Florida Legal Research
This Florida Legal Research Library Guide seeks to assist patrons at NSU Shepard Broad College of Law as a starting point for Florida legal research.
Florida Legal Research Library Guide
Selected Secondary Sources
Florida Jurisprudence, Second Edition
- Florida Jurisprudence, Second Edition (Fla.Jr.2d) on Westlaw
- Florida Jurisprudence, Second Edition (Fla.Jr.2d) on LexisNexis
- Florida Jurisprudence, Second Edition (Fla. Jur.2d) (Print Edition)
Other Encyclopedias
Restatements and Principles of Law
Florida Treatises in LexisNexis and Westlaw
Treatises in LexisNexis and Westlaw
Selected Treatises in Aspen Learning Library
-
Aspen Treatise for Constitutional Law, 7th ed.
by
Relied on by students, professors, and practitioners, Erwin Chemerinsky’s popular treatise clearly states the law and identifies the underlying policy issues in each area of constitutional law. Thorough coverage of the topic makes it appropriate for both beginning and advanced courses.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543857603Publication Date: February 15, 2023 -
Aspen Treatise for Property, 6th ed.
by
This overview of property law addresses both classic and contemporary topics covered in the first-year property course in a clear, accessible format. The book offers clear explanations of property law through textual treatment, with numerous examples, analytical discussion of key cases, and issues followed by hypotheticals. The book places emphasis on disagreements among states about the applicable rules of property law, with explanations of the conflicting issues
With extraordinary clarity and insight, Joseph William Singer has written a comprehensive overview of the rules and doctrine of property law. The numerous examples and hypotheticals in Property, Sixth Edition contribute to a rich pedagogy that illuminates both classic and contemporary topics. For the Sixth Edition, Professor Singer has been joined by Professor Nestor M. Davidson, and the authors have thoroughly updated and revised the treatise to reflect recent developments.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543839265Publication Date: April 19, 2022 -
Aspen Treatise for Introduction to United States International Taxation, 7th ed.
by
The new edition of this well-known reference work for the tax community provides an introduction to the application of the United States international taxation system to taxpayers investing or transacting business in the U.S. and other countries. In a relatively brief and manageable form, it sets forth the principles adopted by the United States in taxing American or foreign individuals and corporations as they invest, work, or carry on a trade or business in the U.S. or abroad. Throughout the book, the authors incorporate references not only to the Internal Revenue Code provisions under discussion, but also to relevant Treasury Regulations, other administrative material, and important cases that have arisen. For tax practitioners, tax professors, and students both within and outside the U.S., and others seeking a structural framework in which an international tax problem can be placed, Introduction to United States International Taxation offers the ideal reference source.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543827248Publication Date: December 28, 2021 -
Aspen Treatise for International Law, 8th ed.
by
Elegant and authoritative, International Law, Eighth Edition provides a basic understanding of its subject, not only for law students and students in courses on international relations, but for lawyers, judges, officials, and journalists, indeed for anyone interested in learning about the nature of both public and private international law.
This timely Eighth Edition reflects current policies in the United States and abroad, keeping pace with new developments in International Human Rights Law, International Environmental Law, International Organizations, the Law of the Sea, and International and Domestic Courts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543831146Publication Date: April 1, 2021 -
Aspen Treatise for Federal Jurisdiction, 8th ed.
by
In the Eighth Edition of Federal Jurisdiction, luminary author Erwin Chemerinsky unpacks the black letter law and underlying policy issues of his subject with the clarity and penetrating insight for which he is renowned. An accessible and thorough exposition of the laws, issues, and policies that determine the jurisdiction of federal courts— students know they can rely on Federal Jurisdiction, Eighth Edition to inform and enrich their understanding of the cases and materials covered in this course.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543821116Publication Date: November 16, 2020 -
Aspen Treatise for Evidence, 6th ed.
by
Evidence is the most complete reference on evidence law available, written at a level that makes it an accessible, indispensible resource for students. The text emphasizes contemporary judicial interpretations of the Federal Rules of Evidence, making the law relevant to students. Organization around the Federal Rules of Evidence makes the text particularly understandable, with common-law coverage given where an issue is not codified. Throughout the text, Evidence features straightforward explication of the rules, analysis of leading case law, and thorough coverage of both the Federal Rules and state evidence codes. Pedagogical features include helpful marginal headings, mini-summaries of contents at the beginning of each chapter, generous footnotes, and useful case citations. The authors strong reputations as casebook authors and authors of Aspen's practitioner Evidence treatise continue to attract users to this book.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543800005Publication Date: May 1, 2018 -
Aspen Treatise for Criminal Law, 2nd ed.
by
A student treatise that explains the basic rules on all core criminal law topics, including the Model Penal Code’s position and the most of the common deviations from it.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781454819011Publication Date: October 3, 2017 -
Aspen Treatise for Introduction to Feminist Legal Theory, 3rd ed.
by
The leading text in the field, Introduction to Feminist Legal Theory was the first book that served as an introductory survey of feminist jurisprudence. Its historical view of feminist legal theory places issues in social context and thoroughly reviews the evolving paradigms of contemporary feminism from the 1970s through the present. The full range of legal issues affecting women are covered, including gender discrimination, rape, sexual harassment, motherhood, reproductive issues, and much more. Clear, energetic presentation keeps students engaged and involved with succinct overviews, intellectually stimulating material, and jargon-free prose.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781454831297Publication Date: November 5, 2012 -
Aspen Treatise for Civil Procedure, 5th ed.
by
Popular casebook author and bar review lecturer Richard Freer makes the complex principles of civil procedure accessible for students and practitioners in this treatise.
Filled with hundreds of examples, the book integrates legal doctrine with factual analysis. The book breaks the doctrines of civil procedure into easy-to-understand components, and then brings them together to show how they form a comprehensive body of law. As stated by one procedure scholar, this book “is a key reference not only for students, but also for any lawyer or scholar looking for a starting point to their research on procedure and jurisdiction. The latest edition is always on my bookshelf.”
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781543839012Publication Date: December 9, 2021
Selected Hornbook Treatises in West Academic Study Aids
-
Civil Procedure, 6th ed.
by
Gain insight into the laws governing all of the major steps in the civil litigation process, starting with jurisdiction, venue, and ascertaining the governing law, and moving through pleading, joinder, discovery, pretrial management and adjudication, trials, appeals, and the effect and enforcement of judgments. Class actions and other forms of complex, multiparty litigation, as well as Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR), are also covered. This text addresses the major themes underlying the various rules and procedures, and it has continuing utility as a desk book in legal practice and as an entrée into deeper research.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781647082697Publication Date: August 26, 2021 -
Constitutional Law, 8th ed.
by
This treatise provides a detailed, up-to-date, and comprehensive analysis of American constitutional law. It examines the issues that are studied and litigated today and discusses the origins of judicial review and federal jurisdiction, the sources of national authority, the growth of federal commerce and fiscal powers, and the limits on state laws that burden interstate commerce. It analyzes individual liberties and due process, including freedom of speech and religion, federal powers to enforce the Bill of Rights, and limitations on the jurisdiction of federal courts. Finally, it examines the separation of powers, including the restrictions on the foreign affairs power.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314195999Publication Date: November 5, 2009 -
Contracts, 7th ed.
by
The author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subject of separate chapters.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314287700Publication Date: August 21, 2014 -
Criminal Law, 7th ed.
by
LaFave and Ohlin’s Criminal Law, 7th Edition is designed to function as the ideal Hornbook resource for the student studying Criminal Law. The book includes comprehensive treatment of all doctrines covered in the basic first-year Criminal Law course, regardless of which textbook the instructor uses. The materials are flexible and not keyed to a specific casebook. Doctrines are carefully explained and are thus ideal for out-of-class study to supplement more discussion-oriented casebook materials. Core topics of the Hornbook include:
The underlying goals and purposes of the criminal law, including tensions between crime control and due process.
Principles of statutory interpretation relevant to penal statutes.
The competing rationales for criminal punishment, constitutional constraints related to sentencing, especially as regards to capital punishment and sentencing guidelines, and mental competency to stand trial.
A comprehensive treatment of substantive crimes, not just “core crimes” such as all forms of homicide and sexual assault, but also all substantive offenses tested on the bar exam, including assault, battery, theft, robbery, burglary, kidnapping, and arson, and any other offense that might be included on a Criminal Law syllabus, including disorderly conduct, trespassing, and harassment.
Modes of liability, including not just accomplice and conspiracy liability, but also solicitation and felony murder. The materials explore recent changes to the law in this area, including California’s repeal of the felony murder rule.
Inchoate offenses, including not just attempts, but also solicitation and conspiracy as inchoate substantive offenses.
Doctrinal coverage of every justification and excuse, including self-defense, defensive force by police officers, necessity, duress, and insanity—including the competing doctrines for evaluating insanity arguments, and partial defenses such as diminished capacity.
LaFave and Ohlin’s treatment of the Criminal Law is so comprehensive that students are urged to keep the textbook for bar exam study and for initial practice as a criminal lawyer, since the Hornbook is useful as an easy-to-consult, one-volume, practice-ready reference work.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781685612337Publication Date: June 14, 2023 -
Criminal Procedure, 7th ed.
by
This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. The coverage is comprehensive, including federal and state statutes and court rules and descriptions of practice as well as constitutional limitations, with an emphasis upon those issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors’ 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9798887863962Publication Date: November 7, 2024 -
Evidence Law, a Student's Guide to the Law of Evidence As Applied in American Trials, 5th ed.
by
In clear and engaging prose that makes concepts accessible without oversimplification, this Treatise explains the Federal Rules, selected state variations, major cases, essential doctrines, and important underlying policies. Frequent practical examples drawn from courtroom practice introduce students to courtroom procedure, provide a context in which evidence problems arise, and acquaint them with the language of the courtroom. This volume can serve as background for beginning students and as a one-stop refresher for those taking advanced courses. Professors can assign various sections to track the syllabus or simply recommend this book as useful background reading.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781636591261Publication Date: March 16, 2022 -
Hornbook on Torts, 2nd ed.
by
This single-volume hornbook provides a comprehensive overview of tort and injury law. The book covers all of the major topics in tort law. Topics include liability for physical injuries, as well as emotional, dignitary, and economic harms. This newly-updated edition includes citations to hundreds of cases and statutes decided over the last decade, as well as references to the Restatement (Third) of Torts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781628101478Publication Date: December 29, 2015 -
Health Law, 3rd ed.
by
Expert authors present an up-to-date overview of health law as it affects the professionals, institutions, and entities that deliver and finance health care in the United States. Considers the law's response to quality and error through institutional and professional regulation, and malpractice litigation against professionals, hospitals, and managed care organizations. Surveys tax, corporate, and organizational issues. Explores the government's efforts to control costs and expand access through Medicare and Medicaid. Examines government attempts to police anticompetitive activities, fraud, and abuse. And considers the legal and ethical issues involving death, human reproduction, medical treatment decision making, and medical research. The Affordable Care Act, HIPAA, HITECH, and other new statutory and regulatory changes of the past few years are thoroughly incorporated in all aspects of the legal discussion.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314289070Publication Date: November 14, 2014 -
Law of Federal Courts, 8th ed.
by
This title offers practical guidance and comprehensive coverage on all aspects of federal court jurisdiction and litigation procedure, as well as the relationship between the state and federal courts. Text reviews the federal judicial system; judicial power of the United States; diversity of citizenship; venue; law applied in federal courts; pleadings, trials, and judgments; and appellate court and Supreme Court jurisdiction.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780314290373Publication Date: November 23, 2016
Florida Law Reviews and Journals
HeinOnline
Law Reviews and Journals
The New York Times
The Wall Street Journal
American Law Reports
Continuing Legal Education (CLE) Study Materials
Florida Bar (Legal Fuel)
Selected Databases and Briefs
Briefs
Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals
- Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals Briefs on Westlaw
- Eleventh Circuit Trial Court Documents on Westlaw
Florida Courts
Florida Estate Planning
Florida Family Law
Florida Real Property
Florida Forms
Florida Legal Fuel (Practice Resource Center of the Florida Bar)