NSU Oceanographic Campus Library Resources for NSU Faculty
Tools for Faculty Research
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - ProQuest
Bibliographic database provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Citations for dissertations beginning in 1861, abstracts for dissertations published from 1980 forward, and full-text from 1997 forward. To find NSU dissertations/theses, limit your search by selecting the "School name/code" field. Click on "Browse schools" to locate the school name and click on "Add to Search." Or enter the school name in square brackets. For example: [Nova Southeastern University]. Click here to learn more about locating dissertations.
Sage Research Methods Online - Sage Publications
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRMO contains books, journals and videos. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up their research. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and more.
Ulrichsweb (formerly Ulrich's Periodicals Directory) - ProQuest
Details on periodical titles including journals, magazines, newspapers, and other types of serial publications on all subjects. Learn how to use Ulrichsweb to determine if an article is peer reviewed: Tutorial
Web of Science - Thomson (Web of Knowledge)
Provides abstracts, cited references, times cited, and links to full text when available for articles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities (1975 to present). Tools allow citation tracking, exporting of citations, saved searches, and other personalization. WOS includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can also be searched separately.
Database Access Issue » Report database access errors.
Grant Writing Lab
The Office of Research and Technology Transfer has a Grant Writing Laboratory in the Alvin Sherman Library in Room 2048. The Grant Writing Laboratory is open to NSU faculty and staff. To visit the Grant Lab, or make an appointment for a consultation, please contact the NSU Grant Writing Manager, Melanie Bauer, at mbauer1@nova.edu or (954) 262-4658.
All aspects of proposal development will be addressed in the new Grant Writing Laboratory, from brainstorming, grant/project planning, and funding research, to proposal writing. The services offered in the Grant Writing Laboratory are closely coordinated with existing services offered by the Office of Grants & Contracts, and intended to provide faculty with additional support in their grant seeking efforts.
Get a Persistent Digital Identifier for your Published Works
Connecting Research and Researchers
DISTINGUISH YOURSELF IN
THREE EASY STEPS
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized. Find out more.
INFOEnhance your ORCID record with your professional information and link to your other identifiers (such as Scopus or ResearcherID or LinkedIn).
ORCID IDInclude your ORCID identifier on your Webpage, when you submit publications, apply for grants, and in any research workflow to ensure you get credit for your work.
ResearcherID is your place to manage and share your professional information. Solve author identity issues while simultaneously adding dynamic citation metrics and collaboration networks to your personal profile. For more info, please refer to the ResearcherID Fact Sheet. With ResearcherID, you can:
- Create a profile
- Associate your ORCID
- Build your publication list
Generate citation metrics from Web of Science
ResearcherID provides the global research community with an invaluable index to author information. By assigning a unique identifier to each author who participates, ResearcherID standardizes and clarifies author names and citations and makes your information search more straightforward and accessible. Whether you are seeking citations for research, or leads to collaborators, thought leaders, speakers, editors, or reviewers, the unique ResearcherID will provide you with a clear avenue to the data you need.
Because ResearcherID is fully integrated with Web of Science™, you can use your profile to make sure you are getting properly credited for your work in Web of Science and use ResearcherID to find an author’s body of work.
