South Florida Plants
This guide identifies reference works, other library resources, key classic books and major Internet sites for south Florida flora.
This page will help you find books and eBooks on South Florida Plants.
NSU Students, Staff, and Faculty should use their Shark ID when placing holds or checking out library books.
Broward County patrons can check out books from the Alvin Sherman Library by getting an Alvin Sherman Library Card. Broward County patrons who are only interested in eBooks or digital resources can apply for an eCard using the link provided in the Need a Library Card box below.
Featured Resources
The Art of Maintaining a Florida Native Landscape
Call Number: SB439.26.F6 S75 2015
ISBN: 9780813061313
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
Exploring Florida's Botanical Wonders
Call Number: QK154 .F75 2009
ISBN: 9780813034119
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
National Audubon Society Field Guide to Florida
Call Number: QH105.F6 N38 1998
ISBN: 067944677X
Publication Date: 1998-05-26
South Florida Plant Books & E-Books
-
Florida Wildflowers
by
"Identifying wildflowers is a popular pastime for many gardeners and lovers of wildlife. But many botanical identification books just aren't user-friendly. Pick up wildflower expert Walter Kingsley Taylor's latest offering and you'll find out just how much fun it is to track down the flower on the side of the road."--Tampa Tribune "Goes a step beyond the norm of being just a field guide. It is an absolute inspiration and incentive to get out into the woods."--Palatka Daily News "If you would like to attend a fascinating and informative lecture by one of Florida's foremost experts on the state's wildflowers and where they may be found--all in the comfort of your own home--by all means, read this book."--Orlando Sentinel "Taylor's guide will help readers recognize and identify wildflowers in a different way, not principally by their color or family group, but by where they're most likely to be found growing--their natural habitat."--Gainesville Sun "This new field guide is the best yet for Florida wildflowers. . . . Each entry includes a description, time of flowering, habitat, Florida distribution, and often a comment field that discusses related species, etymology, and even culinary and landscape uses."--Floridata "Taylor's unorthodox approach has garnered positive comments from casual, weekend hikers as well as those with a professional interest in wildflowers. . . . It has remarkably broad appeal, because it's so clear and well done and because the photos are excellent."--Lakeland Ledger "In this unique and refreshing approach to a wildflower guide, photographs visually illustrate the natural plant community described at the beginning of each community section. . . . An excellent and most useful guide."--Choice Walter Kingsley Taylor's Florida Wildflowers in their Natural Communities was wildly praised for its beauty, ease of use, and unique organizational structure: plants were described in the context of where they grow, making identification much simpler--and more rewarding--for the casual hiker or wildflower enthusiast. Vastly expanded and updated with new taxonomy, this volume provides detailed information on more than 450 species included in the earlier edition and nearly doubles the number of species included by expanding coverage into wetlands.
Call Number: QK154 .T37 2013ISBN: 9780813044255Publication Date: 2013-04-16 -
Florida Wildflowers in Their Natural Communities
by
"This is the first photographic identification guide to have an extensive discussion of plant communities and to organize plants by plant community . . . of interest to anyone desiring to identify Florida flowering plants--individuals who enjoy the outdoors, amateur naturalists, teachers, students, and professional biologists."--Walter Judd, University of Florida Walter Taylor's guide will help readers recognize and identify wildflowers in a different way, not principally by their color or family group, but by where they're most likely to be found growing--their natural habitat. This book is the first of its kind for Florida. Taylor provides detailed descriptions and color photos of each community--pine flatwoods, sandhills, upland pine forest, scrub, temperate hardwood forest, coastal uplands, subtropical pine forest, tropical hardwood hammock, and ruderal sites--and of the wildflower species associated with each. For each flower, he provides the scientific and common names, a brief description, flowering time, habitats, geographical range, color photo, and miscellaneous comments. While most of the flowers are herbaceous, Taylor also includes characteristic woody types. He makes special mention of endangered or threatened species and species of special concern. The guide includes a number of limited-distributed species that have never been published in a book of this type. With individual photos (taken in the field) of more than 450 wildflower species, the most accurate range information available, and organization by ecological community, Taylor's guide aids not only in wildflower identification, but also in appreciation of the Florida landscapes that support them. By linking flowers with their natural habitats, it highlights the need to protect these ecologically unique communities to ensure survival of the wildflowers themselves. In addition, it offers a new resource for gardeners interested in planting native species. Walter Kingsley Taylor is professor of biology at the University of Central Florida, Orlando, and the author of The Guide to Florida Wildflowers. He has lived in Florida for thirty years.
Call Number: QK154 .T38 1998ISBN: 0813016169Publication Date: 1999-01-14 -
The Guide to Florida Wildflowers
by
A comprehensive and easy-to-use guide to the most important wildflowers in the state. Includes detailed descriptions and full-color photos of more than 500 wildflowers, a glossary of botanical terms, and 25 botanical illustrations.
Call Number: QK154 .T39 1991ISBN: 0878337474Publication Date: 1992-04-01 -
Florida Wild Flowers and Roadside Plants
by
Florida boasts an extremely diverse flora, ranging from tropical species in the south to Appalachian Mountain remnants in the panhandle. Florida Wild Flowers and Roadside Plants is a helpful guide to identifying 500 species of Florida plant life, including rare as well as common wild flowers and characteristic trees, shrubs, vines, and ferns. Each description includes both common and scientific names, a range map, symbols to show the season of bloom, and a useful summary code of nine key plant, leaf, and flower characters, to aid in identification. With rich color photographs and brief, nontechnical notes to accompany each species, this handbook is a valuable reference for tourists, residents, students, and anyone interested in plants in all seasons of the year, from Pensacola to the Keys.
Call Number: QK154 .B44 1982ISBN: 0960868836Publication Date: 2007-02-26 -
Wild Orchids of Florida
by
First published in 2002, Wild Orchids of Florida was the very first field guide for this orchid-rich state, and it inspired many to try their hand at orchid hunting. Because of its overwhelming popularity and in an attempt to provide the latest developments in orchid research, native orchid expert Paul Martin Brown follows up with this newly revised and expanded edition. The guide contains 200 new points of fact, including: #65533; more than 100 new county records established since 2002 #65533; three recently rediscovered species that have not been seen in 100 years #65533; two previously undocumented species, six new hybrids, and several new color forms described and illustrated for the first time #65533; the resurrection and revalidation of the little-used genus of Gymnadeniopsis #65533; 34 revised county distribution maps, 37 new color photos, and three new watercolors by Stan Folsom With its comprehensive yet easy-to-follow treatment, Wild Orchids of Florida remains the essential field companion for professional botanists, native plant enthusiasts, nature lovers, or anyone who wants to learn more about what's growing out in the wilds of Florida.
Call Number: QK495.O64 B736 2002ISBN: 0813029333Publication Date: 2006-01-03 -
Native Bromeliads of Florida
by
Do bromeliads ever harm their hosts? Are they parasites? Can any of them really live on air? How many kinds live in Florida? Are the pretty ones easy to grow in my garden? This is the first book on Florida's bromeliads and will appeal to both scientists and general readers interested in the state and its unique flora. Sixteen of the world's 3400 kinds of bromeliads are found in Florida, along with two natural hybrids. These so-called "air plants" thrive on trees and shrubs as epiphytes, which means they have no roots in soil. They are not parasites, as they use their woody hosts only for mechanical support. Spanish moss and ball moss are found in great numbers throughout the state (and farther north). Most of the rest prefer the warmer climate of the peninsula, many in the cypress swamp forests of south Florida, where they occur so abundantly. This long-awaited book introduces them all, with means of identification, characteristics, distribution maps, and color photographs.
Call Number: QK495.B76 L88 2009ISBN: 9781561644483Publication Date: 2009-06-01 -
The Ferns of Florida
by
This is the first field guide in 25 years to treat Florida's amazing variety of ferns. Color plates feature more than 200 images, some of which include rare species never before illustrated in color. Includes notes on each species growth form and habit, as well as general remarks about its botanical and common names, unique characteristics, garden use, and history in Florida. All professional or amateur botanists, plant lovers, and gardeners will want this important book in their libraries.
Call Number: QK525.5.F6 N46 2000ISBN: 1561641936Publication Date: 2000-01-01 -
Botanical Keys to Florida's Trees, Shrubs, and Woody Vines
by
This handy handbook, which can be used independently or as a companion to The Trees of Florida and The Shrubs and Woody Vines of Florida, makes it possible to easily identify all of Florida's native and naturalized woody plants. The text is formatted as a traditional botanical key, offering a series of either/or decisions leading to the precise identification of a plant in hand. Designed primarily for field use and targeted to both amateurs and professionals, the keys are clear, concise, non-technical, and rely on conspicuous and easily seen features with emphasis on characteristics that are observable year-round. An important addition to any plant lovers field gear.
Call Number: QK154 .N433 2011ISBN: 9781561644995Publication Date: 2011-10-10 -
Flowering Trees of Florida
by
If you can't get enough of majestic trees, brightly colored flowers, and anything that grows from the ground up, you'll love this guide to 74 outstanding tropical flowering trees that will grow in Florida's subtropical climate. From the huge canopy of red blossoms on Royal Poinciana, to the eye-dazzling yellow of Tree of Gold, the most breathtaking of Florida's flowering trees are represented within the pages of this full-color book. Looking for beautiful trees that don't mind the cold of north Florida? Try Golden Rain Tree, Mimosa, or Crape Myrtle. Prefer easy-to-grow trees that aren't fussy about soil conditions or location? Golden Rain Tree, Mimosa, or Yellow Jacaranda are a good bet. Ambitious gardeners may want to talckle Scarlet Bean, Sacred Garlic Pear, or Lance Pod. People wishing to add to their collections of horticultural books--take note! This book contains photos of species not found in any other major publication. Bombax rhodognaphalon, Bauhinia semla, Bauhinia refescens, and Jacaranda jasminoides are examples of species listed in obscure technical journals without photos to do them justice. Written for both the seasoned arborist and the weekend gardener alike, this comprehensive handbook includes the Latin name and pronunciation as well as the common name for each tree listed. You'll also find practical cultivation tips and advice on caring for the flowering trees in your neck of the woods, including information on soil conditions, pruning, watering, and feeding. Temperature trend charts, a zone map, a handy glossary, and a bibliography round out this complete guide to growing the most colorful, beautiful trees in the Sunshine State.
Call Number: SB435.52.F6 S75 1999ISBN: 1561641731Publication Date: 1990-03-01 -
Florida's Fabulous Trees
by
Call Number: SB435.52.F6 W55 1986ISBN: 0911977023Publication Date: 1985-09-01 -
The Trees of Florida
by
This book is the first comprehensive guide to Florida's amazing variety of tree species: from scrub oak on the high central ridges to mangroves stretching along the southern coasts, from mighty live oaks to the delicate and diminutive hawthornes, from bald cypress with their knees poking up from the swamps to the coppery-colored gumbo limbo found in tropical hammocks of the Everglades and Keys, from the sabal palm found all over the state to the rare and endangered yew found only along the banks of the Apalachicola River in northern Florida. Florida, unique among the states, has both tropical and temperate forests. The early Florida visitor was awed by miles of unending pine flatwoods. Most modern Florida visitors are amazed by the lush tropical trees planted in cities, suburbs, and public gardens. This book covers both natives and exotics and includes suggested field sites for observing the species described. Divided into two sections, this book serves as both a reference and a field guide. Both sections help the reader answer the question "What tree is that?" by focusing on the families of Florida's trees. The line drawings show a combination of typical leaves, fruits, and flowers, and while accurate in detail, capture an overall impression, so helpful when trying to identify a species in the field. The color photos, all taken in Florida, are useful where color is important in identification. The first edition was very popular with both professionals and laypeople alike--it was heralded as accurate, comprehensive, and organized and written in an easy-to-understand way. This edition will be even more useful, as it adds about 140 more tree accounts for a total of more than 480 species. There are almost 600 color photos and many drawings and range maps. And now included is a key to tree families that will help with field identification.
Call Number: QK154 .N44 2011ISBN: 9781561644742Publication Date: 2010-11-15 -
Tropical Trees of Florida and the Virgin Islands
by
Covering over 90 species and with over 500 color photographs, this book has been long awaited by both tree professionals and anyone who wants to identify a tree in the Virgin Islands and south Florida. Rare for field guides, this user-friendly book provides for all the species the same categories of complete text: form, leaves and bark, flowers, fruits, habitat, and uses. Also for each species there are photos of the whole tree, bark, leaves, flowers, and fruit. The organization of the book makes it easy to identify a tree. The trees are divided into sections primarily based on how the leaves are arranged on the twig. So you can look at a twig and decide which section of the book in which you should search for it. In addition to the 90 main species covered completely, many more that somehow relate to the main species are mentioned. Though most of the trees are native, many exotics that have been introduced are also included, as many of them are now widespread, particularly in south Florida.
Call Number: QK154 .K57 2009ISBN: 9781561644452Publication Date: 2009-02-01 -
Florida's Edible Wild Plants
by
"Peggy Lantz's new book combines decades of real-life experience with the heartfelt passion of a true plant lover.nbsp; Easy to read and hard to put down, Florida's Edible Wild Plants combines homespun anecdotes with practical botany and hands-on recipes to offer readers a dynamic handbook for anyone wishing to get to know the plants in their yards in a more intimate and tasty way. "--Emily Ruff, director, Florida School of Holistic Living nbsp; "Helps you learn to appreciate the bounty that Mother Nature serves up, from weeds to trees."--Ginny Stibolt, coauthor of Organic Methods for Vegetable Gardening in Florida nbsp; "An easy way to enjoy the common, healthful, and tasty edible plants growing around you."--Richard Wunderlin, coauthor of Guide to the Vascular Plants of Florida nbsp; nbsp; Living off the land is a romantic idea, but in practice it can be confusing. So instead we buy nuts someone else picked for us, berries packaged hundreds of miles away, and greens that may or may not contain contaminants. Fully illustrated with photos and drawings to help with identification, Florida's Edible Wild Plants demystifies the process of foraging to help you discover the wonder of finding and eating wild plants that may grow right in your own backyard. Peggy Lantz shares her fifty years' experience gathering and preparing wild edibles and bringing them to her family's table. Practical knowledge is interspersed with recipes, and Lantz shares her own anecdotes about searching for and finding new plants, as well as serving "weeds" to her curious friends.nbsp; From acorns to wild sorrel, from duck potato soup to elderberry champagne, this easy-to-use guide provides general information about the most common wild edibles in Florida that are not only good for you but also delicious. And the tips for preparing them are indispensable. Lantz offers specific advice for locating and harvesting the different edible parts of each plant, whether it's gathering walnuts in the Panhandle or making jelly from coco plums in the Keys.
Call Number: QK98.5.U6 L36 2014ISBN: 9780942084382Publication Date: 2014-06-03 -
Guide to the Vascular Plants of Florida
by
The definitive guide to more than 4,000 plants found in the Sunshine State "Wunderlin brings us light-years toward an understanding of what we have and what we had in the state. He also shows us what we stand to lose to exotic species invasion, urbanization, and similar impacts of modern civilization."--Florida Scientist "Includes paragraphs on scope of the flora, arrangement of taxa, keys, taxonomy and nomenclature, distribution, etc. Identifies exotic species that have become naturalized. . . . An extremely valuable reference."--Economic Botany "A comprehensive identification manual to the region that has the third largest plant diversity of any state in the nation."--Publishers Weekly "An invaluable source. . . . Wunderlin's guide brings together his years of work with the flora of Florida."--Choice "Has quickly become THE means to key out more than 4,000 taxa of native and non-native ferns, fern allies and seed plants in Florida. . . . Required by serious plant people in the Sunshine State."--Aquaphyte Expanded and updated, this volume is an indispensable reference to the highly diverse flora of the state. Both popular and comprehensive, this new edition contains updated nomenclature and the inclusion of more than 100 additional species, making it the most inclusive identification manual to the more than 4,200 taxa native to or naturalized in Florida.
Call Number: QK154 .W865 2011ISBN: 9780813035437Publication Date: 2011-08-14 -
Florida Wetland Plants
by
Call Number: QK154 .F585 1998ISBN: 0916287270Publication Date: 1998-01-01 -
Seashore Plants of South Florida and the Caribbean
by
Seashore Plants of South Florida and the Caribbean is a complete source for information about which plants grow best in nearshore environments. It includes extensive characteristics of each plant, including: Form, flower and fruit date Geographic distribution and habitat Reproduction and propagation Ornamental uses Medicinal and toxic properties, including modern and folkloric beliefs and uses Ecological aspects This guide is a must-have for backyard gardeners and serious naturalists alike.
Call Number: QK154 .N43 1994ISBN: 1561640263Publication Date: 1993-10-01 -
Marine Plants of the Caribbean
by
Call Number: QK572.2.A1 M37 1989ISBN: 0874746078Publication Date: 1989-01-17 -
Flora of Florida
by
"A major source of information on the plants of Florida which will be the standard reference for years to come."--Rolla Tryon, professor emeritus of biology, Harvard University "This important addition to the botanical literature of Florida and the eastern United States will be welcomed by professional and amateur botanists and field biologists throughout the region."--Gil Nelson, Florida State University Flora of Florida, Volume I, is the first of a proposed eight-volume comprehensive reference to the more than 3,800 vascular plants, native and non-native, known to occur growing wild in the state. Richard Wunderlin and Bruce Hansen employ standard botanical treatments and keys for all families, genera, and species of the ferns and non-flowering seed plants (for example, pines, cedars, yews) along with descriptions, illustrations, nomenclature, and distribution information--making this the first single volume to contain all pertinent data. Chapters also cover physical setting, vegetation, and botanical exploration. Forthcoming volumes will include systematic treatment of the dicot families (volumes 2 to 6) and the monocot families (volumes 7 and 8). This invaluable reference provides botanists, both professional and advanced amateur, detailed information on the common and the rare and endangered ferns and non-flowering seed plants growing wild in Florida, a state with the third richest flora in the United States. Researchers, state and federal agencies, university students, and environmental consultants will also value the volume's comprehensive descriptions, illustrations, and taxonomic nomenclature. Richard P. Wunderlin, professor of biology at the University of South Florida, is the author of Guide to the Vascular Plants of Florida (UPF, 1998), Guide to the Vascular Plants of Central Florida (UPF, 1982), and co-author of the Atlas of Florida Vascular Plants CD-ROM. Bruce F. Hansen, curator of the University of South Florida Herbarium, is co-author of the Atlas of Florida Vascular Plants CD-ROM.
Call Number: QK154 .W85 2000ISBN: 9780813018058Publication Date: 2000-12-31
-
A Gardener's Guide to Florida's Native Plants
by
This guide provides detailed descriptions and methods of cultivation for 350 of Florida's most attractive and easily grown native plants, including ferns, wildflowers, shrubs, trees, vines, aquatics and epiphytes (air plants).
Call Number: SB439.24.F6 O86 2001ISBN: 0813018528Publication Date: 2001-06-05 -
Native Florida Plants for Drought- and Salt-Tolerant Landscaping
by
Descriptions and photographs for 70 native plants that will thrive with little care in the yards of most Florida homeowners. Covers the peninsula south of Marion, Levy, and Volusia counties through the Keys.
Call Number: QK154 .W866 2013ISBN: 9781561645602Publication Date: 2013-10-01 -
Native Wildflowers and Other Ground Covers for Florida Landscapes
by
Spectacular additions to any gardener's planting options "Huegel has created an excellent guide to growing and using native ferns and wildflowers. Gardeners of all levels will find many new and relatively unknown jewels to add to their landscapes. The wealth of experience and personal knowledge Huegel brings to his subject makes this a veritable step-by-step handbook for the wildflower gardener."--Gil Nelson, author of Best Native Plants for Southern Gardens "Huegel has compiled a large amount of information on Florida's native wildflowers and groundcovers. This is an extremely helpful and refreshing addition to the resources for people interested in these plants, whether they wish to grow them or not."--Daniel Austin, University of Arizona Florida gardens and lawns are full of flowering plants and turfgrass, most commonly exotic species. Recently, however, statewide water restrictions and a rekindling of environmental awareness have increased interest in native plants, which are better adapted to the local climate and require less maintenance. In this engaging and authoritative guide, ecologist and avid gardener Craig Huegel offers valuable information to anyone interested in integrating native ground covers into an outdoor space. As many of the plants featured in this book are not frequently or adequately discussed elsewhere, Native Wildflowers and Other Ground Covers for Florida Landscapes is a singular resource for homeowners and commercial growers alike. Brilliantly illustrated with nearly 300 color photos, this handy book provides clear instructions on how to garden with more than 17 native ferns, 17 native grasses, and 175 wildflowers--all commercially available plants that work well together in the landscape. If you're interested in adding these beautiful, diverse plants to your garden or yard, pick up Craig Huegel's latest book and start planning your native plant landscape today.
Call Number: SB439.24.F6 H84 2012ISBN: 9780813039800Publication Date: 2012-06-10 -
Florida's Best Native Landscape Plants
by
"This beautifully illustrated book is loaded with practical information that professionals and homeowners will find very useful."--Jeffrey G. Norcini, University of Florida "Gil Nelson's book provides a very good selective overview of native plants readily available in the nursery trade that can be used in landscaping and the best ways to utilize them."--Richard P. Wunderlin, author of Guide to the Vascular Plants of Florida and Flora of Florida, Volume 1 Florida's Best Native Landscape Plants is an illustrated guide for landscape designers, home gardeners, and restoration professionals. Published in cooperation with the Association of Florida Native Plant Nurseries and the Florida Department of Transportation, it provides technical information on the design and maintenance of native plants that are readily available from the state's native plant nurseries for use in Florida gardening and landscaping. The 200 species were selected for their availability and for their general hardiness, popularity, and ease of use in both commercial and residential landscapes. All are easily found in the native plant trade and will perform well in both home and commercial landscapes. Each species profile details size and form, uses for landscaping and/or gardening, best features, range and distribution, physical appearance, culture, best companion plants, allergenic properties, cultivars, and similar species. Each account is illustrated with one or more color photos, over 700 in all, and 180 of them are further illustrated with an original watercolor. An introductory section introduces readers to the importance and benefits of using native plants in landscaping. Both federal and state guidelines mandate the incorporation of regional native plants in public site design to the maximum extent possible. Gil Nelson's book provides information for those charged with selecting easy-to-obtain native species for use in state and local parks and along our highways--and assists planners and designers, architects, and homeowners in making educated decisions about native plant selection and use. Gil Nelson is a writer, naturalist, and educator who lives and works in Tallahassee, Florida. He is the author of Ferns of Florida, Shrubs and Woody Vines of Florida, Trees of Florida, Exploring Wild Northwest Florida, and Exploring Wild North Florida and coauthor of the National Audubon Society Field Guide to Florida, the National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Southeast, and Florida Wetland Plants.
Call Number: SB439.26.F6 N46 2003ISBN: 081302644XPublication Date: 2003-12-16 -
Native Plant Landscaping for Florida Wildlife
by
Simple steps to bring birds and other wildlife into your yard "Native plant enthusiasts wishing to increase wildlife in their home landscapes will find this book filled with valuable information."--Richard P. Wunderlin, author of Guide to the Vascular Plants of Florida "Huegel has combined personal passion with extensive experience in this well-written, easy-to-use guide for transforming our gardens into havens for wildlife. Conversational, entertaining, and helpful, no native plant enthusiast should be without it."--Gil Nelson, author ofFlorida's Best Native Landscape Plants Floridians share their state with a wide and unique array of wildlife. Unfortunately, commercially developed subdivisions and landscapes often do not provide welcoming habitats for the majority of the native fauna. Attract wildlife back to your yard with this clear, practical guide. Ecologist and consultant Craig Huegel draws on his considerable experience as both a gardener and a professional wildlife biologist to explain how anyone can easily create an attractive landscape plan that is also an inviting habitat for wild animals. He provides specific information on the wildlife value of approximately 150 native trees and shrubs and gives clear and precise direction on incorporating each into your garden. Featuring nearly 200 brilliant color photos, Huegel's guide will help you to identify and select the plants you need--no matter where you live in Florida. Whether you want to invite birds, deer, rabbits, frogs, turtles, or foxes, transforming your yard into a sustainable, wildlife-friendly environment won't require difficult or dramatic changes. Pick up this handy and inspiring book today and discover how easy it is to redevelop any landscape into an attractive habitat for wildlife.
Call Number: QL59 .H86 2010ISBN: 9780813034942Publication Date: 2010-10-24 -
Native Florida Plants
by
Dieses historische Buch kann zahlreiche Tippfehler und fehlende Textpassagen aufweisen. Kaufer konnen in der Regel eine kostenlose eingescannte Kopie des originalen Buches vom Verleger herunterladen (ohne Tippfehler). Ohne Indizes. Nicht dargestellt. 1879 edition. Auszug: ...von Lernen besonders war damals bei dem weiblichen Geschlechte wenig die Rede, aber nach dem Kunstlerischen ihrer musikalischen Natur fehlte es ihr nicht an Sinn fur Iedes, und sie konnte in Alles eingehen, wenn sie's auch nicht verstand. Aus unserem Zusammenleben konnte ich abnehmen, dass ein eheliches Verhaltniss meinem Wesen gar nicht entgegengesetzt war, obwohl ein solches Verhaltniss sich nicht gefunden hat. Es liegt etwas Reconciliantes und Nachgiebiges in mir, das sich nur gar zu gern selbst der Leitung Anderer uberlasst, aber immerwahrende Storungen oder Eingriffe in mein Inneres dulde ich nicht, kann ich nicht ertragen, wenn ich auch wollte. Ich hatte mussen allein fein konnen in einer Ehe, indem ich vergessen hatte, dass meine Frau ein Anderes sei, meinen Antheil an dem wechselseitigen Aufgeben des Storenden hatte ich herzlich gern beigetragen. Aber eigentlich zu Zweien zu sein, verbot mir das Einsame meines Wesens. Einmal schien ein solches Verhaltniss sich gestalten zu wollen, es ward aber gestort, weiss Gott, ohne meine Schuld. Die, wenigstens fur mich, grasslichen Umstande bei dem Tode meiner Mutter grisfen meine Gesundheit aufs Feindseligste an. Die Aerzte riethen zu einer augenblicklichen Entfernung von Wien. Die fruhe Jahreszeit, es war im Monat Marz, erlaubte einen Landaufenthalt nicht: alfo eine Reise: aber wohin? Italien stand mir zwar von jeher lockend da, aber die Reise eines Beamten ins Ausland brauchte damals so viele Vorbereitungen. Es musste ein Vortrag an den Kaiser oder dessen Stellvertreter erstattet werden, und ers
Call Number: SB439.24.F6 H34 1999ISBN: 0884154254Publication Date: 1999-02-01 -
The Right Plants for Dry Places
by
Call Number: SB439.24.F6 R54 1997ISBN: 0820004162Publication Date: 1997-07-01 -
StormScaping
by
"StormScaping" is a guide to landscaping to minimize wind damage in Florida. The weather experts predict more hurricanes than normal until 2025. Since vegetation damage is one of the biggest hurricane problems, this weather change demands a change in landscaping techniques. This book is a comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide that gives step by step instructions that may save your garden, and maybe even your home, in the next hurricane.
Call Number: SB473 .C73 2005ISBN: 0971222029Publication Date: 2005-01-01 -
Your Florida Landscape
by
In this full-color eco-friendly guide to landscaping in Florida, the authors discuss trees, palms, shrubs, ground covers, and vines as well as the uses of mulches and compost. Additional problem-solving sections tackle soils and fertilizers, pruning, weeds, nematodes, plant diseases, and coping with cold weather. A safety guide and list of resources for further help make this the most complete single-volume source for environmentally sound landscaping in Florida and a boon for newcomers to the state. nbsp; nbsp;
Call Number: SB423.75.U6 B53 1998ISBN: 081301641XPublication Date: 1998-04-16 -
Shade Gardening for Florida
by
Having it "made in the shade" is not as great as it sounds, if you're a Florida gardener. Lawns, roses, and some flowering plants may not thrive or bloom as well there as in full sun. But there are many foliage and flowering plants that absolutely love the shade. This book explains what you can plant in different kinds of shade--deep, dappled, or something in between--and how to maintain your trees and landscape to keep the level of shade you want, whether your goal is a garden that evokes a tropical jungle or a woodland forest.
Call Number: SB434.7 .B73 2003ISBN: 0820004219Publication Date: 2003-01-01 -
Florida Gardening on the Go
by
Quick tips for busy gardeners "Walther has given residents many new reasons to take up the trowel and head back to the garden. Her fresh look at plantings and plant care takes the work out of having an attractive landscape."--Thomas MacCubbin, author of Month by Month Gardening in Florida "A good reference for anyone interested in enjoying a nice Florida garden with minimal effort, full of quick tips that make gardening simple and fun."--Kimberly Taylor, University of Florida Center for Landscape Conservation and Ecology No time? No space? No expertise? No problem! Florida Gardening on the Go reveals how easy it is to have a beautiful, bountiful garden, despite those limitations. Too often, would-be gardeners complain that they don't have as much time to spend planning, planting, and pruning as they'd like. Columnist Lynette Walther--who has gardened in Florida for more than four decades--offers projects that can be accomplished with minimal effort and upkeep. This time-saving guide provides step-by-step instructions in a month-by-month format. Even the busiest person will find useful "quick tips" for creating a low-maintenance garden, a garden that makes a big impact in a small yard, or a garden that is easy on the environment. Having trouble with weeds in your lawn? Try corn gluten. It can be applied throughout the year and does not harm children, pets, or wildlife. Squirrels digging in your container gardens? Repel them with sprigs of rosemary. Florida Gardening on the Go is perfect for busy professionals, people with small yards, or snowbirds with a home that is occupied for only part of the year. The gardening tips provided by Walther emphasize how to use Florida-friendly plants and organic practices to create self-sustaining and practical environments.
Call Number: SB453.2.F6 W34 2010ISBN: 9780813034355Publication Date: 2010-03-28 -
-
Best Garden Color for Florida
by
Best Garden Color for Florida is a must-have for Florida gardeners and professionals who love garden color It is not only loaded with 575 spectacular photos, but also includes reams of easy-to-understand information about use and care of 150 terrific Florida plants. The plant information is complemented with chapters filled with ideas about color for butterflies, sun, shade, salt, and wind.
Call Number: SB453 .C73 2003ISBN: 0971222010Publication Date: 2003-10-01 -
Florida Landscape Plants
by
The standard landscape plant manual for Florida now revised and expanded! From reviews of the original edition: "The bible of Florida landscaping. . . . The book has listings for more than 400 plants containing excellent information about cultural and climatological requirements and such interesting tidbits as seasons of maximum color and how the plant is best used in the Florida landscape."-- Cape Coral Breeze "One of Florida's best garden manuals. . . . All residents of Florida will find much useful information to help them with their garden problems in this book."--John Popenoe, former director, Fairchild Tropical Gardens This is the revised and expanded version of the book that has long been the standard landscape plant manual for Florida. The authors have included 70 additional native plant species along with updated botanical names and additional general information on many of the plants. They have also removed all invasive exotic species from the book. Each description contains a detailed drawing for easily identifying the plant, and both the common name and the botanical name are given. Following the general description are entries on propagation, soil and light requirements, culture, hardiness, salt tolerance, pests, and landscape uses. Descriptions of foliage, fruit, and flowers are enhanced by useful information about the season of maximum color.
Call Number: SB407 .W38 2005ISBN: 0813028388Publication Date: 2005-06-30 -
Florida's Best Herbs and Spices
by
Florida's warm climate provides residents with the opportunity to raise herbs and spices from around the globe. This book introduces gardeners to 89 herbs and spices suited to cultivation in Florida. Each plant is covered in a detailed profile, which includes illustrations, growing techniques, climate requirements, and distribution maps. Unique tropical plants such as vanilla, pandanus, and curryleaf grow in southern portions of the state. By making minor adjustments, the Florida gardener can raise nearly any popular northern herb, such as parsley and basil. You will find herbs and spices, both native and exotic, suitable for planting in every region of Florida. Find familiar plants along with those that are rare or obscure. Discover a unique mix of scents, flavors, textures, and colors. Growing your own herbs and spices will bring plants into your garden that look and smell good as well as providing fresh, interesting, and chemical-free tastes for your cooking. You can also save money as you add flavor. We at Pineapple Press are confident that this book, like its companion volume, Florida's Best Fruiting Plants, will be regarded as a gardening classic.
Call Number: SB351.H5 B634 2010ISBN: 9781561644537Publication Date: 2010-06-27 -
Herbs and Spices for Florida Gardens
by
HERBS & SPICES FOR FLORIDA GARDENS is our great new book by award winner Monica Brandies, author of FLORIDA GARDENING: THE NEWCOMER'S SURVIVAL MANUAL, & XERISCAPING FOR FLORIDA HOMES. Florida Gardening Magazine says, "HERBS & SPICES FOR FLORIDA GARDENS is a must-have book for anyone interested in growing herbs, spices, & related plants in the Sunshine State." Monica tells how to use Florida's steamy climate for exotic spices including vanilla orchid, lemon grass, ginger, curry tree, neem, & Cuban oregano, & to time plantings of classic Northern herbs such as dill, chervil, watercress, parsley, lavender, & thyme. Chapters cover using fresh herbs for flavor, crafts, landscape design, health, & beauty. There's a separate chapter for each region of Florida: Northern, Central, & Southern. Here, Monica describes visits to experts -- a chef horticulturists at botanic gardens, the president of a herb society, & several professional growers -- passing along their special tips. An extensive plant-by-plant directory rates each herb or spice for ease of growth in the three regions & describe its characteristics, culture, folklore, & uses. No other single source assembles this information. $15.50, 250 pages, paperbound, illustrated, indexed. Publisher: BB Mackey Books, Wayne, PA. Distributor: Great Outdoors, 800-869-6609.
Call Number: SB351.H5 B73 1996ISBN: 0961633867Publication Date: 1996-05-01 -
Citrus
by
For anyone who grows citrus or wants to begin, this book offers a complete and up-to-date guide to selecting and growing more than one hundred varieties of oranges, mandarins, lemons, limes, grapefruit, and kumquats, as well as exotic citrus. Lance Walheim has tailored his book to growers in California, Arizona, Texas, the Gulf Coast, and Florida, and tells also how to grow successfully in cold-winter areas. Walheim offers practical methods for making citrus part of outdoor living areas--in entries, backyards, courtyards, and even in containers for patio gardens. He also tells how, with the extended and varied harvest seasons of citrus, one can grow and enjoy fresh fruit almost year-round. More than 100 color photos show the size, color, and shape of fruit and the mature appearance of trees, while charts show at a glance where a particular variety will grow and when to expect a harvest. Walheim also discusses alternative, chemical-free methods of pest control to ensure healthy as well as healthful fruit.
Call Number: SB369 .W256 1996ISBN: 0962823643Publication Date: 1996-01-01 -
Common Coastal Plants in Florida
by
"If you are challenged by trying to garden on property facing salt or brackish water, here's help."--Southern Living "This is the homeowner's complete tome to coastal (read that 'salt-tolerant') plants. . . . A great guide for home or office areas."--Palm Beach Post Common Coastal Plants in Florida is a practical guide to identifying, obtaining, planting, and maintaining the plants most frequently found along the fringes and sandy shores of the Sunshine State. Black, white, and red mangrove, sea ox-eye daisy, saltgrass, marsh-elder and beach-elder, needle rush and black rush, smooth cordgrass, salt jointgrass, marsh-hay, bitter panicum and sea-oats are just a handful of the plants profiled in this beautiful and useful volume. Complete descriptions of Florida's beach, dune, and wetland communities and a guide to selection and cultivation of plant species appropriate for each type help gardeners assess the needs of their coastal properties. Plant characteristics, plant availability, planting and maintenance guidelines, commercial sources for vegetation, and suggestions for additional reading provide basic hands-on, how-to information. Forty color photographs and 35 drawings serve as a convenient, user-friendly identification guide for gardeners and beachcombers alike. Florida's fragile coastal communities are increasingly threatened by erosion--the result of weather, rising sea levels, and human impact on the environment. The editors of this volume explain how plant habitats help protect these areas, functioning as sand or soil traps and stabilizers, providing food and shelter for wildlife, contributing to water-quality maintenance, and beautifying our state. Since its first appearance in 1990, Common Coastal Plants has been an authoritative and popular guide. This new edition is sure to prove equally useful to the ever-increasing number of homeowners along Florida's coastline and to anyone interested in protecting one of the state's most important natural resources.
Call Number: SB317.C56 C65 1997ISBN: 0813015510Publication Date: 1997-09-12
-
Native Plants of the Southeast
by
Using native plants in a garden has many benefits. They attract beneficial wildlife and insects, they allow a gardener to create a garden that reflects the native beauty of the region, and they make a garden more sustainable. Because of all this, they are an increasingly popular plant choice for home and public gardens. Native Plants of the Southeast shows you how to choose the best native plants and how to use them in the garden. This complete guide is an invaluable resource, with plant profiles for over 460 species of trees, shrubs, vines, ferns, grasses, and wildflowers. Each plant description includes information about cultivation and propagation, ranges, and hardiness. Comprehensive lists recommend particular plants for difficult situations, as well as plants for attracting butterflies, hummingbirds, and other wildlife.
Call Number: SB439.24.S66 M45 2014ISBN: 9781604693232Publication Date: 2014-01-28 -
Native Trees of the Southeast
by
Students, professionals, tree lovers, and native plant enthusiasts alike will fall in love with Native Plants of the Southeast. The diversity of woody plants in the Southeast is unparalleled in North America. Native Trees of the Southeast is a practical, compact field guide for the identification of the more than 225 trees native to the region, from the Carolinas and eastern Tennessee south through Georgia into northern Florida and west through Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, and Arkansas into eastern Texas. For confident identification, nearly 600 photographs, close to 500 of them in color, illustrate leaves, flowers and fruits or cones, bark, and twigs with buds. Crucial differences between plants that may be mistaken for each other are discussed and notes on the uses of the trees in horticulture, forestry, and for wildlife are included.
Call Number: QK125 .K57 2007ISBN: 9780881928280Publication Date: 2007-07-15 -
Tropical Plants of the World
by
Sumptuous photos show off more than 250 dazzling tropical species from the lush terrain of Southeast Asia, Latin America, Africa...everywhere the climate nurtures seductively fragrant blossoms and luxuriant foliage. The in-depth information on palms, shrubs, vines, herbs, ferns, water plants, and of course, magnificent, vibrant blooms will prove invaluable to gardeners wanting something special.
Call Number: SB407 .R63 2002ISBN: 0806983876Publication Date: 2002-04-01 -
Florida Butterfly Caterpillars and Their Host Plants
by
Everything the butterfly gardener or naturalist needs to know about the relationship between caterpillars and the plants that help them turn into butterflies. This book will become the classic guide to southern butterfly caterpillars and their host plants. With hundreds of color photographs and concise information in a format that can easily be carried into the field, it offers an unprecedented tool for all butterfly gardeners, teachers, naturalists, students, and scientists in the southern United States. No other book offers such a comprehensive discussion of Florida butterfly caterpillars and their host plants. It covers caterpillar anatomy, biology, ecology, habitat, behavior, and defense, as well as how to find, identify, and raise caterpillars. The book contains sharply detailed photos of 167 species of caterpillars, 185 plants, 18 life cycles, and 19 habitats. It includes 169 maps. Photos of the egg, larva, pupa, and adult of representatives of 18 butterfly families and subfamilies provide life cycle comparisons that have never been illustrated before in such an accessible reference. Because of Florida's mild climate and diversity of plants, caterpillars thrive in abundance in the state. Florida's butterfly fauna consist of temperate species from eastern North America, tropical species from the Caribbean region (including 11 species of exotics that have become established over the last 100 years), and unique races that are found nowhere else. For everyone who has wondered what to do about the caterpillars they find munching on a beloved plant, the authors offer this advice: "Watch them." Their value in the ecosystem is immense, as they provide vital links in food webs and help to naturally prune their hosts. And they reveal the miracle of metamorphosis, as the worm-like larvae transform into beautiful winged adults.
Call Number: QL551.F6 M552 2005ISBN: 0813027896Publication Date: 2005-04-29 -
Healing Plants
by
"In every profession there is usually an assistant. . . . And so it is that Seminole medicine men and women call upon people who have a special knowledge of certain plants, roots, barks, and other items that need to be collected for the medicine they make. . . . Alice Snow belongs to the very special small group of people who have this knowledge. It is with honor that I have known and worked with Alice for many years, and have seen how her endeavor to pass her knowledge to others will continue through the generations."-- James E. Billie, chairman, Seminole Tribe of Florida "Seminole elder Alice Micco Snow and anthropologist Susan Enns Stans capture the essence of Seminole ethnomedicine and ethnobotany, providing a glimpse of a fascinating past, as well as a view of the vibrancy these traditions continue to have in contemporary Seminole communities."-- Cynthia R. Kasee, University of South Florida The first published record of Florida Seminole herbal medicine and ancient healing practices, Healing Plants is a colorfully illustrated compendium of knowledge and practices passed down orally to Alice Snow from generations of her Native American ancestors. The authors' overview of Seminole history, native medicine, and the life of Snow, a Seminole herbalist (illustrated with personal photographs) places the healing practices in their cultural context and describes actual treatments. Charts with plant names in Creek, Mikasuki, and English and lists of plant properties with their common and botanical names offer easy reference. Col Color photographs provide clear illustrations of many of the plants. Herbal treatments include those intended for babies, for people who have had a hysterectomy, a stroke, blackouts or shortness of breath, "monkey sickness," alligator bites, or a speeding heart, people who have pain or have been ill for a long time, who like to sleep all the time or can't sleep because of worry or bad dreams, who are pregnant or "on the wagon" or have lost wives or husbands. Alice Snow is both a traditional Seminole and a cultural innovator who combines old and new methods of preserving and teaching "Indian medicine." Her record of medicinal plants and remedies is her contribution toward helping the Seminoles to hold onto their past while living in the present and moving toward the future. Though the book does not reveal the tribal doctors' secret healing songs, believed to empower the plants, it provides Seminoles with a reference handbook of plants; it also offers medical professionals, herbalists, and the general public an understanding of the world of Seminole medicine.
Call Number: E99.S28 S66 2001ISBN: 081302062XPublication Date: 2001-06-30 -
Poisonous Plants and Animals of Florida and the Caribbean
by
By identifying dangerous organisms, this book makes life safer for those who encounter the exuberant diversity of nature in the American tropics. Part One illustrates and describes each poisonous plant and animal in a nontechnical manner. Part Two provides in-depth information of the toxins, symptoms, and treatments presently recorded in the scientific literature, as well as beneficial uses and folklore. A must for campers, hikers, bicyclists, kayakers--anyone who spends time in the Florida outdoors.
Call Number: RA1250 .N45 1997ISBN: 1561641111Publication Date: 1997-06-01 -
Plants Poisonous to People in Florida
by
The new 3rd edition can help with the identification of poisonous plants and help health professionals plan treatment. This edition covers 166 species, most of which are cultivated ornamentals. It includes: Plants with poisonous and/or irritant properties; plants causing internal poisoning; and plants causing skin and respiratory irritation. Sixty-five color and 16 black and white photographs. Price $19.95.
Call Number: QK100.U6 M67 1995ISBN: 0870243365Publication Date: 1995-12-01 -
How to Eradicate Invasive Plants
by
"Every garden shed should have a copy of this book. The wisdom that it wields will hold the invaders at the gate." --Roger B. Swain, The Victory Garden How to Eradicate Invasive Plants offers a clear, practical solution to the increasingly common problem of invasive plants. Clearly written and easy-to-use, Teri Dunn Chance shows you how to recognize more than 200 common invasive plants and offers organic and responsible chemical eradication options for each species. With this reference on their shelves, gardeners, landscapers, and managers of public and private land across the country can confidently tackle the invasive plants to make room for a sustainable plant community!
Call Number: SB613.5 .D86 2013ISBN: 9781604693065Publication Date: 2013-04-09 -
The Rose's Kiss
by
Flowers bring joy and beauty to our lives, from the smallest patch of daisies outside our window to the elaborate floral decorations on display at weddings, banquets, and funerals. As well as offering aesthetic benefits, they teach us much about how the world works -- each blossom is a living factory that manufactures organs and compounds ranging from the flavonoids that make a rose red to the pollen that gives us hayfever.In The Rose's Kiss, botanist Peter Bernhardt rekindles our sense of wonder at the plant life all around us. He presents a fascinating and wide ranging look at the natural history of flowers -- their forms and functions as well as their hidden interactions with the surrounding environment and the other living organisms they depend upon for survival. Using both familiar and exotic examples, he examines: flower architecture, including the wonderfully descriptive names of floral parts and their respective roles in a plant's life-cycle the secret exchange between a bud and its environment that determines blooming time and the lifespan of individual blossoms colors, scents, and other mechanisms that plants use to attract pollinators and keep them returning season after season the incredible diversity of organisms that pollinate plants -- cockroaches, flies, moths, parrots, hummingbirds, bats, and others extinct plants and their fossil blossoms, showing the evolution of flowering plants over the past 125 million years and much moreDelightfully interwoven with intriguing facts and stories from history, folklore, and mythology, The Rose's Kissis a wonderful example of literary science writing at its best. It should hold wide appeal for nature lovers, garden enthusiasts, and anyone interested in learning more about the inner workings of the natural world.
Call Number: QK653 .B45 1999ISBN: 1559635649Publication Date: 1999-05-01 -
Citrus
by
Walk into your local grocery store and down the produce aisle, and you'll find a dazzling array of citrus, from navel oranges and clementines to grapefruit and key limes--and sometimes even more exotic fare like the Japanese yuzu or the baboon lemon. Nearly 100 million tons of citrus are produced globally every year, but where did these fruits first come from? How did they find their way into the Western world? And how did they become both a culinary and cultural phenomenon? Pierre Laszlo here traces the spectacular rise and spread of citrus across the globe: from Southeast Asia in 4000 BC through North Africa and the Roman Empire to early modern Spain and Portugal, whose explorers introduced the fruits to the Americas during the 1500s. Blending scientific rigor with personal curiosity, Citrus ransacks over two millennia of world history, exploring the numerous roles that citrus has played in agriculture, horticulture, cooking, nutrition, religion, and art--from the Jewish feast of the Tabernacles through the gardens and courts of Versailles to the canvasses of Vincent van Gogh to the orange groves of southern California and the juicing industry of today. "Laszlo . . . has approached the lore of citrus fruit with the #65533;lan of a master chef (the man is French, after all), mixing history, economics, biology and chemistry to produce a book that will bring a smile to readers of every taste."--Natural History "Altogether charming, eccentric, erudite, and definitely worth the price."--Times Higher Education Supplement "Stimulating. . . . Laszlo shows that the citrus fruit 'is a treasure trove of chemicals that are highly useful to humankind'--which also happens to taste wonderful."--Sunday Times (UK) "A short but brilliant account of 6,000 years of citrus fruits that should be devoured with fervor."--Financial Times "Did you know there are a billion citrus trees under cultivation, or that grapefruit juice may potentiate the effects of Viagra? Citrus mines over two millennia of history to explore the spread of these fruits out of Asia, their commercialization in the United States, and enduring symbolism the world over."--New Scientist
Call Number: SB369 .L37 2007ISBN: 9780226470269Publication Date: 2007-11-06 -
The Everglades
by
Before 1947, when Marjory Stoneman Douglas named The Everglades a "river of grass," most people considered the area worthless. She brought the world's attention to the need to preserve The Everglades. In the Afterword, Michael Grunwald tells us what has happened to them since then. Grunwald points out that in 1947 the government was in the midst of establishing the Everglades National Park and turning loose the Army Corps of Engineers to control floods--both of which seemed like saviors for the Glades. But neither turned out to be the answer. Working from the research he did for his book, The Swamp, Grunwald offers an account of what went wrong and the many attempts to fix it, beginning with Save Our Everglades, which Douglas declared was "not nearly enough." Grunwald then lays out the intricacies (and inanities) of the more recent and ongoing CERP, the hugely expensive Comprehensive Everglades Restoration Plan.
Call Number: F317.E9 D6 1997ISBN: 1561641359Publication Date: 1997-03-01 -
The Everglades Handbook
by
"This fourth edition covers the key subjects of previous editions with major updates of the new science and understanding. If there ever was a necessary book for Everglades advocates, students, authors, members of government and their agencies, The Everglades Handbook: Understanding the Ecosystemis an absolute must!" --Nathaniel P. Reed, from the Foreword "This book is far and away the best guide now in print to Everglades issues -- authoritative, well-illustrated, well-indexed, and readable." -- Martha Musgrove, retired Miami Heraldjournalist, founding President of the Decision Makers Forum, and Southeast Regional Director of the Florida Wildlife Federation "Given the astonishing breadth and depth of scientific activities in the Everglades, Tom Lodge once again illustrates his savvy as an articulate science writer in condensing the complex dynamics of this remarkable ecosystem. ...In summary, the Handbook reviews a vast literature into a compelling read about the natural treasures of the Everglades." --Evelyn E. Gaiser, Executive Director, School of Environment, Arts and Society, and Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, Florida International University, modified from Wetlands (2011) 31 _____________________________________________________________________________________ The fourth edition presents expanded treatment of subjects where our knowledge of the Everglades and its restoration has greatly improved. This more detailed coverage includes: Computer modeling and its applications to the Everglades environment Quantified role of water flow in shaping the Everglades landscape The origin and evolution of fixed tree islands Sulfur and related mercury as wetland pollutants Up-to-date summary of the now quantified economic benefits of restoration, shown to be far in excess of the cost The Everglades Handbook: Understanding the Ecosystem, Fourth Editionis a scholarly reference packed cover to cover with scientific information about the ecosystem of the Everglades - taking into account how drastically the Everglades has changed. Topically, the book covers disciplines ranging from ecology, geology, climatology, hydrology, anthropology to conservation biology. Written in Tom Lodge's trademark accessible style, this extensively researched text is essential reading for anybody trying to understand the challenges we face in restoring this unique ecosystem.
Call Number: QH105.F6 L63 2017ISBN: 9781498742900Publication Date: 2016-12-16
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries