MSMS 5060 Scientific Communication: Getting Started: Job Acquisition
Course guide for the OC Course in Scientific Communication (MSMS 5060)
Search Google Scholar
Search NSU Databases for Articles & More
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Marine Science / Oceanography Job Websites and Listservs
The Prepared Graduate by
Professional Advice About Career Preparation for Soon-To-Be College Grads "This book is so real and honest! I wish I had this when I first started out in my career....Every parent should read this book and then gift it to their child! " --Nancy Barrows, MS CC-SLP, LAUSD educator & speech language pathologist #1 New Release in Career Development Counseling and Vocational Guidance This book of professional advice about career preparation may be the best college graduation gift you'll receive. Too many people end up working jobs they didn't study for. It's time you proactively prepare for post-graduate life. The Prepared Graduate speaks to Generation Z and Millennials, addressing many of the concerns students (and parents) have about pre- and post-graduation. Kyyah Abdul offers extensive job search tips and work advice, such as guidance on writing the perfect résumé, excelling in job interviews, networking in-person and online, negotiating job salaries, paying off student loans, and more. Rely on trusted guidance. Armed with first-hand experience with the lack of preparation universities provide their students, Kyyah set out to forge her own path for finding relevant work post-graduation. Her strategies helped her land jobs in several STEM positions both during and after college. Over time, Kyyah created a comprehensive roadmap chockfull of work advice for college seniors through summer up until the end of their first year as a graduate. The Prepared Graduate is the perfect college graduation gift that provides: Guidance on finding the right path for career success An easy-to-follow roadmap with advice about career preparation Endless job search tips If you enjoyed What Color is Your Parachute? (2021); Brag Better: Master the Art of Fearless Self-Promotion; or You Turn: Get Unstuck, Discover Your Direction, and Design Your Dream Career, you'll love The Prepared Graduate.
Call Number: HD6277 .A23 2022ISBN: 9781642507560Publication Date: 2022-01-25
Get Hired Now! by
A Wall Street Journal Bestseller Accelerate your job search, stand out, and land your next great opportunity In Get Hired Now!, ZipRecruiter founder and CEO Ian Siegel tells you exactly how to find a new job fast. With an insider's view of how over a million employers really make hires, Ian pulls insights from the data to give you step-by-step instructions for writing a resume that works, finding the right jobs to apply to, acing a job interview, and negotiating a job offer. Debunk the conventional wisdom Break the unconscious habits that are sabotaging your success Get hired in record time Relevant for every stage of your career and for every industry, Get Hired Now! is a one-stop resource for job seekers looking to level up, stand out, and land the job.
ISBN: 9781119820406Publication Date: 2021-04-13
The Making of an Ecologist by
This is an innovative and collaborative life history of one of Alaska's pioneering wildlife biologists. David R. Klein has been a leader in promoting habitat studies across wildlife research in Alaska, and this is his first-hand account of how science and biological fieldwork has been carried out in Alaska in the last sixty years. This book tells the stories of how Klein did his science and the inspiration behind the research, while exposing the thinking that underlies particular scientific theories. In addition, this book shows the evolution of Alaska's wildlife management regimes from territorial days to statehood to the era of big oil. The first portion of the book is comprised of stories from Klein's life collected during oral history interviews, while the latter section contains essays written by Klein about philosophical topics of importance to him, such as eco-philosophy, the definition of wilderness, and the morality of hunting. Many of Klein's graduate students have gone on to become successful wildlife managers themselves, in Alaska and around the globe. Through The Making of an Ecologist, Klein's outlook, philosophy, and approach toward sustainability, wildlife management, and conservation can now inspire even more readers to ensure the survival of our fragile planet in an ever-changing global society.
Call Number: QH31.K59 A3 2019ISBN: 9781602233911Publication Date: 2019-07-15
Becoming a Marine Biologist by
A fascinating guide to a career in marine biology written by bestselling journalist Virginia Morell and based on the real-life experiences of an expert in the field--essential reading for someone considering a path to this profession. For the last two decades, Dr. Robin Baird has spent two months out of each year aboard a twenty-four-foot Zodiac boat in the waters off the big island of Hawai'i, researching the twenty-five species of whales and dolphins that live in the Pacific Ocean. His life may seem an impossible dream--but his career path from being the first person in his family to graduate college to becoming the leading expert on some of Hawai'i's marine mammals was full of twists and turns. Join Baird aboard his Zodiac for a candid look at the realities of life as a research scientist, from the ever-present struggles to secure grants and publish new data, to the joys of helping to protect the ocean and its inhabitants. You'll also learn pro tips, like the unexpected upsides to not majoring in marine biology and the usefulness of hobbies like sailing, birdwatching, photography, and archery. (You'll need good aim to tag animals with the tiny recording devices that track their movements.) Becoming a Marine Biologist is an essential guide for anyone looking to turn a passion for the natural world into a career. This is the most valuable informational interview you'll have--required reading for anyone considering this challenging yet rewarding path.
Call Number: E-AUDIOBOOKISBN: 9781508281733Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Resumes for Dummies by
Polish up that old resume--and land your dream job We've all been there: it's time to apply for a job or internship and you have to create or revise your resume. Many questions pop in your head. What do employers want? What skills should I highlight? How do I format this? How do I get noticed? But resume writing doesn't have to be a daunting task. The latest edition of Resumes For Dummies answers all of these questions and more--whether you're a resume rookie, looking for new tips, or want to create that eye-catching winning resume. In this trusted guide, Laura DeCarlo decodes the modern culture of resume writing and offers you insider tips on all the best practices that'll make your skills shine and your resume pop. Let's start writing! Write effective resumes that will stand out in a crowd Understand Applicant Tracking Systems and how to adapt your resume Keep your resume up with the current culture Position a layoff or other career change and challenge with a positive spin Leverage tips and tricks that give your resume visual power In order to put your best foot forward and stand out in a pile of papers, it's important to have an excellent and effective resume--and now you can.
ISBN: 9781119539285Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Now What, Grad? by
Many soon-to-be graduates are worried about their future. They stress about whether they'll find a job, if it will be fulfilling, whether they will earn enough to pay off their student loans, and whether they will fail and disappoint their families. Young people need to learn many things that colleges don't teach, including how to behave professionally, how to collaborate, how to be life-long learners, and how to be resourceful, resilient, and ethical. This book will teach students the things they need to succeed in the real world, such as how to organize a job search, how to ace job interviews, how to manage time effectively, how to manage and reduce stress, how to be an effective leader, how to run a meeting well, how to survive a bad performance review, how to become a powerful speaker, how to network, and many other skills that are the keys to success and fulfillment. New topics in this 2nd edition include the habits of successful people; eliminating bad habits; dealing with criticism; email etiquette; making a good first impression; the importance of gratitude; how to listen; job hunting mistakes; managing conflict; how to overcome obstacles; the importance of professionalism, punctuality, and thank you letters; creating a powerful online presence; how to crowdfund; necessary life skills; and sample cover letters.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 147583893XPublication Date: 2018-08-16
Becoming a Wildlife Professional by
Working with wildlife can be a thrilling adventure steeped in the wonders of the natural world, but entering the field demands a strong personal commitment. With proper training and guidance, students can transform themselves into competitive applicants and forge successful careers. This book reveals the best way to become a wildlife management professional. Becoming a Wildlife Professional is the first comprehensive book to describe the entry-level jobs available for the next generation of wildlife biologists and conservationists. Scott E. Henke and Paul R. Krausman include detailed chapters on how students should prepare for a vocation in the wildlife profession while offering pragmatic advice about applying for and obtaining a job. The core of the book presents over 100 diverse career options that are available to aspiring wildlife workers, including work in biological field research, forestry, rehabilitation, ranching, photography, and refuge management. It also details each position's educational and technical requirements, challenges, salaries, and opportunities for advancement. Bringing together useful advice from a range of seasoned experts who actually hold these jobs and have used these techniques to secure employment, Becoming a Wildlife Professional conveys important philosophical messages about the responsibilities and challenges of a career in wildlife conservation and management. This how-to manual is an essential text for wildlife science students interested in making themselves marketable for employers across a wide spectrum of wildlife jobs. Chapter Author Contributors: Rick Baydack, Jessica L. Blickley, Monika Burchette, Shawn Cleveland, Kristy Deiner, Kelly Garbach, Ashley R. Gramza, Jim Heffelfinger, Scott E. Henke, Fidel Hern#65533;ndez, Serra J. Hoagland, Jessica A. Homyack, Winifred B. Kessler, Holley Kline, Lianne Koczur, Michel T. Kohl, John L. Koprowski, Blaise Korzekwa, Paul R. Krausman, Iara Lacher, Mariah H. Meek, Kelly F. Millenbah, Karen E. Munroe, Kerry L. Nicholson, John P. O'Loughlin, Lindsey Phillips, Lauren M. Porensky, William F. Porter, Terra Rentz, Nova J. Silvy, Kelley M. Stewart, Marit L. Wilkerson, Eric Winford. An additional 52 wildlife professionals describe the work of the profession.
Call Number: SK355 .B43 2017ISBN: 9781421423067Publication Date: 2017-07-28
ReSearch by
ReSearch: A Career Guide for Scientists is a career planning guide and practical tool for graduate students and postdocs. This book provides step-by-step processes for the assessment of career goals and the actions that can be taken in order to achieve them. ReSearch includes chapters on the basics of career planning, determining unique selling points, and navigating work-life concerns. This book also includes narratives from a number of perspectives to showcase the variety of career options available. ReSearch is written by experts with inside knowledge of how to effectively leverage skills in order to take that next step in your career, whether you are a recent graduate or are interested in transitioning into something new. This book is also a valuable resource for advisors and careers counselors who mentor students and postdocs about their career plans. Fills the knowledge gap in career planning practices for students and early career researchers in the STEM fields, particularly those in the sciences Provides global perspectives on seeking career opportunities outside of the United States Includes strategies for how to market your transferable skill sets, network, and maximize informational interviews Includes chapters on the basics of career planning, determining unique selling points, and navigating work-life concerns
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128042977Publication Date: 2017-05-31
Life after College by
Whether employed or not upon completing their college degree, most people experience a significant "culture shock" while transitioning from student to professional life. In Life After College: Ten Steps to Build a Life You Love, authors Tori Randolph Terhune and Betsy A. Hays show recent, and not so recent, college graduates what they can do to successfully transition into this new stage of their lives. Terhune, a recent college graduate, and Hays, a college professor, provide honest, humorous, and helpful suggestions to help readers thrive. Focusing on more than just success in the workplace, the authors offer ten easy-to-follow strategies and practical advice for all points of life--from time management at home and at work to making friends in a new city to budgeting. The book also covers key generational differences, the magic of mentoring, and the millennial validation vacuum. Life After College will help any recent grad build a fulfilling life--in and out of the office. There is so much more to being happy and healthy post-college than getting a job, and anyone looking to successfully adjust to life beyond college needs to read Life After College.
Call Number: HD6277 .T463 2014ISBN: 9781442225978Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Paths to Career and Success for Women in Science by Call Number: Q130 .P38 2014ISBN: 3658040602Publication Date: 2014-02-28
Becoming a Successful Scientist by
Scientific research requires both innovation and attention to detail, clever breakthroughs and routine procedures. This indispensable guide gives students and researchers across all scientific disciplines practical advice on how to succeed. All types of scientific careers are discussed, from those in industry and academia to consulting, with emphasis on how scientists spend their time and the skills that are needed to be productive. Strategic thinking, creativity and problem-solving, the central keys to success in research, are all explored. The reader is shown how to enhance the creative process in science, how one goes about making discoveries, putting together the solution to a complex problem and then testing the solution obtained. The social dimension of science is also discussed from the development and execution of a scientific research program to publishing papers, as well as issues of ethics and science policy.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780521513616Publication Date: 2009-12-24
Career Opportunities in Science, Second Edition by
This is a handy resource to exciting careers in science.With hot topics such as nanotechnology, genetic engineering, stem cell research, and cloning in the news, the field of science has attracted much attention and controversy recently. The science industry spans a wide range of professions, including astronomy, physics, agriculture, math, medical science, and more.Filled with essential information, Career Opportunities in Science, Second Edition provides updated key information, including salary ranges, employment trends, and technical requirements. This helpful resource features 93 job profiles, including 20 new to this edition, with detailed information on the duties, salaries, and prospects for each job. Appendixes provide directories of education and training resources, industry associations, and useful Web sites. A glossary defines key terms used throughout the text.New and updated career profiles include: astronomer; biological technician; chemical technician; chemist; cryptographer; Geographic Information Systems (GIS) specialist; geologist; health physicist; information security specialist; materials scientist; oceanographer; physicist; programmer; veterinary technician; zoologist; and, more.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781438117157Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Other Resources
- NSU Career CenterCareer Development serves to support Nova Southeastern University's undergraduate students, graduate students, and alumni in the implementation of successful career planning.
- NSU HandshakeJob posting board for active NSU students.
Below are current government listings from USAJobs.gov for Recent Graduates in both Biological and Physical Sciences. Click on the links below for more information. In order to maximize the number of job opportunities visible, the search generated is very broad and may include other job postings besides Marine Science and Oceanography related positions.
- ChemistryConduct qualitative and quantitative chemical analyses or experiments in laboratories for quality or process control or to develop new products or knowledge.
- General Natural Resources Management And Biological Sciences JobsResearch or study basic principles of plant and animal life, such as origin, relationship, development, anatomy, and functions.
- General Physical Science JobsIncludes careers in the physical sciences, including physics, chemistry, and earth science.
Open Science Positions from the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and Science Magazine. Some of these positions are not going to be for new graduates.
More Links to Consider from AAAS:
- CturtleTo improve communication among individuals around the world who are interested in sea turtle biology and conservation, the Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research at the University of Florida has established CTURTLE -- an email conference and bulletin board. CTURTLE is a LISTSERV managed email list on BITNET, an academic and research computer network, which is connected to many other computer networks worldwide.
- Coral-LISTThe purpose of the Coral-List listserver is to provide a forum for Internet discussions and announcements pertaining to coral reef ecosystem research, conservation, and education. The list is primarily for use by coral reef ecosystem researchers, scientists and educators, but is of course open to everybody. As of December 2014 over 8,400 coral reef enthusiasts were subscribed to the list.
- SeaBeansThe list is now made available worldwide to those who are interested in open communication about sea-beans. Post your questions, ideas, knowledge, discoveries, etc. to "the list" so that others may help you, you may help others, and all will benefit, learn, and simply enjoy the discussions.
- MARMAMThe MARMAM e-mail list was established on August 6th, 1993, through the University of Victoria. It is a public e-mail list meant to serve researchers and managers working with marine mammals. As of January 2010 there are approximately 8,500 subscribers to the list.
- CDHCClosed List - must apply: The CDHC list is designed to facilitate communication between all participants in the CDHC. Many issues, such as meeting or opportunity announcements, observations of possibly emerging syndromes or diseases and others that will be of interest to the group as a whole.
- Reef ResilienceThis list was made to keep past participants from previous Reef Resilience workshops apprised of newly published papers, products for reef managers, funding opportunities, training opportunities, etc. You are welcome to share similar information and lessons learned in your efforts to implement adaptation strategies and increase the resilience of your reefs and dependent communities with one another. The list will be moderated.
- Comprehensive List of Email ListsContains list-servs for all areas of Marine Biology and Oceanography.