Library Guides: Speech Language Pathology Guide: Find the full text article from a citation

Step 1: Search the Full-Text Finder for Our Electronic Journals

Use the Full-Text Finder to look for a specific journal in our electronic resources.

Click on "Full-Text Finder"
Type in the journal title

Results

If the journal is available electronically, one or more resources will be listed.
ALWAYS check date ranges and embargoes (if any) listed next to the resource.
Check your citation and select the resource that contains that year.

Date Ranges:

Full-text availability dates will vary by resource.

If your date is not available in any of the resources, go to Step 2 (Davie students) or Step 3 (Distance students)

Embargoes:

Full text articles are not available during the embargo or "full text delay" period. (blackout dates)

Example: an embargo (or "full text delay" of 7 months means no full text are available for the past 7 months.

Browse for Article

1. Once you have selected a resource, click on the title.

2. The resource will not open directly to your article so browse to the correct year/volume/issue.

3. Once you select the correct year/volume/issue, you will see a list of articles for that specific issue. Browse the list until you find the article.

Every resource looks different, the screenshot below is just one example

Tips:

Look for a list of years or volumes. Click on the correct one for your article.

Look for a link to the Archives, Back Issues, or Back List

Look for a search box and enter the article title.

Step 2: Search the Catalog for Print Journals

I. NovaCat Library Catalog: Distance students please skip to Step 3 (ILL)

Enter the journal name to search for print journals on the library's shelves.
Local students can scan or photocopy the article.
Distance students please skip to Step 3 (ILL).

Everything

Multimedia

eBooks

II. Results:

Browse the search results for the journal title.
Click on the journal title. If it is not listed, go to Step 3 (ILL)
Check the year/volume/issues listed in the journal catalog record.
If the correct year/volume/issue is available for your citation, you can find the journal on the library's shelves to photocopy or scan the article.
If the library does not have the correct year/volume/issue for your citation, go to Step 3 (ILL).

Step 3: Request a Copy of the Article From Interlibrary Loan

Material not available in Nova's print and electronic resources can be requested from Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
This is a free service.
ILL will try to obtain the article from another library system somewhere in the United States.
This service can take several days.

	Go to ILL Click on the Illiad icon in the middle of the page Log in with your Nova ID & password Click on Journal Article (left side of screen) Enter the requested information in all of the required fields on the form. Click on Submit Request If ILL is able to obtain the article, you will receive an email with a link to your ILLiad account. Log in and click on Electronically Received Articles to view the article (left side of screen)