Art Law
A guide designed to assist those beginning their research with finding resources in the multifaceted world of Art Law.
Art Law Books
These scholarly books discuss Art Law from different viewpoints. All books linked are ebooks available through the Law Library.
Art Law and the Business of Art by
In this fully revised and updated second edition of Art Law and the Business of Art, Martin Wilson, an art lawyer with more than 20 years' experience in the field, provides a comprehensive and practi cal guide to the application of UK law to transactions and disputes in the art world. Accessible and informative for lawyers and non-lawyers alike, this indispensable book not only outlines and explains the relevant law but also how the art business operates in practice.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781800885783Publication Date: 2022-12-13
Research Handbook on Art and Law by
Featuring international contributions from leading and emerging scholars, this innovative Research Handbook presents a panoramic view of how law sees visual art, and how visual art sees law. It resists the conventional approach to art and law as inherently dissonant - one a discipline preoccupied with rationality, certainty and objectivity; the other a creative enterprise ensconced in the imaginary and inviting multiple, unique and subjective interpretations. Blending these two distinct disciplines, this unique Research Handbook bridges the gap between art and law.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781788971478Publication Date: 2020-01-31
A Tragic Fate by
The organized theft of fine art by Nazi Germany has captivated worldwide attention in the last twenty years. As much as any other topic arising out of World War Two, stolen art has proven to be an issue that simply will not go away. Newly found works of art pit survivors and their heirs against museums, foreign nations, and even their own family members. These stories are enduring because they speak to one of the core tragedies of the Nazi era: how a nation at the pinnacle of fine art and culture spawned a legalized culture of theft and plunder. A Tragic Fate is the first book to seriously address the legal and ethical rules that have dictated the results of restitution claims between competing claimants to the same works of art. It provides a history of Art and Culture in German-occupied Europe, an introduction to the most significant collections in Europe to be targeted by the Nazis, and a narrative of the efforts to reclaim looted artwork in the decades following the Holocaust through profiles of some of the art world's most famous and influential restitution cases.
Call Number: online onlyISBN: 9781634257343Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Law Journals
Law Journals often discuss new, developing areas, or recommended changes in the law.
- Cardozo Arts & Entertainment Law JournalPublished by Cardozo Law
Covers arts, entertainment, intellectual property, First Amendment, cyberlaw, and media and telecommunications law.
Access through HeinOnline.
Local for registered users. Remote for NSU only. - Colombia Journal of Law & the ArtsPublished by Colombia Law School
In depth coverage of the legal issues involving the arts, entertainment, sports, intellectual property, and communications industries.
Access through HeinOnline
Local for registered users. Remote for NSU only. - Washington Journal of Law, Technology & ArtsPublished by the University of Washington School of Law
Publication of the Law, Technology & Arts Research Group. Focuses on legal issues involving technological and artistic innovations.
Access through HeinOnline
Local for registered users. Remote for NSU only.