Moot Court Research Resources
This guide features helpful Appellate Law research resources.
Getting Started
This guide is intended to assist students at the NSU College of Law in preparing for their Moot Court Competitions. Law Librarians are available to assist you to prepare (within the bounds of applicable fair competition authority, of course!)
- NSU Moot Court SocietyFor more information on Moot Court at NSU Law, visit the Moot Court Society page
- NSU Law Events CalendarUse this calendar to see upcoming NSU Moot Court events. Select the Search by date option, and enter Moot Court as your Keyword to show only Moot Court events
- NSU Law Advocacy ProgramFor more information about NSU Law's Appellate Advocacy accomplishments, visit the Advocacy Program page
Special Collections for Moot Court Students
*Please note that these titles are Faculty Reserve items available behind the Circulation Desk*
A Practical Guide to Appellate Advocacy by
Buy a new version of this textbook and receive access to the Connected eBook on CasebookConnect, including: lifetime access to the online ebook with highlight, annotation, and search capabilities, plus an outline tool and other helpful resources. Connected eBooks provide what you need most to be successful in your law school classes. Learn more about Connected eBooks Mary Beth Beazley's highly regarded A Practical Guide to Appellate Advocacy is a comprehensive student-focused guide to writing appellate briefs. Written in an understandable, direct writing style, this concise paperback's effective structure centers on a four-point approach to writing and breaks each point down into key elements that are then treated in-depth. New to the Fifth Edition: New bullets at the end of each chapter reviewing major takeaways Expanded coverage of research advice in Chapter 3, including discussion on Boolean searches A new chapter on using statutes in briefs, covering Reading statutes effectively Making statutory interpretation arguments Research techniques for statutory interpretation arguments Professors and students will benefit from: Student-friendly writing that is easy to read and understand Annotated examples - both good and bad - that help students understand why certain methods are effective Chapters on effective use of cases and statutes that address common problems experienced by students Numerous formulas that make learning and remembering easy: Creac Formula for effective topic sentences Formula for effective case descriptions ""Template"" formula for effective signals to the reader Teaching materials include: Powerpoints with effective examples and teaching notes Self-grading guidelines and examples of self-grading of effective and ineffective legal writing
Call Number: KF251 .B42 2019ISBN: 9781454896340Publication Date: 2018-09-14
Effective Appellate Advocacy by
This text is designed for both law students and lawyers. Analysis begins by over-viewing the appellate process including factors to consider before appealing. Ethics of advocacy as informed by the Model Rules with internet sites provide the latest information. Sound persuasive theory is developed. Preparation for and writing the opening, answering, and reply briefs, including examples follows. Preparation and presentation of the oral argument with examples concludes the appeal and post-argument procedures such as post-argument memos and petition for rehearing. Closing the case after appeal concludes the text.
Call Number: KF251 .B43 2016ISBN: 9780314278395Publication Date: 2016-10-03
Moot Court Workbook by
The Moot Court Workbook offers an opportunity to participate a range of lawyerly skills, such as collaborating, scheduling, and managing stress, in addition to honing the skills of legal analysis, research, persuasive writing, and oral advocacy. This workbook enhances the educational and practical experience of moot court, including the development of professional identity, and offers basic information students need to perform well in Moot Court and to cultivate professional skills that will make them successful after graduation. Professors and students will benefit from: A focus on active learning--with annotated examples drawn from filed briefs and oral arguments, exercises, tip sheets, rubrics, and checklists--to engage students and to help them learn and retain core content. The authors' experience as professors who teach legal writing (including persuasive writing and oral argument), coach moot court teams, and judge moot court competitions. Clear organization and descriptive headings that ensure easy access to relevant topics Workbook topics that are designed to advance students' understanding and use of persuasive advocacy skills without limitation to a particular competition problem. Examples and exercises (with suggested answers) that are drawn from a variety of subject areas.
Call Number: KF281.A2 P35 2017ISBN: 9781454870074Publication Date: 2017-07-11
Winning on Appeal by
When the late Ruggero J. Aldisert wrote Winning on Appeal in 1992, it became an instant classic in law school classrooms and appellate law practices across the country. To celebrate the twenty-fifth anniversary of the book's release, Tessa L. Dysart and Leslie H. Southwick carry on the Aldisert tradition of revealing the "nuts and bolts" of how to prepare an effective brief with the nuanced art of a delivering a persuasive appeal to the court. Their meticulously rendered update is replete with dozens of interviews with leading appeals judges and practitioners--treasured guidance from a bona fide who's who of appellate advocacy in America--and escorts readers into the "wired" courtroom of the twenty-first century, where they explore the benefits and challenges of melding technology with appellate advocacy. With a Foreword penned by U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Samuel A. Alito, Jr., Winning on Appeal conveys the perfect blueprint for any lawyer who wants to win on appeal. Reviews "I argued before Judge Aldisert as a young attorney, and I learned from the experience of trying to hold my own in front of the former Marine. I will certainly never forget those occasions. Arguing before Judge Aldisert was the best (and therefore the most demanding) Socratic experience imaginable. Woe to the lawyer who was unprepared or, worse yet, tried to pull something on the court! But to paraphrase that famous Sinatra song, if you could make it arguing in front of Judge Aldisert, you could make it anywhere. I am very pleased that Rugi's teaching will live on after him in this new edition of Winning on Appeal. For new appellate advocates, this volume should be required reading. I wish that it had been available when I argued my first case. For more experienced attorneys, the book contains advanced tips and reminders that may serve as a corrective against the bad habits that are easy to acquire. For any attorney who wants to know how to win on appeal, this is where to look." -- Samuel A. Alito, Jr., Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court
Call Number: KF9050 .A935 2017ISBN: 9781601567246Publication Date: 2017-08-15
- Phillip C. Jessup LibraryThis subset of the Hein Online is an image-based and fully searchable library collection. The collection includes complete coverage of the annual Jessup Compendium since 1960. This collection provides access to all of the top moot court competitions since 1960. It draws together the Problems, Judges' Briefs, Rules, and leading written memorials which comprise each competition. In addition, several publications of ILSA are also available.
Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU.