Education Law

A guide to help students start their research in the topic of education law.

Treatises

Treatises contain detailed coverage and practical tips. These contain thorough explanations of the law and citations to relevant cases, statutes, regulations and other secondary sources.

Education Law: First Amendment, Due Process, & Discrimination
Ronna Greff Schneider
Discusses student and teachers freedom of religion and speech in public schools, school discipline and violence, and equality and inclusion issues.
Access via WestLaw
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.
Education Law
James A. Rapp
Nationally oriented work. An analysis.of federal and state statutes and cases affecting public and private educational institutions at all levels.
Access via Lexis
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.
The Law of Higher Education
William A. Kaplin and Barbara A. Lee
An up-to-date reference and guide for coursework in higher education law and programs preparing law students and higher education administrators for leadership roles.
Access via Ebook Central
Local and Remote for NSU only.

Study Aids

Study Aids can provide a good introduction to a new area of law and are useful when beginning your research.

Special Education Law In a Nutshell
Ruth Colker
Overview of legal topics relating to special education services for students in K-12 education.
Access via West Study Aid Subscription
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.
The Law of Schools, Students and Teachers in a Nutshell
Kern Alexander & David Alexander
Discusses students rights and responsibilities relating to a variety of first amendment and due process issues.
Access via West Study Aid Subscriptions.
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.

Law Reviews

Law Review Articles often discuss new, developing areas or recommended changes in the law.

BYU Education and Law Journal
Published by Brigham Young University
Addresses education and legal issues affecting elementary, secondary, and higher education.
Access via HeinOnline
Local for registered users. Remote for NSU only.
Journal of Law & Education
Published by Jefferson Law Book Company
Publishes articles relating to all aspects of law related to education with an emphasis on critical current and emerging issues in school law matters.
Access via HeinOnline
Local for registered users. Remote for NSU only.
International Journal of Law & Education
University of New Castle
International focus of emerging issues for educators, administrators and advocates.
Access via HeinOnline
Local for registered users. Remote for NSU only.

Databases

These databases, while not focused on law, discuss education from an interdisciplinary perspective.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
An education database sponsored by the Department of Education. Includes abstracts from 1966 and many full-text works from 1993 to present.
Access via ProQuest.
Local and Remote for NSU only.
Education Source
Offers the largest and most complete collection of full text education journals.
Access via EBSCO
Local and Remote for NSU only.
NSU Libraries- Education Databases
All NSU Libraries Databases within the education category.
Local and Remote for NSU only.