MSMS 5030 - Marine Geology
Course guide for Marine Geology (MSMS 5030)
Marine Geology - Books by Course Module - Books Suggested by the Library are divided among all modules for this course
Mineral Systems, Earth Evolution, and Global Metallogeny by
Mineral Systems, Earth Evolution, and Global Metallogeny provides insights into the critical parameters of Earth's evolution, particularly in terms of thermal state, tectonics, and the atmosphere-hydrosphere-biosphere system, that control the metallogeny of the planet. World-class to giant mineral systems are described and interpreted in terms of their relationship to critical periods of change in tectonic regimes within the supercontinent cycle and evolution of the mantle lithosphere. Specific times of formation of highly anomalous giant mineral systems, such as the so-called Boring Billion, are discussed together with specific tectonic environments, such as craton edges and thick lithosphere margins. Mineral Systems, Earth Evolution, and Global Metallogeny provides an overview of how the evolution of Earth has dictated the nature and distribution of its mineral resources that are the foundation of our modern industries and provides insights into critical parameters for conceptual exploration targeting. Researchers, academicians, undergraduate and graduate students, and geologists in the fields of economic geology, geologic exploration, mineral systems, and earth evolution will find this to be a helpful textbook in understanding the timing and distribution of the world's major mineral deposits are related to critical parameters controlling earth evolution. Draws together aspects of each book section through summary tables Synthesizes data in each book section using summary diagrams/figures Provides continuity between related sections of the book by providing end-of-chapter bullet-point conclusions
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780443216855Publication Date: 2023-09-30
The Earth's Lower Mantle by
This book presents the first overview of the composition and structure of the Earth’s lower mantle. The first part focuses on the study of lower-mantle minerals, identified as inclusions in diamonds f rom different regions of the world. Three associations are established among the lower-mantle minerals: ultramafic, mafic, and carbonatic. The carbonatic association is of particular interest because it characterizes the media of natural diamond formation. In turn, the second part analyzes the structure of the lower mantle, revealing its heterogeneous composition. It is based on the results of experiments demonstrating phase transitions in lower-mantle minerals, and on seismological data. Deep-seated earthquakes point to the presence within the lower mantle of numerous seismic boundaries caused by mineral structure transitions. In closing, the last part of the book compares observed data with experimental data, highlighting several discrepancies that indicate Earth may have a more complex planetary history than previously assumed, and examining its primarily non-chondritic composition.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319556840Publication Date: 2017
Earth History and Palaeogeography by
Using full-colour palaeogeographical maps from the Cambrian to the present, this interdisciplinary volume explains how plate motions and surface volcanism are linked to processes in the Earth's mantle, and to climate change and the evolution of the Earth's biota. These new and very detailed maps provide a complete and integrated Phanerozoic story of palaeogeography. They illustrate the development of all the major mountain-building orogenies. Old lands, seas, ice caps, volcanic regions, reefs, and coal beds are highlighted on the maps, as well as faunal and floral provinces. Many other original diagrams show sections from the Earth's core, through the mantle, and up to the lithosphere, and how Large Igneous Provinces are generated, helping to understand how plates have appeared, moved, and vanished through time. Supplementary resources are available online, making this an invaluable reference for researchers, graduate students, professional geoscientists and anyone interested in the geological history of the Earth.
Call Number: QE501.4.P3 T677 2017ISBN: 9781107105324Publication Date: 2016-12-01
Fundamentals of Geomorphology by
The new fourth edition of Fundamentals of Geomorphology continues to provide a comprehensive introduction to the subject by discussing the latest developments in the field, as well as covering the basics of Earth surface forms and processes. The revised edition has an improved logically cohesive structure, added recent material on Quaternary environments and landscapes, landscape evolution and tectonics, as well as updated information in fast-changing areas such as the application of dating techniques, digital terrain modelling, historical contingency, preglacial landforms, neocatastrophism, and biogeomorphology. The book begins with a consideration of the nature of geomorphology, process and form, history, and geomorphic systems, and moves on to discuss: Endogenic processes: structural landforms associated with plate tectonics and those associated with volcanoes, impact craters, and folds, faults, and joints. Exogenic processes: landforms resulting from, or influenced by, the exogenic agencies of weathering, running water, flowing ice and meltwater, ground ice and frost, the wind, and the sea; landforms developed on limestone; and long-term geomorphology, a discussion of ancient landforms, including palaeosurfaces, stagnant landscape features, and evolutionary aspects of landscape change. Featuring over 400 illustrations, diagrams, and tables, Fundamentals of Geomorphology provides a stimulating and innovative perspective on the key topics and debates within the field of geomorphology. Written in an accessible and lively manner, and providing guides to further reading, chapter summaries, and an extensive glossary of key terms, this is an indispensable undergraduate level textbook for students of physical geography.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781317378389Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Physical Geology of Shallow Magmatic Systems by
This book offers a high-level summary of shallow magmatic systems (dykes, sills and laccoliths) to support geoscience master and PhD students, scientists and practicing professionals. The product of the LASI (Laccoliths and Sills conference) workshop, it comprises thematic sections written by one or more experts on the respective field. It features reviews concerning the physical properties of magma, geotectonic settings, and the structure of subvolcanic systems, as well as case studies on the best-known systems. The book provides readers a broad and comprehensive understanding of the subvolcanic perspective on pluton growth, which is relevant for mineralogical processes as well as the genesis of mineral deposits.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319140841Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Earth's Early Atmosphere and Surface Environment by
This volume explores the range of conditions and compositions that have been proposed for Earth's early surface and atmosphere with a collection of papers presented at a 2011 GSA Pardee Symposium. Each chapter is accompanied by a commentary and followed by a transcript of the ensuing discussion at the meeting.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780813725048Publication Date: 2014-03-01
The Story of Earth by
Earth evolves. From first atom to molecule, mineral to magma, granite crust to single cell to verdant living landscape, ours is a planet constantly in flux. In this radical new approach to Earth's biography, senior Carnegie Institution researcher and national bestselling author Robert M. Hazen reveals how the co-evolution of the geosphere and biosphere--of rocks and living matter--has shaped our planet into the only one of its kind in the Solar System, if not the entire cosmos. With an astrobiologist's imagination, a historian's perspective, and a naturalist's passion for the ground beneath our feet, Hazen explains how changes on an atomic level translate into dramatic shifts in Earth's makeup over its 4.567 billion year existence. He calls upon a flurry of recent discoveries to portray our planet's many iterations in vivid detail--from its fast-rotating infancy when the Sun rose every five hours and the Moon filled 250 times more sky than it does now, to its sea-bathed youth before the first continents arose; from the Great Oxidation Event that turned the land red, to the globe-altering volcanism that may have been the true killer of the dinosaurs. Through Hazen's theory of "co-evolution," we learn how reactions between organic molecules and rock crystals may have generated Earth's first organisms, which in turn are responsible for more than two-thirds of the mineral varieties on the planet--thousands of different kinds of crystals that could not exist in a nonliving world. The Story of Earth is also the story of the pioneering men and women behind the sciences. Readers will meet black-market meteorite hawkers of the Sahara Desert, the gun-toting Feds who guarded the Apollo missions' lunar dust, and the World War II Navy officer whose super-pressurized "bomb"--recycled from military hardware--first simulated the molten rock of Earth's mantle. As a mentor to a new generation of scientists, Hazen introduces the intrepid young explorers whose dispatches from Earth's harshest landscapes will revolutionize geology. Celebrated by the New York Times for writing "with wonderful clarity about science . . . that effortlessly teaches as it zips along," Hazen proves a brilliant and entertaining guide on this grand tour of our planet inside and out. Lucid, controversial, and intellectually bracing, The Story of Earth is popular science of the highest order.
Call Number: QE501 .H325 2012ISBN: 9780670023554Publication Date: 2012-04-26
Earth as an Evolving Planetary System by
Earth as an Evolving Planetary System is based on Kent Condie's classic text, Plate Tectonics and Crustal Evolution, which has been revamped and renamed in order to reflect a new emphasis on the evolving interactions of the Earth's systems. This revised volume synthesizes data from the fields of geophysics, oceanography, planetology, and geochemistry. It features new chapters on the Earth's core, biotic systems, and the supercontinent cycle and mantle plume events. It contains expanded treatment of the evolution of the Earth's crust and mantle, carbon cycle, oxygenation of the atmosphere, and the significance of sulfur isotope fractionation. It also includes new information on mass extinctions and catastrophic events over the last four billion years that have transformed the atmosphere, oceans, and life on Earth. By integrating results from many different disciplines, this important text gives students a broader perspective of the Earth Sciences and shows how specialized data contribute to Earth and planetary history. This text is designed for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences; and scientists in other disciplines who want to look at the Earth with a broader perspective. * New insight on interaction and evolution of Earth system * Examines the role of castrophic events in Earth's history * New section on the evolution of the mantle
Call Number: QE511 .C66 2005ISBN: 0120883929Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Dynamics of Plate Tectonics and Mantle Convection by
Dynamics of Plate Tectonics and Mantle Convection, written by specialists in the field, gathers state-of-the-art perspectives on the dynamics of plate tectonics and mantle convection. Plate tectonics is a unifying theory of solid Earth sciences. In its initial form, it was a kinematic theory that described how the planet's surface is fragmented into several rigid lithospheric plates that move in relation to each other over the less viscous asthenosphere. Plate tectonics soon evolved to describe the forces that drive and resist plate movements. The Earth sciences community is now developing a new perspective that looks at plate tectonics and mantle convection as part of a single system. Why does our planet have plate tectonics, and how does it work? How does mantle convection drive the supercontinent cycle? How have tectono-convective modes evolved over the Earth's history? How did they shape the planet and impact life? Do other planets have mantle convection and tectonics? These are some of the fascinating questions explored in this book. This book started with a challenge from the editor to the authors to provide perspectives from their vantage point and open the curtain to the endeavors and stories behind the science. Provides diverse perspectives from different experts around the world in plate tectonics and geodynamics Includes the most up-to-date knowledge on plate tectonics and mantle convection Sets the scene for the developments and challenges likely to be faced by researchers in the future of geodynamics
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780323885867Publication Date: 2023-02-10
Regional Geology and Tectonics: Principles of Geologic Analysis by
Regional Geology and Tectonics: Principles of Geologic Analysis, 2nd edition is the first in a three-volume series covering Phanerozoic regional geology and tectonics. The new edition provides updates to the first edition's detailed overview of geologic processes, and includes new sections on plate tectonics, petroleum systems, and new methods of geological analysis. This book provides both professionals and students with the basic principles necessary to grasp the conceptual approaches to hydrocarbon exploration in a wide variety of geological settings globally. Discusses in detail the principles of regional geological analysis and the main geological and geophysical tools Captures and identifies the tectonics of the world in detail, through a series of unique geographic maps, allowing quick access to exact tectonic locations Serves as the ideal introductory overview and complementary reference to the core concepts of regional geology and tectonics offered in volumes 2 and 3 in the series
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780444641359Publication Date: 2020-06-17
Plate Boundaries and Natural Hazards by
The beginning of the new millennium has been particularly devastating in terms of natural disasters associated with tectonic plate boundaries, such as earthquakes in Sumatra, Chile, Japan, Tahiti, and Nepal; the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean tsunamis; and volcanoes in Indonesia, Chile, Iceland that have produced large quantities of ash causing major disruption to aviation. In total, half a million people were killed by such natural disasters. These recurring events have increased our awareness of the destructive power of natural hazards and the major risks associated with them. While we have come a long way in the search for understanding such natural phenomena, and although our knowledge of Earth dynamics and plate tectonics has improved enormously, there are still fundamental uncertainties in our understanding of natural hazards. Increased understanding is crucial to improve our capacity for hazard prediction and mitigation. Volume highlights include: Main concepts associated with tectonic plate boundaries Novel studies on boundary-related natural hazards Fundamental concepts that improve hazard prediction and mitigation Plate Boundaries and Natural Hazards will be a valuable resource for scientists and students in the fields of geophysics, geochemistry, plate tectonics, natural hazards, and climate science. Read an interview with the editors to find out more: https://eos.org/editors-vox/plate-boundaries-and-natural-hazards
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119053972Publication Date: 2016-08-08
Quantitative Plate Tectonics by
This textbook on plate tectonics is designed for students in geology and geophysics to acquire in-depth knowledge of quantitative methods in plate kinematics and dynamics. Quantitative Plate Tectonics can also be used as a reference book by geoscientists who desire to expand their knowledge beyond their own specialization, or by oil-and-gas professionals and ore deposit specialists that need to investigate the geodynamic context of formation of geologic resources. Finally, this book can be considered as a comprehensive monograph on plate tectonics, which addresses the different quantitative aspects of this broad discipline, which has been traditionally partitioned into separate or quasi-separate branches. Additional material, available at http://extras.springer.com, includes two computer programs for the analysis of marine magnetic anomalies and for plate kinematic modelling, as well as some important geophysical data sets and models. Solutions to the exercises are also included. A unified quantitative description of plate tectonics, combining geological and geophysical perspectives Professional software, manual verification examples and applications are available as additional material Includes detailed calculations, examples, and problem sets per chapter Well illustrated "Dr. Schettino has produced a book covering in a rigorous way the kinematics and dynamics of plate tectonics. The fundamental physics governing geodynamic processes is discussed quantitatively, the relevant equations are clearly derived, and the implications of results are illustrated with examples and problems. The book will repay careful reading not only by postgraduate students in geophysics and geology, but also by any Earth scientist who wishes to acquire a quantitative understanding of plate tectonics."Giorgio Ranalli, Distinguished Research Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, Carleton university, Ottawa, Canada (author of "Rheology of the Earth", two editions, 1987 and 1995) "This text gives an excellent quantitative presentation of the kinematics and the dynamics of plate tectonics that integrates many aspects of the Earth sciences and provides a powerful model of the dynamic behaviour of the Earth. The geological and geophysical processes involved in elucidating the theory are clearly illustrated through a perfectly balanced level of mathematical and physical concepts including derivation of the relevant equations, examples and problems. The book is intended for advanced undergraduates, graduate students and professional earth scientists requiring an overview of the essential processes of plate tectonics." Marco Ligi, Senior Researcher, National Research Council of Italy, Istituto di Scienze Marine, Bologna, Italy.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319091358Publication Date: 2014-10-15
Plates by
Plates: Theories and Applications provides a comprehensive introduction to plate structures, covering classical theory and applications. It considers plate structures in several forms, starting from the simple uniform, thin, homogeneous metallic structure to more efficient and durable alternatives involving features such as variable-thickness, lamination, sandwich construction, fiber reinforcement, functional gradation, and moderately-thick to very-thick geometry. Different theoretical models are then discussed for analysis and design purposes starting from the classical thin plate theory to alternatives obtained by incorporation of appropriate complicating effects or by using fundamentally different assumptions. Plates: Theories and Applications also covers the latest developments on the topic.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118894804Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Mid-Ocean Ridges by
The world's mid-ocean ridges form a single, connected global ridge system that is part of every ocean, and is the longest mountain range in the world. Geologically active, mid-ocean ridges are key sites of tectonic movement, intimately involved in seafloor spreading. This coursebook presents a multidisciplinary approach to the science of mid-ocean ridges – essential for a complete understanding of global tectonics and geodynamics. Designed for graduate and advanced undergraduate students, it will also provide a valuable reference for professionals in relevant fields. Background chapters provide a historical introduction and an overview of research techniques, with succeeding chapters covering the structure of the lithosphere and crust, and volcanic, tectonic and hydrothermal processes. A summary and synthesis chapter recaps essential points to consolidate new learning. Accessible to students and professionals working in marine geology, plate tectonics, geophysics, geodynamics, volcanism and oceanography, this is the ideal introduction to a key global phenomenon.
Call Number: QE511.7 .S45 2013ISBN: 1107017521Publication Date: 2013-09-19
Regional Geology and Tectonics by
Expert petroleum geologists David Roberts and Albert Bally bring you Regional Geology and Tectonics: Principles of Geologic Analysis, volume one in a three-volume series covering Phanerozoic regional geology and tectonics. It has been written to provide you with a detailed overview of geologic rift systems, passive margins, and cratonic basins, it features the basic principles necessary to grasping the conceptual approaches to hydrocarbon exploration in a broad range of geological settings globally. A "how-to" regional geology primer that provides a detailed overview of tectonics, rift systems, passive margins, and cratonic basins The principles of regional geological analysis and the main geological and geophysical tools are discussed in detail. The tectonics of the world are captured and identified in detail through a series of unique geographic maps, allowing quick access to exact tectonic locations. Serves as the ideal introductory overview and complementary reference to the core concepts of regional geology and tectonics offered in volumes two and three in the series.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0444530428Publication Date: 2012-03-26
The Origin and Evolution of the Caribbean Plate by
This book discusses the current state of research on the geology of the area between North and South America, with a focus on the origin of the Car-ibbean Plate. Prevailing understanding is that the Caribbean Plate formed in the Pacific and migrated between the Americas. According to this model, the plate comprises oceanic and volcanic arc rocks. An alternative interpretation considers that the plate formed in place and includes ex-tended continental crust. Hybrids of these ideas also exist.The papers in this volume provide regional overviews, discussions of the origins of the Caribbean Plate, and consider aspects of local geology arranged in a circum-Caribbean tour and ending in the plate interior.They address tec-tonics, igneous and metamorphic geology, stratigraphy and palaeontol-ogy. The objective of this wide variety of topics is to facilitate debate.
Call Number: QE631.A1 O75 2009ISBN: 9781862392885Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Large Igneous Provinces from Gondwana and Adjacent Regions by Gondwana, comprising more than 64 percent of the present day continental mass, is home to 33 percent of large igneous provinces (LIPs) and key to understanding the lithosphere-atmosphere system and re lated tectonics that influenced global climate and sediment production on Earth. This volume covers topics on magma emplacements, petrology and geochemistry, source characteristics, flood basalt-carbonatite linkage, tectonics and geochronology of LIPs distributed in Gondwana continents.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781786203441Publication Date: 2018
Metasomatic Textures in Granites by
Based on hundreds of thin sections from granite in China, this book introduces metasomatic textures and their formation mechanism in granite. It also proposes that metasomatic textures can basically be classified into two patterns: hetero-oriented replacement and co-oriented replacement, according to the consistency of orientations of replacive and replaced minerals. The hetero-oriented albitization of K-feldspar is quite distinct from the co-oriented albitization of K-feldspar. They occur separately without transition, although both are generally referred to as albitization of K-feldspar. This unique granite atlas uses a series of color microphotos taken with a quartz plate under crossed polars to clearly illustrate metasomatic mechanisms and superimposed metasomatic processes. The origins of clear albite rim, intergranular swapped albite, K-feldspathization, quartzification, muscovitization, beryllization, myrmekite, small platy albite, perthitic albite, K-feldspar megacryst etc. are comprehensively discussed and explained. The book will appeal to teachers, researchers and students involved in igneous and metamorphic petrology.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811006661Publication Date: 2016-06-09
Origin of Potassium-Rich Silica-deficient Igneous Rocks by
The book summarizes the occurrence, geochemistry, mineralogy, petrology and phase-equilibria studies in air and under high pressures related to the most intriguing group of potassium-rich mafic and ultramafic rocks, often including host of exotic mineral assemblages including feldspathoids. Mantle-derived K-rich melts had intrigued most of the founders of Geology and many of the later experts in the field of Igneous Petrology, because they are sometimes associated with carbonatites and even diamond. They tend to contain anomalous concentration of many such elements as K, Rb, Sr, U, F, P, etc., along with Ni, Co and Cr indicating a mixture of crust and mantle materials. Although these rocks occur rarely in ancient geologic time, they have been erupting mostly in modern geological history (less than last 120 Ma or so). Are the old age data real or the result of a sampling problem? Modern observations leave no doubt that sediments must be subducted on a large scale. There is now evidence that the upper mantle (and perhaps even the lower mantle) is not homogeneous but rather like a fruit cake, and that there are thermal anomalies in the mantle resulting from deep mantle plumes or subduction. Is this related to release of these unusual rocks clearing the mantle of left over subduction materials? This volume, written for those interested in the geochemistry of K-rich melts from the deep Earth, reviews the present state of knowledge of these unique igneous rocks. The author is an expert in the field of Igneous Petrology and the book will serve as a valuable reference book for researchers and academicians in the discipline.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9788132220831Publication Date: 2014-11-11
Timescales of Magmatic Processes by
Quantifying the timescales of current geological processes is critical for constraining the physical mechanisms operating on the Earth today. Since the Earth's origin 4.55 billion years ago magmatic processes have continued to shape the Earth, producing the major reservoirs that exist today (core, mantle, crust, oceans and atmosphere) and promoting their continued evolution. But key questions remain. When did the core form and how quickly? How are magmas produced in the mantle, and how rapidly do they travel towards the surface? How long do magmas reside in the crust, differentiating and interacting with the host rocks to yield the diverse set of igneous rocks we see today? How fast are volcanic gases such as carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere? This book addresses these and other questions by reviewing the latest advances in a wide range of Earth Science disciplines: from the measurement of short-lived radionuclides to the study of element diffusion in crystals and numerical modelling of magma behaviour. It will be invaluable reading for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, as well as igneous petrologists, mineralogists and geochemists involved in the study of igneous rocks and processes.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781444328516Publication Date: 2010-11-29
Igneous Rocks - A Classification and Glossary of Terms by
Decades of field and microscope studies, and more recent quantitative geochemical analyses have resulted in a vast, and sometimes overwhelming, array of nomenclature and terminology associated with igneous rocks. This book presents a complete classification of igneous rocks based on all the recommendations of the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS) Subcommission on the Systematics of Igneous Rocks. The glossary of igneous terms has been fully updated since the first edition and now includes 1637 entries, of which 316 are recommended by the Subcommission. Incorporating a comprehensive bibliography of source references for all the terms included in the glossary, this book is an indispensable reference guide for all geologists studying igneous rocks, either in the field or the laboratory. It presents a standardised and widely accepted naming scheme that will allow geologists to interpret terminology in the primary literature and provide formal names for rock samples based on petrographic analyses. It is also supported by a website with downloadable code for chemical classifications.
Call Number: QE461 .I446 2004ISBN: 9780521619486Publication Date: 2005-01-13
Trace Elements in Magmas by
Studying the distribution of certain elements, present in very low concentrations in igneous and metamorphic rocks, can yield important clues about the rocks' origin and evolution. Trace elements do not give rise to characteristic minerals, but their behaviour can be modelled to provide historical information about the source magma. This book brings together the essential theory required to understand the behaviour of trace elements in magmas and magma-derived rocks. It presents a wide range of models and mechanisms which explain trace element distribution. Trace Elements in Magmas provides an excellent resource for graduate students, petrologists, geochemists and mineralogists, as well as researchers in geophysics and materials science.
Call Number: QE461 .S48135 2006ISBN: 9780521822145Publication Date: 2006-03-09
Origin of Igneous Rocks by
The origin of different kinds of igneous rocks can be understood in terms of their tectonic setting, and by way of the isotope compositions of strontium, neodymium, and lead. This book explains the petrogenesis of igneous rocks as a consequence of tectonic processes resulting from interactions between asthenopheric plumes and the overlying lithospheric mantle. The relevant principles of isotope geochemistry are explained in the first chapter, making it accessible for university students as well as professionals. The relevant isotopic data is presented in diagrammatic form. The book contains more than 400 original drawings.
Call Number: QE461 .F355 2001ISBN: 3540677720Publication Date: 2000-11-07
Kimberelites, Orangeites, and Related Rocks by
The final volume in a trilogy of monographs devoted to the petrology of primary diamond-bearing rocks. The principal objective is to present a revised terminology for primary diamond-bearing rocks. Much of the text is devoted to summarizing all that is known of the mineralogy and geochemistry of ora
Call Number: QE462.O73 M57 1995ISBN: 0306450224Publication Date: 1995-07-31
Atlas of Deformed and Metamorphosed Rocks from Proterozoic Orogens by
Atlas of Deformed and Metamorphosed Rocks from Proterozoic Orogens is a richly illustrated reference book featuring over 660 full-color field images of a range of lithologies from some Proterozoic terrains that were subjected to multiple events of magmatism, deformation, metamorphism, and metasomatism. The Atlas focuses on amphibolite to granulite facies lithologies and associated ma?c-ultrama?c rocks from Proterozoic orogens of India, Sri Lanka, Botswana, South Africa, East Antarctica, and Western Australia. Each chapter in the book begins with a brief review of geology, including deformation and metamorphic history, along with a regional geological map to help readers to visualize the ?eld observations in the relevant geological context. Each image is accompanied by a concise description providing location, lithology, structural fabric, possible deformational history, metamorphic features, partial melting, metasomatism, and other important crustal processes. This Atlas is an important source of information for a broad range of earth scientists, graduate and undergraduate students, researchers, academicians, and other professionals. This book will form a great treasure to those geoscientists who never had an opportunity to visit any of the Proterozoic orogenic belts. Features over 660 full-color photographs representing typical lithologies and associated structural, metamorphic features, and other crustal processes from different Proterozoic orogens Highlights the significance of field photographs in advancing new knowledge which may provide pathways for new research Covers many important Proterozoic terranes of East Gondwana Presents regional geologic maps from each Proterozoic orogen
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128179796Publication Date: 2021-08-20
Slate as Dimension Stone by
This book offers a comprehensive review devoted exclusively to slate as dimension stone. Beginning with a description of the slate as dimension stone, the book describes the origin of slate and relate d geological phenomena. It thoroughly explains key data acquisition methods and techniques, which are accompanied by extensive data. In turn, slate standards are introduced and compared with regard to their importance for product quality. The book covers in detail the specific petrographical, fabric, strength, physical properties and weathering behaviour of slates. The chapter on mining and production provides an overview of the different forms of exploitation and related geotechnical aspects, together with production and workflow design, from the beginning to the final product. The second part comprises a thorough description of worldwide slate deposits and their geology, properties and appearance as well as a brief introduction of the history. Given its scope and accessible format, the book represents an essential guide for scientists, engineers, and professionals in geology, conservation science, architecture, and mining, as well as readers who are active in the slate industry.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783030356675Publication Date: 2020
The Nature and Models of Metamorphism by
This book presents the genetic connections of metamorphism and geodynamics. It discusses the tectonic and magmatic processes as the reason of metamorphism, and the geological types of metamorphism, wh ich define the features of Р-Т parameters and Р-Т-t paths. Three categories of metamorphism are distinguished depending on the heat flow rate: 1) at a geothermal gradient near to an average terrestrial ("normal") value; 2) at a heightened thermal gradient as the result of additional heat supply in the earth's crust by magmatic intrusions and diapirism of magma; 3) at a reduced thermal gradient during the collision of lithosphere plates and blocks of the earth's crust. The quantitative methods of description of metamorphism have been widely used in this book. The mathematical models of metamorphism have been studied in connection with magmatic intrusions, rifting process and magmatic diapirism. Mineral changes in the rocks controlled by variations of Р-Т of parameters, mass transfer and chemical reactions have also been characterized. The book proposes a quasi-stationary model of diffusion metasomatism with respect to the formation of zonal structures of minerals. The method of mineral thermobarometry for the conditions of unsteady equilibrium has been worked out; the quantitative analysis of mass transfer during metamorphic reactions in the rock matrix has been carried out, and the mobility of chemical elements at metamorphism has been estimated as well. The book is intended for specialists in the fields of petrology, mineralogy and geochemistry, and for students at the senior and graduate level.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783030030292Publication Date: 2019
Crust–Mantle Interactions and Granitoid Diversification by
This Special Publication sheds light on crust formation and tectonic processes in early Earth by focusing on Archaean granitoids and related rocks from West Greenland in the North Atlantic Craton, Karelia Province of the Fennoscandian Shield, Eastern Dharwar and Bundelkhand cratons in the Indian Shield and Bug Complex of the Ukrainian Shield. Resulting from the IGCP-SIDA 599 project ‘The Changing Early Earth’, this compilation of papers provides explanations on the nomenclature of Archaean granitoids and explores the petrology, element and isotope geochemistry, geochronology and metamorphism of granitoids and supracrustal rocks of variable metamorphic grade. This volume provides information on the increase and timing of crust-mantle interactions and granitoid diversification from early Archaean protoliths of island arc origin to the emergence of multi-source high-K calc-alkaline granitoid batholiths at convergent continental margins. The formation of abundant granitoid batholiths suggests a significant change in mantle dynamics and plate tectonics towards the end of the Archaean.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781786202802Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Structural Geology by
Structural Geology is a groundbreaking reference that introduces you to the concepts of nonlinear solid mechanics and non-equilibrium thermodynamics in metamorphic geology, offering a fresh perspective on rock structure and its potential for new interpretations of geological evolution. This book stands alone in unifying deformation and metamorphism and the development of the mineralogical fabrics and the structures that we see in the field. This reflects the thermodynamics of systems not at equilibrium within the framework of modern nonlinear solid mechanics. The thermodynamic approach enables the various mechanical, thermal, hydrological and chemical processes to be rigorously coupled through the second law of thermodynamics, invariably leading to nonlinear behavior. The book also differs from others in emphasizing the implications of this nonlinear behavior with respect to the development of the diverse, complex, even fractal, range of structures in deformed metamorphic rocks. Building on the fundamentals of structural geology by discussing the nonlinear processes that operate during the deformation and metamorphism of rocks in the Earth's crust, the book's concepts help geoscientists and graduate-level students understand how these processes control or influence the structures and metamorphic fabrics--providing applications in hydrocarbon exploration, ore mineral exploration, and architectural engineering. Authored by two of the world's foremost experts in structural geology, representing more than 70 years of experience in research and instruction Nearly 300 figures, illustrations, working examples, and photographs reinforce key concepts and underscore major advances in structural geology
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780124079335Publication Date: 2014-11-21
Pyrometamorphism by
Pyrometamorphism occurs at very high temperatures (800 - > 1000 #65533;C) and low pressures (< 2 kb) and typically results in the formation of "burnt" and fused rocks termed buchites, paralavas, clinkers and fulgarites. It is typically associated with shallow basaltic intrusions (contact aureoles, xenoliths,) combustion of carbonaceous matter, lightning strikes, and is also found in meteorites. During pyrometamorphism, the sequence of heating and cooling is greatly condensed favouring the preservation of a variety of stranded reaction microstructures that reflect disequilibrium reaction kinetics with metastable and mineral crystallisation.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 3540294546Publication Date: 2006-06-18
Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology by
Igneous and metamorphic petrology has over the last twenty years expanded rapidly into a broad, multifaceted and increasingly quantitative science. Advances in geochemistry, geochronology, and geophysics, as well as the appearance of new analytical tools, have all contributed to new ways of thinking about the origin and evolution of magmas, and the processes driving metamorphism. This book is designed to give students a balanced and comprehensive coverage of these new advances, as well as a firm grounding in the classical aspects of igneous and metamorphic petrology. The emphasis throughout is on the processes controlling petrogenesis, but care is taken to present the important descriptive information so crucial to interpretation. One of the most up-to-date synthesis of igneous and metamorphic petrology available. Emphasis throughout on latest experimental and field data. Igneous and metamorphic sections can be used independently if necessary.
Call Number: QE461 .B53 2003ISBN: 1405105887Publication Date: 2002-12-13
Petrogenesis of Metamorphic Rocks by
Metamorphic rocks make up the largest volume of the Earth. They systematically change their mineralogical composition as a result of tecto-thermal events. The outstanding feature of the 7th edition of this book is the large number of phase diagrams showing the stability relations among minerals and groups of minerals found in metamorphic rocks. The diagrams help to determine the pressure and temperature conditions under which a given collected set of metamorphic rocks may have formed. More than half of the chapters have been completely rewritten or revised. All figures have been edited and improved and recent advances in the field such as multiequilibria thermobarometry and pseudosections were incorporated in the text. The bibliography has been revised and extended, new research publications have also been included. Graduate students will find in depth information on the origin, significance and genesis of metamorphic rocks.
Call Number: QE475.A2 B84 2002ISBN: 3540431306Publication Date: 2002-10-03
The Application of Lake Sediments for Climate Studies by
The book discusses a comprehensive overview of various limnological approaches for climate studies, and sheds light on a multi-dimensional approach (i.e., field, laboratory, and data analysis; modern investigations; proxy development/calibration; proxy interpretation; and validation of climate models with proxy data) for climate reconstruction. The study highlighted the utilization of lake sediment as an archive for paleoclimate research. With the help of several case studies from around the globe (Israel, India, Turkey, Kyrgyzstan, Tibet, China and Europe), this brief provides a unique way to understand the implication of the methodological framework for climate studies. The book emphasizes the importance of field-based modern investigations to establish baseline characteristics of lake basins according to changes in environmental conditions. It also unveils the role of paleoclimate studies in climate model validation to forecast future climate variability. The book is a valuable resource for early career researchers interested in climate studies especially those using lake sediments as climate archive.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783031347085Publication Date: 2023-08-31
Deepwater Sedimentary Systems by
Deepwater Sedimentary Systems: Science, Discovery and Applications helps readers identify, understand and interpret deepwater sedimentary systems at various scales - both onshore and offshore. This book describes the best practices in the integration of geology, geophysics, engineering, technology and economics used to inform smart business decisions in these diverse environments. It draws on technical results gained from deepwater exploration and production drilling campaigns and global field analog studies. With the multi-decadal resilience of deepwater exploration and production and the nature of its inherent uncertainty, this book serves as the essential reference for companies, consultancies, universities, governments and deepwater practitioners around the world seeking to understand deepwater systems and how to explore for and produce resources in these frontier environments. From an academic perspective, readers will use this book as the primer for understanding the processes, deposits and sedimentary environments in deep water - from deep oceans to deep lakes. This book provides conceptual approaches and state-of-the-art information on deepwater systems, as well as scenarios for the next 100 years of human-led exploration and development in deepwater, offshore environments. The students taught this material in today's classrooms will become the leaders of tomorrow in Earth's deepwater frontier. This book provides a broad foundation in deepwater sedimentary systems. What may take an individual dozens of academic and professional courses to achieve an understanding in these systems is provided here in one book.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780323919180Publication Date: 2022-08-17
Dynamic Sedimentary Environments of Mangrove Coasts by
Dynamic Sedimentary Environments of Mangrove Coasts provides knowledge on the importance of sedimentary dynamics in managing mangrove forests. In the first part of the book, the editors seamlessly offer a general introduction of mangrove sedimentary dynamics. This leads into more in-depth information on soil surface elevation change, sea level rise, and the importance of sedimentary dynamics in the loss or gain of blue carbon. The book concludes the discussion of mangrove sedimentary dynamics by addressing the issues of climate change (e.g. sea level rise and blue carbon) on mangrove restoration and sediment. This book will assist coastal managers and academics in addressing the gaps in mangrove restoration and coastal management. As such, it will be a valuable reference for advanced undergraduate students, graduate students, researchers, academics in the field of coastal restoration, and coastal management practitioners. Provides a state-of-the-art summary of research into sedimentary dynamics in mangrove forests Includes updates on issues of climate change-relevant to mangroves, such as blue carbon and sea level rise Presents scientific background and successful case studies for mangrove restoration that can solve problems relating to mangrove management
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128175101Publication Date: 2020-12-05
Clastic Hydrocarbon Reservoir Sedimentology by
This book presents a comprehensive assessment of clastic sedimentology and its application to reservoir geology. It covers the theoretical foundations of the topic and its use for scientists as well a s professionals in the field. Further, it addresses all aspects of reservoir sedimentology, clastic sequence stratigraphy, sedimentation, reservoir diagenesis and heterogeneity, as well as depositional systems (alluvial, fluvial, lacustrine, delta, sandy coast, neritic, deep-water) in detail. The research team responsible for this book has been investigating clastic sedimentology for more than three decades and consists of highly published and cited authors. The Chinese edition of this book has been a great success, and is popular among sedimentologists and petroleum geologists alike.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319703350Publication Date: 2018
Stratigraphy: a Modern Synthesis by
A Comprehensive review of modern stratigraphic methods. The stratigraphic record is the major repository of information about the geological history of Earth, a record stretching back for nearly 4 billion years. Stratigraphic studies fill out our planet's plate-tectonic history with the details of paleogeography, past climates, and the record of evolution, and stratigraphy is at the heart of the effort to find and exploit fossil fuel resources. Modern stratigraphic methods are now able to provide insights into past geological events and processes on time scales with unprecedented accuracy and precision, and have added much to our understanding of global tectonic and climatic processes. It has taken 200 years and a modern revolution to bring all the necessary developments together to create the modern, dynamic science that this book sets out to describe. Stratigraphy now consists of a suite of integrated concepts and methods, several of which have considerable predictive and interpretive power. The new, integrated, dynamic science that Stratigraphy has become is now inseparable from what were its component parts, including sedimentology, chronostratigraphy, and the broader aspects of basin analysis.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319243047Publication Date: 2015-12-28
Metalliferous Sediments of the World Ocean by
The monograph describes the distribution, composition and accumulation rates of recent and ancient metalliferous sediments and their components in the oceans and the Red Sea. The processes influencing the formation of composition of metal-bearing matter of the metalliferous sediments, from hydrothermal effluence to accumulation on the ocean floor, are considered, and known patterns in distribution of chemical element contents in the metalliferous sediments are explained. The influence of various natural factors on the formation of metalliferous strata is shown quantitatively. Metalliferous sediments allow the reconstruction of the intensity and position of past hydrothermal activity and associated mineral formation in the ocean. Furthermore, the most probable positions of buried hydrothermal accumulations are reconstructed.The book is aimed at geologists, ore geologists, marine geologists and geochemists, oceanographers including paleo-ceanographers, as well as at undergraduate and graduate students.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 3540309691Publication Date: 2007-02-03
Mud and Mudstones by
Clear writing and analysis of the broad spectrum of processes that produce shale are coupled with well-captioned 150 illustrations, 40 tables, boxed technical details, glossary and appendices. Recounts the step-by-step evolution and stages of shal, enabling readers to master the basics and to dig yet deeper into their origin, practical implications and relationship to earth history. Background information appears in appendices (Clay Mineralogy, Isotopes, Petrology, etc.); technicial details in high-lighted boxes, and definitions of 300+ terms in the Glossary.
Call Number: QE471.15.M83 P68 2005ISBN: 9783540221579Publication Date: 2004-12-08
Sedimentary Rocks in the Field by
This handy pocket-sized guide shows how to achieve successful fieldwork on sedimentary rocks, paying particular detail to the precision and accuracy of recording detail. Various sedimentary rock-types, textures and all the basic field techniques required are clearly described. Thoroughly revised to incorporate up-to-date information, this 3rd edition will be of use to all students and professionals with a geological background. Features include: New sections on safety in the field, the use of GPS in sedimentary studies, core description, fossils as depth indicators and facies models. Improved illustrations and a new updated layout.
Call Number: QE471 .T84 2003ISBN: 0470851236Publication Date: 2003-05-15
R for Data Science by
Use R to turn data into insight, knowledge, and understanding. With this practical book, aspiring data scientists will learn how to do data science with R and RStudio, along with the tidyverseâ??a collection of R packages designed to work together to make data science fast, fluent, and fun. Even if you have no programming experience, this updated edition will have you doing data science quickly. You'll learn how to import, transform, and visualize your data and communicate the results. And you'll get a complete, big-picture understanding of the data science cycle and the basic tools you need to manage the details. Updated for the latest tidyverse features and best practices, new chapters show you how to get data from spreadsheets, databases, and websites. Exercises help you practice what you've learned along the way. You'll understand how to: Visualize: Create plots for data exploration and communication of results Transform: Discover variable types and the tools to work with them Import: Get data into R and in a form convenient for analysis Program: Learn R tools for solving data problems with greater clarity and ease Communicate: Integrate prose, code, and results with Quarto
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781492097402Publication Date: 2023-07-18
R Packages by
Turn your R code into packages that others can easily install and use. With this fully updated edition, developers and data scientists will learn how to bundle reusable R functions, sample data, and documentation together by applying the package development philosophy used by the team that maintains the "tidyverse" suite of packages. In the process, you'll learn how to automate common development tasks using a set of R packages, including devtools, usethis, testthat, and roxygen2. Authors Hadley Wickham and Jennifer Bryan from Posit (formerly known as RStudio) help you create packages quickly, then teach you how to get better over time. You'll be able to focus on what you want your package to do as you progressively develop greater mastery of the structure of a package. With this book, you will: Learn the key components of an R package, including code, documentation, and tests Streamline your development process with devtools and the RStudio IDE Get tips on effective habits such as organizing functions into files Get caught up on important new features in the devtools ecosystem Learn about the art and science of unit testing, using features in the third edition of testthat Turn your existing documentation into a beautiful and user friendly website with pkgdown Gain an appreciation of the benefits of modern code hosting platforms, such as GitHub
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781098134945Publication Date: 2023-07-25
Remote Sensing and Digital Image Processing with R by
1. Aims to expand theoretical approaches of remote sensing and digital image processing through multidisciplinary applications using R and R packages. 2. Engages students in learning theory through hands-on real-life projects. 3. All chapters are structured with solved exercises and homework and encourages readers to understand the potential and the limitations of the environments. 4. Covers data analysis in free and open-source (FOSS) R platform, which makes remote sensing accessible to anyone with a computer. 5. Explores current trends and developments in remote sensing in homework assignments with data to further explore the use of free multispectral remote sensing data, including very high spatial resolution information.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781032461243Publication Date: 2023-06-30
R All-In-One for Dummies by
A deep dive into the programming language of choice for statistics and data With R All-in-One For Dummies, you get five mini-books in one, offering a complete and thorough resource on the R programming language and a road map for making sense of the sea of data we're all swimming in. Maybe you're pursuing a career in data science, maybe you're looking to infuse a little statistics know-how into your existing career, or maybe you're just R-curious. This book has your back. Along with providing an overview of coding in R and how to work with the language, this book delves into the types of projects and applications R programmers tend to tackle the most. You'll find coverage of statistical analysis, machine learning, and data management with R. Grasp the basics of the R programming language and write your first lines of code Understand how R programmers use code to analyze data and perform statistical analysis Use R to create data visualizations and machine learning programs Work through sample projects to hone your R coding skill This is an excellent all-in-one resource for beginning coders who'd like to move into the data space by knowing more about R.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119983712Publication Date: 2023-01-04
Understanding and Applying Basic Statistical Methods Using R by
Features a straightforward and concise resource for introductory statistical concepts, methods, and techniques using R Understanding and Applying Basic Statistical Methods Using R uniquely bridges the gap between advances in the statistical literature and methods routinely used by non-statisticians. Providing a conceptual basis for understanding the relative merits and applications of these methods, the book features modern insights and advances relevant to basic techniques in terms of dealing with non-normality, outliers, heteroscedasticity (unequal variances), and curvature. Featuring a guide to R, the book uses R programming to explore introductory statistical concepts and standard methods for dealing with known problems associated with classic techniques. Thoroughly class-room tested, the book includes sections that focus on either R programming or computational details to help the reader become acquainted with basic concepts and principles essential in terms of understanding and applying the many methods currently available. Covering relevant material from a wide range of disciplines, Understanding and Applying Basic Statistical Methods Using R also includes: Numerous illustrations and exercises that use data to demonstrate the practical importance of multiple perspectives Discussions on common mistakes such as eliminating outliers and applying standard methods based on means using the remaining data Detailed coverage on R programming with descriptions on how to apply both classic and more modern methods using R A companion website with the data and solutions to all of the exercises Understanding and Applying Basic Statistical Methods Using R is an ideal textbook for an undergraduate and graduate-level statistics courses in the science and/or social science departments. The book can also serve as a reference for professional statisticians and other practitioners looking to better understand modern statistical methods as well as R programming. Rand R. Wilcox, PhD, is Professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Southern California, Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science, and an associate editor for four statistics journals. He is also a member of the International Statistical Institute. The author of more than 320 articles published in a variety of statistical journals, he is also the author eleven other books on statistics. Dr. Wilcox is creator of WRS (Wilcox' Robust Statistics), which is an R package for performing robust statistical methods. His main research interest includes statistical methods, particularly robust methods for comparing groups and studying associations.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119061397Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Beginning R by
Beginning R, Second Edition is a hands-on book showing howto use the R language, write and save R scripts, read in data files, and writecustom statistical functions as well as use built in functions. This book showsthe use of R in specific cases such as one-way ANOVA analysis, linear andlogistic regression, data visualization, parallel processing, bootstrapping,and more. It takes a hands-on, example-based approach incorporating bestpractices with clear explanations of the statistics being done. It has beencompletely re-written since the first edition to make use of the latestpackages and features in R version 3. R is a powerful open-source language and programmingenvironment for statistics and has become the de facto standard for doing,teaching, and learning computational statistics. R is both an object-oriented language and afunctional language that is easy to learn, easy to use, and completely free. Alarge community of dedicated R users and programmers provides an excellentsource of R code, functions, and data sets, with a constantly evolvingecosystem of packages providing new functionality for data analysis. R has alsobecome popular in commercial use at companies such as Microsoft, Google, andOracle. Your investment in learning R is sure to pay off in the long term as Rcontinues to grow into the go to language for data analysis and research. What You Will Learn: How to acquire and install R Hot to import and export data and scripts How to analyze data and generate graphics How to program in R to write custom functions Hot to use R for interactive statistical explorations How to conduct bootstrapping and other advancedtechniques
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781484203743Publication Date: 2015-10-13
The R Book by
Hugely successful and popular text presenting an extensive and comprehensive guide for all R users The R language is recognized as one of the most powerful and flexible statistical software packages, enabling users to apply many statistical techniques that would be impossible without such software to help implement such large data sets. R has become an essential tool for understanding and carrying out research. This edition: Features full colour text and extensive graphics throughout. Introduces a clear structure with numbered section headings to help readers locate information more efficiently. Looks at the evolution of R over the past five years. Features a new chapter on Bayesian Analysis and Meta-Analysis. Presents a fully revised and updated bibliography and reference section. Is supported by an accompanying website allowing examples from the text to be run by the user. Praise for the first edition: '...if you are an R user or wannabe R user, this text is the one that should be on your shelf. The breadth of topics covered is unsurpassed when it comes to texts on data analysis in R.' (The American Statistician, August 2008) 'The High-level software language of R is setting standards in quantitative analysis. And now anybody can get to grips with it thanks to The R Book...' (Professional Pensions, July 2007)
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118448960Publication Date: 2012-11-07
Discovering Statistics Using R by
Lecturers - request an e-inspection copy of this text or contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs. Watch Andy Field's introductory video to Discovering Statistics Using R Keeping the uniquely humorous and self-deprecating style that has made students across the world fall in love with Andy Field's books, Discovering Statistics Using R takes students on a journey of statistical discovery using R, a free, flexible and dynamically changing software tool for data analysis that is becoming increasingly popular across the social and behavioural sciences throughout the world. The journey begins by explaining basic statistical and research concepts before a guided tour of the R software environment. Next you discover the importance of exploring and graphing data, before moving onto statistical tests that are the foundations of the rest of the book (for example correlation and regression). You will then stride confidently into intermediate level analyses such as ANOVA, before ending your journey with advanced techniques such as MANOVA and multilevel models. Although there is enough theory to help you gain the necessary conceptual understanding of what you're doing, the emphasis is on applying what you learn to playful and real-world examples that should make the experience more fun than you might expect. Like its sister textbooks, Discovering Statistics Using R is written in an irreverent style and follows the same ground-breaking structure and pedagogical approach. The core material is augmented by a cast of characters to help the reader on their way, together with hundreds of examples, self-assessment tests to consolidate knowledge, and additional website material for those wanting to learn more. Given this book's accessibility, fun spirit, and use of bizarre real-world research it should be essential for anyone wanting to learn about statistics using the freely-available R software. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: HA32 .F537 2012ISBN: 9781446200469Publication Date: 2012-04-05
General Geology & Marine Geology Books/eBooks
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by
This new edition includes 10,000 entries which cover all areas of geoscience, including planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy and volcanology. In this edition, 675 new entries have been added, and include expanded coverage of planetary geology and earth-observing-satellites. Other new entries terms such as Ianammox, Boomerangian, earth rheological layering, and metamorphic rock classification. The entries are also complemented by more than 130 diagrams and numerous web links that are listed on a regularly updated dedicated companion website. Appendices supplement the A-Z and have been extended to include three new tables on the Torino Impact Hazard Scale, Avalanche Classes, and the Volcanic Explosivity Index. The list of satellite missions has also been revised and updated to include recent developments. A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences is an authoritative, and jargon-free resource for students of geology, geography, geosciences, physical science, and those in related disciplines.
Call Number: QE5 .D555 2020ISBN: 9780198839033Publication Date: 2020-03-09
Environmental Geology by
Become better informed of the connected nature of environmental geology and the multidimensional processes of the Earth through the case studies, conceptual explanations, and relevant presentation of material found in Environmental Geology.
Call Number: QE38 .M47 2014ISBN: 9781429237437Publication Date: 2014-03-28
Coastal Wetlands of the World by
Salt marshes and mangrove forests, the intertidal wetlands of the world's coastlines, provide key ecological services to all areas of the globe. This cutting-edge, richly illustrated book introduces the essential elements of coastal wetlands and their applications. The book opens by introducing coastal oceanography, the physical features of wetlands, their ecology, and human impacts upon them, giving all students the necessary background for wetlands studies. It then presents detailed case studies from around the world with extensive illustrations, supplying a wider, global-scale picture of wetlands geomorphology and biodiversity. The final chapters discuss some unique applications of coastal wetlands, including geological monitoring, uses in biotechnology and agriculture, and various experimental mesocosms. This is ideal as supplementary reading to support students on a wide range of earth and life science courses, from environmental science, ecology and palaeoecology to geomorphology and geography. It will also be a valuable interdisciplinary reference for researchers.
Call Number: QH541.5.M3 S36 2014ISBN: 9781107056015Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Marine Tephrochronology by
The book will be a significant resource for palaeoceanographers and the wider community of Earth scientists, climate scientists and archaeologists, particularly in highlighting the role of tephra studies in stratigraphy and regional/extra-regional correlations, as well as in tracing the long-term history of regional and global volcanism in the deep-sea archive.
Call Number: QE527.56 .M37 2014ISBN: 9781862396418Publication Date: 2014
Fluvial Depositional Systems by
This book is intended to complement the author's 1996 book "The geology of fluvial deposits", not to replace it. The book summarizes methods of mapping and interpretation of fluvial depositional systems, with a detailed treatment of the tectonic, climatic and eustatic controls on fluvial depositional processes. It focuses on the preserved, ancient depositional record and emphasizes large-scale (basin-scale) depositional processes. Tectonic and climatic controls of fluvial sedimentation and the effects of base-level change on sequence architecture are discussed. Profusely illustrated and with an extensive reference to the recent literature, this book will be welcomed by the student and professional geologist alike.
Call Number: QE571 .M53 2014ISBN: 9783319006659Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Geologic History of Florida by
"Hine has provided a brief and readable account of the long, complex history of the geologic development that lies beneath the gentle, low topography of Florida. He shows how many subtle features in the Florida landscape were shaped during this history."--Paul Enos, University of Kansas "Seven hundred million years of time go whizzing by in this beautifully illustrated account of Florida's geologic history. The story centers on the long and intimate relationship between Florida and her enveloping seas, beginning with wandering continents, continuing through the 'carbonate factory' in the sea that produced much of the volume of the Florida Peninsula, and ending with the story of sand grains on Florida beaches hundreds of miles from their points of origin. For those curious about their natural surroundings, Albert Hine's book will surely open a new window and a new appreciation for the complexity and beauty of nature in Florida."--Orrin Pilkey, coauthor of Global Climate Change: A Primer The saga of Florida's geological development started approximately 700 million years ago. It began as the state's basement rocks migrated nearly 12,600 kilometers from their position within a supercontinent at the Earth's South Pole to their present location north of the equator, participating in the assembly and disassembly of one of Earth's greatest supercontinents, Pangea. In this complete geologic history of the Sunshine State, Albert Hine takes the reader on a journey that begins with the breaking apart of Pangea and ends with the emergence of south Florida and the Keys; explaining the shape and form of the state as we know it today. Geologic History of Florida chronicles the creation of the Gulf of Mexico, the Caribbean Sea, the western Atlantic Ocean, and other major events in Florida's geologic past. It looks back 160 million years, to a time when the ancient igneous and metamorphic basement rocks were covered by a large sedimentary carbonate platform nearly 3 miles thick, known as the Florida Platform. Today, Florida still rests upon this larger geologic feature, fifty percent of which is submerged. Consequently, the geologic story of the state includes what lies beneath the seafloor as much as it involves the land surface. Writing in a clear and accessible manner, Hine discusses the geologic changes of the Florida Platform, from dissolution tectonics, which formed great underwater caverns and sinkholes, to the plate collision with Cuba. Hine explains geological phenomenon like the influx of quartz-rich sand from the southern Appalachian Mountains that made Florida's white-sand beaches a destination for tourists from around the world. He examines the state's phosphate-rich deposits, which account for thirty percent of the world's phosphate production, and other hot-button issues such as oil drilling and climate change. With a glossary of essential terms at the end of each chapter, Geologic History of Florida will be an invaluable resource for geologists, students of Earth history, and anyone interested in how the Sunshine State physically came to be.
Call Number: QE99 .H56 2013ISBN: 0813044219Publication Date: 2013-06-18
Field Hydrogeology by
In recent years, the focus in hydrogeologic investigations has expanded to include aquifer sustainability as part of resource evaluations. While there are other books on the subject, Field Hydrogeology: A Guide for Site Investigations and Report Preparationprovides the first integrated presentation of the American Society of Testing Materials (ASTM) standards, US Geological Survey (USGS), and US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) field techniques. It also includes access to a website containing software for designing aquifer tests and aquifer-recharge experiments. Written by an author with more than 50 years of experience in hydrology and geology, this reference treats the subject from a field standpoint. Useful as a field guide or textbook, it contains standard methods for planning and undertaking hydrogeologic investigations. It incorporates case studies, contains a glossary of field-hydrogeology technical terms, and provides a detailed list of ASTM standards and key hydrologic Web sites. The guide is based on ASTM standards as well as EPA and US Department of Interior field technical manuals. The text covers hydrogeologic fundamentals, conceptual models, planning an investigation, surface investigations, subsurface investigations, field inventory, stream flow measurements, water quality measurements, and report preparation. This revised and updated Second Editionalso includes new material on the history of hydrogeology, field safety, aquifers, groundwater quality, hydrogeologic maps, and federal regulations. It gives students and seasoned professionals a vast array of clearly written descriptive materials and an extensive source of references available at their fingertips. What’s New in This Second Edition: New chapter on the history of hydrogeology New chapter on groundwater development and management, including US federal regulations and transboundary aquifers New material on field safety, groundwater quality and testing, and construction of hydrogeologic cross section and maps New international case studies New THEIS computer model to design aquifer tests Updated information on latest principles and techniques
Call Number: GB1002.3 .M66 2012ISBN: 9781439841242Publication Date: 2011-08-04
The Geology of the Everglades and Adjacent Areas by
An explosion of housing, commercial, agricultural, and municipal development has rapidly encroached on the edges of the Everglades. A large amount of geological data has been gathered from these unexplored inaccessible peripheral areas. This book presents an overview of this research, painting a complete picture of the history of the Everglades.
Call Number: QE100.E9 P48 2007ISBN: 142004558XPublication Date: 2007-04-18
Geophysical Approach to Marine Coastal Ecology by
This book presents recent results of collaborative studies in geophysics and ecology, focusing on the relationship between the physical environment and the distribution of the marine coastal ecosystem s. The study area, the Sakiyamawan–Amitoriwan nature conservation area in Iriomote Island of Japan, is the only oceanic nature conservation area in the country. The area has no access roads, and the bay perimeter is uninhabited; therefore, it preserves the natural environment with very little human impact. In addition, it has various environmental gradients such as topography and inflows from rivers with mangrove forests which affect the distribution of marine coastal ecosystems such as those containing reef-building corals, sea grasses, and hermit crabs. For these reasons, the area is one of the best places for the study of the relationship between the physical environment and the distribution of the marine coastal ecosystems, a relationship that is important for their conservation but has not been investigated fully. This book is aimed at students and researchers in the fields of oceanography and marine coastal ecology as well as general readers who are interested in coral reefs, diving, and nature conservation.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811511295Publication Date: 2020
Silica Stories by
Do you know silica, the tetrahedra of silicon and oxygen constituting the crystals of New Agers and the desiccant in a box of new shoes? It's no mere mundane mineral. As chemically reacting silicate r ocks, silica set off the chain of events known as the origin of life. As biomineralized opal, it is the cell wall, skeleton, spicules, and scales of organisms ornamenting numerous lobes of the tree of life. Cryptocrystalline silica made into stone tools helped drive the evolution of our hands and our capability for complex grammar, music, and mathematics. As quartz crystals, silica is impressively electric and ubiquitous in modern technology (think sonar, radios, telephones, ultrasound, and cheap but precise watches). Silica is inescapable when we take a drink or mow the lawn and it has already started to save the Earth from the carbon dioxide we're spewing into the atmosphere. This book tells these scientific tales and more, to give dear, modest silica its due.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319540542Publication Date: 2017
The Sea Floor: An Introduction to Marine Geology by
This textbook deals with the most important items in Marine Geology, including some pioneer work. The list of topics has grown greatly in the last few decades beyond the items identified by Eugen Seib old as central and now includes prominently such things as methane and climate change; that is, the carbon cycle and the Earth system as a whole. Relevant geophysical, geochemical, sedimentological and paleontological methods are shortly described. They should allow the reader to comment on new results about plate tectonics, marine sedimentation from the coasts to the deep sea, climatological aspects, paleoceanology and the use of the sea floor. The text tries to transmit to the reader excitement of marine geological research both aboard and in modern laboratories. Basic mineralogical, geochemical, biological and other relevant data and a detailed list of books and symposia are given in an Appendix. This Introduction builds on the third edition of “The Sea Floor” by E. Seibold and W.H. Berger. While much of the original text was written by Seibold, a considerable portion of the material presented in this edition is new, taking into account the recent great shift in marine geological research, some of it with great relevance to human concerns arising in a rapidly changing world.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319514123Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences by
Globally growing demand of energy and mineral resources, reliable future projection of climate processes and the protection of coasts to mitigate the threats of disasters and hazards require a comprehensive understanding of the structure, ongoing processes and genesis of the marine geosphere. Beyond the "classical" research fields in marine geology in current time more general concepts have been evolved integrating marine geophysics, hydrography, marine biology, climatology and ecology. As an umbrella the term "marine geosciences" has been broadly accepted for this new complex field of research and the solutions of practical tasks in the marine realm. The "Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences" comprises the current knowledge in marine geosciences whereby not only basic but also applied and technical sciences are covered. Through this concept a broad scale of users in the field of marine sciences and techniques is addressed from students and scholars in academia to engineers and decision makers in industry and politics.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789400762381Publication Date: 2016-07-04
Deep Marine Systems by
Deep-water (below wave base) processes, although generally hidden from view, shape the sedimentary record of more than 65% of the Earth's surface, including large parts of ancient mountain belts. This book aims to inform advanced-level undergraduate and postgraduate students, and professional Earth scientists with interests in physical oceanography and hydrocarbon exploration and production, about many of the important physical aspects of deep-water (mainly deep-marine) systems. The authors consider transport and deposition in the deep sea, trace-fossil assemblages, and facies stacking patterns as an archive of the underlying controls on deposit architecture (e.g., seismicity, climate change, autocyclicity). Topics include modern and ancient deep-water sedimentary environments, tectonic settings, and how basinal and extra-basinal processes generate the typical characteristics of basin slopes, submarine canyons, contourite mounds and drifts, submarine fans, basin floors and abyssal plains.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118865422Publication Date: 2015-10-23
Marine Geology by
This book provides an introductory approach to the field of Marine Geology
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9788132310556Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Structural and Marine Geology by
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to Structural and Marine Geology
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9788132307914Publication Date: 2012-01-01
