Caribbean Law
- Home
- Selecting a Research TopicToggle Dropdown
- Secondary SourcesToggle Dropdown
- Primary LawToggle Dropdown
Panza Maurer Law Library
Introduction to Caribbean and Indian Legal Systems
- Introduction to Caribbean Legal Systems on YoutubeIn the first 35-minutes of this video, Dr. Emma Perot of the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine, describes the history and current formation of Caribbean legal systems. Use as an introduction, or a quick refresher, on the structure of Caribbean legal systems.
Getting Started
This guide is intended to help those interested in Caribbean Law begin their research. The Commonwealth Caribbean consists of a number of independent, democratic states politically tied within the Caribbean Community (CARICOM). Since Caribbean Law is a broad area that covers law from multiple countries, this guide was designed with that in mind. Many of the resources cover a wide span of countries, rather than nation specific information.
Use the tabs on the left hang side of the page to navigate to different sections of this guide. The tab, "Selecting a Research Topic," contains detailed instructions on how to select a topic for a legal research paper related to Caribbean Law. The Primary Law page includes databases to help you find cases, statutes, and treaties within the Caribbean Nations. The Secondary Sources page includes books and other databases to help guide you in your research.
This guide was last updated on July 14, 2023. If you encounter any issues with this guide, or have any recommendations for content, please do not hesitate to contact us.
GlobaLex: Guide to Caribbean Law Research
- GlobaLex: Guide to Caribbean Law ResearchCreated by Yemisi Dina, Associate Librarian/Head of Public Services at the Osgoode Hall Law Library, York University, this guide provides detailed information on available resources for conducting legal research for Commonwealth Caribbean countries. Use this guide as a launching point for finding resources related to Commonwealth Caribbean countries.
vLex
- vLexNSU Law affiliates must use their Shark ID and password to access. vLex is one of our most used databases for finding resources on Caribbean law. vLex provides access to a wide range of international law which is then linked directly to local and national primary and secondary material, all on one platform. Use the filters provided to narrow down the platform's scope to Caribbean specific legal resources. Feel free to reach out to a Panza Maurer Law Librarian, using the contact information on the top left hand side of this page, if you need further direction navigating vLex's wide array of international resources.
- Last Updated: Aug 14, 2024 12:47 PM
- URL: https://libguides.nova.edu/caribbean
- Print Page