MSMS 6024 & 6025 : Transdisciplinary Approaches to Coral Reef Science - Field Course & Quantitative and Communication Skills
This course is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) Advanced Studies Institute (ASI) to explore the coral reefs of Australia, through the NSF International Research Experiences for Students Track II program.
Scientific Communication
Scientific Communication Resources
Study and Communication Skills for the Biosciences by
Study and Communication Skills for the Biosciences is tailored specifically to the needs of bioscience students, both at university, and beyond. Written in an engaging and supportive manner, with examples throughout that demonstrate the relevance of topics covered to bioscience degreeprogrammes, the book will assist you with the transition from school to university, with your studies at university, and with your progression to employment after leaving university. With a broad range of study and communication skills included, it is essential reading for any bioscience student who wants to get the most out of their degree. Online Resource Centre For registered adopters of the book:DT Figures and tables of data from the book, ready to download. For students:DT Examples of good and bad practice when using PowerPoint presentations and when producing posters
Call Number: QH315 .J64 2014ISBN: 9780199663293Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Scientific communication for natural resource professionals by
Published by the American Fisheries Society
Call Number: Q223 .S25 2012ISBN: 1934874280Publication Date: 2012
The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science by
Whether you are a graduate student or a senior scientist, your reputation rests on the ability to communicate your ideas and data. In this straightforward and accessible guide, Scott L. Montgomery offers detailed, practical advice on crafting every sort of scientific communication, from research papers and conference talks to review articles, interviews with the media, e-mail messages, and more. Montgomery avoids the common pitfalls of other guides by focusing not on rules and warnings but instead on how skilled writers and speakers actually learn their trade-by imitating and adapting good models of expression. Moving step-by-step through samples from a wide variety of scientific disciplines, he shows precisely how to choose and employ such models, where and how to revise different texts, how to use visuals to enhance your presentation of ideas, why writing is really a form of experimentation, and more. He also traces the evolution of scientific expression over time, providing a context crucial for understanding the nature of technical communication today. Other chapters take up the topics of writing creatively in science; how to design and use graphics; and how to talk to the public about science. Written with humor and eloquence, this book provides a unique and realistic guide for anyone in the sciences wishing to improve his or her communication skills. Practical and concise, The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science covers: *Writing scientific papers, abstracts, grant proposals, technical reports, and articles for the general public *Using graphics effectively *Surviving and profiting from the review process *Preparing oral presentations *Dealing with the press and the public *Publishing and the Internet *Writing in English as a foreign language
Call Number: T10.5 .M65 2003ISBN: 0226534847Publication Date: 2003-02-15
Escape from the Ivory Tower : a guide to making your science matter by
Most scientists and researchers aren't prepared to talk to the press or to policymakers—or to deal with backlash. Many researchers have the horror stories to prove it. What’s clear, according to Nancy Baron, is that scientists, journalists and public policymakers come from different cultures. They follow different sets of rules, pursue different goals, and speak their own language. To effectively reach journalists and public officials, scientists need to learn new skills and rules of engagement. No matter what your specialty, the keys to success are clear thinking, knowing what you want to say, understanding your audience, and using everyday language to get your main points across. In this practical and entertaining guide to communicating science, Baron explains how to engage your audience and explain why a particular finding matters. She explores how to ace your interview, promote a paper, enter the political fray, and use new media to connect with your audience. The book includes advice from journalists, decision makers, new media experts, bloggers and some of the thousands of scientists who have participated in her communication workshops. Many of the researchers she has worked with have gone on to become well-known spokespeople for science-related issues. Baron and her protégées describe the risks and rewards of “speaking up,” how to deal with criticism, and the link between communications and leadership. The final chapter, ‘Leading the Way’ offers guidance to scientists who want to become agents of change and make your science matter. Whether you are an absolute beginner or a seasoned veteran looking to hone your skills, Escape From the Ivory Tower can help make your science understood, appreciated and perhaps acted upon.
Call Number: Q223 .B37 2010ISBN: 9781597266635Publication Date: 2010-08-13
Am I Making Myself Clear? : A Scientist's Guide to Talking to the Public by
What we donâe(tm)t know can hurt usâe"and does so every day. Climate change, health care policy, weapons of mass destruction, an aging infrastructure, stem cell research, endangered species, space explorationâe"all affect our lives as citizens and human beings in practical and profound ways. But unless we understand the science behind these issues, we cannot make reasonable decisionsâe"and worse, we are susceptible to propaganda cloaked in scientific rhetoric. To convey the facts, this book suggests, scientists must take a more active role in making their work accessible to the media, and thus to the public. In Am I Making Myself Clear? Cornelia Dean, a distinguished science editor and reporter, urges scientists to overcome their institutional reticence and let their voices be heard beyond the forum of scholarly publication. By offering useful hints for improving their interactions with policymakers, the public, and her fellow journalists, Dean aims to change the attitude of scientists who scorn the mass media as an arena where important work is too often misrepresented or hyped. Even more important, she seeks to convince them of the value and urgency of communicating to the public. Am I Making Myself Clear? shows scientists how to speak to the public, handle the media, and describe their work to a lay audience on paper, online, and over the airwaves. It is a book that will improve the tone and content of debate over critical issues and will serve the interests of science and society.
Call Number: Q223 .D43 2009ISBN: 9780674036352Publication Date: 2009-10-30
Scientific Writing and Communication by
Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations, Second Edition, covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and to master in order to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with a discussion of the basics of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and résumés and to preparing academic presentations and posters. It is ideal for a wide range of readers--from upper-level undergraduates and graduate students to postdoctoral fellows, faculty, and professional researchers in the life sciences, medicine, psychology, chemistry, physics, and engineering. FEATURES A practical presentation carefully introduces basic writing mechanics before moving into manuscript planning and organizational strategies. Extensive hands-on guidance for composing scientific documents and presentations then follows. Relevant and multidisciplinary examples selected from real research papers and grant proposals by writers ranging from students to Nobel Laureates illustrate clear technical writing and common mistakes that one should avoid. Annotated text passages bring the writing principles and guidelines to life by applying them to real-world, relevant, and multidisciplinary examples. Extensive end-of-chapter exercise sets provide the opportunity to review style and composition principles and encourage readers to apply them to their own writing. Writing guidelines and revision checklists warn scientists against common pitfalls and equip them with the most successful techniques to revise a scientific paper, review article, or grant proposal. The book's clear, easy-to-follow writing style appeals to both native and non-native English speakers; special ESL features also point out difficulties experienced primarily by non-native speakers. Tables and lists of sample sentences and phrases aid in composing different sections of a scientific paper, review article, or grant proposal. Thorough attention to research articles advises readers on composing successful manuscripts for publication in peer-reviewed journals from initial drafting to the response to reviewers. Comprehensive coverage of grant writing guides scientists through the entire process of applying for a grant, from the initial letter of inquiry to proposal revision and submission.
Call Number: Q223 .H63 2014ISBN: 9780199947560Publication Date: 2013-12-27
Writing in the Biological Sciences : a comprehensive resource for scientific communication by
Comprehensive. Practical. Your resource for life. Practical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Resource for Scientific Communication presents students with all of the techniques and information they need in order to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries effectively. Angelika H. Hofmann introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines of professional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication. A Companion Website contains instructor's lecture slides and all images from the text in PowerPoint format (www.oup.com/us/hofmann). Ideal as a free-standing textbook for courses on writing in the biological sciences - as well as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses and laboratories with writing-intensive components - this indispensable handbook gives students the tools they need to succeed in theirundergraduate science careers and beyond.
Call Number: QH304 .H64 2013ISBN: 9780199765287Publication Date: 2012-12-21
Speaking about Science by
Essential reading for professionals who present data at meetings and academic conferences. This is an important career skill for anyone in the sciences, and the book features step-by-step instruction for creating clear and compelling presentations, from structuring a talk and developing effective PowerPoint slides through delivery before an audience. Includes color examples of slides and posters from actual presentations, and field-tested methods for success behind the podium. Also contains tips on answering questions and strategies for handling media and job interviews. The authors are professional public speakers who teach presentation skills to scientists and medical researchers at the National Institutes of Health and in the private sector.
Call Number: Q223 .M67 2006ISBN: 0521866812Publication Date: 2006-10-16
Modern Nature : essays in environmental communication by Call Number: GE25 .S76 2012ISBN: 9781612331157Publication Date: 2012-06-01
TED Talks by
A New York Times Bestseller For anyone who has ever been inspired by a TED talk... ...this is an insider's guide to creating talks that are unforgettable. Since taking over TED in the early 2000s, Chris Anderson has shown how carefully crafted short talks can be the key to unlocking empathy, stirring excitement, spreading knowledge, and promoting a shared dream. Done right, a talk can electrify a room and transform an audience's worldview. Done right, a talk is more powerful than anything in written form. This book explains how the miracle of powerful public speaking is achieved, and equips you to give it your best shot. There is no set formula; no two talks should be the same. The goal is for you to give the talk that only you can give. But don't be intimidated. You may find it more natural than you think. Chris Anderson has worked behind the scenes with all the TED speakers who have inspired us the most, and here he shares insights from such favorites as Sir Ken Robinson, Amy Cuddy, Bill Gates, Elizabeth Gilbert, Salman Khan, Dan Gilbert, Mary Roach, Matt Ridley, and dozens more -- everything from how to craft your talk's content to how you can be most effective on stage. This is the 21st-century's new manual for truly effective communication and it is a must-read for anyone who is ready to create impact with their ideas.
Call Number: PN4129.15 .A53 2016ISBN: 9780544634497Publication Date: 2016-05-03
MasterClass in Science Education by
Worried about teaching natural selection, submicroscopic particle models or circuits? Keith S. Taber explores a range of issues faced in secondary science teaching and discusses strategies for teaching the nature of scientific knowledge, making practical work effective and challenging gifted young scientists.MasterClass in Science Education shows how to become a master science teacher by developing and adopting the habits and mind-set of a teacher-as-scientist. The author introduces the three pillars of this approach: subject knowledge, pedagogic knowledge, and classroom research. The body of subject knowledge in the sciences is both vast and constantly evolving as it is challenged, updated and developed, and this text supports you to understand the dynamic nature of knowledge and the implications this has for your teaching. Taber shows how to use a knowledge-in-action approach, enacting knowledge in the complex and dynamic classroom environment. He supports you to critically examine classroom experiences, drawing on a wide-range of research-informed perspectives that offer insights into facilitating effective student learning. He also guides you to understand how to use recommendations from published research studies as components of a toolkit to improve your teaching and learning.
Call Number: Q181 .T33 2019ISBN: 9781474289429Publication Date: 2018-12-13
Crackle and Fizz by
This is a book for scientists and other experts who need to explain the significance and potential of their work to colleagues, committees, funding bodies or the general public. It details how to harness story-telling principles to make complex or technical content easier to communicate and fulfilling for audiences. Eight narrative ingredients, Audience, Change and Affect, Lure, World, Character, Big Hook, Plot and Structure, are illustrated with examples and exercises to demonstrate how to build a presentation, how to pitch for funds or resources, how to make a persuasive argument, or simply how to explain ideas so they CRACKLE and FIZZ for the Audience.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781783262854Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Craft of Scientific Communication by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780226316611Publication Date: 2010-04-30
The Craft of Scientific Presentations by
The Craft of Scientific Presentations, 2nd edition aims to strengthen you as a presenter of science and engineering. The book does so by identifying what makes excellent presenters such as Brian Cox, Jane Goodall, Richard Feynman, and Jill Bolte Taylor so strong. In addition, the book explains what causes so many scientific presentations to flounder. One of the most valuable contributions of this text is that it teaches the assertion-evidence approach to scientific presentations. Instead of building presentations, as most engineers and scientists do, on the weak foundation of topic phrases and bulleted lists, this assertion-evidence approach calls for building presentations on succinct message assertions supported by visual evidence. Unlike the commonly followed topic-subtopic approach that PowerPoint leads presenters to use, the assertion-evidence approach is solidly grounded in research. By showing the differences between strong and weak presentations, by identifying the errors that scientific presenters typically make, and by teaching a much more powerful approach for scientific presentations than what is commonly practiced, this book places you in a position to elevate your presentations to a high level. In essence, this book aims to have you not just succeed in your scientific presentations, but excel. About the Author Michael Alley has taught workshops on presentations to engineers and scientists on five continents, and has recently been invited to speak at the European Space Organization, Harvard Medical School, MIT, Sandia National Labs, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Simula Research Laboratory, and United Technologies. An Associate Professor of engineering communication at Pennsylvania State University, Alley is a leading researcher on the effectiveness of different designs for presentation slides.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1441982787Publication Date: 2013-01-02
Designing Science Presentations by
Designing Science Presentations guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the creation, delivery, and evaluation of such material, yet it is essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap and provides visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites. It provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations; demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques, giving readers inspiration for creating their own; and is structured so that readers can easily find answers to particular questions. Clear heading for each section indicates its message, highlighted with graphic illustrations Two summary paragraphs that complement the visual images and clearly discuss the main point Numerous examples of high-quality figures, page layouts, slides, posters, and web pages to help stimulate readers' ideas for their own presentations Numerous "before and after" examples to illustrate the contrast between poor and outstanding presentations
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780123859709Publication Date: 2012-12-31
The Craft of Scientific Presentations by
The Craft of Scientific Presentations provides a score of examples from contemporary and historical scientific presentations to show clearly what makes an oral presentation effective. It considers presentations made to persuade an audience to adopt some course of action as well as presentations made to communicate information, and it considers these from four perspectives: speech, structure, visual aids, and delivery. It disusses ways of organizing graphics and text in projected images and of using layout and design to present information effectively. Unlike other books that discuss technical presentations, this book anchors its advice in the experiences of scientists and engineers, including examples from such successful presenters as Robert Oppenheimer, Richard Feynman, Niels Bohr, and Rita Levi-Montaicini, as well as currently active laboratory directors, scientists, and engineers.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0585472823Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering by
Scientists and engineers seek to discover and disseminate knowledge so that it can be used to improve the human condition. Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering serves as a valuable aid in this pursuit--it can be used as a textbook for undergraduate or graduate courses on technical communication and ethics, a reference book for senior design courses, or a handbook for young investigators and beginning faculty members. In addition to presenting methods for writing clearly and concisely and improving oral presentations, this compact book provides practical guidelines for preparing theses, dissertations, journal papers for publication, and proposals for research funding. Issues of authorship, peer review, plagiarism, recordkeeping, and copyright are addressed in detail, and case studies of research misconduct are presented to highlight the need for proactive attention to scientific integrity. Ample exercises cause the reader to stop and think. Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering thus motivates the reader to develop an effective, individual style of communication and a personal commitment to integrity, each of which are essential to success in the workplace.Table of Contents: Motivation / Writing Well / Scientific Publications / Proposals and Grant Applications / Oral Communication / Authorship / Recordkeeping / Ownership of Ideas, Data, and Publications
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781598292992Publication Date: 2008-09-08
Communication and Engagement with Science and Technology by
Science communication seeks to engage individuals and groups with evidence-based information about the nature, outcomes, and social consequences of science and technology. This text provides an overview of this burgeoning field the issues with which it deals, important influences that affect it, the challenges that it faces. It introduces readers to the research-based literature about science communication and shows how it relates to actual or potential practice. A "Further Exploration" section provides suggestions for activities that readers might do to explore the issues raised. Organized around five themes, each chapter addresses a different aspect of science communication: * Models of science communication - theory into practice * Challenges in communicating science * Major themes in science communication * Informal learning * Communication of contemporary issues in science and society Relevant for all those interested in and concerned about current issues and developments in science communication, this volume is an ideal text for courses and a must-have resource for faculty, students, and professionals in this field.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780415896269Publication Date: 2012-11-26
Communicating Clearly about Science and Medicine by
Scientific communication is challenging, conclusions are rarely clear cut making communicating statistical risk and probability tough, especially to non-statisticians and non-scientists such as journalists.In this book John Clare illustrates how to communicate clearly the risks and benefits contained in a complex data set, and balance the hope and the hype. He explains how to avoid the 'miracle cure' or 'killer drug' headlines which are so common and teaches you how to combine the accuracy of peer-to-peer reviewed science with the narrative skills of journalism.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781409440376Publication Date: 2012-04-13
Communicating Research by
Exploring how changing technologies affect academic research practices this book: looks at the rise of electronic media and changes in the dissemination of research; outlines the problems and concerns of researchers/librarians/publishers; discusses research practices across scholarly disciplines; and investigates the biases/intentions of practitioners.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0124874150Publication Date: 1997-12-02
Communicating Science by
In recent years governments and scientific establishments have been encouraging the development of professional and popular science communication. This book critically examines the origin of this drive to improve communication, and discusses why simply improving scientists' communication skills and understanding of their audiences may not be enough. Written in an engaging style, and avoiding specialist jargon, this book provides an insight into science's place in society by looking at science communication in three contexts: the professional patterns of communication among scientists, popular communication to the public, and science in literature and drama. This three-part framework shows how historical and cultural factors operate in today's complex communication landscape, and should be actively considered when designing and evaluating science communication. Ideal for students and practitioners in science, engineering and medicine, this book provides a better understanding of the culture, sociology and mechanics of professional and popular communication.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780521131728Publication Date: 2009-10-15
Defense and the Environment by
The success of Environmental Management Systems (EMS) at military facilities requires support and leadership from the highest levels of management, adequate resources for development and implementation, and an acknowledgement by the military commanders that EMS is an integral part of facilities and operations management. The theme of this book is the effective communication of environmental concerns in a changing military environment.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1402020848Publication Date: 2004-01-01
The Aesthetics of Scientific Data Representation
How can cartoon images aid in understanding bacterial biological processes? What prompts physicists to blur their images before showing them to biologists? Considering that the astronomer’s data consists solely of invisible, electric impulses, what is the difference between representing outer space as images, graphs, or sound? How does a work of contemporary art differ from a scientific image if we cannot visually distinguish between the two? How do aesthetics, art, and design influence scientific visualization and vice versa? This volume asks critically important questions about scientific data representation and provides significant insights to a field that is interdisciplinary in its very core. The authors investigate scientific data representation through the joint optics of the humanities and natural sciences. The volume particularly appeals to scholars in visual and aesthetic studies, data visualization, scientific illustration, experience culture, information design, and science communication.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781317194149Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Scientific and Medical Communication by
Scientific and Medical Communication: A Guide for Effective Practice prepares readers to effectively communicate in professional scientific communities. The material in this book is firmly grounded in more than 500 published research findings and editorials by scientific writers, authors, and journal editors. Thus, this text provides the broadest and most comprehensive analysis of scientific writing. In addition, carefully selected and thoroughly annotated examples from the scientific and medical literature demonstrate the recommendations covered in the text. These real-world examples were carefully selected so that the scientific content can be understood by those without a detailed background in any particular scientific or medical field#65533;thus clearly illustrating the content organization and writing style. This text will prepare individuals to write and edit scientific manuscripts, conference abstracts, posters, and press releases according to journal and professional standards. Readers will also learn to conduct effective searches of the scientific and medical literature, as well as proper citation practices.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781138842557Publication Date: 2017-07-05
Learning Through Citizen Science by
In the last twenty years, citizen science has blossomed as a way to engage a broad range of individuals in doing science. Citizen science projects focus on, but are not limited to, nonscientists participating in the processes of scientific research, with the intended goal of advancing and using scientific knowledge. A rich range of projects extend this focus in myriad directions, and the boundaries of citizen science as a field are not clearly delineated. Citizen science involves a growing community of professional practitioners, participants, and stakeholders, and a thriving collection of projects. While citizen science is often recognized for its potential to engage the public in science, it is also uniquely positioned to support and extend participants (TM) learning in science. Contemporary understandings of science learning continue to advance. Indeed, modern theories of learning recognize that science learning is complex and multifaceted. Learning is affected by factors that are individual, social, cultural, and institutional, and learning occurs in virtually any context and at every age. Current understandings of science learning also suggest that science learning extends well beyond content knowledge in a domain to include understanding of the nature and methods of science. Learning Through Citizen Science: Enhancing Opportunities by Design discusses the potential of citizen science to support science learning and identifies promising practices and programs that exemplify the promising practices. This report also lays out a research agenda that can fill gaps in the current understanding of how citizen science can support science learning and enhance science education.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0309479169Publication Date: 2019-01-28
How We Teach Science - What′s Changed, and Why It Matters by
A former Wisconsin high school science teacher makes the case that how and why we teach science matters, especially now that its legitimacy is under attack. Why teach science? The answer to that question will determine how it is taught. Yet despite the enduring belief in this country that science should be taught, there has been no enduring consensus about how or why. This is especially true when it comes to teaching scientific process. Nearly all of the basic knowledge we have about the world is rock solid. The science we teach in high schools in particular--laws of motion, the structure of the atom, cell division, DNA replication, the universal speed limit of light--is accepted as the way nature works. Everyone also agrees that students and the public more generally should understand the methods used to gain this knowledge. But what exactly is the scientific method? Ever since the late 1800s, scientists and science educators have grappled with that question. Through the years, they've advanced an assortment of strategies, ranging from "the laboratory method" to the "five-step method" to "science as inquiry" to no method at all. How We Teach Science reveals that each strategy was influenced by the intellectual, cultural, and political circumstances of the time. In some eras, learning about experimentation and scientific inquiry was seen to contribute to an individual's intellectual and moral improvement, while in others it was viewed as a way to minimize public interference in institutional science. John Rudolph shows that how we think about and teach science will either sustain or thwart future innovation, and ultimately determine how science is perceived and received by the public.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780674919341Publication Date: 2019-06-01
Championing Science by
Championing Science shows scientists how to persuasively communicate complex scientific ideas to decision makers in government, industry, and education. This comprehensive guide provides real-world strategies to help scientists develop the essential communication, influence, and relationship-building skills needed to motivate nonexperts to understand and support their science. Instruction, interviews, and examples demonstrate how inspiring decision makers to act requires scientists to extract the essence of their work, craft clear messages, simplify visuals, bridge paradigm gaps, and tell compelling narratives. The authors bring these principles to life in the accounts of science champions such as Robert Millikan, Vannevar Bush, scientists at Caltech and MIT, and others. With Championing Science, scientists will learn how to use these vital skills to make an impact.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780520970182Publication Date: 2019-01-22
Designing Science Presentations by
Designing Science Presentations: A Visual Guide to Figures, Papers, Slides, Posters, and More, Second Edition, guides scientists of any discipline in the design of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the design, delivery and evaluation of scientific communication, yet these skills are essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap, providing visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters and websites. The book provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations and demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques. Features clear headings for each section, indicating its message with graphic illustrations Provides clear and concise explanations of design principles traditionally taught in design or visualization courses Includes examples of high-quality figures, page layouts, slides, posters and webpages to aid readers in creating their own presentations Includes numerous "before and after" examples to illustrate the contrast between poor and outstanding presentations
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128153789Publication Date: 2020-11-28
Managing your academic research project by
This book is an essential resource for academics managing a large and complex research project. It provides important practical insights into the processes that inform such research projects and delivers insights into the delicate balance between industry, stakeholder and academic needs. It gives practical advice about developing relationships with diverse partners and colleagues and managing the expectations of the various parties involved and on avoiding pitfalls. This book uses examples from Australian research projects, but it contains insights relevant to researchers all around the world. - Springer
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811591921Publication Date: Singapore : Springer, 2020
Scientific Methods Used in Research and Writing by
Research publications, projects, and teaching learning theories have become very important to universities, institutions, organizations, and industries. Many submissions are rejected due to author's lack of writing and research skills. This new book provides a quick, basic starting point to learning the needed skills. The book discusses the statistical methods involved, covers the development of academic writing skills for a higher impact, teaches learning theories, and uses a structured and holistic approach for educational research proposal development. This book will be used by research scholars, undergraduates, postgraduates, and anyone interested in engineering and learning the basic academic writing skills and scientific methods needed.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781000299656Publication Date: 2020-12-01
Below is a list of Communication Databases available from NSU:
- AAAS WorkshopsAAAS workshops help to provide scientists and engineers with tools for effectively communicating complex scientific information to journalists, policymakers and the public.
- Communication in Science: Pressures and PredatorsScience's Special Issue on Communication in Science: Pressures and Predators includes free news and reviews on the lack of scrutiny at open-access journals, the rarity of published negative studies, and publishing sensitive data.
- English Communication for ScientistsEnglish Communication for Scientists is a brief guide on how to communicate more effectively in English, no matter how much previous experience you have. Although it was developed with non-native speakers of English in mind, it should prove useful for native speakers, too. Organized as six self-contained units, it will help you understand basic communication strategies and address various audiences (Unit 1); design and draft not only scientific papers (Unit 2) but also e-mail, résumés, and short reports (Unit 3); structure, support, and deliver oral presentations (Unit 4); create and present posters, chair sessions, and participate in panels (Unit 5); and prepare, run, and evaluate classroom sessions (Unit 6). Created by seasoned communicators, English Communication for Scientists provides no-nonsense, directly applicable guidelines, illustrated with examples of written documents, oral presentations, and more. Improving your scientific communication is only a click away: start today!
- The Science of Science CommunicationThis colloquium was held in Washington, D.C. May 21-22, 2012. The meeting surveyed the state of the art of empirical social science research in science communication and focused on research in psychology, decision science, mass communication, risk communication, health communication, political science, sociology, and related fields on the communication dynamics surrounding issues in science, engineering, technology, and medicine with five distinct goals: To improve understanding of relations between the scientific community and the public
To assess the scientific basis for effective communication about science
To strengthen ties among and between communication scientists
To promote greater integration of the disciplines and approaches pertaining to effective communication
To foster an institutional commitment to evidence-based communication science - Science Communication: A Practical Guide from MITThis class develops the abilities of students to communicate science effectively in a variety of real-world contexts. It covers strategies for dealing with complex areas like theoretical physics, genomics and neuroscience, and addresses challenges in communicating about topics such as climate change and evolution. Projects focus on speaking and writing, being an expert witness, preparing briefings for policy-makers, writing blogs, and giving live interviews for broadcast, as well as the creation of an interactive exhibit for display in the MIT Museum.
- Three Minute ThesisThree Minute Thesis (3MT®) is a research communication competition developed by The University of Queensland which challenges research higher degree students to present a compelling oration on their thesis and its significance in just three minutes in language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.
Search NSU Databases for Articles & More
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|