Husman Art Collection: Home
This guide is an overview of our gallery exhibit with exhibit information, library events, and related library resources.
Exhibit Description
Marc Hauser Photography Exhibit: June 30 - August 25, 2024
This exhibit showcases the masterful lenswork of Marc Hauser, a photographer renowned for his ability to capture the essence of his subjects with unparalleled sensitivity and depth.
Through a curated selection of photographs spanning his career, visitors are invited to explore a diverse tapestry of visual narratives. From intimate portraits that illuminate the soul of individuals to everyday lifestyle shots that evoke a sense of wonder, Hauser's work transcends mere documentation, offering a profound reflection on life, identity, and the interconnectedness of our world.
Hauser's keen eye for detail and his mastery of light and composition are evident in every photograph, whether depicting everyday scenes imbued with a sense of nostalgia or moments of extraordinary beauty that resonate long after viewing. His work not only celebrates the artistry of photography but also serves as a powerful testament to the human experience in all its complexity.
Upcoming Events
Click on each calendar entry below or check out our full list at lib.nova.edu/exhibits for event and exhibit descriptions and registration information. All events are free and open to the public.
Exhibit Sponsors & Partners
Related Library Guides:
Related Library Resources
This is a selected list of books related to the exhibit. For more book recommendations, search the library catalog or ask a librarian for help.
9. 5 Theses on Art and Class by ISBN: 9781608462865Publication Date: 2013-07-029.5 Theses on Art and Class seeks to show how a clear understanding of class makes sense of what is at stake in a broad number of contemporary art's most persistent debates, from definitions of political art to the troubled status of "outsider" and street art to the question of how we maintain faith in art itself.
50 Years of Rolling Stone by ISBN: 9781683350200Publication Date: 2017-05-16For the past fifty years, Rolling Stone has been a leading voice in journalism, cultural criticism, and--above all--music. This landmark book documents the magazine's rise to prominence as the voice of rock and roll and a leading showcase for era-defining photography.
The Art of Looking by ISBN: 9780465094660Publication Date: 2018-11-27In The Art of Looking, renowned art critic Lance Esplund demonstrates that works of modern and contemporary art are not as indecipherable as they might seem. With patience, insight, and wit, Esplund guides us through the last century of art and empowers us to approach and appreciate it with new eyes.
Classical Bronzes by ISBN: 9780801431821Publication Date: 1996-03-01One of the world's leading authorities on ancient bronze sculpture, Carol C. Mattusch urges us to discard the terms "Greek original" and "Roman copy" and to adopt instead terms that distinguish unique works from those produced in series and those produced as variations on a theme. She discusses the dating of bronzes based on criteria of technique and style, and considers technical innovations in the art of portraiture.
A Companion to Photography by ISBN: 9781405195843Publication Date: 2020-03-16A Companion to Photography offers scholars and professional photographers alike an essential and up-to-date resource that brings the study of contemporary photography into clear focus.
The Day in Its Color by ISBN: 9780199772339Publication Date: 2012-02-28The Day in Its Color introduces readers to Cushman's extraordinary work, a recently unearthed archive of photographs that is the largest known body of early color photographs by a single photographer, 14,500 in all, most shot on vivid, color-saturated Kodachrome stock.
Fashioning Models by ISBN: 0857853112Publication Date: 2013-08-01This volume brings together cutting-edge articles on fashion models, examining modelling through race, class and gender, as well as its structure as an aesthetic marketplace within the global fashion economy.
The Handbook of Visual Culture by ISBN: 9781847885739Publication Date: 2011-12-20Visual culture has become one of the most dynamic fields of scholarship, a reflection of how the study of human culture increasingly requires distinctively visual ways of thinking and methods of analysis. Bringing together leading international scholars to assess all aspects of visual culture, the Handbook aims to provide a comprehensive and authoritative overview of the subject.
Image Photograph by ISBN: 9780988234079Publication Date: 2015-07-01Image Photograph is a co-production of punctum books and the Center for Transformative Media, Parsons The New School of Design. Lafia is redefining what it means to be a photographer in an age when ev eryone is living on both sides of the megapixel equation. These images challenge the boundaries between public and private space, as well as personal and universal truth. ̃
Photography as critical practice: notes on otherness by ISBN: 9781789381993Publication Date: 2020This volume brings together photography and written essays that relate to aspects of otherness and visual work. Presented together, the images and critical writings work in concert to construct a new social perspective on questions of otherness and alterity and to highlight photography as a form of critical practice.
This is a selected list of movies related to the exhibit. For more movie recommendations, search the library catalog or ask a librarian for help.
- Beyond IconicPhotographer Dennis Stock is renowned for his classic images of Hollywood stars and jazz musicians such as James Dean, Audrey Hepburn, John Wayne, Louis Armstrong, and Miles Davis. Beyond Iconic surveys Stock's work and reveals his artistic philosophy, giving a penetrating portrait of a man devoted to his craft. This engaging film brings viewers into Stock's workshop to examine photography as a social force as well as an art form.
- Cara Romero: Following the LightContemporary fine art photographer Cara Romero's work captures Indigenous and non-Indigenous cultural memory, collective history, and lived experiences from a Native American female perspective. This powerful documentary features interviews with Cara and those closest to her, shows behind-the-scenes footage of her shoots, and looks at the rich California Indigenous history that informs her work.
- Exhibition on Screen, Episode 2, DegasWith exclusive access to rare and diverse works, this episode offers a unique insight into Degas’s personal and creative life, uncovering the fascinating story of Degas’s obsessive pursuit of perfection through both experimentation with new techniques and lessons learned from studying past masters.
- From Darkroom To DaylightFROM DARKROOM TO DAYLIGHT explores how the dramatic change from film to digital has affected photographers and their work. Photographer Harvey Wang, who began taking pictures as a teenager, was mid-career when the tools of his craft were made nearly obsolete with the transition to digital. Wang interviewed more than 20 important photographers and prominent figures in the field, including Jerome Liebling, George Tice, David Goldblatt, Sally Mann, Eugene Richards as well as innovators Steven Sasson, who built the first digital camera while at Kodak and Thomas Knoll, who along with his brother created Photoshop. Much of Wang’s work has been about disappearance—of trades, neighborhoods, ways of life—and to live through this transition in his own craft has enabled him to illuminate the state of the art as both an insider and a filmmaker.
- Icon: Music Through the Lens, On CameraWhat defines an iconic image? This question provides the central theme for episode one as we are introduced to some of music photography’s greatest names.
- Peter Peryer: The Art Of SeeingFor four decades Peryer pioneered and championed the art of photography and created a major body of work. He was a deeply thoughtful and inspiring person. In an era when the world is flooded with amateur photos taken casually, it is crucial to learn how photography can also be an art – and to learn this from someone dedicated and passionate in his hunt for unique images. The film has been described as 'a masterclass in photography' and a great testament to this artist's life.
- Treasures of Ancient Greece, Episode 2, The Classical RevolutionIs Ancient Greek art just a collection of elegant works of marble, framed by a love of democracy and enlightened reasoning? Far from it. Art critic and journalist Alastair Sooke demonstrates it is in fact far more diverse and surprising – a multi-cultural mix of styles, techniques and materials that left no subject matter unexplored. Filmed in sumptuous locations around the Mediterranean and across Europe, Alastair shows how a limited view of Ancient Greek art just does not hold up.
- Art of …, The Art of Henry Mooreenry Moore is arguably the greatest sculptor of the twentieth century. Born in Yorkshire in 1898, he died after an exceptionally productive career in 1986. His large-scale sculptures are centrally sited in many major cities across Europe and North America. Indeed it can sometimes seem as if his work has become so familiar that we fail to notice its beauties and its boldness. The Art of Henry Moore aims to rediscover the artist by returning to the works themselves - his sculptures, drawings and graphics - and to Moore's own thoughts about them. Archive photographs from the collection at the Henry Moore Foundation complement the artworks, newly filmed across Britain, in France and the USA. Many of the artist's most significant sculptures are featured, from the earliest models of the 1920s to the monuments of his final years. Drawings from each stage of his career, including the famous tube shelter sketches made during the Blitz, are also included. The specially recorded soundtrack is drawn solely from Moore's words in interviews, articles and letters.
- China in the Shadow of Mr Kong, Part 3, Heart and Soul: Bronzes, Ceramics, the Character Script, Poetry, LiteraturePart three, of the China in the Shadow of Mr. Kong five-part series, examines the evolution and variance of Chinese art. From subtle ceramics to elegant poetry, the Chinese reach the pinnacle of their artistic abilities near the end of the 18th century. However, under a deeply conservative leadership, the talents of the Chinese in all art fields begin to decay.
- Gallery Book Display ListThis is a complete list of books on the book display outside the Cotilla Gallery.