NSU Oceanographic Campus Library Resources for NSU Faculty
Library Hours
Library Hours for the NSU Oceanographic Campus Library:
Saturday Appointments are reserved for specific uses (i.e. software or service-based need) but can be reserved here.
NSU Alvin Sherman Library
The NSU Alvin Sherman Library on the main campus in Davie, FL also supports the HCAS faculty!
Getting Started
Welcome to all new and returning NSU faculty! The NSU Oceanographic Campus Library is here to support your classes, teaching, and research. This guide is an introduction to library services for NSU Faculty. You may navigate the guide using the tabs to the left.
Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. We look forward to working with you!
Your Liaison Librarian Partners
- Library instruction at point of need (in class or one-on-one)
- Course-specific OC Library tutorials and LibGuides
- Citation checking
- Faculty papers research assistance
- Curriculum development support
- New Faculty Orientation
- Library material acquisitions to support research and teaching curriculum
oclibrary@nova.edu , x23699
Instruction Support
- Course Guides » Contact oclibrary@nova.edu to create an online library guide for your class to supplement student learning.
- Course Reserve » Place course-related materials on reserve to ensure that all students in your class have access.
- Durable Linker » Provide permanent links to database articles/entries rather than providing PDFs or other documents.
- Gear Up Workshops » Gear up for optimal success in research, publishing, grants and copyright! Gear up workshops are designed to give NSU faculty an opportunity to engage with publishers, researchers, and librarians.
- Library Instruction » Schedule a library instruction session for your class.
Research Support
- Ask a Librarian » Contact a librarian for research assistance and questions.
- Database Access Issue » Report database access errors.
- Database/Product Trials » Give welcome feedback regarding the possible purchase of products on this list!
- Databases » Search the library databases by subject area or view the full A-Z list of databases.
- DOI (Digital Object Identifier) Tools » Search for a DOI or look up an article by its DOI number.
- EndNote » Install this software for organizing and citing sources (free for NSU students, faculty, and staff).
- Library Resources for Research, Publication, and Presentations » This guide will provide you with resources available through the NSU Libraries for research, data management, writing, publication, and presentations.
- Library Workshops » Attend live workshops on various library resources and topics or view recordings on demand.
- NSUWorks » Access both published and unpublished works from Nova Southeastern University's institutional repository.
- Writing & Citation Style Guides » Access online resources that cover citations, citation management, plagiarism, and writing.
Library Services
- Borrowing/Loan Periods
- Department Contacts
- How Do I...
- Interlibrary Loan / Document Delivery
- Library Staff Directory
- New OCL Materials & Items of Interest
- Renew books online or call (954) 262-3699
- Suggest an item for purchase