Art Law
A guide designed to assist those beginning their research with finding resources in the multifaceted world of Art Law.
Organizations
These organizations provide information to guide you in your Art Law research.
- Center for Art LawNonprofit that offers educational programming and resources for the advancement of art and the law.
- Institution for Art & LawAn educational organization that focuses on publishing and giving courses that relate to art and museums law.
- ARTDEXA digital art collection platform that features a guide on avoiding common artist legal issues.
Law Enforcement
These law enforcement groups work specifically on Art Law related cases and feature publications and other resources that may help you in your research.
- Cultural Property, Art & Antiquities InvestigationsPart of Homeland Security.
Has a lead role in the investigation and seizing of stolen cultural property and art brought into the United States. - FBI- Art Theft DivisionSection of the FBI dedicated to investigating and prosecuting the theft, fraud, and trafficking of art and cultural property.
Operates The National Stolen Art File, a database of stolen objects. - Interpol- Cultural Heritage CrimeIncludes discussions of the different issues as well as an International Stolen Works of Art Database.
Databases
- ArThemisThe Art-Centre of the University of Geneva
A fully searchable database containing case notes about art and cultural property disputes. - Art, Entertainment & Sports Database (ARTNEWS)Westlaw database that includes news and information about art, entertainment, and sports.
Access through Westlaw
Local and Remote for NSU College of Law only.