MSMS 5020 - Marine Ecosystems
Marine Ecosystems
MSMS 5020
Fall 2024
This class focuses on the structure, function, and management of natural ecosystems, with a emphasis on examples from the marine realm. The class considers ecosystems as examples of complex adaptive systems, with the first half of the course focusing on the properties of such systems, including nutrient cycling and biogeochemistry, biodiversity, trophic relationships, and their spatiotemporal context. The second half of the course considers how ecosystems are influenced by human activities, including discussion and examples of modern management frameworks.
No required textbooks.
Recommended Textbooks:
Coastal Ecosystem Processes by
There is a need for documentation and an awareness of just how necessa ry, yet delicate, is the interplay of biological and physical forces b etween coastal ocean, land, and the atmosphere. Marine scientists toda y need to make informed management decisions about sustainable develop ment and conservation of these fragile ecosystems. Coastal Ecosystem P rocesses provides present and future marine scientists the latest coas tal ecosystem information to make the right decisions concerning the e cology of our oceans.
Call Number: QH541.5.C65 A58 1998ISBN: 0849384265Publication Date: 1997-10-28
Introduction to Marine Biogeochemistry by
An Introduction to Marine Biogeochemistry focuses on the ocean's role in the biogeochemical cycling of selected elements and the impact of humans on the cycling of these elements. Among the topics covered are the chemical composition of seawater from the perspectives of elemental speciation and the impacts of solutes on water's physical behavior; biogeochemical phenomena which control accumulation and preservation of marine sediments; marine chemistry of radioactive and stable isotopes; and seawater pollution. The book contains many examples as well as steady-state models to aid readers in understanding this growing and complex science.. *The focus of Introduction to Marine Biogeochemistry is the concept of the ocean as a system, linking land and atmospheric processes. *The text integrates the most current research, allowing students to learn concepts in context *Includes detailed coverage of computational aspects *Offers an online companion site, including a full study guide, available for students
Call Number: GC116 .L53 2009ISBN: 9780120885305Publication Date: 2009-02-05
Introduction to Marine Biogeochemistry by
An Introduction to Marine Biogeochemistry focuses on the ocean's role in the biogeochemical cycling of selected elements and the impact of humans on the cycling of these elements. Among the topics covered are the chemical composition of seawater from the perspectives of elemental speciation and the impacts of solutes on water's physical behavior; biogeochemical phenomena which control accumulation and preservation of marine sediments; marine chemistry of radioactive and stable isotopes; and seawater pollution. The book contains many examples as well as steady-state models to aid readers in understanding this growing and complex science.. *The focus of Introduction to Marine Biogeochemistry is the concept of the ocean as a system, linking land and atmospheric processes. *The text integrates the most current research, allowing students to learn concepts in context *Includes detailed coverage of computational aspects *Offers an online companion site, including a full study guide, available for students
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0120885301Publication Date: 2009-02-05
- Review relevant concepts of the physical ocean.
- Review basic concepts of ecology with an emphasis on those relevant to the marine environment.
- Understand energy flow within a marine ecosystem and relevant processes.
- Understand nutrient cycles in the ocean.
- Understand the importance of marine microbes and microbial food chains.
- Apply the above concepts to specific ecosystems.
- Develop experience reviewing scientific literature and leading discussions of technical topics.
 |
 |
Search:
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find Research Tips and Useful Resources
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides
News, Events, & Training | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes