MSMS 5040 - Marine Chemistry
Course guide for Marine Chemistry (MSMS 5040)
Textbook - Older Edition
An Introduction to the Chemistry of the Sea by
Assuming no advanced knowledge of any single science, this clear survey/teaching text provides a background for most students of marine science as well as a general base from which the professional marine chemist can progress into specialized studies.* Highlights the interrelationships that exist among the various marine processes, emphasizing the chemistry of seawater as a common link. * Provides comprehensive coverage of the carbon dioxide system and its role in most areas of marine science. * Presents the principles and practices of chemical oceanography with an up-to-date, accurate and accessible approach, especially with regard to chemical measurement. * Integrates background profiles for essential topics to place the present state of the field in the context of its origin and development. * Offers a wealth of references to provide an avenue to reviews, other textbooks or more specialized literature. * Provides tables of numerical values and constants.
Call Number: GC111.2 .P55 1998ISBN: 0132589710Publication Date: 1998-03-13
Featured Resource
Encyclopedia of Marine Natural Products by
Now in its second edition and further expanded by 15%, this encyclopedic work is one of the largest resources on marine natural products. It contains an exhaustive and systematic listing of more than 9,000 formulae and 10,000 references with around 650 relevant websites. The unique approach of classifying the compounds by biological species together with their background information makes this particularly useful for marine biologists, and contributed significantly to the overwhelming success of the previous edition. The digital version now features a completely cross-linked library of compounds for easy access to related substances, making it even more useful for biologists, chemists and pharmacologists alike.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783527335855Publication Date: 2015-03-31
Marine Chemistry Books & E-Books
A Problem-Solving Approach to Aquatic Chemistry by
A Problem-Solving Approach to Aquatic Chemistry Enables civil and environmental engineers to understand the theory and application of aquatic equilibrium chemistry The second edition of A Problem-Solving Approach to Aquatic Chemistry provides a detailed introduction to aquatic equilibrium chemistry, calculation methods for systems at equilibrium, applications of aquatic chemistry, and chemical kinetics. The text directly addresses two required ABET program outcomes in environmental engineering: "... chemistry (including stoichiometry, equilibrium, and kinetics)" and "material and energy balances, fate and transport of substances in and between air, water, and soil phases." The book is very student-centered, with each chapter beginning with an introduction and ending with a summary that reviews the chapter's main points. To aid in reader comprehension, important terms are defined in context and key ideas are summarized. Many thought-provoking discussion questions, worked examples, and end of chapter problems are also included. Each part of the text begins with a case study, a portion of which is addressed in each subsequent chapter, illustrating the principles of that chapter. In addition, each chapter has an Historical Note exploring connections with the people and cultures connected to topics in the text. A Problem-Solving Approach to Aquatic Chemistry includes: Fundamental concepts, such as concentration units, thermodynamic basis of equilibrium, and manipulating equilibria Solutions of chemical equilibrium problems, including setting up the problems and algebraic, graphical, and computer solution techniques Acid-base equilibria, including the concepts of acids and bases, titrations, and alkalinity and acidity Complexation, including metals, ligands, equilibrium calculations with complexes, and applications of complexation chemistry Oxidation-reduction equilibria, including equilibrium calculations, graphical approaches, and applications Gas-liquid and solid-liquid equilibrium, with expanded coverage of the effects of global climate change Other topics, including chemical kinetics of aquatic systems, surface chemistry, and integrative case studies For advanced/senior undergraduates and first-year graduate students in environmental engineering courses, A Problem-Solving Approach to Aquatic Chemistry serves as an invaluable learning resource on the topic, with a variety of helpful learning elements included throughout to ensure information retention and the ability to apply covered concepts in practical settings.
Call Number: GB855 .J46 2023ISBN: 9781119884347Publication Date: 2023-01-05
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
High Quality Science requires High Quality Data! Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is critical in ensuring that researchers, educators, and students have the highest quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles. Available both in print and online, the Handbook covers 390 chemistry, physics, and related subjects organized in easy-to-find, well-organized tables. Every year, new reported data and new scientific areas are added, making the Handbook the largest comprehensive physical science data source available anywhere. Handbook features include: All data reviewed and evaluated by subject matter experts Standardized chemical names, structures, property names, and property units Important information on subjects such as chemical and laboratory safety, and nomenclature Chemical and physical data critical for fields such as environmental science, bio-medical chemistry, organic and inorganic chemistry, materials innovation, geo- and astrophysics, and solid-state science Digital tools in our Online Edition to analyze, graph, process, and exploit our data content
Call Number: QD65 .C73 2023ISBN: 9781032425207Publication Date: 2023-06-15
Microplastic in the Environment: Pattern and Process by
This open access book examines global plastic pollution, an issue that has become a critical societal challenge with implications for environmental and public health. This volume provides a comprehensive, holistic analysis on the plastic cycle and its subsequent effects on biota, food security, and human exposure. Importantly, global environmental change and its associated, systems-level processes, including atmospheric deposition, ecosystem complexity, UV exposure, wind patterns, water stratification, ocean circulation, etc., are all important direct and indirect factors governing the fate, transport and biotic and abiotic processing of plastic particles across ecosystem types. Furthermore, the distribution of plastic in the ocean is not independent of terrestrial ecosystem dynamics, since much of the plastic in marine ecosystems originates from land and should therefore be evaluated in the context of the larger plastic cycle. Changes in species size, distribution, habitat, and food web complexity, due to global environmental change, will likely alter trophic transfer dynamics and the ecological effects of nano- and microplastics. The fate and transport dynamics of plastic particles are influenced by their size, form, shape, polymer type, additives, and overall ecosystem conditions. In addition to the risks that plastics pose to the total environment, the potential impacts on human health and exposure routes, including seafood consumption, and air and drinking water need to be assessed in a comprehensive and quantitative manner. Here I present a holistic and interdisciplinary book volume designed to advance the understanding of plastic cycling in the environment with an emphasis on sources, fate and transport, ecotoxicology, climate change effects, food security, microbiology, sustainability, human exposure and public policy.
Call Number: TD427.P62 M53 2022ISBN: 9783030786298Publication Date: 2021-10-10
Aquatic Chemistry Concepts, Second Edition by
Aquatic Chemistry Concepts, Second Edition, is a fully revised and updated textbook that fills the need for a comprehensive treatment of aquatic chemistry and covers the many complicated equations and principles of aquatic chemistry. It presents the established science of equilibrium water chemistry using the uniquely recognizable, step-by-step Pankow format, which allows a broad and deep understanding of aquatic chemistry. The text is appropriate for a wide audience, including undergraduate and graduate students, industry professionals, consultants, and regulators. Every professional using water chemistry will want this text within close reach, and students and professionals alike will expect to find at least one copy on their library shelves. 　 Key Features Extremely thorough, one-of-a-kind treatment of aquatic chemistry which considers: a) chemical thermodynamics fundamentals; b) acid/base, titration, and buffer calculations; c) CO2chemistry and alkalinity; d) complexation of metal ions by ligands and chelates; e) mineral solubility processes; f) redox chemistry, including the chemistry of chlorine (as in disinfection), oxygen, CO2and methane, nitrogen, sulfur, iron, and lead, including the story of lead in the drinking water of Flint, Michigan; and g) electrical effects in aqueous solutions including the Debye-Hückel Law (and related equations for activity corrections), double layers, and colloid stability Discussions of how to carry out complex calculations regarding the chemistry of lakes, rivers, groundwater, and seawater Numerous example problems worked in complete detail Special foreword by Jerry L. Schnoor 'There's a lot to like about a book on water chemistry that lays it out simply. Einstein said that everything should be as simple as it can be, but not simpler. Wise advice. And that is what James F. Pankow has accomplished in the second edition of his textbook, Aquatic Chemistry Concepts. It covers the "waterfront" of essential inorganic chemistry topics, and it supplies enough examples to lead the student toward problem solving.' -From the Foreword, Jerry L. Schnoor
Call Number: GB855 .P36 2020ISBN: 9781439854402Publication Date: 2019-11-18
Introduction to Environmental Toxicology by
The fifth edition includes new sections on the use of adverse outcome pathways, how climate change changes how we think about toxicology, and a new chapter on contaminants of emerging concern. Additional information is provided on the derivation of exposure-response curves to describe toxicity and they are compared to the use of hypothesis testing. The text is unified around the theme of describing the entire cause-effect pathway from the importance of chemical structure in determining exposure and interaction with receptors to the use of complex systems and hierarchical patch dynamic theory to describe effects to landscapes.
Call Number: QH545.A1 L35 2018ISBN: 9781498750424Publication Date: 2017-09-25
Marine Pollution and Climate Change by
This book presents a broad overview of pollution issues facing climatic, economic, and legal globalization. Topics include changes in oceans from ancient times to the present, the importance of marine currents and changing climates, marine pollution linked to climate change (fossil fuels, global carbon dioxide, heavy metals, pesticides, plastics, emerging pollutants, and marine debris), global shipping and species invasion, global climate change in the Arctic and Antarctic environments, and regulatory responses to mitigate pollution and climate change in oceans.
Call Number: GC1085 .M298 2018ISBN: 9781482299434Publication Date: 2017-09-11
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater, 23rd Edition by
This comprehensive, how-to manual and guide demonstrates how to produce a long term Integrated Resource Plan for a water utility. It helps water resources planners develop and implement a comprehensive work plan.
Call Number: QD142 .A5 2017ISBN: 9780875532875Publication Date: 2017-08-30
Sustainable Inorganic Chemistry by
The Earth's natural resources are finite and easily compromised by contamination from industrial chemicals and byproducts from the degradation of consumer products. The growing field of green and sustainable chemistry seeks to address this through the development of products and processes that are environmentally benign while remaining economically viable. Inorganic chemistry plays a critical role in this endeavor in areas such as resource extraction and isolation, renewable energy, catalytic processes, waste minimization and avoidance, and renewable industrial feedstocks. Sustainable Inorganic Chemistry presents a comprehensive overview of the many new developments taking place in this rapidly expanding field, in articles that discuss fundamental concepts alongside cutting-edge developments and applications. The volume includes educational reviews from leading scientists on a broad range of topics including: inorganic resources, sustainable synthetic methods, alternative reaction conditions, heterogeneous catalysis, photocatalysis, sustainable nanomaterials, renewable and clean fuels, water treatment and remediation, waste valorization and life cycle sustainability assessment. The content from this book will be added online to the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry.
Call Number: TP155.2.E58 S88 2016ISBN: 9781118703427Publication Date: 2016-10-17
Oil Spill Impacts by
Starting with the 2010 Gulf of Mexico Deepwater Horizon oil spill incident, Oil Spill Impacts: Taxonomic and Ontological Approaches chronicles a timeline of events that focus on the impact of oil spills and provides an understanding of these incidents using a number of approaches. The book includes an interdisciplinary oil spill taxonomy, an oil spill topic map, and highlights information-organization tools, such as indexes, taxonomies, and topic maps that can be used to connect information resources with concepts of interest. The topic map combines the function of ontology with the function of organized information resources, and contains thousands of concepts and their relationships extracted from approximately 300 documents stemming from various academic conference presentations, journal articles, news reports, and web pages. Divided into four parts, the book begins with a brief introduction of the Gulf of Mexico Deepwater Horizon oil spill events followed by a breakdown of the taxonomy concepts distributed into categories and their subcategories. The book then describes the oil spill topic map separated by concepts, relationships, and references. This interdisciplinary reference provides to its readers: The perspective of multiple disciplines instead of just one discipline An indication of the most important topics in the oil spill domain Developed research in the oil spill and oil drilling areas A broad and detailed view of oil spill issues The book serves students, teachers, and researchers interested in oil spill issues, oil spill incidents, and addresses their impacts that involve coastal and marine environmental sciences, biological sciences, chemistry, disaster management, geology, sociology, and government policy.
Call Number: TD427.P4 O3865 2016ISBN: 9781498712149Publication Date: 2016-02-05
Dissolved Gas Concentration in Water by
Aquacultural, oceanographic, and fisheries engineering, as well as other disciplines, require gas solubility data to compute the equilibrium concentration. These calculations, for example, can affect the output of aquacultural production or assist in environmental consulting. Until now, published solubility information has not been available in a consistent and uniform manner in one location. This book presents solubility concentrations of major atmospheric gases (oxygen, nitrogen, argon, carbon dioxide), noble gases (helium, neon, krypton, xenon), and trace gases (hydrogen, methane, nitrous oxide) as a function of temperature, salinity, pressure, and gas composition in a variety of formats. Data, equations, and theory are explained so that the user is able to understand the calculations and problems. Furthermore, data and solubility information are presented in a range of units to make them accessible across disciplines. This book will help the reader to look at a problem from a quantitative viewpoint and better understand carbonate chemistry. Revised from the earlier edition to include more accurate carbon dioxide tables and separate sections on the solubility of noble gases, trace gases, and oxygen in brines to provide a single resource for gas solubility data. This book is essential for all students and practitioners working in aquatic fields. A single source for highly accurate and comprehensive tables for gas solubility in aquatic systems Information provided in tables, equations, and computer programmes Theory is presented to better understand the equations and calculations
Call Number: QD142 .C64 2012ISBN: 9780124159167Publication Date: 2012-01-17
Introduction to Marine Biogeochemistry by
An Introduction to Marine Biogeochemistry focuses on the ocean's role in the biogeochemical cycling of selected elements and the impact of humans on the cycling of these elements. Among the topics covered are the chemical composition of seawater from the perspectives of elemental speciation and the impacts of solutes on water's physical behavior; biogeochemical phenomena which control accumulation and preservation of marine sediments; marine chemistry of radioactive and stable isotopes; and seawater pollution. The book contains many examples as well as steady-state models to aid readers in understanding this growing and complex science.. *The focus of Introduction to Marine Biogeochemistry is the concept of the ocean as a system, linking land and atmospheric processes. *The text integrates the most current research, allowing students to learn concepts in context *Includes detailed coverage of computational aspects *Offers an online companion site, including a full study guide, available for students
Call Number: GC116 .L53 2009ISBN: 9780120885305Publication Date: 2009-02-05
Chemical Oceanography and the Marine Carbon Cycle by
The principles of chemical oceanography provide insight into the processes regulating the marine carbon cycle. The text offers a background in chemical oceanography and a description of how chemical elements in seawater and ocean sediments are used as tracers of physical, biological, chemical and geological processes in the ocean. The first seven chapters present basic topics of thermodynamics, isotope systematics and carbonate chemistry, and explain the influence of life on ocean chemistry and how it has evolved in the recent (glacial-interglacial) past. This is followed by topics essential to understanding the carbon cycle, including organic geochemistry, air-sea gas exchange, diffusion and reaction kinetics, the marine and atmosphere carbon cycle and diagenesis in marine sediments. Figures are available to download from www.cambridge.org/9780521833134. Ideal as a textbook for upper-level undergraduates and graduates in oceanography, environmental chemistry, geochemistry and earth science and a valuable reference for researchers in oceanography.
Call Number: GC117.C37 E64 2008ISBN: 0521833132Publication Date: 2008-04-24
Inorganic Contaminants and Radionuclides by
Inorganic Contaminants and Radionuclides is a single reference covering common inorganic contaminants in detail, including their distribution in the environment, challenges linked to management, geogenic sources, anthropogenic sources, exposure and effects, international agreements and legislation relating to the contaminant, remediation options and global case studies. In addition, the book provides summaries of contaminated sites and key details about contaminants to present a more comprehensive understanding and improve remediation and management practices. The book's clear, consistent organization makes it a valuable resource for researchers, students and practitioners working in environmental science, environmental management and environmental engineering. One of the major constraints to assessing and remediating contaminated sites is the lack of awareness of the extent and severity of contaminated sites amongst the community, regulators, policymakers, industry operators, university graduates and environmental managers. This book helps to manage these constraints. Provides a one-stop reference on the nature and properties of inorganic contaminants, including a transdisciplinary approach to managing contaminated sites Includes global case studies covering contaminated site assessment, management and remediation Presents in-depth research and data on specific contaminants, with a separate chapter for each contaminant
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780323906852Publication Date: 2023-10-17
Thermodynamic and Thermophysical Properties of Saline Water by
This book accommodates the existing correlations, data, and methods for thermodynamic and thermophysical properties of saline water, including multiple components at a wide range of salinity (reaching around 200 g/kg), temperature, and pressure. The correlations of each property are plotted against existing experimental data to judge the comparative accuracy of each within a given specific range of salinity, temperature, and pressure. An assessment to recommend some correlations is also conducted. New correlations for some properties are also proposed. This book helps to provide the saline water properties as needed for engineers, designers, and research for different areas, including desalination and water treatment. All the analytical analysis, thermodynamic analysis, and design models of the desalination technologies depend on saline water properties. As scientists and researchers working on different desalination technologies, the authors found it difficult to find all saline water properties in one source, including multicomponent and binary salty solutions, under different conditions (salinity, temperature, and pressure). Therefore, the authors introduce this book to fill the gap in the open literature. This book compiles the thermodynamic and thermophysical properties of saline water, involving thermodynamic approaches, multicomponent models, and simple correlations and data, comparison between the correlations of properties in figures, recommendation of the most accurate correlations and methods, and the used codes to estimate these correlations and methods. It is expected that this book to be a principal source for all interests in desalination and water treatment subjects.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783031351921Publication Date: 2023-08-23
Emerging Contaminants in the Environment by
Emerging Contaminants in the Environment: Challenges and Sustainable Practices covers all aspects of emerging contaminants in the environment, from basic understanding to different types of emerging contaminants and how these threaten organisms, their environmental fate studies, detection methods, and sustainable practices of dealing with contaminants. Emerging contaminant remediation is a pressing need due to the ever-increasing pollution in the environment, and it has gained a lot of scientific and public attention due to its high effectiveness and sustainability. The discussions in the book on the bioremediation of these contaminants are covered from the perspective of proven technologies and practices through case studies and real-world data. One of the main benefits of this book is that it summarizes future challenges and sustainable solutions. It can, therefore, become an effective guide to the elimination (through sustainable practices) of emerging contaminants. At the back of these explorations on sustainable bioremediation of emerging contaminants lies the set of 17 goals articulated by the United Nations in its 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, adopted by all its member states. This book provides academics, researchers, students, and practitioners interested in the detection and elimination of emerging contaminants from the environment, with the latest advances by leading experts in emerging contaminants the field of environmental sciences. Covers most aspects of the most predominant emerging contaminants in the environment, including in soil, air, and water Describes the occurrence of these contaminants, the problems they cause, and the sustainable practices to deal with the contaminants Includes data from case studies to provide real-world examples of sustainable practices and emerging contaminant remediation
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780323859813Publication Date: 2022-01-08
Plastics in the Aquatic Environment - Part I by
This book offers a comprehensive review of how plastic pollution is affecting fresh and marine waters, and what the current challenges in plastic waste assessment and management in the aquatic environment are. Plastic waste comprises particles with heterogeneous physicochemical properties such as large size-range, different shapes and polymer types with various additives determining their environmental fate and risk. This complexity raises several open research questions which are explored in this book. Examples are the plastic uptake by aquatic organisms, degradation processes as well as sources and sinks in the environment. Readers will discover real case studies of plastic pollution detection and management in different parts of the world, including Asia, America and Europe, which provide an integrated overview of the global scope of this issue. This book and the companion volume Plastics in the Aquatic Environment - Part II: Stakeholders' Role Against Pollution are valuable resources to students, researchers, policymakers and environmental managers interested in plastic pollution and working towards its reduction.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783030841171Publication Date: 2021-10-30
Inorganic Pollutants in Water by
Inorganic Pollutants in Water provides a clear understanding of inorganic pollutants and the challenges they cause in aquatic environments. The book explores the point of source, how they enter water, the effects they have, and their eventual detection and removal. Through a series of case studies, the authors explore the success of the detection and removal techniques they have developed. Users will find this to be a single platform of information on inorganic pollutants that is ideal for researchers, engineers and technologists working in the fields of environmental science, environmental engineering and chemical engineering/ sustainability. Through this text, the authors introduce new researchers to the problem of inorganic contaminants in water, while also presenting the current state-of-the-art in terms of research and technologies to tackle this problem. Presents existing solutions to pollution problems, along with their challenges Includes case studies that detail success stories, challenges and the implementation of these tools Provides solutions that are both economically and ecologically sustainable
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128189665Publication Date: 2020-03-03
Inorganic Chemistry by
Inorganic Chemistry, Third Edition, emphasizes fundamental principles, including molecular structure, acid-base chemistry, coordination chemistry, ligand field theory and solid state chemistry. The book is organized into five major themes: structure, condensed phases, solution chemistry, main group and coordination compounds, each of which is explored with a balance of topics in theoretical and descriptive chemistry. Topics covered include the hard-soft interaction principle to explain hydrogen bond strengths, the strengths of acids and bases, and the stability of coordination compounds, etc. Each chapter opens with narrative introductions and includes figures, tables and end-of-chapter problem sets. This new edition features updates throughout, with an emphasis on bioinorganic chemistry and a new chapter on nanostructures and graphene. In addition, more in-text worked-out examples encourage active learning and prepare students for exams. This text is ideal for advanced undergraduate and graduate-level students enrolled in the Inorganic Chemistry course.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128143698Publication Date: 2019-10-30
A Blue Carbon Primer by
Key features: Captures the historic context and recent developments in science and policy arenas that address the potential for coastal wetlands to be considered as significant contributors to carbon sequestration Links multiple levels of science (biogeochemistry, geomorphology, paleoclimate, etc.) with blue carbon concepts (science, policy, mapping, operationalization, economics) in a single compendium Concludes with a discussion of future directions which covers integrated scientific approaches, impending threats and specific gaps in current knowledge Includes 7 case studies from across the globe that demonstrate the benefits and challenges of blue carbon accounting Written by over 100 leading global blue carbon experts in science and policy. Blue Carbon has emerged as a term that represents the distinctive carbon stocks and fluxes into or out of coastal wetlands such as marshes, mangroves, and seagrasses. The Blue Carbon concept has rapidly developed in science literature and is highly relevant politically, as nations and markets are developing blue carbon monitoring and management tools and policies. This book is a comprehensive and current compendium of the state of the science, the state of maps and mapping protocols, and the state of policy incentives (including economic valuation of blue carbon), with additional sections on operationalizing blue carbon projects and 7 case studies with global relevance.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781498769099Publication Date: 2018-11-20
Climate Change and the Oceanic Carbon Cycle by
This valuable compendium provides an overview of the variables and consequences of oceanic carbon cycling in the context of climate change. The chapters highlight the importance of marine plankton in carbon processing as well as the effects of rising CO2 and temperature in their functioning. Marine ecosystems are being increasingly threatened by growing human pressures, including climate change. Understanding the consequences that climate change may have is crucial to predict the future of our oceans. Rising temperatures and ocean acidification may profoundly alter the mode of matter and energy transformation in marine ecosystems, which could have irreversible consequences for our planet on ecological timescales. For that reason, the scientific community has engaged in the grand challenge of studying the variables and consequences of oceanic carbon cycling in the context of climate change, which has emerged as a relevant field of science. The book is broken into four sections: Understanding the Importance of Ocean Biogeochemistry Quantifying Oceanic Carbon Variables Phytoplankton and Oceanic Carbon Cycle Ocean Acidification Edited by a researcher with many years of experience and with contributions from scientists from around the world, this volume explores the most important topics on climate change and oceanic carbon cycling.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781771885362Publication Date: 2016-12-15
Biogeochemistry of Marine Dissolved Organic Matter by
Marine dissolved organic matter (DOM) is a complex mixture of molecules found throughout the world's oceans. It plays a key role in the export, distribution, and sequestration of carbon in the oceanic water column, posited to be a source of atmospheric climate regulation. Biogeochemistry of Marine Dissolved Organic Matter, Second Edition, focuses on the chemical constituents of DOM and its biogeochemical, biological, and ecological significance in the global ocean, and provides a single, unique source for the references, information, and informed judgments of the community of marine biogeochemists. Presented by some of the world's leading scientists, this revised edition reports on the major advances in this area and includes new chapters covering the role of DOM in ancient ocean carbon cycles, the long term stability of marine DOM, the biophysical dynamics of DOM, fluvial DOM qualities and fate, and the Mediterranean Sea. Biogeochemistry of Marine Dissolved Organic Matter, Second Edition, is an extremely useful resource that helps people interested in the largest pool of active carbon on the planet (DOC) get a firm grounding on the general paradigms and many of the relevant references on this topic. Features up-to-date knowledge of DOM, including five new chapters The only published work to synthesize recent research on dissolved organic carbon in the Mediterranean Sea Includes chapters that address inputs from freshwater terrestrial DOM
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780124071537Publication Date: 2014-10-02
Ocean Acidification by
The ocean helps moderate climate change thanks to its considerable capacity to store CO2, through the combined actions of ocean physics, chemistry, and biology. This storage capacity limits the amount of human-released CO2 remaining in the atmosphere. As CO2 reacts with seawater, it generatesdramatic changes in carbonate chemistry, including decreases in pH and carbonate ions and an increase in bicarbonate ions. The consequences of this overall process, known as "ocean acidification", are raising concerns for the biological, ecological, and biogeochemical health of the world's oceans,as well as for the potential societal implications.This research level text is the first to synthesize the very latest understanding of the consequences of ocean acidification, with the intention of informing both future research agendas and marine management policy. A prestigious list of authors has been assembled, among them the coordinators ofmajor national and international projects on ocean acidification.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0199591091Publication Date: 2011-11-10
Ocean Dynamics and the Carbon Cycle by
This textbook for advanced undergraduate and graduate students presents a multidisciplinary approach to understanding ocean circulation and how it drives and controls marine biogeochemistry and biological productivity at a global scale. Background chapters on ocean physics, chemistry and biology provide students with the tools to examine the range of large-scale physical and dynamic phenomena that control the ocean carbon cycle and its interaction with the atmosphere. Throughout the text observational data is integrated with basic physical theory to address cutting-edge research questions in ocean biogeochemistry. Simple theoretical models, data plots and schematic illustrations summarise key results and connect the physical theory to real observations. Advanced mathematics is provided in boxes and appendices where it can be drawn on to assist with the worked examples and homework exercises available online. Further reading lists for each chapter and a comprehensive glossary provide students and instructors with a complete learning package.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0521843693Publication Date: 2011-07-14
Handbook of Chemical Mass Transport in the Environment by
A comprehensive account of the state of the science of environmental mass transport Edited by Louis J. Thibodeaux and Donald Mackay, renowned experts in this field, the Handbook of Chemical Mass Transport in the Environmentcovers those processes which are critically important for assessing chemical fate, exposure, and risk. In a comprehensive and authoritative format, this unique handbook provides environmental chemists, geoscientists, engineers, and modelers with the essential capabilities to understand and quantify transport. In addition, it offers a one-stop resource on environmental mass transfer and mass transport coefficient estimation methods for all genres. The book begins by discussing mass transport fundamentals from an environmental perspective. It introduces the concept of mobility ” key to environmental fate, since transport must occur prior to any reaction or partitioning within the natural multimedia compartments. The fugacity approach to environmental mass transfer and the conventional approach are examined. This is followed by a description of the individual mass transport processes and the appropriate flux equations required for a quantitative expression. The editors have identified 41 individual processes believed to be the most environmentally significant, which form the basis for the remainder of the book Using a consistent format for easy reference, each chapter: Introduces the specific processes Provides a detailed qualitative description Presents key theoretical mathematical formulations Describes field or laboratory measurements of transport parameters Gives data tables and algorithms for numerical estimates Offers a guide for users familiar with the process who are seeking a direct pathway to obtain the numerical coefficients Presents computed example problems, case studies and/or exercises with worked-through solutions and answers The final chapter presents the editors " insight into future needs and emerging priorities. Accessible and relevant to a broad range of science and engineering users, this volume captures the state of the transport science and practice in this critical area.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781420047561Publication Date: 2011-02-01
