MSMS 6024 & 6025 : Transdisciplinary Approaches to Coral Reef Science - Field Course & Quantitative and Communication Skills
This course is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) Advanced Studies Institute (ASI) to explore the coral reefs of Australia, through the NSF International Research Experiences for Students Track II program.
Coral Reef Books & E-Books available from the NSU Oceanography Library
Assessments and Conservation of Biological Diversity from Coral Reefs to the Deep Sea by
Assessments and Conservation of Biological Diversity from Coral Reefs to the Deep Sea: Uncovering Buried Treasures and the Value of the Benthos examines marine benthic habitats around the world that are linked by their physical location at the bottom of the oceans. The book approaches deep sea marine biodiversity with perspectives on genetics, microbiology and evolution, weaving a narrative of vital expert linkages with the goal of protecting something that most people cannot witness or experience. It provides a full assessment of biological diversity within benthic habitats, from coral reefs to plankton and fish species, and offers global case studies. It is the ideal resource for marine conservationists and biologists aiming to expand their knowledge and efforts to the rarely seen, yet equally important, realms of the ocean and respective benthic species. As these deep-sea ecosystems and their species face unprecedented threats of destruction and extinction due to factors including climate change, this book provides the most current knowledge of this undersea world along with solutions for its conservation. Compares and contrasts between shallow and marine habitats to reveal revolutionary connections and continuity Analyzes modern threats and gaps in biological knowledge regarding benthic communities Examines benthic biodiversity through vertical vs. horizontal gradients Poses possible solutions for the conservation of benthic habitats and organisms
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128241134Publication Date: 2023-11-30Coral Reef Remote Sensing : a guide for mapping, monitoring and management by Remote sensing is a fundamental tool for mapping and monitoring coral reef ecosystems. Remote sensing offers the ability to provide repeatable, quantitative assessments of environmental characteristics over spatially extensive areas. The individual sections of the book include introductory overviews of five coral reef remote sensing disciplines, followed by specific examples demonstrating practical applications of the different technologies being discussed.
ISBN: 9789048192915Publication Date: 2013-07-08
Coral Reefs of the Gulf by
Coral Reefs of the Gulf: Adaptation to Climatic Extremes is a complete review and reference for scientists, engineers and students concerned with the geology, biology or engineering aspects of coral reefs in the Middle East. It provides for the first time a complete review of both the geology and biology of all extant coral areas in the Gulf, the water body between Iran and the Arabian Peninsula. The book is useful for the technical expert and casual reader alike.
Call Number: QH94.4 .C67 2012ISBN: 9789400730076Publication Date: 2012-04-14
Coral Reefs of the USA by
Coral Reefs of the USA provides a complete overview of the present status of knowledge regarding all coral reef areas within the USA and its territories. It is written by the most experienced authorities in their fields and geographic areas. It will be an invaluable baseline-reference for all those who are engaged in research or management of these coral reefs or to those who simply enjoy being well-informed about one of the most iconic ecosystems of the USA.
Call Number: GB464 .C67 2008ISBN: 9781402068461Publication Date: 2008-04-03
Khaled Bin Sultan Atlas of Saudi Arabian Red Sea Marine Habitats by Call Number: QL622.341 .V29 2012ISBN: 0983561117Publication Date: 2011-12-20
Remote Sensing and Global Environmental Change by
Remote Sensing plays a key role in monitoring the various manifestations of global climate change. It is used routinely in the assessment and mapping of biodiversity over large areas, in the monitoring of changes to the physical environment, in assessing threats to various components of natural systems, and in the identification of priority areas for conservation. This book presents the fundamentals of remote sensing technology, but rather than containing lengthy explanations of sensor specifications and operation, it concentrates instead on the application of the technology to key environmental systems. Each system forms the basis of a separate chapter, and each is illustrated by real world case studies and examples.
Additional resources for this book can be found at: http://www.wiley.com/go/purkis/remote
Call Number: GE149 .P87 2011ISBN: 9781444339352Publication Date: 2011-03-07
Selected Coral Reef Books:
(for more books on Coral Reefs at the NSU Oceanography Library, click HERE)
The Lost Continent by
This poignant tribute to the beauty of coral reefs sheds light on the destruction of global reef ecosystems and the climate science behind the conservation efforts to save them. Broken into three parts-Discovering Corals, Wonder and Devastation, and Searching for Hope-and told through a series of gripping stories, author and documentarian David Alexander Baker takes readers on a global adventure to the front lines of an unfolding ecological crisis. More than half of the world's coral reefs have been destroyed in the past fifty years due to the climate crisis. The Lost Continent helps readers gain a deeper understanding of coral reefs and why they are vital to the health of our oceans-and the survival of our planet-and highlights the incredible conservation and restoration strides being made around the world. With over 60 breathtaking photographs of coral reefs spanning from Colombia to Australia to the Florida Keys readers will be moved both by the majesty of nature and the urgency to preserve and restore these great cities of the seas.
Call Number: QH75 .B2649 2022ISBN: 9781623545147Publication Date: 2022-10-18
Encyclopedia of Modern Coral Reefs by Call Number: GB461 .E639 2011ISBN: 9789048126385Publication Date: 2010-11-26
Coral Reef Conservation by Call Number: QH75 .C7167 2006 c.2ISBN: 0521855365Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Coral Reefs of the Southern Gulf of Mexico by Call Number: QH107 .C67 2007ISBN: 9781585446179Publication Date: 2007-10-17
Reef Check's Five Year Report -- Trends and SolutionsCall Number: QH541.5.C7 H64 2002ISBN: 0972305106Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Coral Reefs in the Microbial Seas by Call Number: QH541.5.C7 R64 2010ISBN: 0982701209Publication Date: 2010-01-01
A Field Guide to Coral Reefs by Call Number: QL125 .K36 1982ISBN: 0618002111Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Monitoring Coral Reefs for Global Change by Call Number: QL377.C5 P47 1993 c.2ISBN: 2831701171Publication Date: 1993-01-01
The Ecology of Fishes on Coral Reefs by Call Number: QL620 .E26 1991 c.3ISBN: 0126151814Publication Date: 1993-08-06
World Atlas of Coral Reefs by Call Number: Reference G1046.L4 S6 2001ISBN: 0520232550Publication Date: 2001-09-10
Reef Creature Identification Florida Caribbean Bahamas 2nd Edition by Call Number: Reference QL125 .H86 1992ISBN: 1878348310Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Life and Death of Coral Reefs by Call Number: Reserves QH541.5.C7 L55 1997ISBN: 0412035413Publication Date: 1997-01-31
Reef Coral Identification Florida Caribbean Bahamas by Call Number: Reserves QL377.C5 H85 1993ISBN: 1878348035Publication Date: 1993-02-01
The Structure and Distribution of Coral Reefs by Call Number: QE565 .D27 2013ISBN: 9781108065627Publication Date: 2013-09-19
Selected Coral Reef E-Books:
(for more ebooks on Coral Reefs from NSU Libraries, click HERE)
Encyclopedia of Modern Coral Reefs by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9789048126392Publication Date: 2011-02-03- Remote Sensing and Global Environmental Change by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781444339352Publication Date: 2011-03-07Additional resources for this book can be found at: http://www.wiley.com/go/purkis/remote
The Everglades, Florida Bay, and coral reefs of the Florida Keys : an ecosystem sourcebook by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0849320267Publication Date: 2001-10-18
Integrated Coastal Zone Management of Coral Reefs by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0821346288Publication Date: 2000-03-22
International Environmental Law and the Conservation of Coral Reefs by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780415489805Publication Date: 2011-05-24
Coral Reef Conservation Amendments Act of 2011 [electronic resource] : report of the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation on S. 46 by Call Number: U.S. GOV. ONLINE DOCUMENTPublication Date: 2011-9-12
The Great Barrier Reef Biology, environment and management by
The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park is 344 400 square kilometres in size and is home to one of the most diverse ecosystems in the world. This comprehensive guide describes the organisms and ecosystems of the Great Barrier Reef, as well as the biological, chemical and physical processes that influence them. Contemporary pressing issues such as climate change, coral bleaching, coral disease and the challenges of coral reef fisheries are also discussed.In addition,the book includes a field guide that will help people to identify the common animals and plants on the reef, then to delve into the book to learn more about the roles the biota play.Beautifully illustrated and with contributions from 33 international experts, The Great Barrier Reef is a must-read for the interested reef tourist, student, researcher and environmental manager. While it has an Australian focus, it can equally be used as a baseline text for most Indo-Pacific coral reefs. Winner of a Whitley Certificate of Commendation for 2009.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781486308200Publication Date: 2019
Saving the Great Barrier Reef by
As the largest coral reef system on the globe and home to 1,500 species of fish and other diverse marine life, Australia's Great Barrier reef is unquestionably one of the great wonders of the natural world. Unfortunately, it is also in grave danger of dying. Recent annual back-to-back coral bleaching events have drastically accelerated the already existing damage to the Great Barrier Reef and its rich biodiversity. The reef is under threat from numerous other pressures, both natural and man-made. These threats include over-fishing, coastal development, agriculture, mining, tourism, and the ravaging ecological impacts of climate change. How is Australia sustainably managing the reef and the land-based and sea life it supports? What conservation threats are being effectively addressed, before it is too late to save the Great Barrier Reef?
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781925339727Publication Date: 2018
The Great Barrier Reef by
One of the world's natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef stretches more than 2000 kilometres in a maze of coral reefs and islands along Australia's north-eastern coastline. Now unfolding the fascinating story behind its mystique this book provides for the first time a comprehensive cultural and ecological history of European impact, from early voyages of discovery to the most recent developments in Reef science and management. Incisive and a delight to read in its thorough account of the scientific, social and environmental consequences of European impact on the world's greatest coral reef system, this extraordinary book is sure to become a classic.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0511062214Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Oceanographic Processes of Coral Reefs: Physical and Biological Links in the Great Barrier Reef by
Demonstrating the relevance and need of science in planning the future of the Great Barrier Reef and coral reefs worldwide, Oceanographic Processes of Coral Reefs: Physical and Biological Links in the Great Barrier Reef emphasizes multi-disciplinary processes - physical and biological links - that have emerged as the dominant forces shaping and controlling the ecosystem. The book draws heavily on data from coral reefs in Australia, Indonesia, Thailand, and the Philippines. Oceanographic Processes of Coral Reefs: Physical and Biological Links in the Great Barrier Reef covers: Climate and global change Coastal oceanography Wetlands ecology Estuaries Marine biology Land use management in the tropics Fisheries management Coral Reef ecological modeling Biodiversity and the human impact Explore how the ecosystem responds to both physical and biological stimuli, and how they interact Understand processes imperative to create sustainable design strategies Comprehend the connectivity of biotopes - land, mangroves, seagrass, and corals Discover the relationship between managing marine resources and managing adjoining land use Learn how fish behavior and migration patterns control fisheries
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781280652967Publication Date: 2010-01-10
The Coral Battleground by
The Great Barrier Reef lies off the coast of Queensland: 2000 kilometres of spectacular coral reefs, sand cays and islands, Australia’s most precious marine possession. Teeming with life, it covers 350,000 square kilometres. In the late 1960s the Reef was threatened with limestone mining and oil drilling. A small group of dedicated conservationists in Queensland #150; John Büsst, Judith Wright, Len Webb and others #150; battled to save the Ellison Reef from coral-limestone mining and the Swain Reefs from oil exploration. The group later swelled to encompass scientists, trade unionists and politicians throughout Australia, and led in 1976 to the establishment of a guardian body: the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority. That it still survives is a legacy of activists, artists, poets, ecologists and students. In 1967 they were branded as #145;cranks’; now they should be recognised as #145;visionaries’.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781742199030Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Reefscape by
Located off Australia's eastern coast, the Great Barrier Reef is one of the wonders of the natural world. The diversity of life is simply incredible. It is also the ideal environment for coral, making it a diver's paradise. Indeed, some 200 million tourists visit the reef each year. Looking beyond the sheer beauty of this place, we learn, too, that it is a region rich in history, the setting for fateful shipwrecks and exotic Aboriginal myths. Australian writer Rosaleen Love explores the reef from all these angles, allowing us to see this stunning geography anew. Part travelogue, part eco-history, Reefscape represents multiple views of the reef - through the eyes of mariners, pearl divers, naturalists, filmmakers, pirates, industrialists, and tourists alike- painting a fascinating portrait of a unique locale. Told in a reflectively poetic voice, Love writes evocatively of the ecological, and geological significance of the reef. Woven throughout is the intriguing history of the area. This twofold approach provides a rich perspective on the reef an ecosystem as well as a natural resource for its inhabitants. By recounting both tales, Reefscape provides a window on the past and foreshadows the future of this extraordinary environment. Reefscape will illuminate the meaning of the human encounter with nature. It will inspire delight in the imagination and spirit of all who yearn for the transcendence of turquoise waters.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0309513081Publication Date: 2001-05-02- Oceanographic Processes of Coral Reefs: Physical and Biological Links in the Great Barrier Reef by
Demonstrating the relevance and need of science in planning the future of the Great Barrier Reef and coral reefs worldwide, Oceanographic Processes of Coral Reefs: Physical and Biological Links in the Great Barrier Reef emphasizes multi-disciplinary processes - physical and biological links - that have emerged as the dominant forces shaping and controlling the ecosystem. The book draws heavily on data from coral reefs in Australia, Indonesia, Thailand, and the Philippines. Oceanographic Processes of Coral Reefs: Physical and Biological Links in the Great Barrier Reef covers: Climate and global change Coastal oceanography Wetlands ecology Estuaries Marine biology Land use management in the tropics Fisheries management Coral Reef ecological modeling Biodiversity and the human impact Explore how the ecosystem responds to both physical and biological stimuli, and how they interact Understand processes imperative to create sustainable design strategies Comprehend the connectivity of biotopes - land, mangroves, seagrass, and corals Discover the relationship between managing marine resources and managing adjoining land use Learn how fish behavior and migration patterns control fisheries
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781280652967Publication Date: 2010-01-10
Coastal world heritage sites by
This book presents the natural, environmental and scenic richness of the world's coastal and marine areas classified by UNESCO as "Natural World Heritage Sites". Representing well-preserved areas of exceptional significance to the planet and to humankind, they include a total of 49 marine sites, formed by reefs, atolls and gulfs, and 35 coastal sites in all oceans and all continents with exception of Antarctica. They are being protected and preserved from most degrading uses for future generations as an important legacy from the past. Exploring their richness, this book analyzes and explains these sites in a clear, understandable, scientific way, and is of interest to all who work in or care about the geosciences, environmental sciences and biosciences.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9789402415285Publication Date: 2019
The Great Barrier Reef by
One of the world's natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef stretches more than 2000 kilometers in a maze of coral reefs along Australia's northeastern coastline. Until now, no biographer has brought the fascinating story behind its mystique into public view. This book provides a comprehensive cultural and ecological history of European impact on the reef, from early voyages of discovery to the most recent developments in reef science and management.
Call Number: QH197 .B69 2002ISBN: 0521824303Publication Date: 2002-11-08- The Great Barrier Reef : finding the right balance by The Great Barrier Reef in Australia is the location of the world's largest marine park and has been designated as the first marine World Heritage Site. Lawrence, Kenchington, and Woodley essentially review the 28-year history of the marine park. During that time, management of the park has dealt with many problems caused by industrial development, tourism, native title claims, commercial fishing, and declining water quality. Most of the difficulties encountered by the Marine Park Authority are similar to the environmental and political factors that are affecting the management of coral reefs in other parts of the world. The lessons learned in Australia will be instructive to all who have responsibility for coral reef conservation. This book will provide useful supplementary reading for students in marine biology or conservation courses. ^BSumming Up: Recommended. Upper-division undergraduates through faculty. J. C. Briggs formerly, University of Georgia Copyright American Library Association, used with permission.Call Number: QH197 .L39 2002ISBN: 052284992XPublication Date: 2002
The Great Barrier Reef by
Three-dimensional maps in full color of each site illustrating 27 of the most spectacular dives along Australia's Great Barrier Reef. These maps offer what no book has ever before provided: the information needed to plan your dive down to the last detail. You can review the exact layout of the site -- including depths, sizes, and distances between reefs and wrecks or any hazards -- and even the lighting conditions for optimum underwater photography. The short chapters covering eachdive provide crucial data about depths, currents, weather variables, and plant and animal life, and each book ends with a full-color visual encyclopedia of the most common fish that inhabit the area. The experts' lively text has been vetted by Diving Science and Technology Corp. (DSAT), which is a corporate affiliate of Professional Association of Diving Instructors (PADI), making these the most reliable guides for the expert as well as the first-time diver.
Call Number: GV838.673.A8 R55 1999ISBN: 0789204568Publication Date: 1999-02-01
Reefscape by
Located off Australia's eastern coast, the Great Barrier Reef is one of the wonders of the natural world. The diversity of life is simply incredible. It is also the ideal environment for coral, making it a diver's paradise. Indeed, some 200 million tourists visit the reef each year. Looking beyond the sheer beauty of this place, we learn, too, that it is a region rich in history, the setting for fateful shipwrecks and exotic Aboriginal myths. Australian writer Rosaleen Love explores the reef from all these angles, allowing us to see this stunning geography anew. Part travelogue, part eco-history, Reefscape represents multiple views of the reef - through the eyes of mariners, pearl divers, naturalists, filmmakers, pirates, industrialists, and tourists alike- painting a fascinating portrait of a unique locale. Told in a reflectively poetic voice, Love writes evocatively of the ecological, and geological significance of the reef. Woven throughout is the intriguing history of the area. This twofold approach provides a rich perspective on the reef an ecosystem as well as a natural resource for its inhabitants. By recounting both tales, Reefscape provides a window on the past and foreshadows the future of this extraordinary environment. Reefscape will illuminate the meaning of the human encounter with nature. It will inspire delight in the imagination and spirit of all who yearn for the transcendence of turquoise waters.
Call Number: QH197 .L68 2001ISBN: 0309072603Publication Date: 2001-06-02
A Reef in Time by
Like many coral specialists fifteen years ago, J. E. N. Veron thought Australia's Great Barrier Reef was impervious to climate change. Owned by a prosperous country and accorded the protection it deserves, it would surely not go the way of the Amazon rain forest or the parklands of Africa, but would endure forever. That is what I thought once, but I think it no longer. This book is Veron's Silent Spring for the world's coral reefs.Veron presents the geological history of the reef, the biology of coral reef ecosystems, and a primer on what we know about climate change. He concludes that the Great Barrier Reef and, indeed, most coral reefs will be dead from mass bleaching and irreversible acidification within the coming century unless greenhouse gas emissions are curbed. If we don't have the political will to confront the plight of the world's reefs, he argues, current processes already in motion will become unstoppable, bringing on a mass extinction the world has not seen for 65 million years.Our species has cracked its own genetic code and sent representatives of its kind to the moon - we can certainly save the world's reefs if we want to. But to achieve this goal, we must devote scientific expertise and political muscle to the development of green technologies that will dramatically reduce greenhouse emissions and reverse acidification of the oceans.
Call Number: QE566.G7 V47 2008ISBN: 9780674026797Publication Date: 2008-01-31
Physical Oceanographic Processes of the Great Barrier Reef by
Physical Oceanographic Processes of the Great Barrier Reef is the first comprehensive volume describing the water circulation and its influence in controlling the distribution of marine life on the Great Barrier Reef of Australia. The book uses exhaustive field and numerical studies to show how the influence of the salient topography occurs at all scales. Scales include:
Call Number: GC862 .W65 1994ISBN: 0849380472Publication Date: 1994-01-27
Fishes of the Great Barrier Reef and Coral Sea by
A spectacular reference, with lavishly color-illustrated coverage of 1,111 species, or more than 90% of the region's reef fishes. Every species is illustrated, with added photographic coverage of the juvenile, female, and male in species that vary in color according to developmental stage or sex. In addition to the array of underwater and diagnostic laboratory photographs are seven plates painted by natural history artist Roger Swainston. Annotation(c) 2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
Call Number: QL636 .R36 1990ISBN: 0824813464Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Reef fishes Treasures of the Great Barrier Reef by
Reef Fishes is full of the most beautiful fish on the Great Barrier Reef. It reveals, with illustrated photographs and information, these breathtaking creatures, which not only bring movement and beauty to the reef, but are protectors and housekeepers of this amazing world.This book highlights the roles the fish play in the ecosystem. In the tropical coral reefs the coral cays, around the islands, in the mangroves, the sea grass beds and the estuaries the fish are helping Also included are other reef life such as turtles, sharks and stingrays.
Call Number: QL623.9 .B83 2015ISBN: 9781921517600Publication Date: 2015- Oceanographic processes of coral reefs Physical and biological links in the Great Barrier Reef by Demonstrating the relevance and need of science in planning the future of the Great Barrier Reef and coral reefs worldwide, Oceanographic Processes of Coral Reefs: Physical and Biological Links in the Great Barrier Reef emphasizes multi-disciplinary processes - physical and biological links - that have emerged as the dominant forces shaping and controlling the ecosystem. The book draws heavily on data from coral reefs in Australia, Indonesia, Thailand, and the Philippines. Oceanographic Processes of Coral Reefs: Physical and Biological Links in the Great Barrier Reef covers: Climate and global change Coastal oceanography Wetlands ecology Estuaries Marine biology Land use management in the tropics Fisheries management Coral Reef ecological modeling Biodiversity and the human impact Explore how the ecosystem responds to both physical and biological stimuli, and how they interact Understand processes imperative to create sustainable design strategies Comprehend the connectivity of biotopes - land, mangroves, seagrass, and corals Discover the relationship between managing marine resources and managing adjoining land use Learn how fish behavior and migration patterns control fisheriesCall Number: QH197 .O34 2001ISBN: 084930833XPublication Date: 2001
Quick Search
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
If you have the DOI of an article, you can search for the article using DOI Tools.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find research tips, useful resources, and more by searching our LibGuides or browsing the topics below:
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes |