MSMS 5040 Marine Chemistry
Chicago Manual of Style
- The Chicago Manual of Style Online from NSU LibrariesThis 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style marks the first edition to be prepared and published simultaneously in print and online.
- OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab - Chicago Manual of StyleThe Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation. The material in this resource focuses primarily on the two CMS documentation styles: the Notes-Bibliography System (NB), which is used by those in literature, history, and the arts, and the Author-Date System, which is preferred in the sciences.
Citation Management Tools
- NSU Citation Management Tools Download PageEndNote®, ProCite®, and Reference Manager® are the industry standard software tools for publishing and managing bibliographies on the Windows and Macintosh desktop. Researchers, writers and students depend on these products to locate bibliographic data and create bibliographies for curricula vitae, manuscripts, grant proposals, term papers and other publications. A comparison of these products is available at the Thomson ResearchSoft Web site (http://thomsonresearchsoft.com/compare/).
Other Chicago Manual of Style Guides
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Other Citation Guides
Each link below takes you to the guide for APA or MLA citation styles.
The APA Style guide includes examples of citations and tutorials on using EndNote, a citation management tool.
Introduction - Style Manual For OC
Style Manual For OCL
In your research, you will need to understand how to interpret the citations you find in indexes and bibliographies, as well as how to cite sources in your own bibliographies.
Interpreting Citations
A citation is a reference to a source of information. It should include enough identifying information, including such information as the author, title, and source, so that a reader can locate a copy of the item. Citations may reference any type of information including:
|
|
The OCL follows the author/date style used in the Chicago Manual of Style. Theses, however, can follow the style required of the journal it is to be submitted to.
Chicago style uses endnotes or author-date style for in-text referencing and a bibliography at the end to indicate those sources that were referenced in the text. All papers should be double-spaced and should have margins of at least one inch on the right sides and at the top and bottom of every page. The left margin should be 1.25 inches. All pages should be numbered except preliminary pages, including pages of works cited pages. The preferred page numbering choice for the OC is generally bottom center (modified version).
To access the Oceanographic Campus Library online Chicago Style Guide, go to: http://libguides.nova.edu/chicagoauthor-date