Medical Sciences: Advanced Searching Techniques

A great place to start is with Ebsco.

Click [Choose Databases] to add the following additional databases:

þ Biomedical Reference Collection: 

þ CINAHL Plus with Full Text: 

þ Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials: 

þ Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews: 

þ Cochrane Methodology Register: 

þDatabase of Abstracts & Reviews

þ Health Technology Assessments: 

þ MEDLINE: 

þ NHS Economic Evaluation Database: 

þ Nursing & Allied Health Collection: 

Academic Search Premier

SportDiscus (sports medicine)

*Check the "Apply Related Terms" box to enhance your search

Keeping track of what you find

Created by Georgia State University Library, this guide contains recommendations and tools for keeping track of both search strategies and search results.

• Literature Search Tracking Log

  Adapted from the Georgia State University Library, the Literature Search Tracking Log "is where you can list the subject headings you used in your search, which databases you searched and how many results you found for each search."
• Evidence Analysis Log

  Adapted from the Georgia State University Library, the Evidence Analysis Log "is where you make notes about each article that is relevant to your literature review."

What are citation management programs?

Citation management programs are time-saving tools that allow you to:

• Create a personal database of references
• Organize and search your references
• Upload and store PDF documents with their citations
• Insert citations into word processing documents and format bibliographies in a variety of styles

What citation management program should I use?

There are several citation management programs available.  NSU provides access to EndNote for faculty, students and staff.  Other options are Mendeley and Zotero, free citation management programs.

See below links to additional information and help with each of these programs. 

EndNote

EndNote is a desktop-based citation management program available to NSU faculty, students and staff. Click the link above to learn how to get EndNote installed on your work or personal computer and start using the program.