Need help writing a paper?
Meet with a writing coach in the HPD Library or online
Make an appointment at the
Check us out!
Business Aspects of Optometry, 3rd ed. by 
Clinical anatomy and physiology of the visual system by 
Evidence-based Ophthalmology by
This major new text discusses the application of evidence based principles in opthalmic practice. The clinical section goes on to provide an overview of the evidence for optimum management in the key areas. Drawing on the expertise of ophthalmologists working in evidence based medicine worldwide, this is book represents an important contribution to the literature. The free access website www evidbasedophth.com will provide updates of systematic reviews and important trials to keep the book right up to date.
KMK part 2 diagnosis and treatment board review guide by 
Manual of Ocular Diagnosis and Therapy by
Thoroughly updated for its Sixth Edition, this manual is a highly practical guide to the diagnosis and management of eye disorders and injuries. Experts from Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary present authoritative, state-of-the-art recommendations in a rapid-access outline format. Appendices include up-to-date ophthalmic drug and systemic antimicrobial formularies with dosages. All chapters have been updated to include the latest information on new disease entities, diagnostic techniques, drugs, and treatments, including LASIK and LASEK surgery, cataract extractions, intraocular lenses, use of botulinum for blepharospasm, and medical treatment of glaucoma. Thirty new full-color images have been added.
Ophthalmology by
Get the quick answers you need on every aspect of clinical ophthalmology and apply them in your day-to-day practice. The latest edition of "Ophthalmology" by Drs. Yanoff and Duker presents practical, expert, concise guidance on nearly every ophthalmic condition and procedure, equipping you to efficiently overcome whatever clinical challenges you may face.Apply the latest advances in the diagnosis and treatment of ocular disease, including new drug therapies for retinal disorders; today s expanded uses of optical coherence tomography (OCT) and high-resolution imaging modalities; new corneal, cataract and refractive surgical approaches; and new developments in molecular biology and genetics, ocular surface disease, glaucoma testing, neuro-ophthalmology, uveitis, ocular tumors, and much more. Visualize how to proceedby viewing more than 2200 illustrations (1,900 in full color) depicting the complete range of clinical disorders, imaging methods, and surgical techniques. Hone and expand your surgical skillsby watching 40 brand-new videosdemonstrating key techniques in cornea, cataract, refractive, retina and glaucoma surgery. Spend less time searching thanks to a user-friendly visual format designed for quick, "easy-in easy-out" reference and an instant understanding on any topic. "
The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology by
"The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology" is the must-have medical reference book for the ever-changing field of ophthalmology. Thoroughly updated to include the latest advances in the field, the fourth edition of this renowned manual features high-quality color images and an intuitive design for easy comprehension and reference. Ideal for ophthalmic practitioners and allied health professionals alike, this indispensable resource is your comprehensive guide for the speedy diagnosis and treatment of the most common eye disorders.Consult this title on your favorite e-reader, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Accurately diagnose problems through the support of full-color photographs and real case studies. Rapidly locate key information with a highly templated format that includes chapters organized anatomically, not by ophthalmic subspecialty, in addition to key boxes and highlighted emergency management boxes.Apply the latest knowledge and techniques in the diagnosis and treatment of ocular disease, including anti-VEGF therapy for retina disorders; optical coherence tomography and high-resolution imaging modalities; new corneal and refractive surgical approaches; advances in uveitis, glaucoma, neuro-ophthalmology; and more.Stay abreast of the most recent spectral domain OCT with numerous scans included throughout the book.Quickly address critical situations with highlighted emergency management boxes, as well as bonus appendices that provide a wealth of supplemental information helpful for the non-specialist, including guidance on the basics in examination methods, differential diagnosis, common medications, measurements and more.Identify subtleties and nuances by examining over 800 full-color illustrations depicting a complete range of clinical disorders, imaging and testing methods, and surgical techniques, as well as brand-new videos of eye movement examination.Access the videos at Expert Consult. "
The Wills Eye Manual by
Completely revised, this 6th edition of The Wills Eye Manual: Office And Emergency Room Diagnosis And Treatment Of Eye Disease is the perfect guide for all clinicians who treat eye disorders. Written in a concise outline format, this easy-to-read, pocket-sized reference is perfect for diagnosis and management of hundreds of ocular conditions. From symptom to treatment it covers every ocular disorder likely to be encountered in an office, emergency room, or hospital setting. Yet even though it's small enough to fit in a pocket, this book provides the most accurate and current information on over 200 ophthalmic conditions. It even includes the results of some of the most recent major clinical trials -- including those related to the care of patients with macular degeneration and retinal vein occlusion. NEW TO THE SIXTH EDITION: · Chapters thoroughly updated and streamlined to make room for new and expanded topics · Recent major clinical trials data included on care of patients with macular degeneration and retinal vein occlusion · Updates in the management of orbital fractures, eyelid lacerations, strabismus, amblyopia, and ocular malignancies · New high definition photographs of external, anterior segment, and posterior segment disease processes · Imaging modalities updated, especially optical coherence tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, computed tomography, and ultrasound biomicroscopy
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations, 5e by
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations is the only book in print that provides a single compilation of all currently available stability information on drugs in compounded oral, enteral, topical, ophthalmic, and other specialized preparations. Based on data published over the past 50 years, the reference summarizes specific formulations and stability studies. The framework of this book will help readers: determine whether formulated compounds will be stable for the anticipated duration of use; properly store and repackage compounded formulations; formulate in accordance with documented standards; and counsel patients on the use and storage of compounded medications. Key Features: Completely updated monographs on 510 products - an increase of 77 over the 4th edition - are arranged alphabetically by nonproprietary name. Each monograph is organized into three easy-to-use categories: Properties, General Stability Considerations, and Stability Reports of Compounded Preparations. Additional categories, Compatibility with Other Drug Products and Compatibility with Common Beverages and Foods, are included where information is available.1,714 references - 481 new to the 5th edition - are from the worldwide literature spanning the past 50 years. Two appendices, Beyond-Use Dating for Nonsterile Compounded Preparations and Beyond-Use Dating for Sterile Compounded Preparations, provide a summary of USP benchmarks for assigning beyond-use periods in the absence of relevant research. Index of nonproprietary and brand names is provided.
Vaughan and Asbury's General Ophthalmology by
Ophthalmology's cornerstone text enhanced by a vibrant new full-color presentation For nearly six decades, Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology has offered authoritative, state-of-the-art coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of all major ophthalmic diseases, as well as neurological and systemic diseases causing visual disturbances. It is recognized world wide as essential reading for medical students, ophthalmology residents, practicing ophthalmologists, nurses, optometrists, clinicians in other fields of medicine and surgery, as well as those in health-related professions. The Nineteenth Edition builds on this tradition of excellence by offering a new full-color presentation, an increased number of color photos, and cutting-edge content additions and updates - to deliver all-inclusive coverage that encompasses pathophysiology, basic science, and the latest clinical perspectives. The most authoritative review of the subject: * 25 chapters that span the full breadth of ophthalmic disease * Contributions from more than thirty international experts * A comprehensive chapter on the ophthalmologic examination * An entire chapter devoted to pediatric interests * Extensive updates to chapters on the cornea, retina, orbit, neuro-ophthalmology, immunologic diseases of the eye, causes and prevention of vision loss, and lasers in ophthalmology If you are in need of a concise, up-to-date, and well-written overview of the basics of ophthalmology, Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology, Nineteenth Edition belongs on your desk.
Read the Current Issue:
National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO)
Optometry examination print review materials available at HPD Library
KMK Part II: Diagnosis & Treatment Board Review Guide available in reserve books- ask at Front Desk: WW 18.2 C514k 2010
Please comment if you would like additonal organizations to be listed.
Welcome from the Health Professions Division Library at Nova Southeastern University! The HPD Library provides you full access to all of the print and online materials of the HPD Library.
Resources include electronic full-text journals and clinical texts and access to our print collection as well as databases such as MEDLINE, CINAHL, PsycInfo, Up to Date, Clinical Key and the Cochrane EBM databases.
Services include interlibrary loan for articles outside of HPD Library journal subscriptions and liaison librarian services including library instruction, orientation for new residents and research assistance.
Your Shark ID card serves as your library card. See the Director of Circulation for help regarding your library account at hpdcirc@nova.edu or (954) 262-3106. You will need your NSU ID.
Access Problems:
If you're having trouble accessing any of the Library's online resources, please
First, ask yourself if you are behind a firewall at your location. Many health care institutions have firewalls that prevent access to our resources. If you are behind a firewall you need to access our resources from another place, such as home or maybe Starbucks.
Second, your browser needs to enable cookies in order to access our databases.
To enable cookies in Internet Explorer:
To enable cookies in Mozilla Firefox:
HPD Library Research Initiative: Here to help you!
