Contracts
This library guide was created to assist J.D. students in Contracts at NSU Shepard Broad College of Law, organizing online resources made available by the law library.
Contracts Library Guide
This Contracts Law Library Guide seeks to help J.D. students in mastering course material by offering links to selected resources related to the common law and the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC). These resources include, but are not limited to, case briefs, outlines, study aids, multimedia resources, practice multiple-choice questions and answers, and practice essay questions and answers.
Collection of UCC-related Content
Black's Law Dictionary
For a definition of the Uniform Commercial Code, please click here.
To conduct a search of a definition in Black's Law Dictionary on Westlaw, please click here.
The Uniform Commercial Code (UCC)
Please click here to access the UCC on LexisNexis.
West Academic Study Aids
These class preparation resources below provide case briefs keyed to specific casebooks.
-
High Court Case Summaries on Contracts (Keyed to Farnsworth, Sanger, Cohen, Brooks, and Garvin, 10th)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Farnsworth, Sanger, Cohen, Brooks, and Garvin's casebook on Contracts. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887865003Publication Date: December 15, 2023 -
High Court Case Summaries on Contracts, (Keyed to Knapp, Crystal, and Prince, 9th)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Knapp's casebook on Contracts. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636594903Publication Date: September 22, 2021 -
High Court Summaries on Contracts (Keyed to Ayres, Klass, and Stone, 10th)
by
This product contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in Ayres, Klass, and Stone's casebook on Contracts. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core “take away” knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887868370Publication Date: March 29, 2024 -
High Court Summaries on Contracts, (Keyed to Burton)
by
This title contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in this casebook. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core “take away” knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781642425949Publication Date: May 1, 2019 -
High Court Case Summaries on Contracts (Keyed to Dawson, Harvey, Henderson, and Baird, 11th)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Dawson, Harvey, Henderson, and Baird's casebook on Contracts. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781684673773Publication Date: September 25, 2019 -
High Court Summaries on Contracts (Keyed to Fuller)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Fuller, Eisenberg, and Gergen’s casebook on Contracts. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781642425192Publication Date: August 1, 2019
Aspen Learning Library
-
Casenote Legal Briefs for Contracts Keyed to Barnett and Oman
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion. Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses: Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543841268Publication Date: 2021-08-30 -
Casenote Legal Briefs for Contracts, Keyed to Farnsworth, Sanger, Cohen, Brooks, and Garvin's, 10th ed.
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion.
Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses:
Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.
There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases
Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798889065555Publication Date: February 20, 2024 -
Casenote Legal Briefs for Contracts, Keyed to Knapp, Crystal, and Prince, Hart, and Silverstein's Problems in Contract Law: Cases and Materials, 10th ed.
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion.
Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses:
Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.
There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases
Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798886143522Publication Date: July 12, 2023
Quimbee
Please click here to find case briefs keyed to your specific casebook.
LexisNexis
Please click here for a case brief bank from LexisNexis.
West Academic Study Aids
These selected study aids below are intended to provide content about the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC).
-
Acing Contracts
by
In addition to the clear and organized structure of the doctrinal material that one finds in the Acing Series, the Second Edition of Acing Contracts separates discussion of the common law from the Uniform Commercial Code in key areas to allow students to grasp essential concepts more easily. This includes a comprehensive revision to the Chapters on Offer and Acceptance, Consideration, and the Parol Evidence Rule.
This edition includes more sample problems with an emphasis on problems dealing with Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. Sample answers are written in IRAC structure (“Issue, Rule, Analysis, Conclusion”) to provide students with clear examples to show application of the process to written analysis.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781642422467Publication Date: May 2, 2022 -
Epstein, Markell, and Ponoroff's a Short and Happy Guide to Contracts, 3d
by
This efficient and exceedingly effective guide to Contracts will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on making the key concepts of contract law, and the relationship among those concepts, easier to understand and retain. The authors have also infused the book with humor, believing there is nothing inconsistent between a rigorous academic experience and having a little fun. Each of the authors is nationally renowned law teacher who has taught Contracts for decades. Based on that experience, in this book they have set forth understandable techniques for mastering the law governing each critical aspect of the contract relationship, including, contract formation (offer and acceptance), enforcement (consideration and defenses), interpretation, performance, breach, and remedies.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887866406Publication Date: November 18, 2024 -
Quick Review of Contracts
by
Quick Review of Contracts is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.This edition is cross-referenced with the author's Sum and Substance Audio on Contracts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781683286769Publication Date: September 13, 2018 -
Contracts in a Nutshell
by
This Nutshell provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. It contains detailed explanations of contract concepts under both the common law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, as well as the basics of restitution law. It also provides an extensive introduction to contracts in the digital age.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647081232Publication Date: September 26, 2022 -
Uniform Commercial Code in a Nutshell
by
This product provides a concise yet comprehensive introduction to the Uniform Commercial Code for students and practitioners alike. It covers each major topic of the Code, including the process of selling, payment, negotiation, shipping, storage, financing sales, and leasing of goods. It also includes new UCC Article 12, which provides legal rules governing the transfer of property rights in certain digital assets known as "controllable electronic records." In addition, the text makes it possible for readers to see how the various articles of the Code may interact in a single transaction. Wherever practicable, the actual language of the Code and its comments has been used. The comprehensive outline, references to relevant authority, and intuitive system of cross-referencing all contribute to its ease of use. This ninth edition contains the 2022 Amendments, which included new Article 12, extensive updates to Article 9, and more modest updates to Articles 1, 2, 2A, 3, 4, 4A, 5, 7, and 8.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685614751Publication Date: September 26, 2023 -
Sales and Leases of Goods in a Nutshell
by
The fifth edition of Sales and Leases of Goods in a Nutshell is an invaluable resource for those studying Articles 2 and 2A of the UCC. The Nutshell begins with a discussion of when Article 2 versus Article 2A applies to a transaction; the relationship among Articles 2, 2A, and 9; and the predominant purpose test. Early chapters cover contract formation; the Statute of Frauds and the parol evidence rule; assignment and delegation; warranties, including a short discussion of Magnuson-Moss; unconscionability; and good faith purchasers, subsequent lessees, and sublessees. The last half of the Nutshell begins with performance issues, such as the perfect tender rule; acceptance, rejection, and revocation of acceptance; cure; risk of loss; and excuse. Anticipatory repudiation and the adequate assurance doctrine are covered. The Nutshell closes with an extensive examination of the remedy provisions of Article 2 and 2A, as well as the UCC's rules on the liquidation and limitation of remedies.More than 150 examples in the text - drawn from the case law, the commentaries for the UCC and the Restatement, and the author's teaching hypotheticals - demonstrate how the UCC's language operates in practice. In addition, several diagrams and flowcharts provide the reader with a user-friendly illustration of difficult concepts, such as the Battle of the Forms.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685611132Publication Date: May 1, 2023 -
Step-by-Step Guide to Contracts
by
The Step-by-Step Guide to Contracts is an interactive workbook designed to effectively prepare students to pass exams. The most heavily tested legal rules are presented in a format that mirrors the way they arise as issues in typical testing fact patterns. Rule statements are set out in easy-to-memorize statements, with a breakdown of the element components and logical steps to take to apply new facts to each legal element.
Fluency with the legal terminology is also essential to exam success, so this Step-by-Step Guide includes fill-in-the-blank spaces to help you learn and memorize definitions of key terms as they are introduced, and a glossary of selected terms at the end for further reference.
In addition to learning the law and memorizing key rules and terms, success in law school also requires the hard work of deep learning, engaging with problems to test your own knowledge, and working toward gaining a strong command of all testable topics. To that end, this Guide contains short-answer Test Yourself questions. Working through these questions and then reading the answers and explanations to determine where your understanding is clear and where you must do additional work will help you master the skill of applying the relevant rules to new and different fact patterns. In addition to the short-answer questions, this Guide also includes numerous full-length essay questions with sample answers —providing further practice to test your knowledge and deepen your learning.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647088019Publication Date: November 2, 2021
LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Mastering Contract Law
by
Mastering Contract Law explores the basic principles and purposes of contract law, including a discussion of background principles and traditions of private ordering. The book explains contract formation, interpretation, and the requirement of written evidence for enforcement of certain types of promises. It explores the themes and doctrines of reliance, restitution, and the importance of public policy in contract law. Chapters include all of the areas of contract law typically covered in the first-year course, including the bargained-for exchange, unenforceable contracts, performance and breach, obstacles to performance, modification, pre-contractual obligation, remedies and damages, and stakeholders other than contracting parties, including the third-party beneficiary doctrine, delegation and assignment. The organization of the book reflects the five sequential questions that frame the thought processes of lawyers and judges dealing with contracts issues. For example, before considering whether a party's conduct amounts to a breach, a judge would answer the question whether the parties had indeed formed a contract. In addition to explaining the major cases traditionally covered in contracts classes, the authors present common-sense examples and hypotheticals in order to link student intuitions about fairness and competition to the law of contracting.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781611633313Publication Date: May 1, 2011 -
Understanding Contracts
by
Understanding Contracts is designed for use by first-year law students in their contracts course. The text explains common law principles of contract law using cases and examples that students commonly encounter in this first-year course. It also explains and illustrates Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, which deals with sales of goods that are frequently covered in contracts. It includes material on the United Nations Convention on the International Sale of Goods, and the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts, appropriate to a basic course in contracts and on modern statutes regarding electronic contracting. The fifth edition describes key provisions of the recently adopted Restatement on the Law of Consumer Contracts and includes discussions of recent decisions dealing with consumer arbitration clauses.
Understanding Contracts was written to help law students with what is likely to be one of their most challenging first-year courses. It explains how key concepts apply in several recurring basic fact patterns similar to those students will encounter in the course. It then builds on those fact patterns to explain how the law is more difficult to apply in business transactions with more complex facts. A key feature of Understanding Contracts that is not found in other similar books is its conscious incorporation of basic explanations of the common business practices to which the law of contracts applies. This feature helps students, many of whom have not had any background in the business world, understand contract law in the business settings in which it frequently applies. The book also provides detailed topic headings that students can use to develop their own comprehensive course outline.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531025373Publication Date: February 16, 2023 -
Skills & Values Contracts, 2d ed.
by
The Skills & Values Series is an innovative hybrid series of subject-specific, practice-oriented books and online materials supported by Web Courses (powered by Blackboard 9.1). The series is designed as a tool for professors to teach practical and analytical skills that can help students serve future clients competently, skillfully, and in an ethical manner. Skills & Values: Contracts allows students to experience the connection between theory, doctrine, and practice in Contracts law. The exercises provide an opportunity for studying Contract concepts from the perspective of a practicing attorney who must not only know the law, but also employ lawyering skills and values - such as legal strategy, factual development, advocacy, counseling, drafting, problem solving, and ethical principles - in zealously representing a client. Each chapter in Skills & Values: Contracts addresses a specific topic covered in most Contracts law school courses. The chapters begin with an introduction to help bridge the gap between the actual practice of law and the doctrine and theory studied in class. Students will then have the opportunity to engage in active, "hands on" learning by working through a stand-alone exercise that simulates a real-life legal dilemma. The exercises are as authentic as possible, incorporating real-world situations and materials. The self-assessment tools suggest ways that a practicing attorney might have approached each exercise. It is not meant to provide "the answer," but to identify issues and strategies students should have considered in order to effectively represent a client. The companion Web Course also contains: • forms to assist students to complete some of the exercises • links to key materials • multiple choice quiz questions • supplemental materials designed to increase students’ understanding of both doctrine and practice. The text in the book will prompt readers to access the online Web Course materials when the materials are relevant to an exercise. The eBook versions of this title feature links to Lexis Advance for further legal research options.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: September 23, 2015
Aspen Learning Library
-
Glannon Guide to Sales: Learning Sales Through Multiple-Choice Questions and Analysis, 5th ed.
by
The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here’s why you need to useâ¯Glannon Guidesâ¯to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom:
It mirrors the classroom experienceâ¯by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application.
Both correct and incorrect answersâ¯are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work.â¯
Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanationsâ¯of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
The Glannon Guide to Sales
Provides a comprehensive analysis of all major sections of UCC Articles 1, 2, and 2A
Models the multiple-choice questions that will be asked on the Bar Examination
Closing Closers demonstrate the concepts in the context of a contract for the sale of goods
New to the Fifth Edition
Incorporation of changes made by the 2022 Amendments to the UCC
Questions written in the format of the NextGen Bar Exam
Extensive text and questions on the UCC’s new “hybrid transaction” definition
New text and questions regarding the UCC’s updated definition of “conspicuous”
Application of the new “hybrid transaction” definition to transactions involving both goods and software
A dozen new “Closing Closer” questions to aid in students’ overall mastery of the material
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798892079617Publication Date: November 19, 2024 -
Examples and Explanations for Contracts
by
Examples and Explanations for Contract Law, Eighth Editionby Brian Blum provides new updates and additional cases for contract law in the student-loved Examples and Explanations format. The Examples and Explanations Series provides hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow modern contract law students to test their knowledge of the topics and compare their own analysis to the provided explanation. New to the Eighth Edition: New up-to-date cases in every chapter. Substantially rewritten text for added clarity and accessibility. New hypothetical illustrations in the text and new or revised examples and explanations. Professors and students will benefit from: Additional cases and updates to the text and examples while remaining faithful to the conception of a clear and accessible text, aimed at students in the basic contracts course. Diagrams as visual aids throughout to aid in understanding. A focus on recent cases and included discussion of contemporary issues, particularly in the field of standard contracting. Coverage of all the topics that are likely to be taught in the basic contracts course and included coverage of UCC Article 2 to the extent appropriate in a contracts course. A brief transnational perspective on each topic covered.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543819939Publication Date: March 1, 2021 -
Emanuel CrunchTime for Contracts, Seventh Edition
by
When it’s exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel®CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers – you will be prepared for your next big test.
Here's why you will need Emanuel®CrunchTime to help you ace your exams:
Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam.
Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester
Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543827194Publication Date: September 4, 2023
Hornbooks
Hornbooks below provides an overview of Contract Law.
-
Uniform Commercial Code
by
This fully revised 7th Edition will give students a comprehensive introduction to the Uniform Commercial Code without burdening them with unnecessary detail: Articles 1 and 2 (sales), Articles 3, 4, 4A and 5 (payment systems), and Article 9 (secured transactions), as well as related statutes, amendments, regulations, and operating rules. The new edition deals not only with the 1999 revisions to Article 9 but also with the recent revisions to Article 1. This edition also addresses the earlier revisions to Articles 5, 3, and 4. It has limited coverage of the failed attempt to revise Article 2. A reference volume relied on by students, courts, and business lawyers for decades, the 7th Edition has been updated in light of modern practice and provides a useful resource for students and practitioners dealing with issues in sales, contracts, secured transactions, and payment systems.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781683285205Publication Date: February 24, 2022 -
Contracts
by
The author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subject of separate chapters.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314287700Publication Date: August 21, 2014 -
Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts, 7th
by
Recommended in more than 100 schools, the updated seventh edition of Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts is a readable primer that offers first-year law students a reliable overview of the major themes and leading cases in the field of the law of contracts. This contracts primer is straightforward and uncluttered, covering the main themes of the first-year contracts course, together with related cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781609303303Publication Date: June 3, 2013
Treatises
Treatises below provides an exposition of Contract Law.
Corbin on Contracts
Please click here for Corbin on Contracts.
Anderson on the Uniform Commercial Code
Please click here for Anderson on the UCC.
Practice Guide
Please click here for White & Summers' Uniform Commercial Code.
-
Principles of Contract Law
by
This study of contract law explains concepts clearly and concisely, in an informal, often humorous manner that has contributed to its great popularity with teachers and students over the years. The book covers both the classical cases and doctrine that comprise the foundations of contract law, and also recent cases and developments that have influenced twenty-first century contract law. The book builds on and enhances casebook material and is an excellent source for students to solidify their understanding of the classroom experience.To facilitate reading and understanding the rules and principles, the book includes numerous examples, illustrations, and cross-references. Further, many of the cases cited in the footnotes include short quotations to substantiate assertions made in the text and to help readers who wish to engage in additional research.In short, Principles of Contract Law has proven to be an excellent and reliable aid for teachers and students immersed in the study of contract law.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636590684Publication Date: January 18, 2023 -
Principles of Sales Law
by
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to Articles 1 and 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC). It provides a useful resource for students and practitioners dealing with sales or contract issues. Students of contracts or sales and any practitioner dealing with sales or contracts issues will profit from this book's use.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781683285021Publication Date: July 25, 2017 -
Sales Law, Domestic and International, 3d
by
Authoritative coverage describes and analyzes the law of sales under Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, as well as under the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods. Text provides the framework for sales and governing law, contract formation, implied terms, formal requirements, performance, and risk of loss. Also covers remedies, the rights to goods, and documentary sales.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781628101454Publication Date: November 20, 2015
Restatement of Law (Second) of Contracts
Please click here for Restatement (Second) of Contracts.
CALI Lessons on Contracts
The CALI Contracts Outline allows you to search for terms of art that correspond to topics you are studying to find suggestions for related CALI Lessons. The CALI Contracts Index lists all CALI Lessons covering Contracts.
Outlining Supplements from West Academic Study Aids
-
Gilbert Law Summaries on Sale and Lease of Goods
by
The topics discussed in the Sale and Lease of Goods outline are Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) Article 2, sales contract (including offer and acceptance, parol evidence rule, statute of frauds, assignment and delegation, and revision of contract terms). Also covered are types of sales, including cash sale transactions, auctions, "sale or return", and "sale on approval" transactions, express and implied warranties, and privity.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781684678686Publication Date: December 14, 2020 -
Gilbert Law Summaries on Contracts
by
This Contracts outline discusses consideration (including promissory estoppel and past consideration), offer and acceptance, interpretation, defenses (including mistake, fraud, duress, unconscionability, the Statute of Frauds, and illegality), third-party beneficiaries, assignment of rights, and delegation of duties. It also covers conditions, substantial performance, material vs. minor breach, anticipatory breach, impossibility, discharge, and remedies (including expectation damages, specific performance, and liquidated damages).
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314276193Publication Date: October 29, 2020 -
Black Letter Outline on Contracts
by
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area. Black Letter Outline on Contracts, 6th Edition covers everything contract-related--from the ancient roots of the subject (way before the authors were even teaching) through e-commerce and digital contracts. These contracts scholars lead you through every rabbit hole in the subject and always make sure you emerge into the light.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685611392Publication Date: December 8, 2023
Outlining Supplements from Aspen Learning Library
-
Emanuel Law Outlines for Contracts, 12th ed.
by
The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Created by Steven Emanuel, these course outlines have been relied on by generations of law students. Each title includes both capsule and detailed versions of the critical issues and key topics you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alpha-list of cases, and a cross reference table of cases for all of the leading casebooks.
Emanuel Law Outline Features:
#1 outline choice among law students
Comprehensive review of all major topics
Capsule summary of all topics
Cross-reference table of cases
Time-saving format
Great for exam prep
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543826418Publication Date: July 25, 2023
Outlining Supplement from Quimbee
Please click here to find contracts outline materials from Quimbee.
BarBri Outline from LexisNexis
Please click here to find a Contracts BarBri Outline from the LexisNexis platform.
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from West Academic Study Aids
-
Exam Pro on Contracts, Objective
by
Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts, Objective Questions includes over 330 objective questions covering every substantive area of Contract Law. Each answer choice explains why each answer is either correct or incorrect. Elements and rules are explained in easy-to-understand language, with a step-by-step guide on how to analyze question-types. Liberal citation to applicable sections of the Restatement (Second) Contracts, the Uniform Commercial Code, and important contract law cases, allows the students to match a question to his or her outline and class discussion. Exam preparation tips include how to prepare for graded exams, how professors construct multiple choice questions, and how to avoid common "distracters."
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314285966Publication Date: November 20, 2013
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Questions and Answers: Contracts (4th ed.)
by
The new fourth edition of Questions & Answers: Contracts contains additional, entirely new questions since the previous edition. The fourth edition contains new chapters on the Scope of UCC Article 2 and UETA (the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act), topics that will be tested on the new NextGen bar exam.
Understand better what you're learning in a contracts class by applying concepts as you learn them and prepare more effectively for exams and the bar exam. This study guide includes 203 multiple-choice and short-answer questions covering both common law contracts and the Uniform Commercial Code. These questions are arranged topically for ease of use during the semester. In addition, there is an additional set of 47 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." All questions are written in the format used on the traditional bar exam, with some using the format of the new NextGen bar exam.
For each multiple-choice question, Professor Burnham provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Burnham provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531031138Publication Date: September 25, 2025
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from Aspen Learning Library
-
Strategies & Tactics for the Finz Multistate Method, 6th ed.
by
Strategies & Tactics for the FINZ Multistate Method, Sixth Edition, is an indispensable tool for both law school exams and the Multistate Bar Exam. It features more than 1200 multiple-choice questions and detailed answers unavailable elsewhere.
New to the Sixth Edition:
16 new questions in Civil Procedure
19 new questions in Constitutional Law
18 new questions each in Contracts, Criminal Law, Evidence, and Property
17 new questions in Torts
16 new questions in the Practice Exam
Students will benefit from:
More than 1200 multiple-choice questions and answers: Each question contains a sophisticated and intricate fact pattern that tests your ability to pull out the essential facts and tie them to the rules and theories you’ve learned in class. The answers not only explain the reasoning behind the correct choice, but also why the other choices are incorrect.
Coverage of first-year subjects: Questions and detailed answers for each first-year course—Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law (including Criminal Procedure), Property (including Future Interests), and Torts—as well as the upper-year subject of Evidence.
Supplemental questions for your bar review: Every question is written in the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) style for school exams or MBE preparation and complies with the latest MBE formats. If you’re taking a bar review course, you still need Strategies & Tactics for the Finz Multistate Method because our questions are written in the MBE style and format, but are not actual released exam questions, so we guarantee you’ve never seen these questions before in your MBE review materials.
Special section on how to handle MBE-style questions: The book includes an In-depth guide, “Strategies & Tactics—Playing the MBE Game to Win,” on handling the MBE and MBE-style multiple-choice questions—how to break the question down to the essential facts, how to recognize the legal issues, how to avoid the examiners’ traps and pitfalls, and how to pick the right answer and avoid being misled by the wrong answers.
Complete MBE-style practice exam: The book comes with a complete 200-question practice exam, with detailed answers that explain the reasoning behind the correct choice and why each of the other choices is incorrect.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543858549Publication Date: February 23, 2023 -
Glannon Guide to Sales: Learning Sales Through Multiple-Choice Questions and Analysis, 5th ed.
by
The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here’s why you need to useâ¯Glannon Guidesâ¯to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom:
It mirrors the classroom experienceâ¯by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application.
Both correct and incorrect answersâ¯are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work.â¯
Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanationsâ¯of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
The Glannon Guide to Sales
Provides a comprehensive analysis of all major sections of UCC Articles 1, 2, and 2A
Models the multiple-choice questions that will be asked on the Bar Examination
Closing Closers demonstrate the concepts in the context of a contract for the sale of goods
New to the Fifth Edition
Incorporation of changes made by the 2022 Amendments to the UCC
Questions written in the format of the NextGen Bar Exam
Extensive text and questions on the UCC’s new “hybrid transaction” definition
New text and questions regarding the UCC’s updated definition of “conspicuous”
Application of the new “hybrid transaction” definition to transactions involving both goods and software
A dozen new “Closing Closer” questions to aid in students’ overall mastery of the material
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798892079617Publication Date: November 19, 2024
-
Glannon Guide to Contracts
by
Thoroughly teaching all legal terrain through which your first-year contracts course will lead you, the Fourth Edition of The Glannon Guide to Contracts will stand by your side as a constant course companion. Its user-friendly style, its stories, its scenarios, and its illustrations, make contract law come alive, turning your course into an adventure of intellectual fun as, meanwhile, you learn the law of first-year contracts--all of it.
Like all Glannon Guides, this book is interactive; it's replete with multiple choice problems--one after another, after another--each one requiring that you take hold of human dealings and events and apply to them the law you've learned, with each problem followed by elaborate analyses as to why--exactly why--the right answers are right, and why--exactly why--the wrong ones are wrong. For the first-year law student, The Glannon Guide to Contracts cuts a clear and lighted path from the first day of class to the final exam.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543857740Publication Date: March 19, 2024 -
MBE Decoded
by
MBE Decoded is a fresh approach to MBE study which makes the vast amount of MBE tested rules manageable and understandable. The authors fully analyzed all NCBE released MBE questions to determine rule coverage and identify common testing patterns so you don’t have to. This book can be used during law school for early bar preparation or during intensive bar preparation by first-time takers and repeat bar takers who struggled on the MBE the first time. This book is a great resource for students to get essential MBE practice before they fully “know” the law, allowing students to get additional essential practice recognizing the fact patterns and testing styles that are key to passing. Pedagogically, this book encourages students to engage with the material, develop deep rule understanding, gain MBE pattern recognition, and aids in critical memorization efforts.
Professors and student will benefit from:
MBE black letter law subject matter outlines that are clear and concise with key terms bolded.
Identification of the most frequently tested MBE rules.
Summary charts to help you understand confusing topics and how they interrelate.
MBE tips to improve accuracy and understanding of how the rules apply to fact patterns.
Decoy tips to help you avoid picking the wrong answer when more than one good option is available.
Examples, pulled from NCBE MBE released questions, which illustrate how the rules are MBE tested.
Bullet point memorization cheat sheets.
Guided MBE question deconstructions illustrating best MBE solving practices.
A guide on how to effectively solve MBE questions with troubleshooting tips to help improve your accuracy.
Guidance on effectively taking an MBE exam online.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543830910Publication Date: April 12, 2021
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from Quimbee
Please click here for contracts multiple-choice practice exam questions and answers.
Essay Questions and Answers from West Academic Study Aids
-
Gilbert Law Summaries on Contracts
by
This Contracts outline discusses consideration (including promissory estoppel and past consideration), offer and acceptance, interpretation, defenses (including mistake, fraud, duress, unconscionability, the Statute of Frauds, and illegality), third-party beneficiaries, assignment of rights, and delegation of duties. It also covers conditions, substantial performance, material vs. minor breach, anticipatory breach, impossibility, discharge, and remedies (including expectation damages, specific performance, and liquidated damages).
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314276193Publication Date: October 29, 2020
-
Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts, Essay
by
This Exam Pro consists of essay questions actually given by Contracts professors throughout the United States. Every question contains a detailed explanation, along with analytical steps explained in easy-to-understand, basic language, and a step-by-step guide on how to analyze each major issue. Both Professor "model" answers and student "actual" answers are provided to allow students to get a feel for all the issues that could have been discussed on some questions, and what is realistic for a student to actually answer under timed conditions. The Preface includes tips on how to take essay exams. A general "List of Issues" covered on each question is provided, so the student can decide whether or not to use a particular question given the course coverage in the student's Contracts class. Similarly, an "Index of Issues" is provided so the student can easily find all the questions that deal with a particular substantive issue which allows for repetitive testing on a troublesome issue. Each answer includes cross-references to the applicable sections of the Restatement (Second) Contracts and the Uniform Commercial Code, and citations to the more important cases in Contracts law, allowing the student to easily match the subject matter of the question to his or her outline and class discussion. Cross-references are included in every answer to relevant portions of Sum & Substance: Quick Review of Contracts, allowing for easy reference if more substantive knowledge is either needed or desired.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314286048Publication Date: January 15, 2014 -
Acing Contracts
by
In addition to the clear and organized structure of the doctrinal material that one finds in the Acing Series, the Second Edition of Acing Contracts separates discussion of the common law from the Uniform Commercial Code in key areas to allow students to grasp essential concepts more easily. This includes a comprehensive revision to the Chapters on Offer and Acceptance, Consideration, and the Parol Evidence Rule.This edition includes more sample problems with an emphasis on problems dealing with Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. Sample answers are written in IRAC structure ("Issue, Rule, Analysis, Conclusion") to provide students with clear examples to show application of the process to written analysis.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781642422467Publication Date: May 2, 2022
Essay Questions and Answers from Aspen Learning Library
-
Emanuel CrunchTime for Contracts, 7th ed.
by
When it’s exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel®CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers – you will be prepared for your next big test.
Here's why you will need Emanuel®CrunchTime to help you ace your exams:
Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam.
Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester
Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543827194Publication Date: September 4, 2023
Essay Questions and Issue Spotting Content from Quimbee
Please click here for contracts practice essays and related content.
Video Resources
Aspen Learning Library
-
Sales: In Other Words (Video Series)
by
The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Sales lectures, Timothy Davis explains the topics of Buyer's Damages - Accepted Goods, Contract Formation, Delivery Terms and Risk of Loss, Rejection and the Perfect Tender Rule, Scope of Article 2, Section 2-207, Statute of Frauds, The Implied Warranty of Merchantability, and Warranty Disclaimers.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543823998 -
Contracts Law: In Other Words (Video Series)
by
The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Contract Law lectures, Andrew Schwartz explains the topics Acceptance of the Offer, Communication of Acceptance, Contractual Assent and Objective Test, Excuse Due to Changed Circumstances, Minority Doctrine, Offer, Specific Performance and Injunctions, Termination of the Power of Acceptance, and UCC Battle of the Forms.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543824094Publication Date: February 6, 2020
Quimbee
Please click here for a course on contracts exploring a variety of topics, including but not limited to, formation of contract.
Audio Resources
West Academic Study Aids
-
Sum and Substance Audio on the Sale and Lease of Goods by This audio collection presents a concise and effective guide to the law of Sales, which governs contracts for the sale of goods. Beautifully organized, it begins with Article 2’s scope and provides the keys to effective statutory interpretation. It then examines the essentials of contact formation, content, performance, breach and remedies. It is an excellent companion to courses on Sales Law, Contracts and Commercial Law. Taught by nationally acclaimed professor Paula Franzese, it makes difficult subject matter understandable and enjoyable.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019
-
Law School Legends Audio on Contracts by With Law School Legends, students get a brilliant law school professor explaining an entire subject in one simple, dynamic lecture. In this audio lecture, Professor David Epstein explains the important contract law concepts, the relationship among those concepts, and how a student can use the concepts to answer any question a professor might ask in class or on the examCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: August 9, 2024
-
Office Hours on Sales by Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: March 4, 2021
-
Office Hours on Contracts by Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: September 7, 2021
-
Sum and Substance Audio on Contracts by In this CD series the essentials of contract law are provided in a clear and convenient format. Topics are covered in the sequence of most casebooks and are broken up into tracks so the student can quickly focus on areas which need further explanation without having to listen to material already mastered. Major cases in contract law are analyzed and explained, and numerous hypotheticals for each major topic are provided. Finally, some “tricks” used by professors in class discussion are revealed and discussed, and each major topic ends with an explanation of how to identify and approach that subject on exams.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: June 6, 2018
LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Understanding Contracts by This Understanding treatise is designed for first-year law students enrolled in Contracts. The text explains common law principles of contract law using cases and examples that students commonly encounter in this first-year course. It draws illustrations from the Restatement (Second) of Contracts, and from Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code as it has been adopted in all fifty states. This edition includes expanded material on the United Nations Convention on the International Sale of Goods, and the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts, appropriate to a basic course in Contracts, and on modern statutes regarding electronic contracting. Understanding Contracts was written with the understanding that Contracts will be one of the most challenging courses first-year law students will take. It explains how key concepts apply in several recurring basic fact patterns. It then builds on those fact patterns to explain how the law is more difficult to apply in business transactions with more complex facts. A key feature of Understanding Contracts, that is not found in other similar books, is its conscious incorporation of basic explanations of the common business practices to which the law of contracts applies. The feature helps students, many of whom have not had any background in the business world, understand contract law in the business settings in which it frequently applies. The book also provides detailed topic headings that students can use to develop their own comprehensive course outline.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: July 1, 2024
Aspen Learning Library
-
Sales: In Other Words
by
The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Sales lectures, Timothy Davis explains the topics of Buyer's Damages - Accepted Goods, Contract Formation, Delivery Terms and Risk of Loss, Rejection and the Perfect Tender Rule, Scope of Article 2, Section 2-207, Statute of Frauds, The Implied Warranty of Merchantability, and Warranty Disclaimers.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543823783Publication Date: February 6, 2020 -
Aspen Aloud: Contracts
Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798889067498Publication Date: August 7, 2023 -
Contract Law: In Other Words Audio Series
by
The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Contract Law lectures, Andrew Schwartz explains the topics Acceptance of the Offer, Communication of Acceptance, Contractual Assent and Objective Test, Excuse Due to Changed Circumstances, Minority Doctrine, Offer, Specific Performance and Injunctions, Termination of the Power of Acceptance, and UCC Battle of the Forms.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543824094Publication Date: February 6, 2020
