Optometry Resources: Clinical Resources

PHIL welcomes use of their material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into categories by people, place, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.

An extensive collection of clinical ophthalmic cases and their pathology for use by researchers and clinicians to aid in preventing, diagnosing, and treating diseases of the eye and visual system.

Sponsored by the National Eye Institute

From the Edward S. Harkness Institute, Columbia University, NY for educational purposes only.

From Umberto Benelli, MD, PhD

The links in Hardin MD's directory are annotated to indicate the presence of pictures.

HEAL is a digital repository that allows medical educators to discover, download, and re-use over 22,000 medical education resources. Through generous funding by IAMSE, HEAL is becoming a dynamic, user-centered digital environment to allow medical educators to share and discuss teaching resources and methods.

IAMSE Digital Library

The media gallery is indexed by body part and includes images of medical conditions and procedures.

Historic images

The MedPix database is provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University. Radiology images predominate, but pathology, ophthalmology, dermatology, and endoscopy images are also included.

Search images

A discipline specific, open access repository of digital materials (images, video, lectures, articles and animations), to be used for educational and research purposes by health care professionals, educators, patients, and students.

Recognizing eye disease: a visual review

John Moran Eye Center, Utah

Consumer health Library Guide

Health information from the National Library of Medicine. Easy access to Medline and Health topics, medical dictionaries, directories and publications.

Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. - Also Includes 10 video Objective Structured Clinical Examinations, or OSCEs.

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials.

Selects from the biomedical literature articles that report original studies and systematic reviews that warrant attention by physicians attempting to keep pace with important advances in internal medicine. These articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts.

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As one of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services,. AHRQ supports health services research that will improve the quality of health care and promote evidence-based decisionmaking.

Select One Network, Select Practice Guidelines

Select under Doctors: Clinical Care and Practice Advancement

EBM search (UK)

The goal of this website is to help develop, disseminate, and evaluate resources that can be used to practise and teach EBM for undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education for health care professionals from a variety of clinical disciplines. This site also serves as a support for the book entitled, Evidence-based Medicine: How to practice and teach EBM by David L. Sackett, Sharon E. Straus, W. Scott Richardson, William Rosenberg, and R. Brian Haynes.

"Our broad aim is to develop, teach and promote evidence-based health care and provide support and resources to doctors and health care professionals to help maintain the highest standards of medicine."

The Cochrane Eyes and Vision Group (CEVG) is an international network of individuals working to prepare, maintain and promote access to systematic reviews of interventions to treat or prevent eye diseases or visual impairment.

Includes systematic reviews, clinical trials

Contains non–Cochrane systematic reviews that have been critically assessed for quality by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at University of York in the UK. Searched automatically through Cochrane search interface in EBSCO.

"This is a collection of tools for identifying, assessing and applying relevant evidence for better health care decision-making. The appraisal tools are adapted from the Users' Guides series prepared by the Evidence Based Medicine Working Group and originally published in JAMA"

From NLM includes evidence-based reviews from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Available in several languages

Public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Online continuing education site features cases for evidence-based decision making

Specialized PubMed searches for clinicians

PubMed Health is based on systematic reviews of clinical trials. These clinical effectiveness reviews can show what treatments and prevention methods have been proven to work—and what remains unknown.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.

SUMSearch only queries Internet sites that contain evidence written by qualified professionals. The majority of the links provided by SUMSearch come from three Internet sites - the National Library of Medicine (NLM), DARE, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC).

The TRIP Database is a clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence. The TRIP Database started in 1997 as a result of the work of the founders (Jon Brassey and Dr Chris Price) in answering clinical questions.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Select One Network, Select Practice Guidelines

Select under Doctors: Clinical Care and Practice Advancement

Available in several languages

Information available for 19,351 drugs.

Information from the Food and Drug Administration