modern Eastern Europe. This unique volume contains papers by many of Popper's contemporaries and friends, including such luminaries as Ernst Gombrich, in his paper 'The Open Society and its Enemies: Remembering its Publication Fifty Years Ago'.
Call Number: B63 .P62 2003ISBN: 0415290678Publication Date: 2003-04-11
Conjectures and Refutations by
Conjectures and Refutations is one of Karl Popper's most wide-ranging and popular works, notable not only for its acute insight into the way scientific knowledge grows, but also for applying those insights to politics and to history. It provides one of the clearest and most accessible statements of the fundamental idea that guided his work: not only our knowledge, but our aims and our standards, grow through an unending process of trial and error. Popper brilliantly demonstrates how knowledge grows by guesses or conjectures and tentative solutions, which must then be subjected to critical tests. Although they may survive any number of tests, our conjectures remain conjectures, they can never be established as true. What makes Conjectures and Refutations such an enduring book is that Popper goes on to apply this bold theory of the growth of knowledge to a fascinating range of important problems, including the role of tradition, the origin of the scientific method, the demarcation between science and metaphysics, the body-mind problem, the way we use language, how we understand history, and the dangers of public opinion. Throughout the book, Popper stresses the importance of our ability to learn from our mistakes. Conjectures and Refutations is essential reading, and a book to be returned to again and again.
Call Number: BD241 .P65 2002ISBN: 0415285933Publication Date: 2002-08-09
Research Methodology by
This book offers a design research methodology intended to improve the quality of design research- its academic credibility, industrial significance and societal contribution by enabling more thorough, efficient and effective procedures.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781351013253Publication Date: 2019-02-12
The Whys of a Scientific Life by
The first in the Focus Series on Global Science Education,The Whys of a Scientific Lifeexamines why scientists do what they do. Working from a diverse background in scientific research, including academic departments of physics and chemistry, as well as the scientific civil service, the author describes the choices scientists make. Fundamentally, a scientist asks questions based on curiosity. In addition, the environment is very important. By influencing their elected governments, society itself shapes the scientific research that is undertaken by scientists. This book follows on naturally from the author's last book, Skills for a Scientific Life, which is a how-to guide for scientists and those that aspire to engage in science as a career. Key Features: User friendly and concise, this text dissects the whys of science and discovery The author has outstanding experience in mentoring science students and staff, and also in outreach activities for the public and students of all ages including schools The final chapter emphasises the joys of the scientist in research
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780429752803Publication Date: 2018-10-03
Teleology, First Principles, and Scientific Method in Aristotle's Biology by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0199287953Publication Date: 2012-04-30
Isaac Newton's Scientific Method by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780199570409Publication Date: 2012-02-20- Scientific Method for Ecological Research by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 052166005XPublication Date: 2000-04-13
Optimal Experimental Design with R by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781439816974Publication Date: 2011-05-18
Functional Approach to Optimal Experimental Design by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 038798741XPublication Date: 2006-02-06
Experimental Design and Data Analysis for Biologists by
An essential textbook for any student or researcher in biology needing to design experiments, sample programs or analyse the resulting data. The text begins with a revision of estimation and hypothesis testing methods, covering both classical and Bayesian philosophies, before advancing to the analysis of linear and generalized linear models. Topics covered include linear and logistic regression, simple and complex ANOVA models (for factorial, nested, block, split-plot and repeated measures and covariance designs), and log-linear models. Multivariate techniques, including classification and ordination, are then introduced. Special emphasis is placed on checking assumptions, exploratory data analysis and presentation of results. The main analyses are illustrated with many examples from published papers and there is an extensive reference list to both the statistical and biological literature. The book is supported by a website that provides all data sets, questions for each chapter and links to software.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0521811287Publication Date: 2002-03-21
Designing Experiments and Analyzing Data by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0805837183Publication Date: 2003-07-01
A Practical Guide to Scientific Data Analysis by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780470851531Publication Date: 2009-12-21
Understanding Research Methods by
A perennial bestseller since 1997, this updated tenth edition of Understanding Research Methods provides a detailed overview of all the important concepts traditionally covered in a research methods class. It covers the principles of both qualitative and quantitative research, and how to interpret statistics without computations, so is suitable for all students regardless of their math background. The book is organized so that each concept is treated independently and can be used in any order without resulting in gaps in knowledge#65533;allowing it to be easily and precisely adapted to any course. It uses lively examples on contemporary topics to stimulate students#65533; interest, and engages them by showing the relevance of research methods to their everyday lives. Numerous case studies and end-of-section exercises help students master the material and encourage classroom discussion. The text is divided into short, independent topic sections, making it easy for you to adapt the material to your own teaching needs and customize assignments to the aspect of qualitative or quantitative methods under study#65533;helping to improve students#65533; comprehension and retention of difficult concepts. Additional online PowerPoint slides and test bank questions make this a complete resource for introducing students to research methods. #65533; New to this edition: New topic section on design decisions in research Additional material on production of knowledge and research methods Significant development of material on ethical considerations in research Fresh and contemporary examples from a wide variety of real, published research Topic-specific exercises at the end of each section now include suggestions for further steps researchers can take as they build their research project.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0415790522Publication Date: 2017-07-20
The Craft of Research by
With more than 200,000 copies in print, The Craft of Research is the unrivaled resource for researchers at every level, from first-year undergraduates to research reporters at corporations and government offices. Now, seasoned researchers an
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780226062648Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Getting Started on Research by
Getting Started in Research is for people in the earlier stages of development as a researcher. In contrast to the many books available on techniques of data collection and analysis, this volume deals with the many other practical considerations around actually doing research - such as good ways to frame research questions, how to plan your research projects effectively and how to undertake the various necessary tasks.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1412906962Publication Date: 2009-02-24
The Tao of Research by
Dana K. Keller and Mary Lou Casadevall-Keller provide readers with a highly accessible introduction to the fundamental concepts of research methods in The Tao of Research: A Path to Validity. This brief, engaging book approaches the topic of research through an exploration of the issues that threaten validity in the process of knowledge generation. Key Features: - Examines the propositional, ethical, structural, functional, and technical restrictions researchers face - Focuses on understanding how these restrictions influence research methods and results - Makes concepts more accessible through discussions that follow the experiences of three "guides"_a high school principal, a statewide director of public health, and a sociology professor at a small liberal arts college. The Tao of Research: A Path to Validity serves as either a main or supplemental text for courses such as Introduction to Research Methods, Social Research Methods, and Applied Research Methods.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1412964687Publication Date: 2009-04-29
A Guide to Conducting Online Research by
A Guide to Conducting Online Research is designed to support students, academics and research practitioners in using technology to conduct their research. The book begins by looking at what questions to ask and how to prepare to conduct online research, then concentrates on particular technologies and how to employ them effectively, before concluding with a discussion of the peculiarities of conducting research in the online environment. Practical advice is offered on common issues and problems, such as: - How to decide which application is best for your research purposes? - What can be done to guarantee the anonymity of research participants? - What kinds of challenges do firewalls present and how can they be mitigated? A Guide to Conducting Online Research provides a wealth of advice, explanation, instruction, self-help tips and examples, making this a helpful resource for anyone using technology in conducting their research.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1412922909Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Ensuring Research Integrity and the Ethical Management of Data by
Data management technology is rapidly progressing, and with it comes the need for stricter rules that ensure the information being collected is handled appropriately. Ensuring Research Integrity and the Ethical Management of Data is an essential resource that examines the best approaches for providing quality research, as well as how to effectively manage that information in a reputable way. Featuring extensive research on relevant topics such as qualitative data collection, data sharing, data misinterpretation, and intellectual property, this scholarly publication is an ideal reference source for academicians, students, and researchers interested in current trends and techniques in ethical research and data management.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781522527312Publication Date: 2018-01-31- Principles of Scientific Research by
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of scientific research. Students and researchers need more information than ever on STEM content and the practice of science. Unlike any other resource, this new title delves into the world of scientific research, to give high school and undergraduate students a better understanding of concepts and theories behind scientific research across all disciplines. These easy-to-understand articles will provide students and teachers with instructional articles about each topic and provide a context for application and incorporation into their own scientific practices. More than 100 entries explain these theories and concepts in easy-to-understand language, so readers come away with a better understanding of each topic and can then put that information to use. Entries are arranged under three broad categories, and include: Statistics Methodologies includes Linear & Non-Linear Relationships, Correlational Modeling, Histograms, Significance Levels, Chi-Squared Test and more. Research Methodologies illustrates ideas in Case Study Research, Completely Randomized Designs, Ethnography, Multiple Case Study, Split Plot Type Designs, Time-Series Designs, Cluster Sampling, and more. Theoretics of Research outlines theories of Comparative Research, Deductive Reasoning, Descriptive Research, Explanatory Research, Inductive Reasoning, Objectivity, Quantitative Research, and others. These informative entries will inform and educate high school and undergraduate students on the fundamentals of research methods, practice and theory. This new volume will be a must-have source for high school and undergraduate libraries and science collections at all levels.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781682176092Publication Date: 2017-08-01
How to Be a Better Scientist by
Understanding the fundamentals of conducting good science, that will have an impact, is the goal of every aspiring scientist. Providing a wealth of tips, How to be a Better Scientist is the book to read if you want to succeed in this competitive field. Helping readers gain an insight into what good science means and how to conduct it, this book is ideal to read cover-to-cover or dip into. It includes easily accessible guidance on topics such as: ¿ What characteristics should a scientist have? ¿ Understanding the hypothesis ¿ Integrity in science ¿ Lack of confidence and the embarrassment factor ¿ Time management ¿ Coping with rejection ¿ Interacting with the science community With its broad focus, this friendly guide will enthuse, inspire and challenge, and is an essential companion for all aspiring scientists.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781138731219Publication Date: 2018-12-13
Karl Popper, Science and Enlightenment by
Could science, if properly understood, provide us with the methodological key to the salvation of humanity? That is a chief question coursing through the works of Karl Popper, who famously maintained that science cannot verify theories but only refute them, thereby bringing about progress. Nicholas Maxwell's new book disputes this line of argument. By proposing a new conception of scientific methodology on disunified theories--which can be applied to all worthwhile human endeavours with problematic aims--this book calls for a new revolution in inquiry to help humanity advance towards a more civilized and enlightened world.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781787350410Publication Date: 2018-04-15
Returning to Karl Popper by
Over the last few years there has been a resurgent interest in various scientific disciplines in Popper's arguments. To gain a greater appreciation of Popper's scientific arguments, they need to be viewed in relation to his broader philosophy and where this stands within the history of ideas. This book aims to take seriously those aspects of Popper's writings that have received less attention and wherein he advanced metaphysical, speculative, mystical-poetic, aesthetic and Platonic arguments. Such arguments are crucial for an appreciation of his scientific and political writings. I argue that Popper, much like Wittgenstein previously has been misconstrued as an Anglo-analytic philosopher. This book provides an interpretation of Popper's mature philosophy within his Central-European intellectual context. The aim of which is to open up a fruitful line of investigation into Popper's thought that I hope would continue over the coming years.Alexander Naraniecki has spent time at the Popper Archives at the University of Klagenfurt in Austria whilst researching for this book. He has also been a visiting scholar at Duke University and has completed a postdoctoral research fellowship at Deakin University in Melbourne. Dr Naraniecki also publishes on issues relating to multiculturalism, globalization, cosmopolitanism as well as inter-cultural relations and dialogue. He has published on Popper in various leading journals such as Philosophy, Boston Studies in the Philosophy of Science, and The European Legacy. He is currently building his research on Popper in a broader direction by exploring issues related to creativity and problem solving for critical thinking.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789042037977Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Scientific Methods Used in Research and Writing by
Research publications, projects, and teaching learning theories have become very important to universities, institutions, organizations, and industries. Many submissions are rejected due to author's lack of writing and research skills. This new book provides a quick, basic starting point to learning the needed skills. The book discusses the statistical methods involved, covers the development of academic writing skills for a higher impact, teaches learning theories, and uses a structured and holistic approach for educational research proposal development. This book will be used by research scholars, undergraduates, postgraduates, and anyone interested in engineering and learning the basic academic writing skills and scientific methods needed.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781000299656Publication Date: 2020-12-01
Principles of Scientific Methods by
Principles of Scientific Methods focuses on the fundamental principles behind scientific methods. The book refers to "science" in a broad sense, including natural science, physics, mathematics, statistics, social science, political science, and engineering science. A principle is often abstract and has broad applicability while a method is usually
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781482238105Publication Date: 2016-04-19
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries