Razor's Edge Global Scholars Program Course Guides
Course Syllabus
Readings
-
Leadership Agility
by
Leadership is about influencing others to move in a certain direction and there are many ways of achieving this influence. Each of these leadership styles has its inherent qualities and pitfalls, and will be more suited to specific people and different circumstances. The more leaders understand their preferred leadership styles and are able to flexibly switch to the most suitable style given the situation, the more effective they will be. This book maps out ten sets of opposite leadership styles, giving readers the possibility to understand the strengths and weaknesses of both sides, and to identify their own current preference. The ten leadership style dimensions cover the full range of leadership roles, from the leader as coach (interpersonal leadership), to the leader as organizer (organizational leadership), as strategist (strategic leadership), as sense-maker (leadership and mission) and as role model (leadership and self). Readers are invited to draw up their own leadership development plans, which is supported by an interactive App. Readers are also challenged to reflect on how they would approach a number of cases, after which they can go to an interactive web-forum to read how others have responded and engage in a discussion with them. Leadership Agility is a useful tool for practitioners in the corporate world as well as business students and emerging leaders.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781138065109Publication Date: 2017-09-27
-
1-800-FLOWERS SWOT AnalysisReview this company's SWOT analysis, found in the library database Business Source Ultimate.
Assignment #1
Foundations of Leadership - Matrix:
Design a comparative matrix for four leadership theories. Use the following criteria in your table: Core Principles, Key Proponents, Leadership Focus, Role of Followers, Strengths, Weaknesses, Real World Example.
Use the following databases to search for articles related to leadership theories. Use "leadership theory" or "theory" as search terms along with other keywords.
-
Business Source Ultimate DatabaseSearch this database for scholarly journal articles related to business and leadership.
-
APA PsycArticlesUse this database to search leadership styles, behavior, motivation, other leadership or psychological concepts.
Assignment #2
Personal Leadership Style:
After taking the leadership self-assessment, write a 1–2-page paper, in APA format, showcasing your style and strengths as a leader. Provide examples of your behaviors that specifically document your strengths and abilities.
Use the following databases and APA style resources to complete this assignment:
Assignment #3
Team Selection for Community Impact Project (CIP)
In 500 words or less, provide an overview of your team selection for your CIP. Give examples from your leadership assessments that give insights as to why this team will work well together. Also, as you look toward the future, try and identify areas/pitfalls for your team, based on your leadership style inventory.
Assignment #4
Identification of a Social Problem (The Basis for your CIP):
Write a 5–7-page paper using APA Style. Identify & describe a social problem that will become the driving force behind your CIP. Discuss current efforts to solve the issue, taking into account national, international and/or global solution strategies. Identify a global leader who is currently working on the issue. Compare & contrast your leadership style to theirs. Support your 5–7-page paper with a minimum of 5 citations.
Use databases under the subject heading of Business or Psychology/ behavioral sciences to search for social issues, problem solving strategies, leadership styles, and organizational psychology. Search databases geared toward a specific field of study if your topic touches that area, for example, use a database under the subject heading Environmental Sciences if your social issue impacts the environment.
*You may find it useful to search more than one database to get a full picture of your topic, or if you are not finding useful articles in one database.
Refer to the following references on APA style formatting:
Assignment #5
Literature Review on Solution Strategies for your CIP:
Conduct a literature review on your team's project. Discuss (with citations) the initial needs assessment, your leadership role(s) in the project, and determine your target populations. This is a group paper and should be a maximum of 5 pages.
See recommended resources for Assignment #4.
Assignment #6
Changes in Leadership Style as a Function of this Course:
In 300 words, describe one way your understanding of leadership changed over the first half of the semester. Provide an example of how you've already applied it outside of class or how you intend to use this understanding of yourself outside of class.
Assignment #7
CIP Mission and Goals:
Create a mission statement for your CIP. Provide 2-3 short term goals, 2-3 long term goals, and your final impact. This document should be no more than 1-2 pages.
Real-world mission statements and goals can be found by searching the following databases:
Optional reading to learn more about Mission and Goals statements:
-
Make Your Mission Statement Work
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 0585445702Publication Date: 2003-01-01 -
-
More Than a Mission Statement
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781642257748Publication Date: 2023-09-26
Assignment #8
Marketing Plan with Personnel and Job Descriptions
In a 1–2-page paper, provide your draft marketing plan for your CIP and include personnel, their roles, and very brief job descriptions.
For real-world marketing plan examples, search business databases linked above, using the keywords "marketing plan" in addition to other search terms like company name or industry.
Optional reading to learn more about Marketing Plans:
-
Marketing Plan Templates for Enhancing Profits
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781631572746Publication Date: 2015-10-30 -
How to Write a Marketing Plan
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780749475710Publication Date: 2016-09-03
Assignment #9
Visual Depiction of Timeline with Formative/Summative Assessments Generated:
Page 6 of 11 Using a table or other graphic, provide a 2–3-year timeline for your CIP and include evidence of your formative and summative assessments of the Project. How will you know when/if you've achieved success?
Data Visualization for Business - Library Guides at Nova Southeastern University
Assignment #10
Cultural and Community Values' Impact
Prepare a brief, maximum one page paper of how the community's cultural values might impact your CIP Assignment
Assignment #11
Presentation of CIP with Leadership Roles Defined
Prepare and deliver a group presentation of your plans for your CIP. Each team's presentation should be no more than 10 minutes, and it should utilize technology to deliver an effective message. During the presentation, each of the team member's leadership qualities and skills should be emphasized.
Presentations design and delivery - Library Guides at Nova Southeastern University
Optional reading to help you prepare for a presentation:
-
10 Steps to Successful Presentations
by
Overcome Your Fear of Presenting Are you afraid of public speaking? Do you feel anxious before presenting? Are you worried about making mistakes in front of others and being judged? If so, you are not alone-public speaking and presenting are among the things people fear the most. Conquer your phobia of public speaking with 10 Steps to Successful Presentations. In this second edition, the Association for Talent Development provides an updated 10-step guide to delivering first-rate presentations whether you have several months or just one day to prepare. Discover how to develop a dynamic, engaging presentation and deliver it flawlessly. Learn strategies to reduce stress and become a think-on-your-feet presenter. Master your openings and closings (including the question-and-answer session) and captivate your audience from start to finish. Updated tools offer guidance and reassurance along the way. New content covers: leading virtual presentations telling interesting stories and relatable examples using mindfulness to recover in the moment asking questions to involve the audience.
ISBN: 9781950496334Publication Date: 2020-01-30 -
Academic & scientific poster presentation A modern comprehensive guide
by
This book offers the first comprehensive guide to poster presentation at academic, scientific and professional conferences. Each chapter explores different factors that impact upon how posters function, and how they fit within today's conference practices, as well as provides guidance on how to address compilation and presentation issues with the poster medium. Drawing from fields of education, psychology, advertising and other areas, the book offers examples of how theories may be applied to practice in terms of both traditional paper and electronic poster formats. Importantly, the book offers a critical examination of how academic and scientific posters are able to achieve their potential for knowledge dissemination, networking and knowledge transfer.
The many new and challenging findings provide an evidence-based approach to help both novice and experienced presenters compile effective poster presentations, and to see how poster presentations can best be used to share knowledge, facilitate networking, and promote dialogue. Additionally, educators, employers, and conference organizers may use this book to re-evaluate how conferences meet the needs of today's globally connected peer groups, and the benefit they provide at individual and group levels.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9783319612805Publication Date: 2017 -
Public Speaking
by
Public Speaking: Prepare, Present, Participate's provides a "reader-friendly" style and length that is easy to comprehend. Special Themes within the book include an emphasis on media literacy, critical thinking and additional skills on becoming an effective communicator. This new entry into the public speaking market covers traditional topics of public speaking that include: audience analysis, research, organizing and outlining, speech presentation, and types of speeches. Highlights within the book include using analytical skills to become effective producers and consumers of information and communication competence, in addition to using knowledge, skill, motivation, and judgment abilities to increase effective communication skils that demonstrate ethical communication and consideration for multiple perspectives on a controversial issues. This new book is based on a comprehensive, award-winning introductory public speaking course that was developed by the authors at Illinois State University for the 2008 NCA Program of Excellence.
ISBN: 9780131945586Publication Date: 2009-07-31
