MBIO 3450: Survey of Marine Mammals: Find Books
This course provides an overview of the anatomy, biomedicine, evolution, husbandry, natural history, pathology, and physiology of the cetaceans, pinnipeds, sirenians, and allies. The course consists of lectures and field trips. Prerequisite: MBIO 2410.
Gap Fill
Featured Resource
New Approaches to the Study of Marine Mammals by
The highly specialized nature of marine mammals when compared with their terrestrial counterparts, the environment in which they live, and the impact of humans on them throughout history and at the present, have made of the scholarship on these creatures something unique in itself. Therefore, it is not surprising that many researchers have also taken a distinctive approach to their study. This volume is aimed at providing a glimpse at such diversity of views and approaches while delivering valuable information on marine mammalogy. Given the increasing concerns regarding issues of anthropogenic factors affecting these animals, it is not surprising that the majority of chapters in this book deal with this subject.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789535108443Publication Date: 2012-11-07
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by
This thorough revision of the classic first edition brings this authoritative book right up-to-date. Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors - all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist. Fully referenced throughout and with a fresh selection of the best color photographs available, the long-awaited 2e remains at the forefront as the go-to reference on marine mammals. * More than 20% NEW MATERIAL includes articles on Climate Change, Pacific White-sided Dolphins, Sociobiology, Habitat Use, Feeding Morphology and more * Over 260 articles on the individual species with topics ranging from anatomy and behavior, to conservation, exploitation and the impact of global climate change on marine mammals * New color illustrations show every species and document topical articles FROM THE FIRST EDITION "This book is so good...a bargain, full of riches...packed with fascinating up to date information. I recommend it unreservedly it to individuals, students, and researchers, as well as libraries". - Richard M. Laws, MARINE MAMMALS SCIENCE "...establishes a solid and satisfying foundation for current study and future exploration" - Ronald J. Shusterman, SCIENCE
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780080919935Publication Date: 2009-02-26
Marine Mammalogy Books & E-Books
Marine Mammals : evolutionary biology (2nd edition) by Call Number: QL713.2 .B47 2006ISBN: 0120885522Publication Date: 2005-12-05
Mammalogy Techniques Lab Manual by
Mammals inhabit nearly every continent and every sea. They have adapted to life underground, in the frozen Arctic, the hottest deserts, and every habitat in-between. In Mammalogy Techniques Lab Manual--the only field manual devoted to training the next generation of mammalogists--biologist and educator James M. Ryan details the modern research techniques today's professionals use to study mammals wherever they are found. Ideal for any mammalogy or wildlife biology course, this clear and practical guide aids students by getting them outside to study mammals in their natural environments. Twenty comprehensive chapters cover skull and tooth identification, radio and satellite GPS tracking, phylogeny construction, mark and recapture techniques, camera trapping, museum specimen preparation, optimal foraging, and DNA extraction, among other topics. Each chapter includes several exercises with step-by-step instructions for students to collect and analyze their own data, along with background information, downloadable sample data sets (to use when it is not practical to be out in the field), and detailed descriptions of useful open-source software tools. This pragmatic resource provides students with real-world experience practicing the complex techniques used by modern wildlife biologists. With more than 60 applied exercises to choose from in this unique manual, students will quickly acquire the scientific skills essential for a career working with mammals.
Call Number: QL703 .R93 2018ISBN: 9781421426075Publication Date: 2018-10-30
The Conservation of Whales and Dolphins by
This is an analysis of the complex issues that relate to the conservation of whales, dolphins and other cetaceans. Experts from both the scientific and conservation communities provide contributions that, firstly, review the threats that cetaceans are faced with in a modern world - some of which are now well understood - and secondly, critically assess responses which have been made to these threats. The chapters reflect the diversity of opinion that exists in this field. Topics covered include: pollution issues; habitat degradation; noise; global change; disease; and the special case of the river dolphins. Apposite authors also consider the international agreements that affect cetaceans (including the International Whaling Commission) and the role of sanctuaries and action plans.
Call Number: QL737.C4 C598 1996ISBN: 0471965618Publication Date: 1996-08-01
Dolphins, Whales, and Manatees of Florida by
"An excellent job of presenting complex information on marine mammal biology, conservation, and wildlife protection laws in an elegant and comprehensive manner. Their helpful suggestions will engage and inspire the reader to take positive action for the protection of marine mammals and their environment."--Trevor R. Spradlin, National Marine Fisheries Service Dolphins, Whales, and Manatees of Florida is the book of choice for anyone interested in an identification guide and general reference to marine mammal biology, conservation, and governmental protective regulations. Written by two scientists who are recognized as international leaders and pioneers in marine mammal research and conservation--and the foremost authorities on marine mammals in Florida--the book will inform people how their activities affect marine mammals and what they can do to help safeguard the environment of Florida. John Reynolds and Randall Wells present important scientific information (accompanied by photographs), conservation principles, and wildlife protection laws in a way that will be easy for the general reader to follow and understand. Their skillful presentation of the issues will engage and inspire the reader to take positive action for the protection of marine mammals and their environment. The basic species descriptions and natural history include all of Florida's marine mammals and the occasional visitor to Florida waters: * Florida manatee * bottlenose dolphin * Atlantic spotted dolphin * pygmy and dwarf sperm whales * northern right whale * clymene or short-snouted spinner dolphin * spinner dolphin * rough-toothed dolphin * Risso's dolphin * short-finned pilot whale * false killer whale * pygmy killer whale * beaked whales * goosebeak whale * sperm whale * humpback whale * pinnipeds For the general public and ecotourists as well as students, teachers, and marine educators, Dolphins, Whales, and Manatees of Florida is the primary reference for marine mammal biology and conservation and a guide to wildlife protection laws. John E. Reynolds III is manatee research program manager at Mote Marine Laboratory, Sarasota, and professor of marine science at Eckerd College. Author of 150 publications and several books, he has served as chairman of the U.S. Marine Mammal Commission since his appointment by President George Bush in 1991. Randall S. Wells is a behavioral ecologist with the Chicago Ecological Society, director of the Center for Marine Mammal and Sea Turtle Research at Mote Marine Laboratory, and adjunct associate professor of ocean sciences at the University of California, Santa Cruz. He has authored or coauthored more than 100 scientific books and articles.
Call Number: QL737.C432 R495 2003ISBN: 0813026873Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by
Combining excellent science with accessible style, the Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals is an indispensable resource on the fascinating warm-blooded creatures of the sea. The contributions of more than 200 leading international authorities have made this single volume the guide for studyig the entire range of marine mammals. Organized alphabetically, more the 280 articles are devoted to wide range of topics -- from the specific behavior and physiology of cetaceans and pinnipeds, to ecology, population biology, human effects and interaction, and research methodology. Up-to-date, accessible, and scientifically sound, the Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals will occupy a central place in any marine science library. KEY FEATURES *Complete Species List, featuring both living and extinct mammals; *Comprehensive Glossary with definitions for more than 1,000 specialized terms; *Extensive cross-referencing between articles; *Abundant visual resources -- photographs, line drawings, maps, tables, and figures
Call Number: QL713.2 .E63 2002ISBN: 0125513402Publication Date: 2002-02-04
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by
This thorough revision of the classic first edition brings this authoritative book right up-to-date. Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors - all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist. Fully referenced throughout and with a fresh selection of the best color photographs available, the long-awaited 2e remains at the forefront as the go-to reference on marine mammals. * More than 20% NEW MATERIAL includes articles on Climate Change, Pacific White-sided Dolphins, Sociobiology, Habitat Use, Feeding Morphology and more * Over 260 articles on the individual species with topics ranging from anatomy and behavior, to conservation, exploitation and the impact of global climate change on marine mammals * New color illustrations show every species and document topical articles FROM THE FIRST EDITION "This book is so good...a bargain, full of riches...packed with fascinating up to date information. I recommend it unreservedly it to individuals, students, and researchers, as well as libraries". - Richard M. Laws, MARINE MAMMALS SCIENCE "...establishes a solid and satisfying foundation for current study and future exploration" - Ronald J. Shusterman, SCIENCE
Call Number: QL713.2 .E53 2009ISBN: 9780123735539Publication Date: 2008-11-24
Manatees and Dugongs by
This book fully documents the natural history of Sirenia, the order of aquatic mammals including manatees of the Caribbean, West Africa, and the Amazon, as well as the Indo-Pacific dugong.
Call Number: QL737.S63 R49 1991 c.3ISBN: 0816024367Publication Date: 1991-07-01
Marine Mammal Biology : An Evolutionary Approach by Call Number: QL713.2 .M27 2002ISBN: 9780632052325Publication Date: 2002-03-22
Marine Mammal Ecology and Conservation : A Handbook of Techniques by
Marine mammals command a high level of public attention, reflected in specific legislation for their protection and management in many countries. They also present particular challenges to ecologists and conservation biologists. They are mostly difficult to observe, they occupy an environment that is vast in its three dimensional extent, there are often perceived conflicts between marine mammals and people, and furthermore several species are now close to extinction. Marine mammals have some intriguing features in their biology - the ability to dive to crushing depths, to perform breath-hold dives that defy our current understanding of mammalian physiology, and many have an ability to hunt down prey using sophisticated sonar that we are only just beginning to understand. Many species also have complex social structures. We still have much to learn about these extraordinary animals so a comprehensive and authoritative overview of current methodology is now timely. The intention of this book is both to summarize the state-of-the-art and to encourage innovation and further progress in this research field.
Call Number: QL713.2 .M2743 2010ISBN: 9780199216567Publication Date: 2010-10-24
Marine Mammal Physiology by
Suppose you were designing a marine mammal. What would you need to think about to allow it to live in the ocean? How would you keep it warm? What would you design to allow it to dive for very long periods to extreme depths? Where would it find water to drink? How would you minimize the cost of swimming, and how would it find its prey in the deep and dark? These questions and more are examined in detail throughout this book.
Call Number: QL713.2 .M237 2016ISBN: 9781482242676Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Marine Mammals of the North Atlantic by Call Number: QL713.25 .K5613 2002ISBN: 9780691113074Publication Date: 2003-02-09
Marine Mammals of the World by
Identification guide to marine mammals and to cetaceans, seals, and sirenians found in fresh water.
Call Number: QL713.2 .J43 1994 c.3ISBN: 9251032920Publication Date: 1993-12-30
Marine Protected Areas for Whales, Dolphins and Porpoises by
'Erich Hoyt's handbook is an admirable, timely and highly welcome contribution.'Michael Stachowitsch, Marine EcologyWhat does it mean to save the whales if their habitat is left unprotected? Marine Protected Areas for Whales, Dolphins and Porpoises is the definitive handbook on this pressing issue and the first to bridge the gap between the disciplines of marine protected areas and cetacean conservation. It launches a new chapter in cetacean conservation with its investigation into the crucial habitat needs and protection requirements of some 84 species.The author, one of the world's foremost experts in this field, takes you around the world to investigate the promising results of the latest conservation research and the strategies for obtaining marine protected areas in coastal waters and on the high seas, using national legislation and regional and international conventions. This is an essential introduction, guide and reference work for those working to ensure a future for whales and dolphins.
Call Number: QL737.C4 H675 2005ISBN: 1844070638Publication Date: 2004-11-01
National Audubon Society Guide to Marine Mammals of the World by
The National Audubon Society Guide to Marine Mammals of the World describes in fascinating detail all 120 species of the world's whales, dolphins, porpoises, seals and sea lions, manatees, Marine and Sea Otters, and the Polar Bear. Written by a team of experts and featuring more than 320 illustrations, 418 photographs, and 123 maps, this new guide offers more authoritative, up-to-date, and accessible information than any book previously published on the subject. Organized by the four major groups of marine mammals—marine fissipeds, pinnipeds, cetaceans, and sirenians—the species descriptions include: Full-color paintings, some depicting males and females, juveniles, subspecies, or special features. Color photographs showing appearance in the wild and illustrating typical behaviors. Life history data, including length and weight at various life stages, and life span. Range and habitat text and a full-color range map based on the most current information. Facts about social organization, surface behaviors, swimming, and diving. Information on mating behavior, breeding, and the rearing of young. Details about food items and foraging techniques. Estimates of population in the wild, plus current and historic threats. A general introduction outlines the evolution and taxonomy of marine mammals, distribution, migration, watching guidelines, identification techniques, organizations and laws that protect marine mammals, and more. Introductions to groups include comparative size illustrations, discussion of behaviors particular to the group, and other unique features. A useful illustrated glossary of terms and an index of species names complete the guide. Exquisitely detailed illustrations, stunning photographs, and clearly written text combine to make this an indispensible reference source for marine mammal watchers and anyone interested in the natural world.
Call Number: QL713.2 .N37 2002 c.2ISBN: 0375411410Publication Date: 2002-04-02
Whales, Dolphins, and Other Marine Mammals of the World by
This breathtakingly beautiful book brings readers nose-to-nose with all of the world's marine mammals-a comprehensive line-up of remarkable whales, dolphins, porpoises, seals, walruses, otters, polar bears, dugongs, and manatees. A highly practical field guide, it combines state-of-the-art illustrations with superb color photographs and detailed maps. The book highlights key field marks and clearly summarizes the types of behaviors that marine-mammal watchers may observe. Where other guides settle for static or wooden images and descriptions, this one comes to life with the kind of detailed text and stunning photos that make for a go-to reference guide. Armed with this book, any observer anywhere in the world should be able to identify the marine mammals they encounter. A go-to field guide to all of the world's marine mammals Contains key field marks and summaries of behavior Over 450 stunning color photos 124 color maps Over 500 beautiful new illustrations An exquisite blend of text, illustrations, and photos, harmonized for practical field usage Suitable for both amateurs and seasoned professionals
Call Number: QL713.2 .S55 2006ISBN: 9780691127569Publication Date: 2006-10-22
Whales, Whaling, and Ocean Ecosystems by
This unprecedented volume presents a sweeping picture of what we know about the natural history, biology, and ecology of whales in the broad context of the dynamics of ocean ecosystems. Innovative and comprehensive, the volume encompasses multiple points of view to consider the total ecological impact of industrial whaling on the world's oceans. Combining empirical research, ecological theory and modeling, and historical data, its chapters present perspectives from ecology, population biology, physiology, genetics, evolutionary history, ocean biogeography, economics, culture, and law, among other disiplines. Throughout, contributors investigate how whaling fundamentally disrupted ocean ecosystems, examine the various roles whales play in food webs, and discuss the continuing ecological chain reactions to the depletion of these large animals. In addition to reviewing what is known of the current and historic whale populations, Whales, Whaling, and Ocean Ecosystems considers how this knowledge will bear on scientific approaches to conservation and whaling in the future and provocatively asks whether it is possible to restore ocean ecosystems to their pre-whaling condition.
Call Number: SH381 .W453 2006ISBN: 9780520248847Publication Date: 2007-01-16
Whales and Dolphins by Call Number: QL737.C4 W44145 2011ISBN: 9781849712248Publication Date: 2011-06-27
The Rise of Marine Mammals by
Marine mammals have long captured the attention of humans. Ancient peoples etched seals and dolphins on the walls of Paleolithic caves; today, engineers develop microprocessors to track these denizens of the deep. This groundbreaking book from highly respected marine mammal paleontologist Annalisa Berta delves into the story of the extraordinary adaptations that gave the world these amazing animals. The Rise of Marine Mammals reveals remarkable fossil record discoveries that shed light on the origins, relationships, and diversification of marine mammals. Focusing on evolution and paleobiology, Berta provides an overview of marine mammal species diversity, enhanced with gorgeous life restorations by Carl Buell, Robert Boessenecker, William Stout, and Ray Troll and extensive line drawings by graphics editor James L. Sumich. The book also considers ongoing conservation challenges, demonstrating how the fossil record of adaptation in response to past environmental shifts may illuminate the way that marine mammals respond to global climate change. This invaluable evolutionary framework is essential for helping us understand how best to protect and conserve today's polar bears, whales, dolphins, seals, and fellow warm-blooded ocean dwellers. The Rise of Marine Mammals also describes exciting breakthroughs that rely on new techniques of study, including 3-D imaging, and molecular, finite element, and morphometric analyses, which have enhanced scientists' understanding of everything from the anatomy of fetal whales to the genes behind limb loss in cetaceans. Mammalogists, paleontologists, and marine scientists will find Berta's insights absorbing, while developmental and molecular biologists, geneticists, and ecologists exploring integrative research approaches will benefit from her fresh perspective.
Call Number: QL121 .B47 2017ISBN: 9781421423258Publication Date: 2017-09-20
Marine Mammal Ecotoxicology by
Marine Mammal Ecotoxicology: Impacts of Multiple Stressors on Population Health provides tactics on how to develop a comprehensive methodology for the study of existing threats to marine mammals. By presenting a conservation-biology approach and new and emerging technologies, this work helps provide crucial knowledge on the status of marine mammal populations that not only helps readers understand the ecosystem's health, but also instigate mitigation measures. This volume provides information that helps investigators unravel the relationships between exposure to environmental stressors (e.g., climate change, pollutants, marine litter, pathogens and biotoxins) and a range of endpoints in marine mammal species. The application of robust examination procedures and biochemical, immunological, and molecular techniques, combined with pathological examination and feeding ecology, has led to the development of health assessment methods at the individual and population levels in wild marine mammals.
Call Number: QL713.2 .M236 2018ISBN: 9780128121443Publication Date: 2018-09-25
CRC Handbook of Marine Mammal Medicine by
Key features: Covers all aspects of marine mammal veterinary practice Written by internationally acknowledged experts Adds new chapters on Ophthalmology, Dentistry, Ethics, Oil Spill Response, Health Assessments, Whale Entanglement Response, Dive Response, and Biotoxins Richly illustrated in color throughout the new edition including updated anatomical drawings and extensive photographs of ocular lesions Provides guidance to websites that regularly present updated information and images pertinent to current marine mammal medicine such as imaging and stranding network contacts Discusses ethics and animal welfare For three decades, this book has been acknowledged as the most respected scientific reference specifically devoted to marine mammal medicine and health. Written by approximately 100 contributors who are recognized globally as leaders in their respective fields, the CRC Handbook of Marine Mammal Medicine, Third Editioncontinues to serve as the essential guide for all practitioners involved with marine mammals including veterinarians, technicians, biological researchers, students, managers, keepers, curators, and trainers. The 45 chapters provide essential information for the practitioner on pathology, infectious diseases, medical treatment, anesthesia, surgery, husbandry, health assessment, species-specific medicine, medically pertinent anatomy and physiology, and global health concerns such as strandings, oil spills, and entanglements of marine mammals. The book guides the reader through the veterinary care of cetaceans, pinnipeds, manatees, sea otters, and polar bears. In addition to summaries of current knowledge, chapters provide information on those digital resources and websites which present the latest information as it emerges in the field. The CRC Handbook of Marine Mammal Medicine, Third Editiongives a call to action for scientists to experiment with new endeavors to engage and inspire current and future generations to care for marine mammals and the marine environment, and work together to find solutions. As the most trusted reference for marine mammal conservation medicine and for marine mammal medical facilities around the world, this book needs to be in your library.
Call Number: SF997.5.M35 C73 2018ISBN: 9781498796873Publication Date: 2018-05-23
- Marine Mammals : evolutionary biology (2nd edition) by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0120885522Publication Date: 2005-12-05
- Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by
This thorough revision of the classic first edition brings this authoritative book right up-to-date. Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors - all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist. Fully referenced throughout and with a fresh selection of the best color photographs available, the long-awaited 2e remains at the forefront as the go-to reference on marine mammals. * More than 20% NEW MATERIAL includes articles on Climate Change, Pacific White-sided Dolphins, Sociobiology, Habitat Use, Feeding Morphology and more * Over 260 articles on the individual species with topics ranging from anatomy and behavior, to conservation, exploitation and the impact of global climate change on marine mammals * New color illustrations show every species and document topical articles FROM THE FIRST EDITION "This book is so good...a bargain, full of riches...packed with fascinating up to date information. I recommend it unreservedly it to individuals, students, and researchers, as well as libraries". - Richard M. Laws, MARINE MAMMALS SCIENCE "...establishes a solid and satisfying foundation for current study and future exploration" - Ronald J. Shusterman, SCIENCE
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780080919935Publication Date: 2009-02-26
Human Impacts on Seals, Sea Lions, and Sea Otters by
For more than ten thousand years, Native Americans from Alaska to southern California relied on aquatic animals such as seals, sea lions, and sea otters for food and raw materials. Archaeological research on the interactions between people and these marine mammals has made great advances recently and provides a unique lens for understanding the human and ecological past. Archaeological research is also emerging as a crucial source of information on contemporary environmental issues as we improve our understanding of the ancient abundance, ecology, and natural history of these species. This groundbreaking interdisciplinary volume brings together archaeologists, biologists, and other scientists to consider how archaeology can inform the conservation and management of pinnipeds and other marine mammals along the Pacific Coast.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780520948976Publication Date: 2011-03-23
Marine Mammal Ecology and Conservation [electronic resource] : A Handbook of Techniques by
Marine mammals command a high level of public attention, reflected in specific legislation for their protection and management in many countries. They also present particular challenges to ecologists and conservation biologists. They are mostly difficult to observe, they occupy an environment that is vast in its three dimensional extent, there are often perceived conflicts between marine mammals and people, and furthermore several species are now close to extinction. Marine mammals have some intriguing features in their biology - the ability to dive to crushing depths, to perform breath-hold dives that defy our current understanding of mammalian physiology, and many have an ability to hunt down prey using sophisticated sonar that we are only just beginning to understand. Many species also have complex social structures. We still have much to learn about these extraordinary animals so a comprehensive and authoritative overview of current methodology is nowtimely. The intention of this book is both to summarize the state-of-the-art and to encourage innovation and further progress in this research field.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780191550799Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Marine Mammals : evolutionary biology by
Marine Mammals: Evolutionary Biology, Third Edition is a succinct, yet comprehensive text devoted to the systematics, evolution, morphology, ecology, physiology, and behavior of marine mammals. Earlier editions of this valuable work are considered required reading for all marine biologists concerned with marine mammals, and this text continues that tradition of excellence with updated citations and an expansion of nearly every chapter that includes full color photographs and distribution maps. Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of the biology of all marine mammals Provides a phylogenetic framework that integrates phylogeny with behavior and ecology Features chapter summaries, further readings, an appendix, glossary and an extensive bibliography Exciting new color photographs and additional distribution maps
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780123972576Publication Date: 2015-03-20
Marine Mammals of the World by
This new edition of Marine Mammals of the World describes and illustrates newly discovered and rarely photographed species, making it the most comprehensive and up-to-date identification guide available. This edition continues to meet the research-focused needs of marine biologists and conservation biologists by providing a tremendous influx of new photos, taking advantage of advances in digital and auto-focusing photography, and the emergence of marine mammal studies and "whalewatching" around the world. The book encompasses cetacean, pinniped, and sirenian species, as well as extinct species, and describes basic biology and taxonomic groupings of marine mammals. Contains superb photographs of every species of marine mammal for accurate identification Authors possess nearly 80 years of collective experience with almost all of the species and distinctive geographic forms described in the guide Provides the most detailed and anatomically accurate illustrations currently available, including more than 750 new illustrations Special emphasis is placed on the identification of species in "problem groups," such as the beaked whales, long-beaked oceanic dolphins, and southern fur seals Includes a detailed list of sources for more information Contains updated taxonomy including four new species
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780124095922Publication Date: 2015-07-28
Marine Mammals by
Marine Mammals: Fisheries, Tourism and Management Issues brings together contributions from 68 leading scientists from 12 countries to provide a comprehensive, up-to-date review on the way we manage our interactions with whales, dolphins, seals and dugongs. The book examines how we have fared conserving the world's marine mammal populations, with a focus on the key issues of fisheries and tourism.From a unique southern hemisphere perspective, the authors consider how science informs the culling debate, how wild fisheries and aquaculture interact with marine mammal populations and how we might manage the effects of whale, dolphin and seal watching industries. The authors also address other issues such as the way in which ethics, genetics, acoustics, ecosystem models and pollution influence the management and conservation of marine mammals.Marine Mammals is an invaluable and accessible resource for all those involved with marine mammals, including scientists, managers, policy makers, industry representatives and students.Winner of a 2004 Whitley Award.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0643090711Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Marine protected areas for whales, dolphins, and porpoises [electronic resource] : a world handbook for cetacean habitat conservation by
The first edition of the widely praised Marine Protected Areas for Whales, Dolphins and Porpoises, published in 2005, led to numerous new marine protected area proposals and a number of notable conservation successes around the world. In this completely revised and expanded second edition, new developments in the Mediterranean, Caribbean and Pacific are described, as well as future directions for High Seas protection. New sections show how to design and manage MPAs in an ever noisier ocean subject to climate change, increased shipping and hydrocarbon exploration. The process of protected area creation for cetaceans has been accelerated and more than 200 exciting new places are detailed in this edition. This book provides a route map for MPA managers, as well as countries, to meet the ambitious targets for highly protected MPA networks by 2012 and 2020. This book is a key conservation tool and a springboard for worldwide change in human attitudes toward the world ocean where all life originated and where the majority of life on Earth still lives.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1417583185Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Sea Otter Conservation by
Sea otters are good indicators of ocean health. In addition, they are a keystone species, offering a stabilizing effect on ecosystem, controlling sea urchin populations that would otherwise inflict damage to kelp forest ecosystems. The kelp forest ecosystem is crucial for marine organisms and contains coastal erosion. With the concerns about the imperiled status of sea otter populations in California, Aleutian Archipelago and coastal areas of Russia and Japan, the last several years have shown growth of interest culturally and politically in the status and preservation of sea otter populations. Sea Otter Conservation brings together the vast knowledge of well-respected leaders in the field, offering insight into the more than 100 years of conservation and research that have resulted in recovery from near extinction. This publication assesses the issues influencing prospects for continued conservation and recovery of the sea otter populations and provides insight into how to handle future global changes. Covers scientific, cultural, economic and political components of sea otter conservation Provides guidance on how to manage threats to the sea otter populations in the face of future global changes Highlights the effects that interactions of coastal animals have with the marine ecosystem
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128016879Publication Date: 2014-12-23
Whales, whaling, and ocean ecosystems [electronic resource] by
This unprecedented volume presents a sweeping picture of what we know about the natural history, biology, and ecology of whales in the broad context of the dynamics of ocean ecosystems. Innovative and comprehensive, the volume encompasses multiple points of view to consider the total ecological impact of industrial whaling on the world's oceans. Combining empirical research, ecological theory and modeling, and historical data, its chapters present perspectives from ecology, population biology, physiology, genetics, evolutionary history, ocean biogeography, economics, culture, and law, among other disiplines. Throughout, contributors investigate how whaling fundamentally disrupted ocean ecosystems, examine the various roles whales play in food webs, and discuss the continuing ecological chain reactions to the depletion of these large animals. In addition to reviewing what is known of the current and historic whale populations, Whales, Whaling, and Ocean Ecosystems considers how this knowledge will bear on scientific approaches to conservation and whaling in the future and provocatively asks whether it is possible to restore ocean ecosystems to their pre-whaling condition.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1429456396Publication Date: 2006
The Japanese Culture of Mourning Whales : Whale Graves and Memorial Monuments in Japan by
This book provides an in-depth study of Japanese whaling culture, emphasizing how the Japanese have considered whales and whaling in relation to their understanding of nature and religion. It examines why and how the Japanese have mourned the deaths of whales, treating them as if they were human beings, and assesses the relevance of this culture to nature conservation and management of sustainable use of natural resources. It also sheds new light on Japanese whaling, one of the most controversial issues in the contemporary world, by highlighting the hitherto unknown aspects of Japanese beliefs about whales and whaling, which constitute an integral part of their core concept of how they should coexist with nature. Through cross-examining previous studies of Japanese whaling, as well as analyzing new documents and conducting field research on location, this book presents a comprehensive survey of Japanese whaling culture and memorial rites for whales and offers viable insights on how the Japanese whaling culture can be applied to solving current global issues, including nature conservation, management of sustainable use of natural resources, and protection of wildlife and its habitats.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811066719Publication Date: 2017-12-05
The Rise of Marine Mammals by
Marine mammals have long captured the attention of humans. Ancient peoples etched seals and dolphins on the walls of Paleolithic caves; today, engineers develop microprocessors to track these denizens of the deep. This groundbreaking book from highly respected marine mammal paleontologist Annalisa Berta delves into the story of the extraordinary adaptations that gave the world these amazing animals. The Rise of Marine Mammals reveals remarkable fossil record discoveries that shed light on the origins, relationships, and diversification of marine mammals. Focusing on evolution and paleobiology, Berta provides an overview of marine mammal species diversity, enhanced with gorgeous life restorations by Carl Buell, Robert Boessenecker, William Stout, and Ray Troll and extensive line drawings by graphics editor James L. Sumich. The book also considers ongoing conservation challenges, demonstrating how the fossil record of adaptation in response to past environmental shifts may illuminate the way that marine mammals respond to global climate change. This invaluable evolutionary framework is essential for helping us understand how best to protect and conserve today's polar bears, whales, dolphins, seals, and fellow warm-blooded ocean dwellers. The Rise of Marine Mammals also describes exciting breakthroughs that rely on new techniques of study, including 3-D imaging, and molecular, finite element, and morphometric analyses, which have enhanced scientists' understanding of everything from the anatomy of fetal whales to the genes behind limb loss in cetaceans. Mammalogists, paleontologists, and marine scientists will find Berta's insights absorbing, while developmental and molecular biologists, geneticists, and ecologists exploring integrative research approaches will benefit from her fresh perspective.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781421423265Publication Date: 2017-10-19
The Last Whalers by
In this "immersive, densely reported, and altogether remarkable first book [with] the texture and color of a first-rate novel" (New York Times), journalist Doug Bock Clark tells the epic story of the world's last subsistence whalers and the threats posed to a tribe on the brink. "An amazing account . . . Spectacular and deeply empathetic." --Sebastian Junger, The Perfect Storm. "A monumental achievement." --Mitchell Zuckoff, 13 Hours. "A true work of art . . . Lyrically written and richly observed." --Michael Finkel, The Stranger in the Woods. "An extraordinary feat of reportage and illumination." --Leslie Jamison, The Empathy Exams. "From the very first lines, I was riveted." --Robert Moor, On Trails. "Intimate and moving." --Francisco Cantú, The Line Becomes a River. "Remarkable, gorgeously written." --Bronwen Dickey, Pit Bull. On a volcanic island in the Savu Sea so remote that other Indonesians call it "The Land Left Behind" live the Lamalerans: a tribe of 1,500 hunter-gatherers who are the world's last subsistence whalers. They have survived for half a millennium by hunting whales with bamboo harpoons and handmade wooden boats powered by sails of woven palm fronds. But now, under assault from the rapacious forces of the modern era and a global economy, their way of life teeters on the brink of collapse. Award-winning journalist Doug Bock Clark, one of a handful of Westerners who speak the Lamaleran language, lived with the tribe across three years, and he brings their world and their people to vivid life in this gripping story of a vanishing culture. Jon, an orphaned apprentice whaler, toils to earn his harpoon and provide for his ailing grandparents, while Ika, his indomitable younger sister, is eager to forge a life unconstrained by tradition, and to realize a star-crossed love. Frans, an aging shaman, tries to unite the tribe in order to undo a deadly curse. And Ignatius, a legendary harpooner entering retirement, labors to hand down the Ways of the Ancestors to his son, Ben, who would secretly rather become a DJ in the distant tourist mecca of Bali. Deeply empathetic and richly reported, The Last Whalers is a riveting, powerful chronicle of the collision between one of the planet's dwindling indigenous peoples and the irresistible enticements and upheavals of a rapidly transforming world.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780316390637Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Guide to Marine Mammals and Turtles of the U.S. Pacific by Call Number: QL719.N93 W96 2015ISBN: 9781566121767Publication Date: 2015-01-01- Human Impacts on Seals, Sea Lions, and Sea Otters by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780520948976Publication Date: 2011-03-23
Mammals of the Pacific Northwest : from the coast to the high Cascades by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0585227187Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest by Call Number: QH104.5.N6 L34 2005ISBN: 9781550173611Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Marine Mammals of the Pacific Northwest by Call Number: QL715 .M37 2001ISBN: 9781550172546Publication Date: 2001
Offshore Sea Life ID Guide : West Coast by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781400865970Publication Date: 2015-06-16
Title Field guide to marine mammals of the Pacific Coast : Baja, California, Oregon, Washington, British Columbia by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780520265448Publication Date: 2011-01-19
Whales, Dolphins, and Porpoises of the Eastern North Pacific and Adjacent Arctic Waters by Call Number: QL737.C4 W443 1988ISBN: 0486256510Publication Date: 1988-10-01
Wildlife of the Pacific Northwest by Call Number: QL768 .M675 2010ISBN: 9780881929492Publication Date: 2010-05-19
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |