ENVS 1100, 1200, 2100 - Environmental Science
Course guide for Introduction to Environmental Science (ENVS 1100), Environmental Science (ENVS 1200) and Environmental Science Laboratory (ENVS 2100)
Environmental Science
ENVS 1100, 1200, 2100
Fall 2025
Introduction to Environmental Science provides students with a broad overview of a highly interdisciplinary subject by examining how man can best live with Earth's environment. The first semester concentrates on the biological nature of environmental science: NIMBY, environmental justice, eco-feminism, biological communities, biodiversity, population, food, and hunger.
Environmental Science provides students with a broad overview of a highly interdisciplinary subject by examining how humans can best live within the limits of the environment. The course concentrates on the biological and physical elements of natural systems, including the concepts of ecology, evolution, and earth systems science. The course includes an ethical and philosophical perspective, including stewardship, law, policy, and environmental justice. Also discussed are solutions to environmental problems with respect to current events.
Environmental Science Laboratory presents students with an opportunity to experience the practical work of an environmental scientist. Students will work collaboratively and use hands-on approaches to gain practical experience in many areas of this interdisciplinary science. Through laboratory, classroom, and on- and off-campus field experiences, students will learn to use equipment, make observations, collect data and test hypotheses related to environmental problems. Specific topics include population biology, biological diversity, geographic information systems, environmental quality/pollution, geology, environmental justice and environmental restoration. The course will include a collaborative capstone project investigating an ongoing, local environmental issue.
Required Textbooks for Introduction to Environmental Science I (ENVS 1100):
-
Environment: The Science Behind the Stories
by
For courses in introductory environmental science. This ISBN is for the Modified Mastering access card. Pearson eText is included. See the data, connections, and solutions behind environmental issues Environment: The Science behind the Stories is known for its friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. With the 7th Edition, engaging new features open learners' eyes to environmental issues, making it easy to see the data with new infographic-style illustrations, see the connections between the case studies and their own lives with new local connections activities, and see potential solutions with new success stories features. The new edition provides new levels of integration between the text, Mastering, and Pearson eText with digital components built into every hallmark feature, giving learners seamless access to the tools and resources they need to succeed. Personalize learning with Mastering Environmental Science By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, Mastering personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. Mastering Environmental Science extends learning and provides students with a platform to practice, learn, and apply knowledge outside of the classroom. You are purchasing an access card only. Before purchasing, check with your instructor to confirm the correct ISBN. Several versions of the MyLab(tm) and Mastering(tm) platforms exist for each title, and registrations are not transferable. To register for and use MyLab or Mastering, you may also need a Course ID, which your instructor will provide. If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for the Mastering platform may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780135866047Publication Date: 2020-05-16 -
Mastering Environmental Science
by
For courses in introductory environmental science. This ISBN is for the Modified Mastering access card. Pearson eText is included. See the data, connections, and solutions behind environmental issues Environment: The Science behind the Stories is known for its friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. With the 7th Edition, engaging new features open learners' eyes to environmental issues, making it easy to see the data with new infographic-style illustrations, see the connections between the case studies and their own lives with new local connections activities, and see potential solutions with new success stories features. The new edition provides new levels of integration between the text, Mastering, and Pearson eText with digital components built into every hallmark feature, giving learners seamless access to the tools and resources they need to succeed. Personalize learning with Mastering Environmental Science By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, Mastering personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. Mastering Environmental Science extends learning and provides students with a platform to practice, learn, and apply knowledge outside of the classroom. You are purchasing an access card only. Before purchasing, check with your instructor to confirm the correct ISBN. Several versions of the MyLab(tm) and Mastering(tm) platforms exist for each title, and registrations are not transferable. To register for and use MyLab or Mastering, you may also need a Course ID, which your instructor will provide. If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for the Mastering platform may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9780135866047Publication Date: 2020-05-16
Required Textbooks for Environmental Science (ENVS 1200):
-
Environmental Science: A Global Concern
by
"Environmental science focuses on understanding challenges that affect our lives, and on finding solutions to those challenges. Your decision to study environmental science is an important step. This field can help you find answers to some of the most important problems facing us today. Environmental science is an integrative field. It draws on diverse knowledge bases and skills to address issues: For example, preserving healthy ecosystems depends on strategies such as reducing greenhouse gas emissions, developing renewable energy systems, reducing pollution, improving social and environmental justice, improving sustainable farming systems, and reducing resource consumption"--
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781264647842Publication Date: 2023-01-01
No required textbooks for Environmental Science Laboratory (ENVS 2100).
-
Environmental Science: A Global Concern
by
"Environmental science focuses on understanding challenges that affect our lives, and on finding solutions to those challenges. Your decision to study environmental science is an important step. This field can help you find answers to some of the most important problems facing us today. Environmental science is an integrative field. It draws on diverse knowledge bases and skills to address issues: For example, preserving healthy ecosystems depends on strategies such as reducing greenhouse gas emissions, developing renewable energy systems, reducing pollution, improving social and environmental justice, improving sustainable farming systems, and reducing resource consumption"--
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9781264647842Publication Date: 2023-01-01
- Identify the principles of environmental ethics
- Apply concepts of environmentalism to be a change agent for an environmental cause
- Apply the principles of human growth patterns to local problems
- Identify the biotic and abiotic factors that influence population density
- Develop a philosophical position relating to the environment
- Evaluate problems of populations in third world and developing countries
- Synthesize and construct the principles of ecology, taxonomy, biography
- Identify variations in life forms resulting in adaptation to the environment
- Identify the major characteristics and processes of world biomes and communities, including succession energy flow in food chains, and interrelationship of organisms
- Analyze food chains, food webs, biomass, habitats
- Compare and contrast major animal phyla groups, species
- Compare and contrast pesticide use described in "Silent Spring" with pesticide use today
- Identify current technology and its uses in the science
- Analyze how environmental ethics underlies the modern philosophies of environmentalism and sustainability.
- Understand how matter and energy move through living and physical systems.
- Understand how organisms interact and adapt to biological and physical conditions.
- Understand how the distribution of resources affects human populations, economics, and sustainability.
- Understand how law and policy are used to restore degraded systems and mitigate the risk of future damage.
- Apply concepts from course to analyze case studies and current events.
- Compare and contrast methods of biological conservation and species preservation.
- Demonstrate the ability to collect, maintain and analyze environmental datasets
- Demonstrate the ability to apply the scientific method and to state, test and draw conclusions from hypotheses
- Demonstrate the ability to apply the principles of environmental and natural sciences in a real world setting
- Demonstrate practical knowledge for working in field and laboratory settings, both independently and collaboratively
- Demonstrate familiarity with sustainability concepts, including the integration of natural and social sciences, necessary for the study and amelioration of environmental problems
- Demonstrate the ability to effectively communicate their findings through scientific writing, lab reports, and oral presentations
Library Quick Search
Search our library resources by selecting an option below:
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
If you have the DOI of an article, you can search for the article using DOI Tools.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find research tips, useful resources, and more by searching our LibGuides or browsing the topics below:
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes |
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries