MSMS 6002 - Coral Reef Ecology
Coral Reef Ecology
MSMS 6002
Winter 2025
Coral reefs are one of the world’s most diverse, productive and widely studied ecosystems. Yet like most high-diversity ecosystems, they are threatened by a broad range of anthropogenic disturbances and climate change. This course is an introduction to coral biology and advanced research on the ecology of coral reefs. The course will focus on major aspects of coral reef biology (anatomy, skeleton formation, life history strategies), the geological history of reefs and their formation, and the ecology of corals reefs (population dynamics, demographics, reef community structure, diversity, effects of environmental disturbances, competition on coral reefs, coral reef fishes and novel research methods). Emphasis will be placed on the mechanisms and processes that shape coral reef communities and how they respond to global change. The course will combine the presentation of theoretical quantitative and conceptual models in lectures, and is designed for students to develop the ability to appreciate good science.
Required Textbooks:
All course materials are provided in as pdf files (e.g., scientific journal articles). No textbook is required for this course.
Supplemental Materials:
Corals and Reefs: From the Beginning to an Uncertain Future by
The health status and future of tropical coral reefs, as tourist destinations, are regularly subjected to media coverage. Many documentaries recognize the natural beauty and biological richness of the Australian Great Barrier Reef and French Polynesian lagoons, but point to the equally significant risk that would result from current global warming and human-made hazards. The future of coral reefs is usually a matter of death foretold, real or purely imaginary. In this context, it has become necessary to differentiate between what is falling within reality of scientific facts or fantasy. To this end, the present general review, in the expert translation of Charlotte Fontan aims at: (1) defining the conditions and life requirements of reefbuilding corals; (2) the history of corals along with that of a number of associated, skeletal organisms involved in reef building since the very beginning, i.e. the last 540 million years, including the ups and downs they have experienced; (3) giving special reference to the development patterns of recent and modern reefs; (4) projecting corals and reefs into a still unknown future. Understanding how corals and reefs have originated, how they have been able to face the major biological crises which have punctuated the Earths history, how they have survived is a prerequisite to better gain a significant picture of their future.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783031168871Publication Date: 2023
Coral Reefs in the Anthropocene by
This volume investigates the effects of human activities on coral reefs, which provide important life-supporting systems to surrounding natural and human communities. It examines the self-reinforcing ecological, economic and technological mechanisms that degrade coral reef ecosystems around the world. Topics include reefs and limestones in Earth history; the interactions between corals and their symbiotic algae; diseases of coral reef organisms; the complex triangle between reef fishes, seaweeds and corals; coral disturbance and recovery in a changing world. In addition, the authors take key recent advances in DNA studies into account which provides new insights into the population biology, patterns of species distributions, recent evolution and vulnerabilities to environmental stresses. These DNA analyses also provide new understandings of the limitations of coral responses and scales of management necessary to sustain coral reefs in their present states. Coral reefs have been essential sources of food, income and resources to humans for millennia. This book details the delicate balance that exists within these ecosystems at all scales, from geologic time to cellular interactions and explores how recent global and local changes influence this relationship. It will serve as an indispensable resource for all those interested in learning how human activities have affected this vital ecosystem around the world.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789401772495Publication Date: 2015-11-03
Coral Reefs in the Anthropocene by
This volume investigates the effects of human activities on coral reefs, which provide important life-supporting systems to surrounding natural and human communities. It examines the self-reinforcing ecological, economic and technological mechanisms that degrade coral reef ecosystems around the world. Topics include reefs and limestones in Earth history; the interactions between corals and their symbiotic algae; diseases of coral reef organisms; the complex triangle between reef fishes, seaweeds and corals; coral disturbance and recovery in a changing world. In addition, the authors take key recent advances in DNA studies into account which provides new insights into the population biology, patterns of species distributions, recent evolution and vulnerabilities to environmental stresses. These DNA analyses also provide new understandings of the limitations of coral responses and scales of management necessary to sustain coral reefs in their present states. Coral reefs have been essential sources of food, income and resources to humans for millennia. This book details the delicate balance that exists within these ecosystems at all scales, from geologic time to cellular interactions and explores how recent global and local changes influence this relationship. It will serve as an indispensable resource for all those interested in learning how human activities have affected this vital ecosystem around the world.
Call Number: MSMS 6002ISBN: 9789401772488Publication Date: 2015-11-18
Ecology of Fishes on Coral Reefs by
The local diversity and global richness of coral reef fishes, along with the diversity manifested in their morphology, behaviour and ecology, provides fascinating and diverse opportunities for study. Reflecting the very latest research in a broad and ever-growing field, this comprehensive guide is a must-read for anyone interested in the ecology of fishes on coral reefs. Featuring contributions from leaders in the field, the 36 chapters cover the full spectrum of current research. They are presented in five parts, considering coral reef fishes in the context of ecology, patterns and processes, human intervention and impacts, conservation, and past and current debates. Beautifully illustrated in full-colour, this book is designed to summarise and help build upon current knowledge and to facilitate further research. It is an ideal resource for those new to the field as well as for experienced researchers.
Call Number: QL620.45 .E26 2015ISBN: 9781107089181Publication Date: 2015-04-23
The Biology of Coral Reefs by
Coral reefs represent the most spectacular and diverse marine ecosystem on the planet as well as a critical source of income for millions of people. However, the combined effects of human activity have led to a rapid decline in the health of reefs worldwide, with many now facing complete destruction. This timely book provides an integrated overview of the function, physiology, ecology, and behaviour of coral reef organisms. Each chapter is enriched with a selection of 'boxes' on specific aspects written by internationally recognised experts. As with other books in the Biology of Habitats Series, the emphasis in this book is on the organisms that dominate this marine environment although pollution, conservation, climate change, and experimental aspects are also included. Indeed, particular emphasis is placed on conservation and management due to the habitat's critically endangered status. A global range of examples is employed which gives the book international relevance. This accessible text is intended for students, naturalists and professionals and assumes no previous knowledge of coral reef biology. It is particularly suitable for both senior undergraduate and graduate students (in departments of biology, geography, and environmental science) taking courses in coral reef ecology, marine biology, oceanography and conservation biology, as well as the many professional ecologists and conservation biologists requiring a concise overview of the topic. It is also of relevance and use to reef managers, recreational divers, and amateur naturalists.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780198566359Publication Date: 2009-10-04
- Corals of the WorldCorals of the World online is an interactive program, which captures global information about corals and makes it readily accessible to conservationists, educators and research scientists alike.
- Deliver a professional, formal presentation of an advanced topic on coral reef ecology or biology to a graduate audience
- Write a grammatically flawless, technically informed, well-structured report on a chosen graduate topic in coral reef ecology or biology
- Ask informed, in depth questions and elicit informed, in-depth answers from an interlocutor
- Answer challenging questions as define above in a formal, scientific, and coherent manner
- Demonstrate detailed knowledge of the treated materials by answering questions that may not immediately have an obvious or clear answer
- Demonstrate critical thinking ability by questioning or explaining complex processes with regards to coral reef ecology
- Discuss and explain different reef types and their genesis
- Discuss and explain different ecological functions and their importance on coral reefs
- Discuss and explain the interaction key ecosystem processes on coral reefs with local anthropogenic stressors and global change (e.g., climate change)
- Discuss and explain the diversity and community structure on coral reefs
- Discuss and explain the importance of reef fishes and their ecological roles on coral reefs
- Discuss and explain why there are coral reefs, and what they are, and how (and why) they differ among regions
 |
 |
Search:
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
If you have the DOI of an article, you can search for the article using DOI Tools.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find research tips, useful resources, and more by searching our LibGuides or browsing the topics below:
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes |