Library Guides: HPD Alumni: Books & Databases

NSU Databases for Registered Alumni

Click on this link to view the NSU Databases that Registered Alumni are able to use from home.

You may also come in-person to the HPD library building to access databases with guest access.

NSU databases available to HPD Alumni

HPD Alumni

Registered Alumni are allowed to check out items from the circulating print collection.

Social Science E-Books

Google Books
Penn Online Psychology Books
University of Pennsylvania listing of full-text psychology books
Project Guttenberg

PubMed the Gold Standard

PubMed is enormous (over 30 million citations) so it's important to search it efficiently.

Use the Clinical Queries filter to limit to clinical study categories or systematic reviews (description).
- The link to Clinical Queries is under Find on the home page.
Use Limits for date of publication, English, human, and age categories.
- Limit to Type of Article (meta-analyses, RCTs) to get the highest Levels of Evidence.
- Limit to Free Full Text.

Freely Accessible Databases

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
contains data on medical expenditures, healthcare costs & utilization, hospital services & costs, technology assessments, clinical practice guidelines, quality & patient safety, funding opportunities and more.
AIDSInfo
Global data on HIV epidemiology and response from UNAIDS.
CDC
Center for Disease Control's extensive web site provides a single point of access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, statistics, and public health data. Includes prevention guidelines, STD reports, injury mortality data, etc.
ChemSpider
Chemistry search engine aggregates and indexes chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository.
Cochrane Collaboration
Provides access to the abstracts of Cochrane Systematic Reviews internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care.
Consumer Product Information Database
This Consumer Product Information Database (cpid) that currently links over 23,000 consumer brands to health effects has been designed to educate consumers about chemical ingredients of household products.
Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database (DART)
NLM database of teratology, developmental, and reproductive toxicology literature
Dietary Supplements Labels Database
From the NLM, DSLD offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers.
ETHX on the Web
Journal articles, analytics, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics at Georgetown University.
EurekAlert!
Global research news service operated by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. It features news and resources focused on all areas of science, medicine and technology.
FedStats
provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by Federal Government agencies.
Genamics SoftwareSeek
a collection of over 1,000 free and commercial software and online tools for molecular biology and biochemistry.
GenBank
NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. Currently, GenBank contains nearly 3 billion bases from over 47,000 species.
Google Patents
Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar with this link that shows NSULibrary access.
Hazardous Substances Data Bank
a toxicology data file on the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) PubChem. It focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals and contains information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, and related areas.
Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSRR)
a searchable database of information about research datasets and instruments/indices as well as software applications used in health services research and in the behavioral and social sciences. It includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed and URLS of providers for additional information or access to the resources.
HIVinfo.nih.gov
HIVinfo.nih.gov offers access to the latest, federally approved HIV/AIDS medical practice guidelines, HIV treatment and prevention clinical trials, and other research information for health care providers, researchers, people affected by HIV/AIDS, and the general public.
Human Genome (Nat'l Center for Biotechnology Center Univ. of California at Santa Cruz)
complementary assembled views of the human genome with useful browsing tools that provide a wide variety of annotations to the sequence.
IndexCat (History of Medicine)
this catalog of the library of the Surgeon-General's Office is a bibliography of material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research.
JournalSeek
contains information on print and electronic journals: availability of abstracts and/or full-text online, aims and scope, journal abbreviations, impact factors, and Web links for over 8,500 journals.
LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
provided by the National Library of Medicine, LactMed is a peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Data includes the possible effects of drugs on breastfed infants and on lactation and alternate drugs to consider.
Linscott's Directory of Immunological & Biological Reagents
free search engine helps you find antibody suppliers for thousands of specific antibodies. Plus locate sources for ELISA assay kits, cytokines, enzymes, recombinant proteins, siRNAs, tissues, organs, custom antibody services and more.
Material Safety Data Sheets
Vermont SIRI provides the electronic world's largest freely accessible Material Safety Data Sheets archive, and links to many new MSDS archives provided by manufacturers concerned about the safe use of their products.
MedlinePlus
Over 800 topics on conditions, diseases and wellness from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
makes evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related abstract, summary, and comparison materials widely available to health care professionals. NGC is operated by the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR) in partnership with the American Medical Association (AMA), and the American Association of Health Plans (AAHP).
NIH RePORTER
RePORTER (Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool) combines NIH project databases and funding records, PubMed abstracts, full-text articles from PubMed Central, and information from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office with a robust search engine, allowing users to locate descriptions and funding details on NIH-funded projects along with research results that cite the NIH support.
OSTMED.DR
builds on the OSTMED database and provides access to selected full-text, and is full-text indexed and searchable. No current login needed, use search box on the right for full-text.
PDQ (Physician Data Query)
NCI's comprehensive cancer database. It contains summaries on a wide range of cancer topics; a registry of 8,000+ open and 19,000+ closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and a directory of professionals who provide genetics services. PDQ also contains the NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms, with definitions for 6,800+ cancer and medical terms, and the NCI Drug Dictionary, which has information on 2,300+ agents used in the treatment of cancer or cancer-related conditions.
POPLINE
Worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and population law and policy. In addition, POPLINE focuses on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment.
Population Index
Covers all fields of interest to demographers, including fertility, mortality, population size and growth, migration, nuptiality and the family, research methodology, projections and predictions, historical demography, and demographic and economic interrelations. Input is derived from original publications including monographs, journal articles, other serial publications, working papers, doctoral dissertations, etc.
PubChem
provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and is organized as three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Dietary Supplements
succeeds IBIDS International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements. A NIH database of published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals.
Science.gov
searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including NASA, Food and Drug sites, a huge selection of physical science sites and allows searching by a large variety of subjects.
Social Science Research Network
devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.
SUMSearch
free from the University of Kansas School of Medicine a single gateway that searches Merck Manual, MEDLINE for review articles, editorials, and original research, National Guideline Clearinghouse from the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR), and Database of Abstract of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE).
TOXNET
a database for toxicology, encompassing many disciplines. Records provide bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals with over 4 million citations, most with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry.
Trip Database
is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Registered users (registration is free) benefit from extra features such as CPD, search history, and collaborative tools.
World Biodiversity Database
a taxonomic database and information system that allows you to search and browse 21 online species banks covering a wide variety of organisms.