MSMS 6023 Behavioral Physiology: Getting Started
Behavioral Physiology
Behavioral Physiology
MSMS 6023
Winter 2022
This course will provide an overview of behavioral physiology, which is a growing, interdisciplinary research area that stems from the idea that animal physiology and behavior are inextricably linked and mutually enriching fields of study. This field focuses on identifying the causal physiological mechanisms responsible for observed behavioral patterns in animal species, and distinguish which mechanisms are common across animal groups and which are unique adaptations to specific taxa. Animals also face a barrage of natural and anthropogenic pressures driven by environmental factors throughout their lifetime, which can modulate the connection between physiology and behavior. We will discuss topics spanning a range of subjects related to animal behavior and physiology, including metabolic physiology, biomechanics, sociality, neurophysiology, endocrinology, and more, and highlight the methods that scientists are currently using to study animal behavior and physiology both in the lab and in the field.
Recommended Textbooks:
Animal Behavior by
This text provides a comprehensive overview of how and why animals as diverse as insects and humans behave the way that they do, linking behaviours to the brain, genes, and hormones, as well as to the surrounding ecological and social environments.
Call Number: QL751 .A58 2019ISBN: 9781605355481Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Animal Physiology by
Presents all the branches of modern animal physiology with a strong emphasis on integration of physiological knowledge, ecology, and evolutionary biology.Animal Physiology, Fourth Edition presents all the branches of modern animal physiology, taking an entirely fresh approach to each topic. Each of the 25 main chapters starts with an animal example to engage student interest and demonstrate the value of the material that will be learned. Five briefer "At Work" chapters apply students' newfound physiological knowledge to curiosity-provoking and important topics, e.g. diving by marine mammals, the mechanisms of navigation, and muscle plasticity in use and disuse.New to This Edition The Fourth Edition features key updates, expanded discussions, improved organisation, and additional pedagogical aidsGreatly enhanced genomics content is incorporated into all relevant chapters.All figures were reviewed for pedagogical effectiveness; more than 100 figures or tables have been revised, and 33 new figures incorporated.All chapters have been updated based on the latest literature and terminology.Embracing opportunities for a "less is more" approach, hundreds of sentences and dozens of paragraphs have been improved for efficiency and effectiveness.References to the scientific literature are in-depth and updated.Online answers for all study questions are provided to instructors.
Call Number: QP33 .H54 2016ISBN: 9781605354712Publication Date: 2016-04-18
The Physiology of Fishes by
The fifth edition of The Physiology of Fishes represents a compendium of knowledge across fish physiology, collecting up-to-date research into an easy-to-access single textbook. Written by the leaders in the field, it provides a comprehensive, accessible review of the core topics, integrating physiology with environmental science, ecology, evolution, and molecular cell biology. New chapters address Epigenetics, Biomechanics and Locomotion, and Behaviour and Learning. Each chapter contains an extensive bibliography, providing readers with the best sources from the primary literature. Almost three decades after the publication of the first edition, this book remains the only published single-volume work on fish physiology. The fifth edition provides an important reference for new students of fish biology, marine and freshwater biologists, ichthyologists, fisheries scientists, and comparative physiologists.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781003036401Publication Date: 2020-09-07
Students will:
- Identify physiological mechanisms for behavior.
- Understand how animals have adapted behaviorally and physiologically to life in their unique environment.
- Classify environmental factors modulating the connection between behavior and physiology.
- Distinguish the impact of biotic and abiotic pressures on animal behavior and physiology
- Characterize intrinsic versus extrinsic drivers of individual variation in physiology and behavior.
- Critique different methods for studying behavior and physiology in lab and field settings.
Other Course Guides
Quick Search
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
If you have the DOI of an article, you can search for the article using DOI Tools.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find research tips, useful resources, and more by searching our LibGuides or browsing the topics below:
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes |