MBIO 1400 - Explorations in Marine Science
Course guide for Explorations in Marine Science (MBIO 1400)
Books & Ebooks
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by
Some reviewers call "Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Others call it the legacy left to us by famed zoologist and animal lover, Bernhard Grzimek. The original set, published in Germany in the late 1960s, is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Thomson Gale proudly presents the first completely revised and updated version of this acclaimed set in 30 years. Staying true to the original scientific pedigree, our new editions of "Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia are sure to serve the needs of students at every academic level.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0787653624Publication Date: 2002-10-04
The Everglades Handbook by
The second edition of a bestseller, The Everglades Handbook: Understanding the Ecosystemcontinues to provide a wealth of information on the entire ecosystem of the Everglades. Offering the essentials of what the ecosystem is and how it works, the Handbook benefits those addressing issues such as Everglades restoration, water management, wildlife management, and water quality problems in urban and agricultural planning. With an emphasis on natural history, the text is unified around themes of biogeography and ecosystem functions of the plant and animal communities. It presents current and historical geology, discussions of human impacts, ecosystem degradation, and planned restoration, and covers the socioeconomic aspects of the Everglades ecosystem. What's new in the Second Edition: Additional chapter on Big Cypress Swamp New section on Lake Okeechobee and its headwaters A new synthesis chapter which diagrams ecological succession and food webs
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781566706148Publication Date: 2004-07-26
A Field Guide to Eastern Forests, North America by
This field guide includes all the flora and fauna you're most likely to see in the forests of eastern North America. With 53 full-color plates and 80 color photos illustrating trees, birds, mammals, wildflowers, mushrooms, reptiles, amphibians, butterflies, moths, beetles, and other insects.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 058510980XPublication Date: 1998-01-01
Peterson Field Guide to Mammals of North America by
The Peterson Field Guide Series (R) Sponsored by the National Audubon Society, the National Wildlife Federation, and the Roger Tory Peterson Institute America's Best-Selling Field Guides THE PETERSON IDENTIFICATION SYSTEM Roger Tory Peterson's unique system shows exactly what features to look for to tell one species from another. EASE OF USE Peterson Field Guides are designed to work in the field, and every illustration, every word, is directed to that end. THE AUTHORS AND ILLUSTRATORS For each Field Guide, an author with expertise in the subject and an experienced artist work closely with the editors to ensure that both text and illustrations are accurate. A Field Guide to Mammals of North America The most comprehensive, in-depth, and current guide to North American mammals, this book covers all the mammals found in North America north of Mexico, including those that live in near-shore waters. The only guide to include paintings and photographs of the animals as well as photographs of mammal skulls, it has 80 color plates, plus 46 additional color illustrations and black-and-white drawings, nearly 400 range maps, and more than 100 color photographs.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780395935965Publication Date: 2006-11-15
Peterson Field Guide to Reptiles and Amphibians of Eastern and Central North America, Fourth Edition by
A completely updated edition, including 122 newly recognized or recently established non-native species of reptiles and amphibians. The new edition of this definitive guide reflects 25 years' worth of changes in our knowledge of reptiles and amphibians. It includes descriptions of 122 newly recognized or recently established non-native species, updated maps, and new figures and photos. Color illustrations and drawings show key details for accurate identification. More than 100 color photographs and 322 color distribution maps accompany the species descriptions. Clear and concise species accounts provide key characteristics, similar species, habitats, and ranges, as well as subspecies, voice descriptions, and conservation status. This edition will be a crucial resource for professional and amateur herpetologists, naturalists, outdoor enthusiasts, and students.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780544129979Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Oceanic Birds of the World by
A state-of-the-art photographic field guide to the world's oceanic birds Oceanic birds are among the most remarkable but least known of all birds, living at sea, far from the sight of most people. They offer unusual identification challenges--many species look similar and it can be difficult to get good views of fast-flying birds from a moving boat. The first field guide to the world's oceanic birds in more than two decades, this exciting and authoritative book draws on decades of firsthand experience on the open seas. It features clear text filled with original insights and new information and more than 2,200 carefully chosen color images that bring the ocean and its remarkable winged inhabitants to life. Never before have oceanic birds been presented in such an accessible and comprehensive way. The introduction discusses the many recent developments in seabird taxonomy, which are incorporated into the species accounts, and these accounts are arranged into groups that aid field identification. Each group and species complex has an introductory overview of its identification challenges, illustrated with clear comparative photos. The text describes flight manner, plumage variation related to age and molt, seasonal occurrence patterns, migration routes, and many other features. The result is an indispensable guide for exploring birding's last great frontier. A comprehensive, authoritative, and accessible guide to oceanic birds Covers more than 270 species Includes more than 2,200 color photos with concise captions noting key features Features careful species comparisons, overviews of the latest taxonomy, tips on how to observe and ID birds at sea, and much more
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780691175010Publication Date: 2019-08-20
Molluscan Communities of the Florida Keys and Adjacent Areas by
Molluscan Communities of the Florida Keys and Adjacent Areas: Their Ecology and Biodiversityis the first comprehensive overview of the ecology and biodiversity of the phylum Mollusca in the area of Florida extending from the Dry Tortugas and Ten Thousand Islands in the west to Palm Beach in the east. The book provides detailed analyses of molluscan faunas found in 20 different ecosystems, emphasizing the marine environments of the Florida Keys archipelago and its extensive coral reef tracts. Full-page color illustrations portray living animals, unique Keys environments, underwater ecosystems, and satellite images. More than 1,200 species of macromollusks--in 86 gastropod families and 54 bivalve families--are recorded from the study area, with color plates illustrating over 550 of the region's most ecologically important species. For the first time in any book on the malacology of the Florida Keys area, the 20 marine ecosystems and their associated molluscan assemblages are arranged by the CMECS (Coastal Marine Ecological Classification Standard) system. This system emphasizes the hierarchical relationships determined by substrate type, bathymetry, and water chemistry. Along with complete species lists for every molluscan assemblage, this handy guide introduces ten newly-discovered gastropods, including new species in the families Muricidae, Buccinidae, Nassariidae, Naticidae, Turritellidae, and Olividae. Two new bivalves in the families Pectinidae and Arcidae are also described in a special systematic appendix. This richly illustrated book is written for the professional scientific audience interested in mollusks, marine ecology, evolution, and taxonomy as well as malacologists, naturalists, and shell collectors. It is also an ideal synoptic field guide, showing where individual species of mollusks can be found and within which ecosystems they occur.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781482249194Publication Date: 2014-12-15
Ken Schultz's Field Guide to Freshwater Fish by
A compact, authoritative guide for freshwater fishing trips From one of the most respected names in the world of sportfishing comes the definitive, full-color guide to 140 of the most common freshwater fish species found in North American rivers, lakes, and streams. Featuring information on identification, habitat, size, and diet, Ken Schultzs Guide to Freshwater Fish is a must for anglers and sportfishing enthusiasts everywhere.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0471628654Publication Date: 2004-02-15
Websites
- Algaebase AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms. At present, the data for the marine algae, particularly seaweeds, are the most complete. For convenience, we have included the sea-grasses even though they are flowering plants.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library Inspiring discovery through free access to biodiversity knowledge. The Biodiversity Heritage Library works collaboratively to make biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
- Encyclopedia of Life The Encyclopedia of Life is a free, online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science. It is compiled from existing databases and from contributions by experts and non-experts throughout the world.
- FishBase FishBase is a comprehensive database of information about fish, with 31600 Species, 279100 Common names, 49300 Pictures, 44200 References, 1770 Collaborators, and 33 million Hits/month.
- FWC Reef Fish Identification Guide A quick guide to popular recreational reef fishes found in Florida waters.
- FWC Species Profiles Search for and learn more about the species of Florida, including: birds, mammals,invertebrates, saltwater fish, freshwater fish, reptiles, and amphibians.
- FWC Waterfowl Identification Waterfowl Gallery - Provides a picture and sound of common North American waterfowl, as well as breeding, migratory, and winter habitat requirements, and population status. A Ducks Unlimited, Inc. site. Teal and Wood Duck Identification Video - What Florida duck hunters should look for when identifying teal and wood ducks during the September early duck hunting season. Ducks at a Distance: A Waterfowl Identification Guide - This guide will help you recognize birds on the wing—it emphasizes their fall and winter plumage patterns as well as size, shape, and flight characteristics.
- Marine Species Identification Portal This website has extensive information for identifying marine organisms, animal, plant, and microorganisms. Entries include pictures, descriptions, distribution, habitat, and other relevant information. There are also literature references.
- South Florida Sponges: A Guide to Identification A database of information on sponges hosted by Nova Southeastern University. Database includes scientific and common names, photographs, physical descriptions, and distribution information.
- UF/IFAS Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants - Plant Directory The UF/IFAS Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants is a multidisciplinary research, teaching and extension unit directed to develop environmentally sound techniques for the management of aquatic and natural area weed species and to coordinate aquatic plant research activities within the State of Florida. The mission of the CAIP Information Office is to inform and educate all stakeholders about the impacts and management of invasive plants.
- WoRMS - World Register of Marine Species The aim of a World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy. While highest priority goes to valid names, other names in use are included so that this register can serve as a guide to interpret taxonomic literature. WoRMS is a contribution to Lifewatch, Catalogue of Life, Encyclopedia of Life, Global Biodiversity Information Facility and the Census of Marine Life.
Online Databases
Check for additional information in these databases:
eJournals
- Annals of Botany1887 - present
- Fishes2016 - present
- The Florida Entomologist1994 - present
- Florida Scientist2006 - present
- Invertebrate Biology1995 - present
- Journal of Crustacean Biology1981 - present
- Journal of Field Ornithology1980 - 1999
1999 - present - Journal of Ichthyology2006 - present
- Journal of Marine Animals & Their Ecology2008 - present
- Journal of Molluscan Studies1893 - present
- Marine Ecology1997 - present
- Marine Mammal Science1997 - present
- Marine Ornithology1990 - present
- Zootaxa2001 - present