Evidence
This library guide organizes online resources on Evidence for J.D. students at Nova Southeastern University, Shepard Broad College of Law.
Evidence Library Guide
Welcome to the Evidence Library Guide designed to assist J.D. students in mastering course material. This guide offers a comprehensive collection of resources including case briefs, outlines, study aids/hornbooks, practice multiple-choice questions, practice essay questions, and CALI lessons. Additionally, you'll find multimedia resources such as video and audio content.
If you need assistance accessing one of the resources, please reach out to the Panza Maurer Law Library.
Evidence Content
The following resources are study aids that provide case briefs keyed to specific casebooks:
West Academic Study Aids
-
High Court Case Summaries on Evidence (Keyed to Fisher, 4th)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Fisher's casebook on Evidence. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647082338Publication Date: March 29, 2023 -
High Court Case Summaries on Evidence (Keyed to Park and Friedman, 13th)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Park and Friedman's casebook on Evidence. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781684673797Publication Date: December 11, 2019 -
High Court Case Summaries on Evidence (Keyed to Mueller, 9th)
by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Mueller’s casebook on Evidence. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781684673728Publication Date: August 6, 2019
Aspen Learning Library
-
Casenote Legal Briefs for Evidence Keyed to Fisher, Fourth Edition
by
After your casebook, Casenote Legal Briefs will be your most important reference source for the entire semester. It is the most popular legal briefs series available, with over 140 titles, and is relied on by thousands of students for its expert case summaries, comprehensive analysis of concurrences and dissents, as well as of the majority opinion in the briefs.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798889063438Publication Date: 2023-08-29 -
Casenote Legal Briefs for Evidence, Keyed to Mueller, Kirkpatrick, and Richter's, Tenth Edition
by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543850840Publication Date: 2023-07-12
West Academic Study Aids
-
Acing Evidence
by
Acing Evidence offers a succinct, clear, and user-friendly review of federal evidence law. Providing many helpful examples and employing checklists at the end of every chapter, Acing Evidence presents an organized way to analyze evidence problems and spot hidden issues. This book is invaluable for reviewing evidence, preparing for the bar exam, and assessing evidence at trial. The third edition adds new examples and reflects changes in the Federal Rules of Evidence.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647081102Publication Date: 2021-01-11 -
Beckman's a Short and Happy Guide to Evidence, 2d
by
This Second Edition to A Short & Happy Guide to Evidence takes a challenging subject and breaks it into manageable pieces that are easy to understand and digest. It has been completely updated with new and revised graphics and charts and all current rules as of December 2020. Using practical examples and humor, this book takes the reader through the most difficult, and most often tested, rules. After reading this book the reader will finally understand the Hearsay Rule (it's true!). Flowcharts and graphics will assist the reader in a comprehensive understanding of the Federal Rules of Evidence and how they interact with each other.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636592862Publication Date: 2021-09-08 -
Quick Review of Evidence
by
Quick Review of Evidence is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "big picture" overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314285942Publication Date: 2012-11-12 -
Evidence in a Nutshell
by
The latest version of the Federal Rules is the anchor of this book, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert, scientific, and electronic evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. Includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches. It pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and includes interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful. Numerous signpost-type headings and subheadings light the way, concisely summarizing the gist of each evidentiary concept. The detailed table of contents alone could serve as a complete course outline. Distinctively, an analytical, thoughtful approach is emphasized throughout.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647085681Publication Date: 2021-11-08 -
Federal Rules of Evidence in a Nutshell
by
The Nutshell, reflecting the Federal Rules of Evidence as restyled and amended up to and including December 1, 2024, contains a crisp, clear, concise, and complete explanation of each Federal Rule of Evidence designed to prepare every student for the course final, the multistate bar examination, and most significantly a successful litigation practice career. The United States Supreme Court's controversial testimonial/nontestimonial interpretation of the Confrontation Clause developed in Crawford and progeny is thoroughly analyzed as well. With respect to the definition of hearsay, the not hearsay definition, the most commonly encountered hearsay exceptions, expert witnesses, and character evidence even more exhaustive treatment is provided. Concrete illustrations are presented throughout.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685615598Publication Date: 2025-04-15 -
Evidence Logic Maps
by
This full-color e-book of Evidence logic maps, which supports any classroom text, is designed to provide visual aids including graphic and color cues to aid in the understanding and application of the Federal Rules of Evidence. Now fully updated to reflect all rule changes through December 2024, this edition features an expanded array of visual tools to enhance student learning.
The book showcases new and improved types of graphics and images, carefully crafted to illustrate complex evidence concepts more effectively. Visual references continue to demonstrate the interplay among rules and subparts of rules, with applicable case law referenced where relevant.
These enhanced visual aids offer students a more intuitive and engaging way to grasp evidence principles, making abstract concepts more concrete and memorable. The visual format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly and efficiently prior to examinations.
This new edition maintains its commitment to supporting any classroom text while offering an enriched visual learning experience, making it an indispensable tool for students seeking to master the intricacies of evidence law.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636592954Publication Date: October 22, 2024
LexisNexis Digital Law Library
-
Mastering Evidence
by
Mastering Evidence is a clear, concise discussion of the rules of evidence. It is designed to be a secondary source for students enrolled in their first course in evidence. Most courses in evidence, and, of course, the multi-state bar examination in evidence, focus primarily on the Federal Rules of Evidence. This book takes the same approach, fully explaining the details of those rules. It is also organized according to the same structure as the Federal Rules and is, therefore, easy to follow. For students who are concerned about the state rules of evidence, comments about traditional rules are made where appropriate. In short, this work should provide a good source for all students taking a course in evidence. It presents the rules in a readable fashion that makes it possible to understand complex concepts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781611633474Publication Date: 2008-01-01 -
Understanding Evidence
by
Understanding Evidence is a dual audience text. It is meant to be a supplement to, or a primary textbook for, any law school evidence course; and it is also an essential reference book for any litigator. The main objective is captured in the title--to offer an understanding of the Rules of Evidence as applied, with the latest decisional law both explicating the principles and providing references students and practitioners can turn to. Written with an understanding of how evidence rules and issues play out in all stages of the litigation process, is at once scholarly in its depth and practical in its application. Because of its comprehensiveness, it stands out from other reference materials. The updated coverage in the sixth edition includes rule changes and cases through December 2022. Understanding Evidence begins with an overview of evidence law followed by an explanation of the roles of the judge and jury. The remaining chapters are organized under the following topics: Procedural Framework of Trial Relevancy Witnesses Real and Demonstrative Evidence Writings Hearsay Privileges Substitutes for Evidence This treatise extensively discusses and cites the Federal Rules of Evidence. Cases, statutes, other rules, and secondary sources are also cited, providing a comprehensive framework for understanding evidence law.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531024284Publication Date: 2023-06-01 -
A Student's Guide to Relevance, Character, Habit, and Impeachment
by
Relevance is the basic concept of evidence law. Professor Fishman, who taught evidence for 41 years at Catholic University of America Law School, covers the entire subject--including conditional relevance, inferences, direct and circumstantial evidence and order of proof--in all its applications, particularly character, "other acts" evidence, and habit. The book then covers every aspect of impeaching and rehabilitating a witness's testimony: perception; memory; narration; prior consistent or inconsistent statements; and potential bias or motive to lie. In other words, this book covers Rules 104-106, 401-415, 607-613, and 801(d)(1) of the Federal Rules of Evidence. When an offer of evidence implicates several of these rules, Professor Fishman explains how to identify the rules (and sub-rules and "unwritten rules") that need to be considered and those which need not be; the procedural and tactical trial context in which these issues arise; and how to figure out what your professor is looking for in class and on exams. Each chapter contains numerous essay and multiple-choice questions and answers applying the rules. In addition, he reveals the evidentiary "relevance" of: (a) animals large and small; (b) cultural icons, including Shakespeare, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Blake Shelton, and Linus van Pelt; and (c) major historical figures, such as Eleanor Roosevelt, Confucius, Oliver Wendell Holmes, and Howie Kendrick.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531022372Publication Date: 2022-08-31 -
A Student's Guide to Hearsay
by
The fifth edition of A Student's Guide to Hearsay focuses on the Federal Rules of Evidence, breaking down the hearsay rule into its elements and explaining them in straightforward language. It does the same for each of the 29 exceptions to the hearsay rule. The book covers the Sixth Amendment Confrontation Clause and includes a proposed amendment to the Rules. It also explains related subjects: what a grand jury is and how it operates; offers of proof, order of proof, burdens of proof; conditional relevancy and conditional admissibility; and privileged communications. A website will keep readers up to date on changes in the law.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531012731Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Aspen Learning Library
-
Examples and Explanations for Evidence, Fourteenth Edition
by
Examples & Explanations: Evidence is the most clear, effective, and concise text available for students today. Beautifully organized, with compelling examples and questions, this ancillary delivers exactly the right level of detail for a student’s introduction to evidence law.
New to the 14th Edition:
• Amendment allowing introduction of extrinsic evidence of a witness’s prior inconsistent statement only after the witness has had an opportunity to explain or deny it (Rule 613)
• Amendment expanding the types of corroborating evidence that must be considered in applying the statement against penal interest hearsay exception (Rule 804(b)(3))
• Changes to the opposing party’s statement provisions in Rule 801 for circumstances where a party’s claim derives from a declarant or a declarant’s principal
• New Rule 107 and modification of Rule 1006 concerning illustrative aids
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798889060802Publication Date: 2024-06-20 -
Emanuel CrunchTime for Evidence, Seventh Edition
by
CrunchTime® Your Exam Study Partner, Seventh Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today’s Evidence courses and includes an abundance of short-answer questions and answers as well as exam tips. This edition has been updated to reflect changes in the law, in casebooks, and topics tested on exams.
Students will benefit from:
A Capsule Summary that explains the major topics and issues in Evidence
Flow Charts and Checklists that illustrate principles and concepts
Multiple-choice Questions with answers that build exam-taking skills and confidence
Practice Questions and answers feature includes a series of short-answer questions and sample answers to help you test your knowledge of Evidence
Exam Tips alert you to issues and commonly used fact patterns found on exams
New to the Seventh Edition:
New coverage of FRE 106’s “rule of completeness,” by which if one party introduces all or part of an oral or written statement, the adverse party may require the immediate introduction of any other part (or any other statement) that in fairness “ought to be considered at the same time.”
Greater coverage of FRE 801(d)(2)(B)’s hearsay exclusion for adoptive admissions, by which a proponent can offer against an adverse party a statement made by a third person, if the proponent shows that the adverse party “manifested that it adopted [the third person’s statement] or believed [it] to be true.”
Updated discussion of a special problem that arises in connection with Rule 803(8)(A)’s “public records” exception. Rule 803(8)(A)(ii) expressly says that the public records exception cannot be used by the government to introduce against a criminal defendant a report of a “matter observed by law-enforcement personnel,” but we discuss the controversy about whether this prohibition also prevents such a public report from being admitted under other exceptions (e.g., the exception for business-records).
Discussion of a 2023 amendment to Rule 702 on expert testimony, adding the requirement that the expert’s opinion must “reflect[] a reliable application of the principles and methods [used by the expert] to the facts of the case.”
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846416Publication Date: 2024-10-22
Hornbooks from the Study Aid Collection
-
McCormick's Evidence
by
This single-volume treatise is largely free of citations to authority, but retains the most notable footnotes. Topics covered include preparing and presenting evidence, cross-examination, and the procedure for admitting and excluding evidence. Discusses privilege against self-incrimination, privilege concerning improperly obtained evidence, scientific evidence, and demonstrative evidence. Reviews authentication, the hearsay rule, burdens of proof, and presumptions. Text also identifies current issues.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781684674763Publication Date: 2020-07-27 -
Evidence Law, a Student's Guide to the Law of Evidence As Applied in American Trials
by
In clear and engaging prose that makes concepts accessible without oversimplification, this Treatise explains the Federal Rules, selected state variations, major cases, essential doctrines, and important underlying policies. Frequent practical examples drawn from courtroom practice introduce students to courtroom procedure, provide a context in which evidence problems arise, and acquaint them with the language of the courtroom. This volume can serve as background for beginning students and as a one-stop refresher for those taking advanced courses. Professors can assign various sections to track the syllabus or simply recommend this book as useful background reading.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636591261Publication Date: 2022-03-16 -
Principles of Evidence
by
This text examines all topics typically covered in a three- or four-hour course in evidence. Emphasis is on the Federal Rules of Evidence, now adopted in most states. The work is concise but complete. Should the reader desire additional material, ample footnotes provide easy access to leading cases, articles, and standard reference works. This volume contains dozens of illustrations, with answers, designed to make the rules come to life. The ninth edition contains the restyled rules and all the new developments on the Confrontation clause, and covers recent amendments, including those taking effect in 2019 and the 2020 amendment of Rule 404(b). Dan Capra is the reporter, Judicial Conference Advisory Committee on the Federal Rules of Evidence, and Stephen Saltzburg served as a consultant.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636594606Publication Date: 2022-01-10 -
Evidence Law
by
This book offers a highly readable and engaging overview of the theory and principles of evidence. An opening chapter offers a broad conceptual framework for understanding evidence. This framework is then used throughout the text to help the reader achieve a firm grasp of the essentials: relevance, character, hearsay, impeachment, opinion, privileges, and non-conventional forms of evidence. The book also includes an appendix that explains the mechanics of finding, offering, and objecting to evidence. The author has drawn on his thirty years of experience as an evidence professor and a practicing litigator to provide the reader with a solid understanding of what the evidence rules are trying to achieve and how they are going about it. This book will be helpful to any law student taking an introductory evidence course, trial practice simulation course, or litigation clinic, as well as to new litigators. "I'm a foreign-educated LL.M. grad from Georgetown Law, and I took the NY Bar exam two years ago. I randomly just recalled that I chanced upon your book, Evidence Law. Concepts and Insights, at the Georgetown library in the middle of bar prep as a resource for Evidence Law (which I have no real background in because I don't have a JD from the States), and I was hooked! It helped me improve my score tremendously. I thought it was so simple, clear and on point, and it ended up being so much more helpful than a mega abbreviated bar prep commercial outline because the concepts actually stuck with me. I can't even imagine how much work it would've taken to come up with a guide that is so concise and effective, so a big thank you to you." --Former Evidence Student
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781634602983Publication Date: 2016-10-06
Treatises from the Study Aid Collection
-
Evidentiary Foundations
by
Edward Imwinkelried's Evidentiary Foundations has sold more than 125,000 copies in its publication life. This time-tested evidence treatise covers all the major evidentiary doctrines, and includes expert analysis of statutory developments along with discussions of the presentation of hard copy exhibits in court using document cameras and the presentation of digital exhibits using monitors or projection screens. Detailed explanations of evidence principles include:
A brief description of the pertinent Federal Rules of Evidence and the most recent leading cases construing the Rules
A list of foundational elements-the events and facts you need to lay a complete foundation
An illustrative foundation showing how each question relates to a particular element of the foundation
The Thirteenth Edition features a new section on challenges posed by artificial intelligence and deepfakes. In addition, the new edition reflects important amendments to the Federal Rules of Evidence that took effect in December 2024.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798341703025Publication Date: 03/07/2025 -
Aspen Treatise for Evidence
by
Evidence is the most complete reference on evidence law available, written at a level that makes it an accessible, indispensible resource for students. The text emphasizes contemporary judicial interpretations of the Federal Rules of Evidence, making the law relevant to students. Organization around the Federal Rules of Evidence makes the text particularly understandable, with common-law coverage given where an issue is not codified. Throughout the text, Evidence features straightforward explication of the rules, analysis of leading case law, and thorough coverage of both the Federal Rules and state evidence codes. Pedagogical features include helpful marginal headings, mini-summaries of contents at the beginning of each chapter, generous footnotes, and useful case citations. The authors strong reputations as casebook authors and authors of Aspen's practitioner Evidence treatise continue to attract users to this book.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543800005Publication Date: 2018-05-01
West Academic Study Aids
-
Black Letter Outline on Evidence
by
This outline examines and explains for students the Federal Rules of Evidence, which apply in federal courts and have been adopted (with some variation) in 45 of the 50 states. Included are citations and descriptions of authoritative cases commonly studied in Evidence courses across the country, and analyses the most important issues of construction and application that have arisen in the decades since the Rules were enacted for use in federal courts in 1975. This Black Letter Outline is designed to help law students recognize, understand, and apply basic principles and issues of law covered in law school courses on the subject. It can be used as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject when studying for examinations. This Black Letter Outline was prepared by professors actively teaching Evidence law who are also accomplished authorities and authors of major texts, treatises, and coursebooks on Evidence law in use throughout the country.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647082284Publication Date: 2020-12-14 -
Black Letter Outline on Evidence
by
Broun and Blakey's Black Letter Outline on Evidence summarizes the black letter rules of evidence, allowing students to understand how their course materials fit together. It can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314194459Publication Date: 2009-10-02 -
Gilbert Law Summaries on Evidence
by
Written by prominent law school professors, Gilbert Law Summaries on Evidence uses an exam-oriented approach for different topic areas, emphasizing the issues most likely to be tested, and offers a time-saving study guide for class review and exam preparation. You can test yourself with multiple choice, true/false questions, and with answers referring back to the text, so you can learn from your mistakes. Fine-tune your understanding with real law school essay questions that are accompanied by explained answers. A text correlation chart helps match your reading assignment to relevant pages in the outline to cut search time. Coverage includes: Direct evidence Circumstantial evidence Rulings on admissibility Relevancy Materiality Character evidence Hearsay Hearsay exceptions Privileges Competency to testify Opinion evidence and expert witnesses
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314152213Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Aspen Learning Library
-
Emanuel Law Outlines for Evidence, Tenth Edition
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846485Publication Date: 2024-09-24
Quimbee
Click here to find an Evidence outline from Quimbee.
LexisNexis
Click here for a BARBRI outline on Evidence available on LexisNexis.
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from West Academic Study Aids
-
Exam Pro on Evidence (Objective)
by
Exam Pro-Objective on Evidence is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Taking the sample objective exams and using the corresponding answers and analysis provides students with a more thorough understanding of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685615611Publication Date: March 12, 2025 -
Cracking the Evidence Code (Comprehensive): 300 Multiple Choice Questions for Law Students
by
Cracking the Evidence Code: 300 Multiple Choice Questions for Law Students is the ultimate preparation tool for mastering one of law school's most challenging subjects. This meticulously crafted collection provides 300 multiple choice questions that comprehensively cover all aspects of the Rules of Evidence. Each question is designed to test your understanding of key concepts, exceptions, and applications that commonly appear on exams and in courtroom practice. Whether you're preparing for midterms, finals, or the bar exam, this book will:
Reinforce your knowledge of hearsay exceptions, character evidence, impeachment, and more
Develop your analytical skills through challenging scenario-based questions
Help identify and strengthen areas where your understanding needs improvement
Build confidence through repeated practice with exam-style questions
The questions allow you to build competence gradually while also encountering the complex hypotheticals that separate average students from top performers. Answer explanations provide clear rationales that help solidify your understanding of the underlying principles. Don't just memorize the Rules of Evidence—truly understand them. "Cracking the Evidence Code" is an indispensable resource for law students who want to excel in evidence courses and develop practical knowledge they'll use throughout their legal careers.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798895450239Publication Date: April 28, 2025
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Questions and Answers: Evidence
by
Questions & Answers: Evidence helps you develop a better, fuller understanding of the law of evidence that will carry you through your evidence class and into practice. This indispensable supplement, part of our well-known Questions & Answers Series, helps you apply concepts as you learn them so that you can prepare more effectively for class and gain a competitive edge on exams. This study guide includes over 380 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 101 "practice exam" questions. This edition includes questions on the latest Federal Rules of Evidence amendments and Supreme Court cases. For each multiple-choice question, there is a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less and includes a thoughtful and comprehensive, yet brief, model answer.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 978153027469Publication Date: December 20, 2023
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from Aspen Learning Library
-
Strategies & Tactics for the Finz Multistate Method, Sixth Edition
by
Strategies & Tactics for the FINZ Multistate Method, Sixth Edition, is an indispensable tool for both law school exams and the Multistate Bar Exam. It features more than 1200 multiple-choice questions and detailed answers unavailable elsewhere.
New to the Sixth Edition:
16 new questions in Civil Procedure
19 new questions in Constitutional Law
18 new questions each in Contracts, Criminal Law, Evidence, and Property
17 new questions in Torts
16 new questions in the Practice Exam
Students will benefit from:
More than 1200 multiple-choice questions and answers: Each question contains a sophisticated and intricate fact pattern that tests your ability to pull out the essential facts and tie them to the rules and theories you’ve learned in class. The answers not only explain the reasoning behind the correct choice, but also why the other choices are incorrect.
Coverage of first-year subjects: Questions and detailed answers for each first-year course—Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law (including Criminal Procedure), Property (including Future Interests), and Torts—as well as the upper-year subject of Evidence.
Supplemental questions for your bar review: Every question is written in the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) style for school exams or MBE preparation and complies with the latest MBE formats. If you’re taking a bar review course, you still need Strategies & Tactics for the Finz Multistate Method because our questions are written in the MBE style and format, but are not actual released exam questions, so we guarantee you’ve never seen these questions before in your MBE review materials.
Special section on how to handle MBE-style questions: The book includes an In-depth guide, “Strategies & Tactics—Playing the MBE Game to Win,” on handling the MBE and MBE-style multiple-choice questions—how to break the question down to the essential facts, how to recognize the legal issues, how to avoid the examiners’ traps and pitfalls, and how to pick the right answer and avoid being misled by the wrong answers.
Complete MBE-style practice exam: The book comes with a complete 200-question practice exam, with detailed answers that explain the reasoning behind the correct choice and why each of the other choices is incorrect.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543858549Publication Date: February 25, 2023 -
Evidence
by
Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final. Friedman's is one of the only series to fully emulate complete essay examinations - they are as close to actual exam-questions that you can find. And as Friedman's texts are compiled by professors who wrote the exams, you get sound advice as well as keen insight on what instructors look for in grading your answers. Friedman's Practice Series titles test your knowledge with real law school exams. Test your knowledge of key concepts and rules with comprehensive essay and multiple-choice questions. Practice questions of various length prepare you for any exam. Experience actual exams! Get sound advice from the professors who wrote the exams. Find insight into what professors look for when grading.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781454827559Publication Date: 2009-06-02 -
The Glannon Guide to Evidence
by
The Glannon Guide to Evidence provides a practical, and theoretically solid, aid to learning the Federal Rules of Evidence. Straightforward explanations of the Rules and illustrative examples in down to earth language provide a supplement to an Evidence class that will remove any confusion as to how the Rules should be interpreted. Based on decades of trying cases and classroom teaching, Prof. Avery is familiar with the most common mistakes lawyers and students make in applying the Rules and has designed these materials to highlight typical errors and correct them. Each multiple-choice question has tempting, but incorrect, answer choices, and then an explanation in simple and direct language that clarifies the rule. The student who works through these questions will be well prepared for Evidence exams and courtroom challenges.
New to the Third Edition:
Fifteen new multiple-choice questions have been added since the Second Edition.
All amendments to the Rules since the Second Edition have been taken into account, and the Rules are current as of the summer of 2022.
Professors and students will benefit from:
Realistic questions, many drawn from the author’s own courtroom experience
Classroom tested examples that have been refined over the years
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798886140644Publication Date: December 14, 2022 -
Emanuel CrunchTime for Evidence, Seventh Edition
by
CrunchTime® Your Exam Study Partner, Seventh Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today’s Evidence courses and includes an abundance of short-answer questions and answers as well as exam tips. This edition has been updated to reflect changes in the law, in casebooks, and topics tested on exams.
Students will benefit from:
A Capsule Summary that explains the major topics and issues in Evidence
Flow Charts and Checklists that illustrate principles and concepts
Multiple-choice Questions with answers that build exam-taking skills and confidence
Practice Questions and answers feature includes a series of short-answer questions and sample answers to help you test your knowledge of Evidence
Exam Tips alert you to issues and commonly used fact patterns found on exams
New to the Seventh Edition:
New coverage of FRE 106’s “rule of completeness,” by which if one party introduces all or part of an oral or written statement, the adverse party may require the immediate introduction of any other part (or any other statement) that in fairness “ought to be considered at the same time.”
Greater coverage of FRE 801(d)(2)(B)’s hearsay exclusion for adoptive admissions, by which a proponent can offer against an adverse party a statement made by a third person, if the proponent shows that the adverse party “manifested that it adopted [the third person’s statement] or believed [it] to be true.”
Updated discussion of a special problem that arises in connection with Rule 803(8)(A)’s “public records” exception. Rule 803(8)(A)(ii) expressly says that the public records exception cannot be used by the government to introduce against a criminal defendant a report of a “matter observed by law-enforcement personnel,” but we discuss the controversy about whether this prohibition also prevents such a public report from being admitted under other exceptions (e.g., the exception for business-records).
Discussion of a 2023 amendment to Rule 702 on expert testimony, adding the requirement that the expert’s opinion must “reflect[] a reliable application of the principles and methods [used by the expert] to the facts of the case.”
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846416Publication Date: October 22, 2024
Multiple-Choice Practice Questions and Answers from Quimbee
Click here for evidence multiple-choice practice questions and answers.
Essay Questions and Answers from West Academic Study Aids
-
Exam Pro on Evidence (Essay)
by
Exam Pro-Essay is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Answering the sample essay exams and the specific subject matter essay questions, followed by review of the corresponding answers and analysis, provides students with a more thorough comprehension of the Federal Rules of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685615628Publication Date: February 12, 2025 -
Acing Evidence
by
Acing Evidence offers a succinct, clear, and user-friendly review of federal evidence law. Providing many helpful examples and employing checklists at the end of every chapter, Acing Evidence presents an organized way to analyze evidence problems and spot hidden issues. This book is invaluable for reviewing evidence, preparing for the bar exam, and assessing evidence at trial. The third edition adds new examples and reflects changes in the Federal Rules of Evidence.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647081102Publication Date: January 11, 2021
Essay Questions and Answers from Aspen Learning Library
-
Evidence
by
Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final. Friedman's is one of the only series to fully emulate complete essay examinations - they are as close to actual exam-questions that you can find. And as Friedman's texts are compiled by professors who wrote the exams, you get sound advice as well as keen insight on what instructors look for in grading your answers. Friedman's Practice Series titles test your knowledge with real law school exams. Test your knowledge of key concepts and rules with comprehensive essay and multiple-choice questions. Practice questions of various length prepare you for any exam. Experience actual exams! Get sound advice from the professors who wrote the exams. Find insight into what professors look for when grading.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781454827559Publication Date: 2009-06-02
-
Emanuel CrunchTime for Evidence, Seventh Edition
by
CrunchTime® Your Exam Study Partner, Seventh Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today’s Evidence courses and includes an abundance of short-answer questions and answers as well as exam tips. This edition has been updated to reflect changes in the law, in casebooks, and topics tested on exams.
Students will benefit from:
A Capsule Summary that explains the major topics and issues in Evidence
Flow Charts and Checklists that illustrate principles and concepts
Multiple-choice Questions with answers that build exam-taking skills and confidence
Practice Questions and answers feature includes a series of short-answer questions and sample answers to help you test your knowledge of Evidence
Exam Tips alert you to issues and commonly used fact patterns found on exams
New to the Seventh Edition:
New coverage of FRE 106’s “rule of completeness,” by which if one party introduces all or part of an oral or written statement, the adverse party may require the immediate introduction of any other part (or any other statement) that in fairness “ought to be considered at the same time.”
Greater coverage of FRE 801(d)(2)(B)’s hearsay exclusion for adoptive admissions, by which a proponent can offer against an adverse party a statement made by a third person, if the proponent shows that the adverse party “manifested that it adopted [the third person’s statement] or believed [it] to be true.”
Updated discussion of a special problem that arises in connection with Rule 803(8)(A)’s “public records” exception. Rule 803(8)(A)(ii) expressly says that the public records exception cannot be used by the government to introduce against a criminal defendant a report of a “matter observed by law-enforcement personnel,” but we discuss the controversy about whether this prohibition also prevents such a public report from being admitted under other exceptions (e.g., the exception for business-records).
Discussion of a 2023 amendment to Rule 702 on expert testimony, adding the requirement that the expert’s opinion must “reflect[] a reliable application of the principles and methods [used by the expert] to the facts of the case.”
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543846416Publication Date: October 22, 2024
Essay Questions and Answers from Quimbee
Click here to find practice essays and answers from Quimbee.
Video Resources
Aspen Learning Library
-
Evidence: In Other Words Video Series
by
The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Evidence lectures, Elizabeth M. Bloom explains the topics of Confrontation Clause and Testimonial Hearsay Statements, Evidence, Hearsay Definitions under FRE 801(a)-(c), Hearsay Exceptions not Based on Declarant's Unavailability, Impeaching a Witness's Character for Truthfulness with Prior Convictions under FRE 609, Legal Relevance under FRE 403, Non-Character Use of Other Crimes, Wrongs, and Acts FRE 404(b), Past Recorded Recollections FRE 803(5), Reliability of Non-Scientific Expert Testimony FRE 702, and Rulings on Evidence under FRE 103.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543824117
Quimbee
The Quimbee Evidence Course covers the rules and limitations codified in the Federal Rules of Evidence that determine what information can be presented in a legal proceeding.
Audio Resources
West Academic Study Aids
-
Sum and Substance Audio on Evidence by This lecture simply and succinctly clarifies even the most difficult concepts in Evidence, such as hearsay and character evidence. It is time-saving, convenient, and effective.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: December 2, 2016
-
Law School Legends Audio on Evidence by This seven hour audio lecture on compact disc includes information on relevance, documentary evidence, witnesses, privileges, hearsay, and the sixth amendment. This lecture also includes a nineteen page handout.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: May 16, 2017
-
Law School Legends Audio on Evidence by This lecture series on Evidence is designed for students who are about to take or are currently taking a course in Evidence and who want to use it for class review or exam preparation. But it is also useful for anyone, student or not, who would like to gain a better understanding of what evidence is admissible in court. You can listen or study at your convenience – in the library, at home, walking or jogging, or driving in your car. These audio lectures are each approximately twenty minutes long. Each one covers a discrete aspect of Evidence law, so you can easily access the topics you want to learn or review. Coverage includes the topics of relevance, impeaching witnesses, character evidence, rape shield law, expert testimony, and privileges. The topic of hearsay and its numerous exceptions gets special attention. Each lecture begins with a clear, concise statement of the relevant legal principles and then explores the scope and nuances of the applicable rule with a series of examples that apply the rule in different situations.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: January 23, 2019
LexisNexis Digital Library
-
Understanding Evidence by This Understanding treatise presents the essential topics in evidence law cogently and concisely. While it was written primarily for students in Evidence and Trial Practice courses, the "Key Points" summary at the end of each chapter and the inclusion of the current Federal Rules of Evidence in an appendix make this treatise an excellent reference for busy attorneys. Understanding Evidence begins with an overview of Evidence law followed by an explanation of the roles of the judge and jury. The remaining chapters are organized under the following topics: Procedural Framework of Trial Relevancy Witnesses Real and Demonstrative Evidence Writings Hearsay Privileges Substitutes for Evidence This treatise extensively discusses and cites the Federal Rules of Evidence. Cases, statutes, other rules, and secondary sources are also cited, providing a comprehensive framework for understanding evidence law. The fifth edition discusses recent amendments to the Federal Rules of Evidence and new Supreme Court cases since the previous edition in 2013.Call Number: Online
Aspen Learning Library
-
Evidence: In Other Words Audio Series
by
The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Evidence lectures, Elizabeth M. Bloom explains the topics of Confrontation Clause and Testimonial Hearsay Statements, Evidence, Hearsay Definitions under FRE 801(a)-(c), Hearsay Exceptions not Based on Declarant's Unavailability, Impeaching a Witness's Character for Truthfulness with Prior Convictions under FRE 609, Legal Relevance under FRE 403, Non-Character Use of Other Crimes, Wrongs, and Acts FRE 404(b), Past Recorded Recollections FRE 803(5), Reliability of Non-Scientific Expert Testimony FRE 702, and Rulings on Evidence under FRE 103.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543823905Publication Date: February 6, 2020 -
Aspen Aloud: Evidence
Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798889067535
The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides self-guided lessons on numerous topics that are covered in law school courses. CALI lessons are interactive tutorials written by law professors for law students to engage with course material, review concepts, and prepare for class and exams. In addition to CALI lessons, there are many more tools and resources available from CALI.
The CALI Evidence Outline allows you to search for terms of art that correspond to topics you are studying to find suggestions for related CALI Lessons. The CALI Evidence Index lists all CALI Lessons covering Evidence.
CALI Lessons: Evidence
Below are a selection of CALI lessons on Evidence. To view all available CALI lessons, use this link to access all CALI lessons.