MSMS 5060 Scientific Communication: Getting Started: Scientific Writing & Communication
Course guide for the OC Course in Scientific Communication (MSMS 5060)
Gap Fill
New Google Scholar
Search NSU Databases for Articles & More
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Geek Week 2016 - Grant Writing Presentation
- Microgrant Writing Presentation by Dr. Nicole FogartyNSU Oceanographic Campus Geek Week grant writing presentation
Even more books & ebooks!
Click below to see all books available through NSU Libraries on these subject areas:
Scientific Writing & Communication
Writing in the Biological Sciences by
Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Guide to Scientific Communication serves as a comprehensive "one-stop" reference guide to scientific writing and communication for budding professionals in the life sciences and related fields. The book is designed to function both as a free-standing textbook for a course on writing in the sciences and as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses with writing-intensive components.It covers all the basics of scientific communication that students need to know and master for successful scientific careers. The book lays the foundation for professional writing by starting with basic scientific writing principles and then by applying these principles to lab reports, summaries, and critiques and eventually also to full-fledged scientific research articles, review articles, and grant proposals. Practical advice for organizing academic presentations and posters as well as for putting together job applications is also included.NEW TO THIS EDITIONEnhanced e-book with new end of chapter interactive exercisesInstructor video guide offers curated contentUpdated chapter on oral presentations which includes new information on virtual presentationsNew information on Google docs, sheets, and slides to inform about file sharing and options to work on the same document simultaneouslyNew sections on media literacy and scientific versus science writingUpdated section on media literacy to guide students and others in evaluating and verifying good versus bad sourcesThis title is available as an eBook. Please contact your Learning Resource Consultant for more information.
Call Number: QH304 .H64 2022ISBN: 9780197543580Publication Date: 2021-04-13
MasterClass in Science Education by
Worried about teaching natural selection, submicroscopic particle models or circuits? Keith S. Taber explores a range of issues faced in secondary science teaching and discusses strategies for teaching the nature of scientific knowledge, making practical work effective and challenging gifted young scientists. MasterClass in Science Education shows how to become a master science teacher by developing and adopting the habits and mind-set of a teacher-as-scientist. The author introduces the three pillars of this approach: subject knowledge, pedagogic knowledge, and classroom research. The body of subject knowledge in the sciences is both vast and constantly evolving as it is challenged, updated and developed, and this text supports you to understand the dynamic nature of knowledge and the implications this has for your teaching. Taber shows how to use a knowledge-in-action approach, enacting knowledge in the complex and dynamic classroom environment. He supports you to critically examine classroom experiences, drawing on a wide-range of research-informed perspectives that offer insights into facilitating effective student learning. He also guides you to understand how to use recommendations from published research studies as components of a toolkit to improve your teaching and learning.
Call Number: Q181 .T33 2019ISBN: 9781474289429Publication Date: 2018-12-13
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018-04-16
Writing in the Environmental Sciences by
As an environmental scientist, you are used to writing scientific articles, but how confident do you feel writing policy or regulatory documents? Do you feel you have the necessary writing skills to influence policy and inform the public? This refreshingly clear guide provides environmental scientists and conservation professionals with an effective writing process that can be applied in a range of financial, political, or organizational contexts. Baker outlines a replicable seven-step writing formula based on practical experience that acknowledges the complexities inherent in the worlds of endangered species, habitat conservation, and recovery planning. Using the formula, scientists will be able to communicate confidently and successfully with a multitude of audiences. Baker's guide is written for scientists, not professional writers. In it, best practices abound. Practical examples, strategies, and diagrams guide the reader at every step, and selected resources are provided for further reference.
Call Number: GE70 .B35 2017ISBN: 9781107193147Publication Date: 2017-07-20
Scientific Writing and Communication by
Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations, Third Edition, covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and master in order to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with adiscussion of the basic principles of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes, as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters.
Call Number: Q223 .H63 2017ISBN: 9780190278540Publication Date: 2016-11-17
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by
Now thoroughly updated and expanded, this new edition of a classic guide offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career.Writing and publishing journal articles are essential aspects of a successful scientific career. Unfortunately, many scientists find the process of communicating about their work intimidating and confusing. Now in its eighth edition, How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper teaches how to apply clear focus, good organization, and simple, straightforward language to write papers as well as communicate effectively in many other scientifically related applications.By providing practical, readable, and sometimes humorous guidance, this book enables researchers to gain the knowledge, skills, and confidence to succeed in communicating about their work. The authors not only guide readers in the craft of scientific writing--broken down into the separate tasks of writing the respective sections of a scientific paper and then publishing the paper--but also address important related psychological, ethical, logistical, and cultural considerations in communicating about science. Chapter topics include composing (and requesting) recommendation letters, writing grant proposals, providing peer review, editing one's own work, preparing oral presentations and poster presentations, and working with the popular media. This is an essential resource for researchers--both native and non-native users of English--with limited experience writing scientific papers, such as graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and early-career faculty members.
Call Number: WZ 345 D274h 2016ISBN: 9781440842627Publication Date: 2016-03-28
TED talks The official TED guide to public speaking by
"For anyone who has ever been inspired by a TED talk, this is an insider's guide to creating talks that are unforgettable. Since taking over TED in the early 2000s, Chris Anderson has shown how carefu lly crafted short talks can be the key to unlocking empathy, stirring excitement, spreading knowledge, and promoting a shared dream. Done right, a talk can electrify a room and transform an audience's worldview. Done right, a talk is more powerful than anything in written form. This book explains how the miracle of powerful public speaking is achieved, and equips you to give it your best shot. There is no set formula; no two talks should be the same. The goal is for you to give the talk that only you can give. But don't be intimidated. You may find it more natural than you think. Chris Anderson has worked behind the scenes with all the TED speakers who have inspired us the most, and here he shares insights from such favorites as Sir Ken Robinson, Amy Cuddy, Bill Gates, Elizabeth Gilbert, Salman Khan, Dan Gilbert, Mary Roach, Matt Ridley, and dozens more-- everything from how to craft your talk's content to how you can be most effective on stage. This is the 21st-century's new manual for truly effective communication and it is a must-read for anyone who is ready to create impact with their ideas"--Amazon.com.
Call Number: PN4129.15 .A53 2016ISBN: 9781472228055Publication Date: 2016
A Short Guide to Writing about Biology by Call Number: QH304 .P43 2016ISBN: 9780321984258Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Enjoy Writing Your Science Thesis or Dissertation! by Call Number: T11 .H582 2014ISBN: 9781783264209Publication Date: 2014-06-25
Study and Communication Skills for the Biosciences by
Study and Communication Skills for the Biosciences is tailored specifically to the needs of bioscience students, both at university, and beyond. Written in an engaging and supportive manner, with examples throughout that demonstrate the relevance of topics covered to bioscience degreeprogrammes, the book will assist you with the transition from school to university, with your studies at university, and with your progression to employment after leaving university. With a broad range of study and communication skills included, it is essential reading for any bioscience student who wants to get the most out of their degree. Online Resource Centre For registered adopters of the book:DT Figures and tables of data from the book, ready to download. For students:DT Examples of good and bad practice when using PowerPoint presentations and when producing posters
Call Number: QH315 .J64 2014ISBN: 9780199663293Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Writing Science in Plain English by
Scientific writing is often dry, wordy, and difficult to understand. But, as Anne E. Greene shows in Writing Science in Plain English,writers from all scientific disciplines can learn to produce clear, concise prose by mastering just a few simple principles. nbsp; This short, focused guide presents a dozen such principles based on what readers need in order to understand complex information, including concrete subjects, strong verbs, consistent terms, and organized paragraphs. The author, a biologist and an experienced teacher of scientific writing, illustrates each principle with real-life examples of both good and bad writing and shows how to revise bad writing to make it clearer and more concise.nbsp;She ends each chapter with practice exercises so that readers can come away with new writing skills after just one sitting. nbsp; Writing Science in Plain English can help writers at all levels of their academic and professional careers#151;undergraduate students working on research reports, established scientists writing articles and grant proposals, or agency employees working to follow the Plain Writing Act. This essential resource is the perfect companion for all who seek to write science effectively.
Call Number: T11 .G6814 2013ISBN: 9780226026374Publication Date: 2013-05-24
Scientific communication for natural resource professionals by
Published by the American Fisheries Society
Call Number: Q223 .S25 2012ISBN: 1934874280Publication Date: 2012
The Routledge Handbook of Scientific Communication by
Given current science-related crises facing the world such as climate change, the targeting and manipulation of DNA, GMO foods, and vaccine denial, the way in which we communicate science matters is vital for current and future generations of scientists and publics. The Routledge Handbook of Scientific Communication scrutinizes what we value, prioritize, and grapple with in science as highlighted by the rhetorical choices of scientists, students, educators, science gatekeepers, and lay commentators. Drawing on contributions from leading thinkers in the field, this volume explores some of the most pressing questions in this growing field of study, including: How do issues such as ethics, gender, race, shifts in the publishing landscape, and English as the lingua franca of science influence scientific communication practices? How have scientific genres evolved and adapted to current research and societal needs?　 How have scientific visuals developed in response to technological advances and communication needs?　 How is scientific communication taught to a variety of audiences?　 Offering a critical look at the complex relationships that characterize current scientific communication practices in academia, industry, government, and elsewhere, this Handbook will be essential reading for students, scholars, and professionals involved in the study, practice, and teaching of scientific, medical, and technical communication. 　
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781000528091Publication Date: 2021-12-20
The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2021 by
New York Times best-selling author and renowned science journalist Ed Yong compiles the best science and nature writing published in 2020.
“The stories I have chosen reflect where I feel the field of science and nature writing has landed, and where it could go,” Ed Yong writes in his introduction. “They are often full of tragedy, sometimes laced with wonder, but always deeply aware that science does not exist in a social vacuum. They are beautiful, whether in their clarity of ideas, the elegance of their prose, or often both.” The essays in this year’s Best American Science and Nature Writing brought clarity to the complexity and bewilderment of 2020 and delivered us necessary information during a global pandemic. From an in-depth look at the moment of the virus’s outbreak, to a harrowing personal account of lingering Covid symptoms, to a thoughtful analysis on how the pandemic will impact the environment, these essays, as Yong says, “synthesize, evaluate, dig, unveil, and challenge,” imbuing a pivotal moment in history with lucidity and elegance.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780358400066Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers: A Primer for the Non-English Speaker by
Gábor Lövei's scientific communication course for students and scientists explores the intricacies involved in publishing primary scientific papers, and has been taught in more than twenty countries. Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers is the distillation of Lövei's lecture notes and experience gathered over two decades; it is the course book many have been waiting for.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781800640917Publication Date: 2021
Scientific Methods Used in Research and Writing by
Research publications, projects, and teaching learning theories have become very important to universities, institutions, organizations, and industries. Many submissions are rejected due to author's lack of writing and research skills. This new book provides a quick, basic starting point to learning the needed skills. The book discusses the statistical methods involved, covers the development of academic writing skills for a higher impact, teaches learning theories, and uses a structured and holistic approach for educational research proposal development. This book will be used by research scholars, undergraduates, postgraduates, and anyone interested in engineering and learning the basic academic writing skills and scientific methods needed.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781000299656Publication Date: 2020-12-01
Designing Science Presentations by
Designing Science Presentations: A Visual Guide to Figures, Papers, Slides, Posters, and More, Second Edition, guides scientists of any discipline in the design of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the design, delivery and evaluation of scientific communication, yet these skills are essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap, providing visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters and websites. The book provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations and demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques. Features clear headings for each section, indicating its message with graphic illustrations Provides clear and concise explanations of design principles traditionally taught in design or visualization courses Includes examples of high-quality figures, page layouts, slides, posters and webpages to aid readers in creating their own presentations Includes numerous "before and after" examples to illustrate the contrast between poor and outstanding presentations
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128153789Publication Date: 2020-11-28
Managing Your Academic Research Project by
This book is an essential resource for academics managing a large and complex research project. It provides important practical insights into the processes that inform such research projects and delivers insights into the delicate balance between industry, stakeholder and academic needs. It gives practical advice about developing relationships with diverse partners and colleagues and managing the expectations of the various parties involved and on avoiding pitfalls. This book uses examples from Australian research projects, but it contains insights relevant to researchers all around the world.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9811591911Publication Date: 2020-10-02
How We Teach Science by
A former Wisconsin high school science teacher makes the case that how and why we teach science matters, especially now that its legitimacy is under attack. Why teach science? The answer to that question will determine how it is taught. Yet despite the enduring belief in this country that science should be taught, there has been no enduring consensus about how or why. This is especially true when it comes to teaching scientific process. Nearly all of the basic knowledge we have about the world is rock solid. The science we teach in high schools in particular--laws of motion, the structure of the atom, cell division, DNA replication, the universal speed limit of light--is accepted as the way nature works. Everyone also agrees that students and the public more generally should understand the methods used to gain this knowledge. But what exactly is the scientific method? Ever since the late 1800s, scientists and science educators have grappled with that question. Through the years, they've advanced an assortment of strategies, ranging from "the laboratory method" to the "five-step method" to "science as inquiry" to no method at all. How We Teach Science reveals that each strategy was influenced by the intellectual, cultural, and political circumstances of the time. In some eras, learning about experimentation and scientific inquiry was seen to contribute to an individual's intellectual and moral improvement, while in others it was viewed as a way to minimize public interference in institutional science. John Rudolph shows that how we think about and teach science will either sustain or thwart future innovation, and ultimately determine how science is perceived and received by the public.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780674919341Publication Date: 2019-06-01
Championing Science by
Championing Science shows scientists how to persuasively communicate complex scientific ideas to decision makers in government, industry, and education. This comprehensive guide provides real-world strategies to help scientists develop the essential communication, influence, and relationship-building skills needed to motivate nonexperts to understand and support their science. Instruction, interviews, and examples demonstrate how inspiring decision makers to act requires scientists to extract the essence of their work, craft clear messages, simplify visuals, bridge paradigm gaps, and tell compelling narratives. The authors bring these principles to life in the accounts of science champions such as Robert Millikan, Vannevar Bush, scientists at Caltech and MIT, and others. With Championing Science, scientists will learn how to use these vital skills to make an impact.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780520970182Publication Date: 2019-01-22
How to Be a Better Scientist by
Understanding the fundamentals of conducting good science, that will have an impact, is the goal of every aspiring scientist. Providing a wealth of tips, How to be a Better Scientistis the book to read if you want to succeed in this competitive field. Helping readers gain an insight into what good science means and how to conduct it, this book is ideal to read cover-to-cover or dip into. It includes easily accessible guidance on topics such as: * What characteristics should a scientist have? * Understanding the hypothesis * Integrity in science * Lack of confidence and the embarrassment factor * Time management * Coping with rejection * Interacting with the science community With its broad focus, this friendly guide will enthuse, inspire and challenge, and is an essential companion for all aspiring scientists.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781315189079Publication Date: 2018-11-20
The Aesthetics of Scientific Data Representation by
How can cartoon images aid in understanding bacterial biological processes? What prompts physicists to blur their images before showing them to biologists? Considering that the astronomer's data consists solely of invisible, electric impulses, what is the difference between representing outer space as images, graphs, or sound? How does a work of contemporary art differ from a scientific image if we cannot visually distinguish between the two? How do aesthetics, art, and design influence scientific visualization and vice versa? This volume asks critically important questions about scientific data representation and provides significant insights to a field that is interdisciplinary in its very core. The authors investigate scientific data representation through the joint optics of the humanities and natural sciences. The volume particularly appeals to scholars in visual and aesthetic studies, data visualization, scientific illustration, experience culture, information design, and science communication.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781317194149Publication Date: 2017-08-22
Crackle and Fizz by
This is a book for scientists and other experts who need to explain the significance and potential of their work to colleagues, committees, funding bodies or the general public. It details how to harness story-telling principles to make complex or technical content easier to communicate and fulfilling for audiences. Eight narrative ingredients, Audience, Change and Affect, Lure, World, Character, Big Hook, Plot and Structure, are illustrated with examples and exercises to demonstrate how to build a presentation, how to pitch for funds or resources, how to make a persuasive argument, or simply how to explain ideas so they CRACKLE and FIZZ for the Audience.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781783262854Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Writing Science by
As a scientist, you are a professional writer: your career is built on successful proposals and papers. Success isn't defined by getting papers into print, but by getting them into the reader's consciousness. Writing Science is built upon the idea that successful science writing tells a story. It uses that insight to discuss how to write more effectively. Integrating lessons from other genres of writing with those from the author's years of experience as author, reviewer, and editor, the book shows scientists and students how to present their research in a way that is clear and that will maximize reader comprehension.The book takes an integrated approach, using the principles of story structure to discuss every aspect of successful science writing, from the overall structure of a paper or proposal to individual sections, paragraphs, sentences, and words. It begins by building core arguments, analyzing why some stories are engaging and memorable while others are quickly forgotten, and proceeds to the elements of story structure, showing how the structures scientists and researchers use in papers and proposals fit into classical models. The book targets the internal structure of a paper, explaining how to write clear and professional sections, paragraphs, and sentences in a way that is clear and compelling. The ideas within a paper should flow seamlessly, drawing readers along. The final section of the book deals with special challenges, such as how to discuss research limitations and how to write for the public.Writing Science is a much-needed guide to succeeding in modern science. Its insights and strategies will equip science students, scientists, and professionals across a wide range of scientific and technical fields with the tools needed to communicate effectively.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780199909513Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Databases
Other Resources
- SharkWritesWelcome to SharkWrites, the NSU Write from the Start Writing and Communication Center's (WCC) site for online writing resources designed to help you enhance your writing skills.
- NSU Write from the Start Writing and Communication Center (WCC)The NSU Write from the Start Writing and Communication Center (WCC) is an innovative workspace where students, consultants, and faculty come together, in person and online, to talk about writing and communication. Staffed by trained professional and peer writing consultants, the WCC offers individualized writing and communication assistance to all NSU students. Students are welcome to work with us on all types of academic writing and communication projects at any stage of the writing process from brainstorming to editing.
- AAAS Workshops AAAS workshops help to provide scientists and engineers with tools for effectively communicating complex scientific information to journalists, policymakers and the public.
- The Chicago Manual of Style Online Completely searchable and easy to use, The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Now offering the full contents of the 16th and 15th editions, it is the must-have reference for everyone who works with words.
- Communication in Science: Pressures and Predators Science's Special Issue on Communication in Science: Pressures and Predators includes free news and reviews on the lack of scrutiny at open-access journals, the rarity of published negative studies, and publishing sensitive data.
- Duke University Scientific Writing Resource The Scientific Writing Resource is online course material that teaches how to write effectively. The material is not about correctness (grammar, punctuation, etc), but about communicating what you intend to the reader. It can be used either in a science class or by individuals. It is intended for science students at the graduate level.
- English Communication for Scientists English Communication for Scientists is a brief guide on how to communicate more effectively in English, no matter how much previous experience you have. Although it was developed with non-native speakers of English in mind, it should prove useful for native speakers, too. Organized as six self-contained units, it will help you understand basic communication strategies and address various audiences (Unit 1); design and draft not only scientific papers (Unit 2) but also e-mail, résumés, and short reports (Unit 3); structure, support, and deliver oral presentations (Unit 4); create and present posters, chair sessions, and participate in panels (Unit 5); and prepare, run, and evaluate classroom sessions (Unit 6). Created by seasoned communicators, English Communication for Scientists provides no-nonsense, directly applicable guidelines, illustrated with examples of written documents, oral presentations, and more. Improving your scientific communication is only a click away: start today!
- Guide: Writing the Scientific Paper These guides are the result of a joint effort of the Writing@CSU project and the Colorado State University Writing Center.
- Science Communication: A Practical Guide from MIT This class develops the abilities of students to communicate science effectively in a variety of real-world contexts. It covers strategies for dealing with complex areas like theoretical physics, genomics and neuroscience, and addresses challenges in communicating about topics such as climate change and evolution. Projects focus on speaking and writing, being an expert witness, preparing briefings for policy-makers, writing blogs, and giving live interviews for broadcast, as well as the creation of an interactive exhibit for display in the MIT Museum.
- The Science of Science Communication This colloquium was held in Washington, D.C. May 21-22, 2012. The meeting surveyed the state of the art of empirical social science research in science communication and focused on research in psychology, decision science, mass communication, risk communication, health communication, political science, sociology, and related fields on the communication dynamics surrounding issues in science, engineering, technology, and medicine with five distinct goals: To improve understanding of relations between the scientific community and the public To assess the scientific basis for effective communication about science To strengthen ties among and between communication scientists To promote greater integration of the disciplines and approaches pertaining to effective communication To foster an institutional commitment to evidence-based communication science
- Sciences - The Writing Center @ UNC Nearly every element of style that is accepted and encouraged in general academic writing is also considered good practice in scientific writing. The major difference between science writing and writing in other academic fields is the relative importance placed on certain stylistic elements. This handout details the most critical aspects of scientific writing and provides some strategies for evaluating and improving your scientific prose.
- Scientific Reports - The Writing Center @ UNC This handout provides a general guide to writing reports about scientific research you’ve performed. In addition to describing the conventional rules about the format and content of a lab report, we’ll also attempt to convey why these rules exist, so you’ll get a clearer, more dependable idea of how to approach this writing situation.
- Three Minute Thesis Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is a research communication competition developed by The University of Queensland which challenges research higher degree students to present a compelling oration on their thesis and its significance in just three minutes in language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.
Get a Persistent Digital Identifier for your Published Works
Connecting Research and Researchers
DISTINGUISH YOURSELF IN
THREE EASY STEPS
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized. Find out more.
2ADD YOUR
INFOEnhance your ORCID record with your professional information and link to your other identifiers (such as Scopus or ResearcherID or LinkedIn).
INFOEnhance your ORCID record with your professional information and link to your other identifiers (such as Scopus or ResearcherID or LinkedIn).
3USE YOUR
ORCID IDInclude your ORCID identifier on your Webpage, when you submit publications, apply for grants, and in any research workflow to ensure you get credit for your work.
ORCID IDInclude your ORCID identifier on your Webpage, when you submit publications, apply for grants, and in any research workflow to ensure you get credit for your work.
ResearcherID is your place to manage and share your professional information. Solve author identity issues while simultaneously adding dynamic citation metrics and collaboration networks to your personal profile. For more info, please refer to the ResearcherID Fact Sheet. With ResearcherID, you can:
- Create a profile
- Associate your ORCID
- Build your publication list
Generate citation metrics from Web of Science
ResearcherID provides the global research community with an invaluable index to author information. By assigning a unique identifier to each author who participates, ResearcherID standardizes and clarifies author names and citations and makes your information search more straightforward and accessible. Whether you are seeking citations for research, or leads to collaborators, thought leaders, speakers, editors, or reviewers, the unique ResearcherID will provide you with a clear avenue to the data you need.
Because ResearcherID is fully integrated with Web of Science™, you can use your profile to make sure you are getting properly credited for your work in Web of Science and use ResearcherID to find an author’s body of work.
