Library Guides: SharkWrites: Dr. Pallavi Patel College of Health Care Sciences: Journal Submission Guide

Best Practice

Check for Journal Authenticity/Quality

NSU Resources (login required)

Cabells
Cabells provides "Journalytics" for a curated list of over 11,000 academic journals spanning 18 disciplines, which includes metrics, editor contacts, acceptance rates, and more. Cabells also includes "Predatory Reports" --a list of journals with deceptive practices based on several criteria.
Journal Citation Reports
(JCR) list journals by category and you can examine their impact factor within that field
Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Search over 300,000 periodicals to find individual information about publisher, open-access status, abstracting & indexing coverage, reviews written by librarians, and more.

Websites to Check for Authenticity

Beall's list (archived version)
Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) membership
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA)
Scopus “preview” or free edition
NSU does not subscribe to Scopus. However, Scopus offers free journal rankings & journal metrics to non-subscribers.

Academic Publishing Models video

Great video created by the medical librarians at UCF. Provides a concise yet thorough explanation of the most common academic publishing models.

Manuscript Matchers/Algorithms for Finding the Right Journal

Use the following tools to enter your title/abstract to generate journal suggestions.

Use the following tool to enter a keyword to generate journal suggestions OR search by journal title to view journals' publisher data.

SPI-Hub (created by Vanderbilt University)

The following Publisher tools to generate journal suggestions.

Journal Directories

UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
Search over 300,000 periodicals to find individual information about publisher, open-access status, abstracting & indexing coverage, reviews written by librarians, and more.

Journals Indexed by MEDLINE
This is a dynamic list of the slightly over 5,200 journals that have been specially chosen for inclusion and indexing in the MEDLINE database.

Directory of Open Access Journals
Search over 12,000 journals by subject, journal license, article processing charge, peer review process, and publisher.

University of Toledo Instructions to Authors in Health Sciences
Librarians at the University of Toledo, Ohio, have created a directory of over 6,000 journals which link to each of those journal's about page.

SHERPA/RoMEO
Search over 3,000 journals by Journal Title or ISSN to learn about an individual journal's copyright policy, restrictions, and general conditions.

Don't forget

Don't forget during the research process to ask your Library Liaison to help you identify subject specific resources to strengthen & support your research